Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books

Next Time, You'll Wake Up Dead

By Philip Evans
Authors:
Philip Evans
Potenza, Italy. A man is found dead in his hotel room, stabbed in the back. English journalist Michael Steane is spotted at the scene of the crime and is picked up by the police in Florence, but is quickly released. Lured by the mysterious Contessa di Albertosi, Steane soon finds himself caught up in a web of lies and deceit. With no job and a gambling habit to maintain, he can't resist the offer of enough money to solve all of his problems. All he has to do is travel to Greece and track down a long buried secret. But Steane isn't the only one searching...
  • More

No Place to Hide

By Ted Allbeury
Authors:
Ted Allbeury
John Rennie is an officer in the SIS. Unshakeable dedicated Rennie is a true professional. He is sent to Paris to investigate the kidnapping of another SIS officer. The trail leads him to Amsterdam and to the Arab terrorist cell responsible for the abduction. Rennie is ordered to snatch the children of a prominent Arab and the SIS officer is released. But Rennie is not happy about the distress caused to the children and he resigns threatening to expose the SIS 'dirty tricks' department. Tipped off that he is to be eliminated he makes his way secretly to Canada with his drop-out girlfriend from Amsterdam. But escaping his old life could never be so easy...
  • More

No More Murders!

By Maria Lang
Authors:
Maria Lang
Worn by his daughter Puck's appetite for macabre detail, John Ensted, Professor of Egyptology, is sceptical about their prospects of a peaceful holiday. but as they set off for Skoga, the small Swedish lakeside town, Puck and her husband,Edwin Bure, are in high spirits. However, the Professor's fears are soon justified. Thotmes III, the Professor's sacred white cat, is the first to discover the body of the young man behind the lilac bushes. Plunged into the victim'sheart is the Professor's Egyptian paper knife...but who is the man andwhy was he killed? Puck's insatiable curiosity leads her to make her own enquiries and soondiscovers that well kept secrets and ancient scandal smoulder beneath the surface of the idyllic town. When Christer Wick, well known Stockholm detective,arrives, the pieces of the puzzle begin to fall into place.NO MORE MURDERS is a crime fiction classic that helped inspire the new BBC4 drama Crimes of Passion.
  • More
  • Nightwork

    By Joseph Hansen
    Authors:
    Joseph Hansen
    'After forty years, Hammett has a worthy successor' The TimesDave Brandstetter stands alongside Philip Marlow, Sam Spade and Lew Archer as one of the best fictional PIs in the business. Like them, he was tough, determined, and ruthless when the case demanded it. Unlike them, he was gay. Joseph Hansen's groundbreaking novels follow Brandstetter as he investigates cases in which motives are murky, passions run high, and nothing is ever as simple as it looks. Set in 1970s and 80s California, the series is a fascinating portrait of a time and a place, with mysteries to match Chandler and Macdonald.When Paul Myers' truck goes off the road in flames, Dave is called in to investigate. It's no accident - someone stuck a bomb beneath the vehicle. But it seems like no one knows what Paul was hauling, or who he was working for, and the case will pit Dave against companies willing to kill to keep their dirty secrets.
    • More
  • The November Man

    By Bill Granger
    Authors:
    Bill Granger
    Now a major motion picture starring Pierce Brosnan and Olga Kurylenko.WARNING: ADDICTIVE READING.WE WILL NOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR LOSS OF TIME, DRY EYES OR DISCONNECTION WITH REALITY FOLLOWING PROLONGED READING.'Granger has combined Ian Fleming, John Le Carré and Trevanian in one heady mix' New York TimesSTART READING THE NOVEMBER MAN SERIES NOW! Then go on to read the rest, you won't regret it.Special agent Devereaux - codename November - has gone to ground at Lake Geneva thinking he has left his days at R Section behind when he recieves a cryptic message from Hanley, his former boss:"There are no spies..."Devereaux doesn't know that Hanley has been locked away in a government-sponsored asylum for people with too many secrets, or that a beautiful KGB assassin has been ordered to stalk and kill him. And he doesn't know that zero hour ticks closer for an operation to catch a master spy that will drag him back into the world of duty and danger he's tried so long to leave.'America's best spy novelist' Ed McBain Loved this? Read The Infant of Prague next . . .
    • More

    Nocturne for the General

    By John Trenhaile
    Authors:
    John Trenhaile
    In a Soviet prison camp near Murmansk is an old man, bowed but not broken, known only by a number. Were his name to be made known, his fellow inmates would kill him. For this old man with blackened teeth and arthritic legs is Stepan Ilyich Povin, former KGB general, now disgraced but kept alive for the sake of the secret which he has retained through two years of interrogation and beatings.Povin's secret is the final link in a chain whose completion would make his former masters very happy indeed - a secret which draws British Intelligence ever closer to the camp in the Artic Circle...NOCTURNE FOR THE GENERAL is the conclusion to the Stepan Povin trilogy which began with The Man Called Kyril.
    • More

    Nail Biter

    By Sarah Graves
    Authors:
    Sarah Graves
    Jacobia "Jake" Tiptree took the dangerous plunge from Wall Street power broker to homeowner! Now the do-it-yourself enthusiast is about to discover that her own dream house is built on a foundation of murder. Buying a beachfront fixer-upper to lease out to Eastport, Maine's, burgeoning tourist crowd seems like a good idea to Jake and her best friend, Ellie White. But working double-time as landladies to a coven of wannabe witches isn't what they had in mind. And it only gets worse when Jake is called out one stormy night to make a repair and stumbles on a dead body in the utility shed. A small-time thief and street preacher with a particularly violent message, the deceased was no favorite of Jake's nor of anyone else in Eastport. But what's he doing shot to death on Jake's property? Jake's bewitching tenants - including an ex-cop, a con man, and a mute teenage girl-claim to have been too busy conjuring spells to have heard or seen a thing. Then a member of the coven disappears without a trace and Jake doesn't think it's a case of witchcraft - but a kidnapping... or worse. Scandal, secrets, and a mysterious box buried deep in the foundation of her own home are just the beginning of a mystery that threatens to bring Jake's house and life crashing down. Now she and Ellie are racing to find a missing girl who may be the key to it all... or lead them to a killer holding the final nails to their coffins.
    • More
  • Never Die Alone

    By Lisa Jackson
    Authors:
    Lisa Jackson
    NEVER DROP YOUR GUARD. NEVER CLOSE YOUR EYES. OR YOU'LL NEVER SEE HIM COMING ...Fans of Karen Rose and Karin Slaughter will be left chilled by this latest thriller from New York Times bestseller Lisa Jackson.The murders are planned in exquisite detail and the victims are always twins. When Zoe and Chloe Denning went out to celebrate their twenty-first birthday they never made it home. For Brianna Hayward, their disappearance is proof that the '21 Killer' has reached New Orleans. Reporter Jason Bridges is intrigued by a story that could make his career. But both he and Brianna have secrets to hide. Detective Rick Bentz always had his doubts about the '21' conviction and now he fears the real murderer may be loose in his backyard. As Bentz and his partner Reuben Montoya desperately follow the trail, the killer prepares to unite Zoe and Chloe in death forever ...
    • More

    The Night Charter

    By Sam Hawken
    Authors:
    Sam Hawken
    Camaro Espinoza has spent her whole life protecting people: at home, in the army, whenever she can. Sometimes, that's meant leaving bodies behind. Now she's running a boat off the Miami shore, keeping a low profile and aiming for a simple life.Then a man named Parker comes by with an errand to run near the Cuban coast. He's offering good money, and bad trouble. Camaro is reluctant - but Parker's in deep with the wrong people and he has a daughter who'll suffer if he doesn't come home.Camaro's not the sort to ignore the girl's plight. She's used to being wanted, but she's never really been needed before. As she tries to protect Lauren, she finds herself in the midst of double crosses, international intrigue, broken promises and scattered bullets. And this time she may not be able to escape unscathed.
    • More

    Now That You're Gone

    By Julie Corbin
    Authors:
    Julie Corbin
    From the author of DO ME NO HARM and WHAT GOES AROUND.Isla's brother, an ex-Marine and private investigator, has just been found drowned in the River Clyde. But Isla is convinced he was murdered.The coroner declares it an accidental death. The police are happy to close the case. Determined to find out what really happened the night Dougie died, and what he was doing in Glasgow, she starts looking into his unsolved cases. What she finds will put her in grave danger and force her to question everything she thought she knew about those closest to her . . .'A twist laden, psychological thriller.' Reading in Bed'This is very much a character driven novel with a strong and exciting mystery running through it.' BeadyJans BooksIf you love this, look out for Julie Corbin's brand new psychological thriller HER WATCHFUL EYE. Available to pre-order now.
    • More
  • Night

    By Bernard Minier
    Authors:
    Bernard Minier
    The No.1 bestseller in France, NIGHT is the thrilling new novel from award-winner Bernard Minier. The Commandant Servaz series The Frozen Dead is available now on Netflix.'Like Agent Starling in The Silence Of The Lambs . . . Minier's killer is every bit as compelling.'A woman murdered in a church in Norway.A collection of photographs on an oil rig in the North Sea.A young boy in a picturesque Austrian village.The three clues that suggest a serial killer has returned . . . Detective Kirsten Nigaard believes the signs point to none other than Julian Hirtmann, a serial murderer on the run. She turns to Toulouse cop Martin Servaz, who has a painful personal history with Hirtmann. Servaz hunted the elusive killer for many years until the trail went cold. Now they have a chance to bring him to justice at last. But soon the pair find themselves in a terrifying cat-and-mouse chase, not knowing who is chasing whom, and which of them might pay the ultimate price.Praise for Bernard Minier'Over the past few years, France has produced some of Europe's most striking and original crime novelists. Bernard Minier is up there with the best' - The Sunday Times'A super-accelerated version of a Hitchcock thriller, with thrills and shocks on nearly every page . . . Minier reels out lurid, quick and dirty prose, dirty enough to blacken the fingers as we read' - Spectator
    • More
    1