Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books

Penance

By Kanae Minato
Authors:
Kanae Minato
'Kanae Minato is a brilliant storyteller' Emily St John Mandel, author of Station ElevenWhen a group of young girls are approached by a stranger, they cannot know that the encounter will haunt them for the rest of their lives.Hours later, Emily is dead. The surviving girls alone can identify the killer. But not one of them remembers his face...Driven mad by grief, the victim's mother demands the girls find the murderer or else atone for their crimes. If they do neither, she will have her revenge. She will make them pay...From the critically acclaimed author of Confessions, Penance is a dark and disturbing tale of revenge that will leave you reeling.
  • More
  • The Perplexing Theft of the Jewel in the Crown

    By Vaseem Khan
    Authors:
    Vaseem Khan
    The second book in the heartwarming and charming Baby Ganesh series.For centuries the Koh-i-Noor diamond has set man against man and king against king.Now part of the British Crown Jewels, the priceless gem is a prize that many have killed to possess. So when the Crown Jewels go on display in Mumbai, security is everyone's principal concern. And yet, on the very day Inspector Chopra visits the exhibition, the diamond is stolen from under his nose.The heist was daring and seemingly impossible. The hunt is on for the culprits. But it soon becomes clear that only one man - and his elephant - can possibly crack this case...
    • More

    The Prometheus Man

    By Scott Reardon
    Authors:
    Scott Reardon
    A man with no identity... hunting a man without limits.When a pile of bodies is found in Paris, CIA Agent Tom Blake hustles his way onto a major case: tracking a man with enhanced abilities, the test subject of a secret government program. There's just one problem: the man using Agent Blake's identity is not Agent Blake. He's Tom Reese. Reese is searching for his brother's killer. He stole Agent Blake's identity two months ago and has bluffed his way onto the team investigating his only lead. But his time as a CIA agent is accelerating toward its expiration date. Soon the CIA will find out that Agent Blake is in two places at once. Soon the augmented man will come looking for him. And soon both will discover that Tom Reese carries a secret even he doesn't know about.He is the last test subject of Project Prometheus.
    • More

    The Puppet Maker

    By Danielle Ramsay
    Authors:
    Danielle Ramsay
    The fifth DI Jack Brady investigation, a gritty serial killer thriller for fans of Peter James and Tania Carver.How do you catch a killer when no one knows he's out there?How can you be saved when no one knows you're lost? No one knew about the Puppet Maker... until DI Brady found what remained of his victims. The murderer never meant them to be found. They are his private collection: each body identical, each... altered. Brady knows that now his secret is out, the killer will destroy the evidence - including his latest captive.He must find a man who has hidden the worst of crimes for over twenty years. And whose nameless victims were never even missed...
    • More

    Paradise Sky

    By Joe R. Lansdale
    Authors:
    Joe R. Lansdale
    Meet Nat Love. Born a slave in Texas, he escapes a lynching and finds a mentor who trains him in shooting, riding, reading, writing and gardening. But the enemies of his youth pursue him, and soon he is on the run again...In the course of a tumultuous life, he becomes in turn a Buffalo Soldier, a bouncer, a ratcatcher, a sharpshooter, a dime-novel star, a friend to Wild Bill Hickock and a US Marshall. From Texas to Deadwood and back down south, he both dodges and courts violence, hoping one day to get his revenge.Featuring cowboys, Apaches, buffalo and much, much more, this is a mostly true tale of how the West was won from one of America's most original writers.
    • More

    Public Murders

    By Bill Granger
    Authors:
    Bill Granger
    Maj Kirsten's was a public murder. Good-looking, blonde, Swedish, a tourist, she was found stabbed to death and mutilated in one of Chicago's public parks. That got the headlines, put the pressure on the police as politicians and elected officials demanded an equally public solution. They got it of course: a wino, sleeping rough, arrested and charged. The publicwas reassured. Till the next killing - young, blonde, good-looking, mutilated. And the next - the most public of all. Chicago, sweltering in a heatwave, had become a city hot with fear, crying out for relief. That was when Karen Kovac, young, blonde, good-looking, a police officer, was sent out onto the sweating, heat-soaked streets. A decoy to entice a maniac.
    • More

    Pay Any Price

    By Ted Allbeury
    Authors:
    Ted Allbeury
    The Kennedy killings meant trouble - trouble for the Mafia, trouble for the Cubans, and trouble for the CIA. When Grabowski hides the CIA's hypnosis experts away in a remote Northumbrian safe house, there is only one catch: the British. SIS have a problem just across the Irish Sea that needs to be dealt with, and they are determined to use their American guest's 'expertise' deveoped during Project MKULtra for their own purposes.
    • More

    Playing the Wild Card

    By Philip Evans
    Authors:
    Philip Evans
    Gary Byrne is a footballing genius. When he was transferred to Fiorentina, the Italian fans were soon calling him 'Byron' - a nick-name that suits both his style as well as his romantic good looks.But recently something has gone seriously wrong, and 'Byron' seems to have lost form disastrously. Is it simply the pressure at the top of the game he can't handle? Or is there something else?Ross Armstrong, sent out to assess him for a possible transfer back to England, is puzzled. But as Armstrong delves deeper he finds himself being drawn into an off-the-field drama of deception, tragedy and violence.
    • More

    Palomino Blonde

    By Ted Allbeury
    Authors:
    Ted Allbeury
    What does a man do when he discovers a process like Omega Minus? He wishes he hadn't. Scientist James Hallet has the Intelligence forces of all the world's major powers on his back and they're not too particular about how they get their information. They wouldn't, for instance, baulk at the kidnap and torture of Hallet's beautiful blonde mistress. Not if it would give them Omega Minus.'A classic of espionage fiction with the ingredients to keep you reading all night long' - Len Deighton
    • More

    Paradiso

    By Allan Prior
    Authors:
    Allan Prior
    Bermuda, 1972. The island is a paradise of sea, sand and sub-tropical flowers in abundance under a blazing sun. To Abbott, the money-man, it offers a haven of rest and peace, an idyllic setting for his passionate affair with the golden-skinned Angel. To Angel da Sousa it is merely a stepping stone towards her dream of becoming a star. But beneath this tranquil facade, dangerous undercurrents are stirring. Some see Bermuda as a political symbol, the farthest flung colony of the British Empire, and they threaten to shatter the peace and prosperity of the island paradise. For Abbot and Angel these undercurrents prove treacherous indeed.
    • More
  • Point and Shoot

    By Duane Swierczynski
    Authors:
    Duane Swierczynski
    On a day like any other, Kendra Hardie picks up the phone. A voice says, 'leave the house and you're dead'. Then the line is cut.Kendra hasn't seen her husband Charlie for nearly a decade. He hasn't forgotten about her - but neither have his enemies. And he has a lot of enemies. Charlie thought he could protect her by staying away. But now he has access to secrets his enemies will kill to keep hidden, and they're planning to start with his family. After years in exile, Charlie's arming up... and heading home.
    • More
    1