Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books

Hoffer

By Tim Glencross
Authors:
Tim Glencross
William Hoffer - handsome, refined, a little cold perhaps - is an established figure in London society.But Hoffer has secrets. He is vague about his Midwestern origins. The counsel he offers a Russian billionaire may extend to murkier topics than art investments. Then there is his Kensington flat, which is only rented, and the broader question of his money, which is running out.When a ghost from his past in Mexico surfaces, Hoffer is forced to revive brutal instincts for self-preservation . . .Hoffer is an amoral thriller of intelligence, wit and style, and a coruscating commentary on the world we live in now.
  • More

Mercury

By Margot Livesey
Authors:
Margot Livesey
A tense psychological drama and a taut emotional thriller exploring love, obsession, and the deceits that pull a family apart. 'You'll be glued to the page' (People)Donald believes he knows all there is to know about seeing. An optometrist in suburban Boston, he is sure that he and his wife, Viv, who runs the local stables, are both devoted to their two children and to each other. Then Mercury - a gorgeous young thoroughbred with a murky past - arrives at Windy Hill and everything changes.Mercury's owner, Hilary, is a newcomer to town who has enrolled her daughter in riding lessons. When she brings Mercury to board at Windy Hill, everyone is struck by his beauty and prowess, particularly Viv. As she rides him, Viv begins to dream of competing again, embracing the ambitions that she had harboured, and relinquished, as a young woman. Her daydreams soon morph into consuming desire, and her infatuation with the thoroughbred escalates to obsession.Donald may have 20/20 vision but he is slow to notice how profoundly Viv has changed and how these changes threaten their quiet, secure world. By the time he does, it is too late to stop the catastrophic collision of Viv's ambitions and his own myopia.
  • More

Theodore Boone: The Scandal

By John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Theodore Boone, young lawyer, has had a lot to deal with in his thirteen years, everything from kidnapping to murder. But he's come through it all and, with the law on his side, justice has always prevailed.
  • More

Spaceman of Bohemia

By Jaroslav Kalfar
Authors:
Jaroslav Kalfar
'Reading Spaceman of Bohemia reminded me of the thrill of unearthing Everything is Illuminated from the mound of entries to the Guardian First Book Prize'Claire Armitstead, Guardian'I can honestly say I loved every page. Every sentence. Spaceman of Bohemia is unforgettable: a work of breathtaking scope and heart, and a reflection of humanity that's raw and strange and profound and true.' Lisa McInerney, Baileys-Prize-winning author of The Glorious Heresies Set in the near-distant future, Spaceman follows a Czech astronaut as he launches into space to investigate a mysterious dust cloud covering Venus, a suicide mission sponsored by a proud nation. Suddenly a world celebrity, Jakub's marriage starts to fail as the weeks go by, and his sanity comes into question. After his mission is derailed he must make a violent decision that will force him to come to terms with his family's dark political past.An extraordinary vision of the endless human capacity to persist-and risk everything-in the name of love and home, by a startlingly talented young debut novelist.
  • More

The Roanoke Girls

By Amy Engel
Authors:
Amy Engel
Underneath the Roanoke Girls' perfect exterior lies a chilling secret...'Utterly addictive' LISA HALL 'Provocative' TELEGRAPH 'Not for the faint-hearted' THE BOOK BAG 'Deeply, darkly twisted. I loved it' SARAH HILARY An explosive and boundary-pushing novel perfect for fans of Good Me Bad Me and The Girls.Beautiful.Rich.Mysterious.The Roanoke girls seem to have it all. But there's a dark truth about them which is never spoken. Every girl either runs away, or dies.Lane is one of the lucky ones. When she was fifteen, over one long, hot summer at her grandparents' estate in rural Kansas, she found out what it really means to be a Roanoke girl. Lane ran, far and fast. Until eleven years later, when her cousin Allegra goes missing - and Lane has no choice but to go back. She is a Roanoke girl. Is she strong enough to escape a second time?'Daring, alluring and beautifully atmospheric *****' CultureflyFans of The Girls will love this' Red'Twisted, controversial...SO compelling' Claire Douglas, bestselling author of Local Girl Missing'Beautifully written and utterly captivating' Katerina Diamond, bestselling author of The Teacher'Dark, disturbing, and deliciously written, The Roanoke Girls pulls you relentlessly into its twisted heart' Ava Marsh, author of Unforgettable
  • More

The Good Guy

By Susan Beale
Authors:
Susan Beale
SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA FIRST NOVEL AWARD 2016A deeply compelling novel set in 1960s suburban America for fans of The Engagements and Tigers in Red Weather.Ted, a car-tyre salesman in 1960s suburban New England, is a dreamer who craves admiration. His wife, Abigail, longs for a life of the mind. Single-girl Penny just wants to be loved. When a chance encounter brings Ted and Penny together, he becomes enamoured and begins inventing a whole new life with her at its centre. But when this fantasy collides with reality, the fallout threatens everything, and everyone, he holds dear.The Good Guy is a deeply compelling debut about love, marriage and what happens when good intentions and self-deception are taken to extremes.
  • More

The Erstwhile

By Brian Catling
Authors:
Brian Catling
The Vorrh is a vast unmapped and very mysterious jungle in Africa. No-one comes out of it in one piece. Survivors report strange, mind-bending phenomena and horrific monsters. It is rumoured that the Garden of Eden still exists somewhere in the middle of it. In The Erstwhile it transpires that some angels have escaped Eden and the Vorrh and are living in hiding in London, some in disguise as lunatics in Bedlam. It's also revealed that William Blake, a character in these novels, is interacting with these angels. Good and evil angels and humans, including William Blake, are heading towards a final, Miltonic apocalyptic battle for the soul of humanity.The Erstwhile is the second book in the Vorrh trilogy.
  • More

Stork Mountain

By Miroslav Penkov
Authors:
Miroslav Penkov
  • More

The Crime Writer

By Jill Dawson
Authors:
Jill Dawson
In 1964, the eccentric American novelist Patricia Highsmith is hiding out in a cottage in Suffolk, to concentrate on her writing and escape her fans. She has another motive too - a secret romance with a married lover based in London. Unfortunately it soon becomes clear that all her demons have come with her. Prowlers, sexual obsessives, frauds, imposters, suicides and murderers: the tropes of her fictions clamour for her attention, rudely intruding on her peaceful Suffolk retreat. After the arrival of Ginny, an enigmatic young journalist bent on interviewing her, events take a catastrophic turn. Except, as always in Highsmith's troubled life, matters are not quite as they first appear . . .Masterfully recreating Highsmith's much exercised fantasies of murder and madness, Jill Dawson probes the darkest reaches of the imagination in this novel - at once a brilliant portrait of a writer and an atmospheric, emotionally charged, riveting tale.
  • More

Displaced

By Stephan Abarbanell
Authors:
Stephan Abarbanell
It is 1946, and the full horrors of the previous six years are slowly coming to light.But in Jerusalem, Elias Lind can't accept that his brother Raphael really did die in a concentration camp. He has evidence that the scientist is still alive but, unable to search for him himself, he persuades a young member of the Jewish resistance to help. Lilya's search for Raphael takes her from the dusty streets of Jerusalem to the heart of political London, from US-controlled Munich to an overcrowded and underfunded displaced persons camp, before leading her to the devastated shell of Berlin itself. But before long Lilya realises that she isn't the only one searching for the missing scientist; a mysterious pursuer is hot on her heels, and it soon becomes clear that Raphael's life isn't the only one in question . . .Displaced is a deeply intelligent thriller about how the actions of a few can change the course of history. It is about the making of a new world from the ashes of the old, and decisions taken whose consequences are still with us today.
  • More

Under the Almond Tree

By Laura McVeigh
Authors:
Laura McVeigh
If you lost everything you loved, how would you survive and begin again? Under the Almond Tree tells the story of one refugee family fleeing Afghanistan and the catastrophic effects of war and displacement.Fifteen year old Samar and her family are refugees, fleeing the conflict in 1990s Kabul, after the Russians and then the Taliban, turn their lives inside out. They are aboard the Trans-Siberian Express as it travels across Russia towards an uncertain future. With the help of Napoleon, the ticket collector, her beloved copy of Anna Karenina, and her family, Samar narrates the story of their epic journey away from their happy life in Kabul and everything they have known. But, as Samar's tale unfolds, and the secrets of the family are unearthed, we slowly discover that the truth is far more devastating - and more full of hope - than we could ever have imagined. Under the Almond Tree is a story of how we keep the truth from those we love, and even from ourselves, to hold on to the beliefs which underpin our lives. It's also the story of extraordinary resilience and courage, in a turbulent world where nothing can be relied upon, but everything is possible.
  • More
  • Second Lives

    By Scott K. Andrews
    Authors:
    Scott K. Andrews
    It began when three people from three different moments in history discovered that they could travel through time when they clasped hands. But the mysteries surrounding them have only deepened.There are risks to tampering with established events... timelines become snarled, histories become tangled... and one false move could destroy time itself!Jana, Kaz and Dora have escaped from their mysterious enemy, Quil, wounded and scared. Taking refuge in a place outside of time, they devise a plan to change the past, altering Quil's life so that she never meets them.From the streets of Beirut in 2010 to the domed cities of Mars in 2155 and beyond, the three teenagers fight for their future, and that of all humanity, by trying to rewrite the history of the person who has sworn to destroy them. What could be more complicated - and important - than trying to save the world? As their feelings for each other grow stronger, though, Jana, Kaz and Dora find themselves at the centre of a different kind of battle. And when it comes to matters of the heart, there can be no real victors.
    • More

    Untitled Kirsty Wark

    By Kirsty Wark
    Authors:
    Kirsty Wark