Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books

Her Nightly Embrace

By Adi Tantimedh
Authors:
Adi Tantimedh
  • More
  • A Handful of Ashes

    By Rob McCarthy
    Authors:
    Rob McCarthy
    The second thrilling book in the London-set Dr Harry Kent series, the perfect mix of detective novel and medical drama. Susan Bayliss became notorious when she blew the whistle on her boss, a heart surgeon at a renowned children's hospital. She accused him of negligence, operations were stopped and an inquiry launched. In the end she was the one suspended as a troublemaker. Now Dr Harry Kent, a medical examiner with the Met Police, has been called out to certify her suicide. But something about the scene is wrong. Someone held Susan down... The grieving parents of the children who died demand answers. The hospital is stonewalling. Everyone has secrets - it's up to Harry and DCI Frankie Noble to find out which were worth killing for.
    • More
  • Honky Tonk Samurai

    By Joe R. Lansdale
    Authors:
    Joe R. Lansdale
    Hap and Leonard are not your typical private eyes. But what they lack in experience they make up with perseverance. Hap, a former 60s activist and self-proclaimed white trash rebel, and Leonard, a tough black, gay Vietnam vet, have finally decided to make their detective work official. Their first client: a mean old woman looking for her missing granddaughter. The girl used to work for a car dealership in town... but it seems like cars weren't the only things on offer. The mystery thickens to include blackmail, revenge, and an inbred family of hillbilly assassins who eliminate any threats to the operation. Only Hap and Leonard could turn a simple missing person case into a life-threatening showdown, and only Joe Lansdale could tell this story. Filled with hilarious dialogue, relentless pacing, and unorthodox characters, Honky Tonk Samurai is a rambunctious thrill ride by one hell of a writer.
    • More

    The Highway Kind: Tales of Fast Cars, Desperate Drivers and Dark Roads

    By Patrick Millikin
    Authors:
    Patrick Millikin
    Like fiction, cars take us into a different world: from the tony enclaves of upper crust society to the lowliest barrio; from muscle car-driving con men to hardscrabble kids on the road during the Great Depression; from a psychotic traveling salesman to a Mexican drug lord who drives a tricked-out VW Bus. We all share the roads, and our cars link us together. Including entirely new stories from Michael Connelly, C.J. Box, George Pelecanos, Diana Gabaldon, James Sallis, Ace Atkins, Luis Alberto Urrea, Sara Gran, Ben H. Winters, and Joe Lansdale, THE HIGHWAY KIND is a street-level look at modern America, as seen through one of its national obsessions.
    • More
  • The Hollow Men

    By Rob McCarthy
    Authors:
    Rob McCarthy
    A new must-read crime series for fans of Mark Billingham and Sarah Hilary: introducing Harry Kent, a police surgeon working with the Met, determined to help those the world would rather brush aside.Dr Harry Kent: former Army medic, hospital registrar, police surgeon, drug addict and defender of anyone the world would rather brush aside. His critics say he has a weakness for lost causes. There are some problems Harry can't solve. His guilt, his lack of sleep, his fractured relationships. But when he sits down across from a sick teenager, he knows what to do - even if that teenager is armed. When the negotiations go wrong and the boy is rushed to hospital, Harry soon realises the danger is not over. Someone wants his patient dead, someone who has access to medical records, someone who will stop at nothing to hide the truth. Harry knows he can't save everyone. But he won't stop trying...
    • More

    Henry McGee is Not Dead

    By Bill Granger
    Authors:
    Bill Granger
    On the foggy and desolate Seattle waterfront, a grey-haired, gray-eyed man foils a mugging. His name is Devereaux - the November Man. His act of salvation is the first, unexpected step on a perilous odyssey to the remotewilderness of Alaska. His quest is for a mysterious individual named Henry McGee, the sometimesAmerican, sometimes Russian master manipulator, teller of tales, and treacherous link between the superpowers, in a bizarre, far-reaching plot to destroy U.S. Intelligence. The November Man is the unwilling intstrument of the plan's success - or thedetermined key to its failure.
    • More
  • Hemingway's Notebook

    By Bill Granger
    Authors:
    Bill Granger
    Hemingway's notebook. Everyone is looking for it on St. Michel in the Caribbean. Here the president is a raving lunatic, the "Black Police" have the run of the capital, guerilla forces mass in the hills, an organized crime syndicate plans its own takeover, and U.S. agents brutally battle for a document filled with hot political secrets, the lost notebook of Ernest Hemingway.One of America's most lethal operatives, the man they call November, will need all his courage and cunning if the coveted prize is to be his.
    • More

    The Happy Highwayman

    By Leslie Charteris
    Authors:
    Leslie Charteris
    In this collection of nine classic short stories Simon Templar crosses swords with a criminal who thought he was lucky until he met the Saint, a clever detective who isn't, a well-meaning mayor, a French count, a charitable countess, a man who likes ants and a producer who turns out, much to the Saint's surprise, to actually be quite smart. From odd wills to gala dinners, burglar-proof exhibitions to poker competitions, the Saint finds adventures to enjoy and injustices to put right in his own inimitable style.
    • More

    Her Majesty's Hit Man

    By Allan Prior
    Authors:
    Allan Prior
    When the British government needs to make an enemy disappear, Jay is the man they call on. He doesn't ask questions, because he doesn't want to know the answers. Jay is a contract killer and for him the rules of the game are simple - kill or be killed. His latest contract will not only require him to push his SAS training to its limit, but also put to the test the patriotism and sense of duty that set him on the path to becoming a cold blooded killer-for hire. A classic thriller from the creator of Z-Cars and Softly, Softly.
    • More

    Hitman

    By Max Kinnings
    Authors:
    Max Kinnings
    A paranoid, reclusive old woman offers you a hundred grand to kill someone. Trouble is, you're no silent assasin and your target is a man endowed with enormous psychic powers. And yes...he quite clearly knows what you're up to. You have two options:1. Decline the offer. 2. Get a gun, get smashed out of your brain on every drug you can lay your hands on and hit the streets in your souped-up Beamer whilst your "hit" draws you deeper into his bizarre hallucinatory world. The choice is yours. Taking in the sights and sounds of modern London as seen through the bleary eyes of our (tragi-)comic (anti-)hero, HITMAN is inhabited by a cast of grotesque movers and shakers, casualties and misfits, all of them scattered from the corrosive underbelly of the showbiz dream.
    • More
  • Hell and Gone

    By Duane Swierczynski
    Authors:
    Duane Swierczynski
    Mulholland Books presents... HELL AND GONEThere are some criminals so dangerous the world can never know about them.They can't be held in regular prisons.They must never be released.They're here - in a secret underground prison miles away from anywhere. And now, so is Charlie Hardie. The shadowy organisation running the jail sent him there as punishment for getting in their way. But he's not a prisoner. He's in charge. He can leave any time he wants, he's told. There's just one catch: if he goes, everyone in the prison dies, including innocent guards.But when Charlie realises his family may be in danger, he knows he must protect them at any cost. Even if it means blasting his way out, one inmate at a time...
    • More
    1