Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books
  • Last Night

    By Karen Ellis
    Authors:
    Karen Ellis
    How can you get lost in a city that never sleeps?Nineteen-year-old Titus 'Crisp' Crespo is a smart kid on his way to a bright future. But on the eve of his high school graduation, a chance encounter with a cop who can't see beyond the colour of his skin puts everything in jeopardy. When he doesn't return home two nights later his mother knows something is wrong. Seeking answers, she turns to Detective Lex Cole, who starts to follow his traces: a bad decision, a trip into a dangerous part of the city; blood...As Crisp heads into trouble and discovers the New York he's lived alongside for years but never really seen, Lex, a day later, must find out what happened last night - before it's too late.
    • More

    The Laughterhouse

    By Paul Cleave
    Authors:
    Paul Cleave
    'A modern equivalent of James Ellroy's Los Angeles of the 1950s, a discordant symphony of violence and human weakness' Publishers Weekly'Cleave uses words like lethal weapons' New York Times Book ReviewFast-paced, dark, and intensely clever, this exciting thriller represents a brilliant new chapter in the career of world-class crime writer Paul Cleave.Theodore Tate never forgot his first crime scene - ten-year-old Jessica found dead in "the Laughterhouse," an old abandoned slaughterhouse with the S painted over. The killer was found and arrested. Justice was served. Or was it? Fifteen years later, a new killer arrives in Christchurch, and he has a list of people who were involved in Jessica's murder case, one of whom is the unfortunate Dr. Stanton, a man with three young girls. If Tate is going to help them, he has to find the connection between the killer, the Laughterhouse, and the city's suddenly growing murder rate. And he needs to figure it out fast, because Stanton and his daughters have been kidnapped, and the doctor is being forced to make an impossible decision: which one of his daughters is to die first.
    • More

    The Last Cut

    By Danielle Ramsay
    Authors:
    Danielle Ramsay
    Harri Jacobs knows she's being stalked. But it might be her only chance to get revenge... A gritty thriller for fans of Rachel Abbott and Angela Marsons.'A really cracking read!' Martina ColeHe's taking women. He's stripping them of their identity.It's all for her... DS Harri Jacobs transferred to Newcastle from the Met in the hope of leaving her past behind: the moment where her stalker turned violent. He left her alive, saying that one day he would be back. And she ran. But a year later, she realises he has followed her from home. He'll prove his devotion. With blood...Bloggers love The Last Cut! Find out what they're saying:'I love Harri...Just as with all of Danielle's writing, I want more.' The Booky Place 'An exciting new series with a new detective that will thrill crime fans' Hooked from Page One'Claustrophobic, suffocating, dark even. In essence, all the things I love about a gritty serial killer story which this book most definitely is.' Jen Med's Book Reviews
    • More

    Lie With Me

    By Sabine Durrant
    Authors:
    Sabine Durrant
    THE UNPUTDOWNABLE RICHARD & JUDY BOOK CLUB PICK AND SUNDAY TIMES TOP TEN BESTSELLER THAT EVERYONE IS RAVING ABOUT. OVER 100K COPIES SOLD.'Utterly gripping' Daily Mail 'A killer twist' Woman & Home'I loved every page' Clare MackintoshLonglisted for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the YearShortlisted for the British Book Awards Crime Novel of the YearA few little lies never hurt anyone. Right?Wrong.Paul has a plan. He has a vision of a better future, and he's going to make it happen. If it means hiding or exaggerating a few things here and there, no harm done. But when he charms his way on to a family holiday...And finds himself trapped among tensions and emotions he doesn't understand...By the time he starts to realise that however painful the truth is, it's the lies that cause the real damage...Well, by then, it might just be too late.
    • More
  • Lives Lost

    By Britta Bolt
    Authors:
    Britta Bolt
    The second in the atmospheric Amsterdam-set crime series, which combines the city's old-world charm with contemporary issues of corruption, immigration and crime.A minute can make all the difference...Pieter Posthumus is enjoying a quiet drink in his favourite bar when the screaming starts. A minute later, the owner of the guesthouse next door rushes in: one of her tenants has been murdered. Marloes, the guesthouse owner, is an odd but kind soul. Posthumus cannot believe it when she is arrested - for both her tenant Zig's murder and another death years before. He knows there are questions unanswered: what is the link between the two cases? Why are people so keen to think Marloes is guilty? And why did Zig paint just one picture every year - a copy of a Dutch master, but with one peculiar twist? As his investigation progresses, he comes to see that a few minutes can mean all the difference in the world: between saving a life and taking one; between innocence and guilt. And that sometimes asking questions leads to a truth that's hard to bear.
    • More
  • Lonely Graves

    By Britta Bolt
    Authors:
    Britta Bolt
    The first in the atmospheric Amsterdam-set crime series, which combines the city's old-world charm with contemporary issues of corruption, immigration and crime.A suicide. A drowned man. A sudden death.For some people, it's just another day's work.In Amsterdam, there's a council department known affectionately as the Lonely Funerals team. It exists to arrange burials for the abandoned or unknown dead, with the care and dignity that every life deserves. Pieter Posthumus hasn't been doing the job long, but he's determined to do it well. He finds that he cares deeply about the people whose files land on his desk. So when something doesn't seem quite right about a Moroccan immigrant's 'accidental' drowning, Posthumus starts digging.His quest for justice will lead him down some dangerous paths, and into conflict with some very dangerous men...
    • More

    A Love Like Blood

    By Marcus Sedgwick
    Authors:
    Marcus Sedgwick
    If life has taught me one thing, it is this: that the worst monsters are entirely human.It began in a hole in the ground, in Paris, in the days after the liberation. What I saw there I saw only for the time it takes a match to burn down, and yet it decided the rest of my life.I tried to forget it at first, to ignore it, but I could not. It came back to me; he came back to me. He hurt people I loved... And so I took the first step on a journey from which there would be no return; a path that led me to fear, to hatred and to revenge - but, above all else, to blood.
    • More
  • The Little Dog Laughed

    By Joseph Hansen
    Authors:
    Joseph Hansen
    'After forty years, Hammett has a worthy successor' The TimesDave Brandstetter stands alongside Philip Marlow, Sam Spade and Lew Archer as one of the best fictional PIs in the business. Like them, he was tough, determined, and ruthless when the case demanded it. Unlike them, he was gay. Joseph Hansen's groundbreaking novels follow Brandstetter as he investigates cases in which motives are murky, passions run high, and nothing is ever as simple as it looks. Set in 1970s and 80s California, the series is a fascinating portrait of a time and a place, with mysteries to match Chandler and Macdonald.When foreign correspondent Adam Streeter is found shot dead, the police and his daughter both say suicide; but his life insurance company sends Dave in to check all the same. He soon realises that Adam was on the trail of a big story - so big that, as Dave digs deeper, he swiftly finds himself targeted by the same powerful and pitiless enemy.
    • More

    Lexicon

    By Max Barry
    Authors:
    Max Barry
    Sticks and stones break bones. Words kill.They recruited Emily from the streets. They said it was because she's good with words. They'll live to regret it.Wil survived something he shouldn't have. But he doesn't remember it.Now they're after him and he doesn't know why.There's a word, they say. It shouldn't have got out. But it did.And they want it back...Find out why in one of the most mind-bending, page-turning, thrilling novels you'll ever read.*Winner of the Aurealis Award for science fiction and GoodReads Choice Awards finalist for best science fiction*
    • More

    The Lonely Margins

    By Ted Allbeury
    Authors:
    Ted Allbeury
    To live in the shadowland of espionage, where the only certainties are death and deceit, is to live on the lonely margins. The French Resistance brought James Harmer and Jane Frazer together. The Gestapo broke them apart. But it was something else that shattered their love and left them haunted by a sense of betrayal and a thirst for revenge.
    • More

    The Lantern Network

    By Ted Allbeury
    Authors:
    Ted Allbeury
    Routine surveillance, nothing special' - Commander Bailey's brief from Special Branch seems simple enough. But it leads to a sudden, bloody suicide. Piece-by-piece, Baily uncovers the history of a courageous special agent aiding the French Resistance during WWII. But the agent's loyalties are fatally divided. Thirty years on, in a quiet flat in south London, the final, tragic act of the drama takes place...THE LANTERN NETWORK is a gripping story of heroism and betrayal in Nazi-occupied France from a genuine craftsman of the thriller genre.'A grimly realistic story of patriotism, treachery and fierce courage of men and women who defy torture and death' - Daily Telegraph
    • More

    L.A. Noire: The Collected Stories

    By Rockstar Games
    Authors:
    Rockstar Games
    Rockstar Games has partnered with Mulholland Books to publish a collection of short fiction expanding the world of the newest groundbreaking achievement in storytelling: the interactive crime thriller L.A. Noire. 1940s Hollywood, murder, deception and mystery take center stage as readers reintroduce themselves to characters seen in L.A. Noire. Explore the lives of actresses desperate for the Hollywood spotlight; heroes turned defeated men; and classic Noir villains. Readers will come across not only familiar faces, but familiar cases from the game that take on a new spin to tell the tales of emotionally torn protagonists, depraved schemers and their ill-fated victims. With original short fiction by Megan Abbott, Lawrence Block, Joe Lansdale, Joyce Carol Oates, Francine Prose, Jonathan Santlofer, Duane Swierczynski and Andrew Vachss, L.A. NOIRE: THE COLLECTED STORIES breathes new life into a time-honored American tradition, in an exciting anthology that will appeal to fans of suspense and gamers everywhere.
    • More
  • A Loyal Character Dancer

    By Qiu Xiaolong
    Authors:
    Qiu Xiaolong
    Now a BBC Radio 4 Drama Series.Former dancer and party loyalist Wen Liping vanishes in rural China just before she was to leave the country. Her husband, a key witness against a smuggling ring suspected of importing aliens to the US, refuses to testify until she is found and brought to join him in America. A few days later, a badly mutilated body turns up in Shanghai's Bund Park. It bears all the hallmarks of a triad killing. The US immigration agency, convinced that the Chinese government are hiding something, send US Marshal Catherine Rohn to Shanghai to join the investigation. Inspector Chen, an astute young policeman with twin passions for food and poetry, is under political pressure to find answers fast. When Catherine Rohn joins him he must decide what is more dangerous: to hide the truth, or to risk unleashing a scandal that could destroy his career.
    • More
    1