Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books
  • Gamma

    By Greg Rucka
    Authors:
    Greg Rucka
    • More

    The Girls She Left Behind

    By Sarah Graves
    Authors:
    Sarah Graves
    For Lizzie Snow, the ice and snow of her first punishing North Woods winter are dreadful enough. But near the small town of Bearkill a stubborn forest fire now rages out of control, and as embers swirl dangerously in the smoke-filled air, a teenage girl with a history of running away has dropped out of sight again. The locals and the law both think Tara Wylie is up to her old tricks-until her mother receives a terrifying text message. Equally disturbing: Henry Gemerle-a kidnapper and rapist who once held three girls prisoner for fifteen years-has escaped, and may be lurking in Bearkill. As the fire closes in, Lizzie teams up with her boss, Sheriff Cody Chevrier, and state cop Dylan Hudson to search for the missing girl and the wily fugitive. But they're blocked by Tara's mother, a frustrating teller of needless lies and keeper of dark, incomprehensible secrets. Following a trail of grisly clues-a bloodstained motel room, a makeshift coffin in a shallow grave-Lizzie is drawn ever closer to the flames in her race to save an innocent and corner a monster. Someone else also wants to find Tara Wylie and Henry Gemerle, though, for reasons that have nothing to do with mercy or justice. And when they all meet, the inferno threatening Bearkill will pale in comparison to the hell that's about to break loose.
    • More
  • Grave Error

    By Stephen Greenleaf
    Authors:
    Stephen Greenleaf
    The first novel in Stephen Greenleaf's classic series featuring John Marshall Tanner, San Francisco ex-lawyer turned private detective.When her husband begins acting strangely, the wife of a famous legal crusader hires San Francisco P.I. John Marshall Tanner to find out why. Tanner is convinced the case is a simple matter of blackmail. Certainly a man like Roland Nelson has made his share of powerful enemies in a career devoted to exposing fraud and corruption among the mighty.But Tanner's investigation soon takes a tragic and personal turn. Suddenly Tanner finds himself on a trail of buried secrets, frustrated passions, and smoldering revenge as he races to stop a killer.
    • More
  • Gone

    By Rebecca Muddiman
    Authors:
    Rebecca Muddiman
    'Captivating and fast-paced, GONE has a riveting storyline and gritty characters in a super-twisty plot.' Mel SherrattA twisty story of murder, guilt and unintended consequences, perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott and Angela Marsons.250,000 people go missing in the UK every year.91% of those reported to police are found within 48 hours.99% of cases are solved within a year.And 1% stay gone.Troubled teenager Emma Thorley vanished without a trace eleven years ago. But now a body has been found...As news of the discovery travels, the past comes back to haunt all those involved, from the police to Emma's friends and enemies. Because some secrets cannot be buried for ever...and some dangers never go away.
    • More

    The Gates of Exquisite View

    By John Trenhaile
    Authors:
    John Trenhaile
    'I welcome you through the Gates of Exquisite View' - a phrase carved above the entrance to the torture-chamber of executioner Lai Chun-Ch'en.To save his life Mat Young must tell his inquisitors the secret of Apogee - a fifth generation supercomputer. But it is a secret he does not possess. Mat is caught in Red China's deadly ambitions to take back Taiwan by force. As is Simon Young his tai-pan father, and Mat's lover, one of Taiwan's most glamorous actresses...
    • More

    Genocide Of One

    By Kazuaki Takano
    Authors:
    Kazuaki Takano
    He is a new kind of human He may mean the end for the rest of us... One bright morning in Washington D.C., the US President learns of a terrifying new threat to national security. Soon afterwards, American mercenary Jonathan Yeager is asked to lead a team into the Congo to eliminate a mysterious enemy - a job which will help him pay for treatment for his dying son.But when they reach Africa, the threat turns out to be a three-year-old child named Akili: the next step in human evolution. The soldiers are under orders to kill the boy before his full potential can be realised. Yet Akili's advanced knowledge might be the only hope Yeager has to save his son's life...With time running out to choose a side, Yeager must decide whether to follow his orders or to save a creature who may not be as harmless or innocent as he appears. Because Akili is already the smartest being on the planet, with the power to either save humanity - or destroy it.
    • More
  • Gravedigger

    By Joseph Hansen
    Authors:
    Joseph Hansen
    'After forty years, Hammett has a worthy successor' The TimesDave Brandstetter stands alongside Philip Marlowe, Sam Spade and Lew Archer as one of the best fictional PIs in the business. Like them, he was tough, determined, and ruthless when the case demanded it. Unlike them, he was gay. Joseph Hansen's groundbreaking novels follow Brandstetter as he investigates cases in which motives are murky, passions run high, and nothing is ever as simple as it looks. Set in 1970s and 80s California, the series is a fascinating portrait of a time and a place, with mysteries to match Chandler and MacDonald.A father claims on his daughter's life insurance - the girl is feared to be a victim of cultist and killer Azrael. But before the claim can be investigated, the man has disappeared - and Dave has to follow the clues through the canyons of LA to a truly terrifying climax.
    • More

    The Girl from Addis

    By Ted Allbeury
    Authors:
    Ted Allbeury
    Johnny Grant was a British Intelligence agent in Ethiopia in 1941. The operation went south his cover was blown and he was given 48 hours to leave the country. Over forty years later he returns as a professional photographer working on a magazine feature or so he believes. Behind the exotic sets and beautiful models British and Russian Intelligence forces battle for control of the coastline one of the gateways to Africa. When Johnny falls in love with Aliki Yassou girlfriend of one of the top Russians his past begins to catch up with him.
    • More

    Gun Machine

    By Warren Ellis
    Authors:
    Warren Ellis
    The room is full of guns. Old ones. New ones. Modified ones. Hundreds of them. This is a collection belonging to someone who's been killing a long time. Secretly. And very, very effectively. This is the impossible case that New York detective John Tallow has to solve, before the killer catches up with him. This is GUN MACHINE: a crime novel like none you've read before.
    • More
  • Guilt By Degrees

    By Marcia Clark
    Authors:
    Marcia Clark
    No witnesses. No motive. No name.The homeless man's death seems an impossible case to solve. But Deputy District Attorney Rachel Knight isn't going to let that prevent her trying to bring his killer to justice.When she uncovers a link between this death and the vicious murder of an LAPD cop, one thing becomes clear: she's looking for someone who will kill to keep their secrets safe.Someone who is as smart and determined as Rachel herself.Someone who is already watching, just waiting for the chance to strike...
    • More
  • Guilt By Association

    By Marcia Clark
    Authors:
    Marcia Clark
    When Deputy District Attorney Rachel Knight's journey home is interrupted by screaming sirens, she decides to follow them. But what she finds when she arrives at a sleazy LA motel shatters her world: her trusted colleague Jake lies dead beside the body of a teenage male prostitute. The police say murder/suicide. Rachel's gut says different. Her search for proof will take her through the dark and tangled city, from its wealthy suburbs to its violent heart. And a truth so dangerous it could kill her.
    • More
    1