Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books

The Heart of the Family

By Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
The third in the classic trilogy of novels about the Eliots of Damerosehay . David Eliot finds his career as a successful and much acclaimed actor a definite strain and his brittle conversation and seeming arrogance earn him the dislike of his new secretary Sebastian Weber. But when he comes to stay at Damerosehay Sebastian learns that in the private world of his marriage and his children David is a very different person, and the warmth of his welcome there helps him to overcome his great personal suffering and unhappiness.
  • More

The Herb of Grace

By Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Still tormented by the failure of her love affair with David Eliot, Nadine has misgivings about bringing her family to the enchanting old inn that is so near to the Eliot family home. But as the tranquil Hampshire countryside weaves its spell, all players in the drama come to discover a measure of peace and contentment.
  • More

The Bird in the Tree

By Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Lucilla has spent a lifetime making the Hampshire estate of Damerosehay a tranquil haven for the Eliot family. When her favourite grandson, David, falls in love with an unsuitable woman Lucilla feels is unsuitable, she sees her most cherished ambitions put at risk. But can she persuade David and Nadine to put duty before love?
  • More
  • The Ultimatum

    By Karen Robards
    Authors:
    Karen Robards
    The first thriller in the Guardian series by New York Times bestselling author Karen Robards, perfect for fans of Karen Rose and Sandra Brown.Bianca St. Ives is smart, talented and beautiful. She's also a high-end thief, a master manipulator, a card shark, and a genius of disguise.A femme fatale Robin Hood running a multinational firm with her father, she makes a living swindling con men out of money they stole and giving it back to those who should rightfully have it. Her father has prepared her well to carry on the family business, and now the prodigy has surpassed the master.But her latest mission didn't go to plan - millions of dollars and top secret government documents went missing, and her father was supposedly killed. But not everyone believes in his death, including the US government. They'll stop at nothing to capture Richard St. Ives - a high-value target who has been on most-wanted lists all over the world - even if it means using Bianca as bait. With only a fellow criminal for backup and her life on the line, it's up to Bianca to uncover the terrifying truth behind what really happened . . . and set it right, before it's too late.
    • More

    The Ballroom Class

    By Lucy Dillon
    Authors:
    Lucy Dillon
    When three couples join a new ballroom class, they're all looking for some magic in their lives. Lauren and Chris are getting married, and Lauren's dreaming of a fairytale wedding with a first dance to make Cinderella proud. Not wanting to be shown up on the dancefloor, her parents Bridget and Frank have come along too. They normally never put a foot wrong, but Bridget's got a secret that could trip them up unexpectedly. Meanwhile Katie and Ross are looking for a quick-fix solution to their failing marriage even though neither is quite sure who's leading who anymore. As friendships form over the foxtrot, the rumba rocks relationships, and the tango leads to true love, all the students in the Ballroom Class are about to face the music and dance...
    • More
  • One Quiet Woman

    By Anna Jacobs
    Authors:
    Anna Jacobs
    From the beloved and bestselling Anna Jacobs' comes a new Lancashire-based saga.1930, Lancashire: Leah Turner's father has been killed in an accident at the laundry, and since her mother died years ago it falls to her to become sole provider for her little sister. But women's wages are half those of men and pawning the few belongings she has left will only keep their vicious rent collector at bay for a few weeks, so even if she finds a job, they'll lose their home. Out of the blue Charlie Willcox, the local pawnbroker, offers her a deal. His brother Jonah, an invalid since being gassed in the Great War, needs a wife. Charlie thinks Leah would be perfect for the job. The idea of a marriage of convenience doesn't please Leah, but she finds Jonah agreeable enough and moving with him to the pretty hamlet of Ellindale may be the only chance of a better life for her sister. But other people have plans for the remote Pennine valley, and the two sisters find themselves facing danger in their new life with Jonah. Can the three of them ever look to a brighter future?
    • More

    Before I Fall

    By Lauren Oliver
    Authors:
    Lauren Oliver
    They say 'live every day as if it's your last' - but you never actually think it's going to be. At least I didn't. The thing is, you don't get to know when it happens. You don't remember to tell your family that you love them or - in my case - remember to say goodbye to them at all. But what if, like me, you could live your last day over and over again? Could you make it perfect? If your whole life flashed before your eyes, would you have no regrets? Or are there some things you'd want to change...?
    • More

    Darkness

    By Karen Robards
    Authors:
    Karen Robards
    Beautiful, brilliant Dr Gina Solomon is one of a handful of scientists stationed on a remote island off the Arctic Circle. Out conducting research in the last few days before winter wraps the area in months-long darkness, she witnesses a small plane crash over the Bering Sea, and rescues a survivor from the wreckage - Mal Connolly.With a snowstorm stranding them unexpectedly, it's at least twenty-four hours before they return to the research station. When they do, Gina is horrified to discover that the rest of her party has been murdered.Whoever killed the scientists is still on the island, hunting Mal, who is a military weapons expert with a terrible secret. Someone will do anything to stop him from revealing what he knows. And now Gina is in danger too.With no escape until the plane comes for them the following week, Gina and Mal try to stay one step ahead of the killers, and discover a potent sexual chemistry...But will they get off the island before they are swallowed up in darkness forever?
    • More
  • After Dark Trilogy: Fire After Dark, Secrets After Dark, Promises After Dark

    By Sadie Matthews
    Authors:
    Sadie Matthews
    Available all together for the first time, the passionate and captivating story of Beth and Dom is perfect for those who loved the bestselling Fifty Shades of Grey but were left wanting more...It started with a spark.Beth's relationship with Dominic is unlike anything she has ever known before. His is a path of pure pleasure, but of pain, too - and where he leads, Beth has no choice but to follow... Falling in love with Dominic changes her, and the tempestuous and passionate relationship that sweeps them both off their feet is something they might never recover from.
    • More

    Time Will Tell

    By Sally Worboyes
    Authors:
    Sally Worboyes
    September 1953, London's East End. Edie Birch, who believes herself to be a war widow, has finally allowed herself to fall in love again. Engaged to be married, she is happily planning her wedding day. But fate has a blow in store - her 15-year-old daughter, Maggie, is pregnant. A plan has been hatched to stop her daughter from falling from grace.Hidden away above an Italian café in Islington until she is ready to give birth Maggie works long hours behind the scenes while her mother Edie feigns pregnancy. The charade works until the baby arrives and hard decisions are to be made. Can Maggie return home and cope with the pretense of her own child being her brother? And will the truth out once Edie's first husband turns up to demand his rights as grandfather?
    • More

    Down by Tobacco Dock

    By Sally Worboyes
    Authors:
    Sally Worboyes
    A historical East End saga that will enthrall readers, from the bestselling author of Whitechapel Mary and Over Bethnal Green.In 1876, the homes of the poor working class in the East End are being replaced by splendid houses for the rich. When Kelly's Yard comes under threat, Maria Bertram inspires her neighbours to rebel against eviction. But when a woman is found murdered in Tobacco Dock and the young man Maria loves is arrested, she must do everything in her power to prove his innocence and save him from a public hanging. Without realising it, she puts her own life at risk when she stumbles across a web of deceit in the planner's office. It seems the murderer is much closer to home than she thinks...
    • More

    Room for a Lodger

    By Sally Worboyes
    Authors:
    Sally Worboyes
    A captivating romantic saga from Sally Worboyes, author of Banished from Bow and Jamaica Street.It is 1970 when 20-year-old Cathy falls in love with Johnny Dean, and becomes pregnant. A young docker, Johnny offers to marry Cathy - but what she doesn't know is that his gambling has got out of hand. He owes favours to the wrong sort and to clear his debt gets involved in a serious theft at the docks...Though Cathy is supported financially by Johnny's family, looking after a baby as a single mother isn't easy, and she's beginning to get lonely. When she meets a handsome young antiques dealer, friendship might not be enough for either of them. But will she be able to stop Johnny finding out?
    • More

    Jamaica Street

    By Sally Worboyes
    Authors:
    Sally Worboyes
    A romantic saga that will have you gripped, from the author of Time Will Tell and Banished From Bow.When Errol Turner, a handsome and determined young man from Jamaica, came to London's East End in the summer of 1955, his only assets were his father's old sewing machine, a few pounds in his pocket and a faith in the greatness of Britain. Four years later, in love with the charismatic Rita, he is making his mark as a tailor - but in the aftermath of the race riots, racial hatred still simmers throughout London, endangering all their hopes.Rita's best friend Maggie and her flamboyant great aunt Naomi try to ease the couple's fears. But far more sinister activities are going on under their own roof. When a woman is found murdered, vicious rumours and suspicions explode. It will take grit and cunning to bring the killer to light - and a true testing of friendship.
    • More