Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books

The Bird in the Tree

By Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Lucilla has spent a lifetime making the Hampshire estate of Damerosehay a tranquil haven for the Eliot family. When her favourite grandson, David, falls in love with an unsuitable woman Lucilla feels is unsuitable, she sees her most cherished ambitions put at risk. But can she persuade David and Nadine to put duty before love?
  • More

Before I Fall

By Lauren Oliver
Authors:
Lauren Oliver
A bestselling summer read as heartbreaking as The Lovely Bones and as gripping as Jenny Downham's Before I Die. **Now a major Netflix movie starring Zoey Deutch, Halston Sage, Logan Miller, Kian Lawley**'Gossip Girl meets Groundhog Day' Grazia'Tender, funny and raw' Marie Claire'A clever, funny, insightful and utterly addictive novel' Daily Mail'Compelling and poignant, a truly memorable read' CloserThey say 'live every day as if it's your last' - but you never actually think it's going to be. At least I didn't. The thing is, you don't get to know when it happens. You don't remember to tell your family that you love them or - in my case - remember to say goodbye to them at all. But what if, like me, you could live your last day over and over again? Could you make it perfect? If your whole life flashed before your eyes, would you have no regrets? Or are there some things you'd want to change...?'This book will take your breath away' She'A beautifully written and outrageously weepy tale' Daily Mirror
  • More

Banished from Bow

By Sally Worboyes
Authors:
Sally Worboyes
A gripping romantic saga full of secrets and intrigue from the author of Time Will Tell and Jamaica Street.After being abandoned as a child in 19th-century London's East End, a ragged and terrified Harriet was eventually found and taken into Mary Dean's house in Bow. There it was decided she would be brought up as a sister to Mary and her younger brother Arthur. But seventeen years later, Harriet and Arthur have fallen in love, and Harriet is pregnant. Driven out of Bow by neighbours who spit at them, the pair are forced to seek refuge in Stepney where, for a time, they are happy. But it is not long before Harriet is forced to protect a dark secret once more. She has kept something she stole as a child: the diary of a criminal who committed terrible acts. Now the owner of the diary has returned to the East End in search of it, and will stop at nothing to get it back . . .
  • More

Birds in a Gilded Cage

By Judith Glover
Authors:
Judith Glover
'She's only a bird in a gilded cage,A beautiful sight to see;You may think she's happy and free from care,She's not, tho' she seems to be'After Dinah Garland's husband died in the Boer War, she thought she would never be able to love again, until she meets the confident and daring Warwick Enderby. But those around her are not so disarmed by Warwick's charm and are determined to delve into Mr Enderby's secrets.Dinah's brother Francis has secrets of his own in the shape of Cecilia Desatti, a young headstrong Italian whose beauty torments him. And young Laura Bates, on the verge of womanhood, has to conceal her love for the boyish Algie from her stern father.Each becomes trapped by the demands of private emotion and social background. When their secrets are revealed, will it bring heartache or happiness?Set in the years immediately before the First World War, Birds in a Gilded Cage is the final novel in the Sussex Quarter that began with The Stallion Man.
  • More

Betrayal

By Denise Robins
Authors:
Denise Robins
Nicola is very young and completely bewitched by the well-knownnovelist, Laurence Gray. He lifts her out of the suburbs into hisspoiled luxury world. He leads and she follows, despite the protests ofher family.But Nicola has to grow up very fast with Laurence's wife and daughter inthe foreground, and worse still, the slow awareness that Laurence is aman of short-lived passions.A sweeping tale from the 100-million-copy bestselling Queen of Romance,originally published in 1936 and now available for the first time ineBook.
  • More

Bring Me Home

By Alan Titchmarsh
Authors:
Alan Titchmarsh
An involving family story with a mystery at its heart from bestselling novelist and favourite TV presenter Alan Titchmarsh.It seems a perfect afternoon in the Highlands. Standing at the door of the lochside castle that has been his family's home for generations, Charlie Stuart welcomes his guests to the annual summer drinks party. Conversation, laughter and the clinking of glasses soon fill the air as friends and neighbours come together to toast the laird's happiness and prosperity.But Charlie sees the truth behind the façade: the sacrifices made to safeguard the estate; the devastating losses that have haunted him for decades; the guilt that lies at the heart of it all. And in a few hours, he knows, the perfect afternoon will come to an end. The past, with its dark secrets of love, death, loyalty and betrayal, is about to catch up with him. And it could finally tear his family apart . . . .
  • More

Brief Ecstasy

By Denise Robins
Authors:
Denise Robins
The handsome young Spaniard Rosemary meets on her train journey toMalaga seems to cast a magic spell over her. For those few brief hoursshe knew a passionate, ecstasy with Paul.But on meeting Mercedes, the girl to whom she is to be companion,Rosemary's dreams of love are abruptly shattered. For Mercedes isengaged to marry Don Pablo Iballo - who is none other than Paul himself!Mercedes is desperately in love with an out-of-work musician, andRosemary, hurt and angered by Paul's reprehensible behaviour, thinks ofa wild plan to deceive him. On the day of the wedding she changes placeswith Mercedes; and her face hidden by the heavy veil, the ceremony wentthrough.But when the plot is discovered, Paul does not send her away in fury asRosemary had imagined. He has other ideas: he believes that a wifeshould fulfil her duties...A captivating love story from the 100-million-copy bestselling Queen ofRomance, first published in 1934, and available now for the first timein eBook.
  • More

The Breaking Point

By Denise Robins
Authors:
Denise Robins
Christa Chalford came to Queen's Lacey as a beautiful young bride,deeply in love with her husband Tony. But her mother-in-law, Julia, soonmakes it clear that she will never give up her tyrannical reign asmistress of Queen's Lacey and that she regards Christa as an interloper.Knowing that nothing would please Julia better than the break-up of hermarriage, Christa fights her mother-in-law with all her young strength.So it is Tony's brother Richard, warm-hearted, idealistic, that sheinstinctively turns for solace. While Julia, the implacable enemy,watches and waits...A captivating love story from the 100-million-copy bestselling Queen ofRomance, first published in 1956, and available now for the first timein eBook.
  • More

Bride of Doom (Fauna Trilogy Book Two)

By Denise Robins
Authors:
Denise Robins
A captivating love story from the 100-million-copy bestselling Queen of Romance, first published in 1956, and available now for the first time in eBook.'Neither her mother's devotion - nor her father's strength - could protect Fleur from the doom that awaited her.'In this dazzling sequel to Gold for the Gay Masters, Fauna's beautiful daughter Fleur comes to the fore. As alluring and fatally captivating as her mother, Fleur's life would never be a life of ease... This is Fleur's story. The story of an arranged marriage to the forbidding Baron of Cadlington, of her love for the young artist Peveril, of the darkly-predicted black heir who is born to her, of her fiery attempts to find escape, revenge - and fulfilment, of the restless urges that burn in her fated blood.Denise Robins has written another great historical novel, full of fire, passion, romance, excitement, high drama and adventure, capturing all the swagger and zest of its time.
  • More

Bride of Revenge

By Denise Robins
Authors:
Denise Robins
After her aunt's death, Thea gladly gives up her dreary job in the suburbsto travel to the island of Biscany. She is sure she will be looked after there by handsome Bevil Royce, with whom she had had such as passionate love affair during his stay in London. But the pretty but penniless little typist had been merely a temporary whim of the worldly Bevil - and now he is engaged to the chic daughter of a wealthy and influential baronet.Then, through a strange act of fate, Thea finds herself under the protection of the new Governor of the Island. Charles Fettermore is a deeply embittered man who has his own reasons for wanting revenge on Bevil Royce. As she becomes the focus of a deadly rivalry between the two men, Thea realises that she will have to make a vital choice...
  • More

Breathless for You

By Elizabeth Anthony
Authors:
Elizabeth Anthony
Set in the 1920s, this passionate, provocative tale is perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and E.L. James' Fifty Shades of Grey.November 1921. Since arriving in London, Madeline, the young French ward of Ash, the new Duke of Belfield, has become the subject of lurid speculation, and when she's offered the chance to travel to Belfield Hall, Ash's country seat in Oxfordshire, Madeline is eager to seek refuge there. But Oxfordshire is not as quiet a retreat as she assumed, for soon she clashes with a handsome gamekeeper - Nathan Mallory - whose seduction techniques are astounding and addictive. Meanwhile, Madeline's secret nightmares of her own dark past in Paris continue to haunt her.At the same time Madeline realises that her guardian the Duke (whom she holds in the highest regard) has an impossible love too - for his Sophie, the former servant girl. It's in Madeline's power to reunite the two, but quite possibly at the cost of her own happiness - and her choices are made even more difficult by the secret machinations of powerful people who would do anything to keep Sophie and Ash apart . . .
  • More

Bitter Sweet

By Denise Robins
Authors:
Denise Robins
Her love affair had been unhappy.In order to forget Clifford Culver, the beautiful and tempestuous Raine is sent to stay with her grandmother in the South of France, little realising that Clifford is a handsome philanderer playing a double game in order to get his hands on the fortune that she will one day inherit.His duplicity is discovered by a young Frenchman who has already fallen passionately in love with Raine, but the situation is to become even more tragic and involved before they find the love and happiness they both desire.
  • More

The Boundary Line

By Denise Robins
Authors:
Denise Robins
Terry Manstone is a vivacious young girl indulging her passion for the country in a hiking tour, when a badly sprained ankle leaves her as unexpected in Dr. Blaise Farlong's house and victim of his wife's evil scheming. In the months that follow, this slight young girl and the frail doctor pursued by a hypocritical and hostile society can draw comfort only from one another, until the wicked plot is finally revealed.
  • More