Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books

Walk Away

By Sam Hawken
Authors:
Sam Hawken
Camaro Espinoza is 'the deadliest female protagonist since Jon Land's Caitlin Strong and Stieg Larsson's Lisbeth Salander' (Booklist).Camaro Espinoza is a former combat medic whose past is shrouded in mystery. Having finally achieved a measure of calm and anonymity, Camaro receives a distress call from her sister Annabel. Living a modest life in a small town in California, Annabel has become trapped in an abusive relationship with a bad man named Jake Collier who threatens to make her daughter his next victim.Camaro rushes across the country to defend her sister for what may be the last time. For Jake has a sibling of his own, an ex-Marine named Lukas who is every bit as unhinged as Camaro is uncompromising. For all Camaro's stealth and wit, she can only last so long against such relentless force.As a pair of federal marshals pick up the trail, and a bounty hunter with a debt to settle closes in, Camaro's smart enough to know that standing her ground is the last thing she should do. But if there's one thing she can't do, it's walk away - even with a freight train like Lukas barreling towards her.
  • More

We Were Kings

By Thomas O'Malley, Douglas Graham Purdy
Authors:
Thomas O'Malley, Douglas Graham Purdy
  • More

What Goes Around

By Julie Corbin
Authors:
Julie Corbin
A gripping psychological thriller for fans of Lisa Jewell and C.L Taylor.500 five star Goodreads ratingOnce you start reading, you won't want to stop. Two women, two secrets, one murder... If someone took away your perfect life, how far would you go to get it back? Ellen's family is her world. So when her husband leaves her for another woman, she is almost destroyed. But not quite, because Ellen has a plan, a way to make those who have hurt her suffer. Leila is the other woman. She finally has everything she ever wanted. But Leila's brother has come back into her life, raking up a past that needs to stay buried. One of them will pay for their actions with their life, but which one?******* Goodreads reviews'It was a unique novel, the story was nothing like I have ever read before. I was gripped all the way through and I'll definitely be recommending it to my other book lover friends. Can't wait to read more by Julie Corbin!''An excellent psychological drama...It's not difficult to see why Julie Corbin is so highly rated and her back catalogue has just made my tbr list that bit more unmanageable. Definitely recommend this.''I've been a fan of Julie's books for a few years now, so was really looking forward to reading 'What goes around'. Her books are very well written and always gripping, and this one is no exception.'Netgalley reviews'It's dark, its obsessive, it's compelling...this author really knows how to work her audience.''The book is brilliantly constructed making it a 'can't put it down' read, so much so I was trying to read the book while walking home, much to the dismay of my partner!''What Goes Around is at times intense and disturbing, but has an unpredictability that keeps you guessing right to the end. A superb read!'If you love this, look out for Julie Corbin's brand new psychological thriller HER WATCHFUL EYE. Available to pre-order now.
  • More

The Winter Foundlings

By Kate Rhodes
Authors:
Kate Rhodes
Ella Williams is ten years old. She loves her granddad and her sister and her shiny new red shoes. She's just been abducted by a killer - someone who kidnaps young girls, holds them for a few weeks then returns their bodies clothed in white foundling dresses. The crimes are clearly linked to notorious child murderer Louis Kinsella, locked away in a high-security hospital. Is it a copycat? Or is he giving someone direct orders from behind bars? To save Ella's life, psychologist Alice Quentin must form a relationship with Kinsella. But he is slow to give up his secrets, and all the while, time is running out...
  • More

Wreck the Halls

By Sarah Graves
Authors:
Sarah Graves
People hardly ever lock their doors in Eastport. So when Jake and her best friend, Ellie, arrive at Faye Anne Carmody's kitchen door, they knock and walk right in. But though Christmas is just two weeks away, what they find is far from festive: a dazed Faye Anne covered with blood, and her no-good husband - the town butcher, Merle - nowhere in sight. Nowhere, that is, until Jake discovers his body - tidily wrapped in his own butcher paper.... It doesn't take long for news of the murder to race through the small town, and just about everyone has a theory about the grisly crime that has robbed Eastport of its least-liked citizen. But while police chief Bob Arnold considers it an open-and-shut case, Jake and Ellie aren't convinced of Faye Anne's guilt. Jake has enough going on in her life without trying to investigate a murder. After all, she's just married her longtime love, Wade, and the pair plan to spend the winter rehabilitating the paint-encrusted windows in Jake's old house. But Jake has to admit that there are a lot of details that don't add up: for example, Faye Anne's complaint that she was being stalked, and blood-splattered evidence at the crime scene that just doesn't make sense. Then there is the diary that Faye Anne's secret, sometime boyfriend claims is hidden somewhere in her house. Could Faye Anne's own journal be the key to unlocking an even more fiendish murder plot, or is her double-crossing lover trying to frame her?When yet another Eastport citizen turns up dead, Jake realizes the murderer's trail began long before the night Merle Carmody died. But what keeps eluding her and Ellie is the motive behind the mystery. The truth is so close, they can almost taste it - but can they stop the shrewd killer before he chisels another victim's name onto a tombstone?
  • More

Wicked Fix

By Sarah Graves
Authors:
Sarah Graves
Do-it-yourself killer fixes small-town thug...For ex-Wall Streeter Jacobia Tiptree and her teenaged son, Sam, September promises tranquil days winter-proofing their rambling handyman's special of a home in Eastport, Maine. But there's nothing idyllic about this Down East autumn. For starters, the return of truly vicious native son Reuben Tate stirs up the town. And when somebody slits Reuben's throat and hangs his corpse on the cemetery gate, the police trace a bloodied scalpel to surgeon Victor Tiptree-Jacobia's former husband. Yet Jake knows her troublesome, trouble-prone ex is capable of just about anything except murder. Proving that, though, is another matter.Eastport is packed with tourists and former residents for the annual Salmon Festival - and Jake soon realizes any Eastporter, past or present, has motive for Tate's murder. To nail the real killer, Jake and her best friend, Ellie White, must probe a past as rotten as crumbling clapboard, while a secret hatred builds toward a series of murders even more brutal than Reuben Tate himself...
  • More

Weaponized

By Nicholas Mennuti, David Guggenheim
Authors:
Nicholas Mennuti, David Guggenheim
Kyle West is a wanted man. The United States government think he's leaked secrets at the highest level, and they'll stop at nothing to find him. He's managed to escape to Cambodia, but he can't relax, can't stop looking over his shoulder. He just wants to find a way home. So when he meets Julian Robinson - a man with his own reasons to run, who's willing to swap passports with him - Kyle thinks his luck might finally be changing.He's wrong.Because Julian Robinson isn't who he claims to be. And now he's been dragged into a world of violence and death, of Russian oligarchs, Chinese operatives and CIA officials, time is running out for Kyle to find out who he really is...
  • More

A Wreath for the Bride

By Maria Lang
Authors:
Maria Lang
On the eve of what would have been the wedding of the year, Anneli Hammar, the beautiful and happy bride-to-be, vanishes. One moment she was waving to a friend on her way to inspect her bridal bouquet; the next she was gone, as if the earth had swallowed her up. A nightmare of suspicions follows, questions with no answers - and at the centre of a tangled web of lies stands the mysterious and wealthy man that was to have been Anneli's husband.Chief inspector Christer Wick of the Stockholm Crime Squad investigates and in what turns out to be a double murder case the fragrant lily-of-the-valley bouquet is a tantilising and vital clue.A WREATH FOR THE BRIDE is a classic murder mystery from the Queen of Swedish crime writing which has inspired a new television series, Crimes of Passion.
  • More

Where All the Girls are Sweeter

By Ted Allbeury
Authors:
Ted Allbeury
Boat dealer Max Farne spends his days relaxing, lounging around the pier at Santa Margherita and escaping the hot Italian sun in cool Italian bars. But following the sudden arrival of a beautiful woman, the disappearance of a rich man and the appearance of a soft-treading, armed stranger, who Max is forced to kill, it seems that the violence has only just begun...
  • More

A Wilderness of Mirrors

By Ted Allbeury
Authors:
Ted Allbeury
A senior SIS field officer has gone missing. Thornton is ordered to investigate discreetly. He'd talk to a few people, invent some plausible, probably bureaucratic reason. Check records. Pull back if anyone got too interested. He knew that Fisher, the missing man, was good. Good enough to do things his own way, not the head office way, and get away with it. No money troubles. No indiscretions. Balanced. No question of defection. Thorton soon enters a maze of lies, obstruction and deception surrounding an innocent German girl with extraordinary powers, KGB and CIA plots and counter plots, an East/West kidnapping - and a spy with a conscience.
  • More

What Ever Happened to Baby Jane?

By Henry Farrell
Authors:
Henry Farrell
The literary classic that inspired the iconic film - the story of two sisters and the hell they made their home.Once an acclaimed child star of vaudeville, Baby Jane Hudson performed for adoring crowds before a move to Hollywood thrust her sister, Blanche, into the spotlight. As Blanche's film career took off, a resentful Jane watched from the shadows as her own career faded into obscurity - until a tragic accident changed everything. Now, years later, the two sisters live in a decaying mansion, isolated from the outside world. Crippled by the accident, Blanche is helpless under the control of her abusive sister, who is slowly descending into madness. And when Baby Jane decides it's time to revive her childhood act, she won't let anything - or anyone - stand in her way. This edition features exclusive extra material: three previously unpublished short stories by Henry Farrell, including the inspiration for the movie Hush...Hush, Sweet Charlotte, and an introduction that reveals how the original novel came about as well as the behind-the-scenes drama of the iconic film starring Joan Crawford and Bette Davis, now recreated in the TV show Feud.
  • More
  • When Red is Black

    By Qiu Xiaolong
    Authors:
    Qiu Xiaolong
    Now a BBC Radio 4 Drama Series.When Inspector Chen Cao agrees to do a translation job for a Triad-connected businessman he is given a laptop, a 'little secretary' to provide for his every need, medical care for his mother. There are, it seems, no strings attached . . . Then a murder is reported: Chen is loath to shorten his working holiday, so Sergeant Yu is forced to take charge of the investigation. The victim, a middle-aged teacher, has been found dead in her tiny room in a converted multi-family house. Only a neighbour could have committed the crime, but there is no motive. It is only when Chen returns and starts to investigate the past that he finds answers. But by then he has troubles of his own.
    • More
    1