Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books

Ideas Are Your Only Currency

By Rod Judkins
Authors:
Rod Judkins
FUTURE-PROOFING FOR THINKERS.'What skills and abilities will a student need to prosper in five, ten, or fifteen years' time?' In a world of change, where skills become out of date quickly, it is ideas that last. We all need to be prepared for a world that is fluid, global and interdisciplinary. Distinctions between specialties will blur and overlap. Change is happening at electrifying speed. In this vortex there are no maps. Featuring 100 interactive chapters to inspire groundbreaking new ideas, this is perfect for fans of Keri Smith's Wreck this Journal, Paul Arden's It's Not How Good You Are and Rolf Dobelli's global bestseller The Art of Thinking Clearly.
  • More

In Every Moment We Are Still Alive

By Tom Malmquist
Authors:
Tom Malmquist
Chosen by El País as one of this past decade's nine best novels about life and deathThe prize-winning, bestselling tale of love, loss, family and the lives we live moment by moment, from a stunning new voice in European fiction.Tom's heavily pregnant girlfriend Karin is rushed to hospital with severe flu. While the doctors are able to save the baby, they are helpless in the face of what transpires to be acute Leukemia, and in a moment as fleeting as it is cruel Tom gains a daughter but loses his soul-mate. In Every Moment is the story of a year that changes everything, as Tom must reconcile the fury of bereavement with the overwhelming responsibility of raising his daughter, Livia, alone. By turns tragic and redemptive, meditative and breathless, achingly poignant and darkly funny, this heavily autobiographical novel has been described in its native Sweden as 'hypnotic', 'impossible to resist' and 'one of the most powerful books about grief ever written'.
  • More

In the Beginning

By Irina Ratushinskaya
Authors:
Irina Ratushinskaya
IN THE BEGINNING goes back to the poet's life before her arrest, interweaving her experiences of growing up in Odessa with those of her childhood friend and future husband Igor Geraschenko. With wit and simplicity Irina describes a biased and turbulent education, being pressured to work for the KGB, the growth of faith that became so important to her in later life, and an impromptu wedding. Ratushinskaya shows how her early experiences moulded her personality, enabling her at a time of almost unbearable pressure to remain true to her own convictions.
  • More

In Search of Solace

By Emily Mackie
Authors:
Emily Mackie
LONGLISTED FOR THE FOLIO PRIZE 2015 AND THE GREEN CARNATION PRIZE 2014Jacob Little is in trouble - existential trouble. Over ten years, he has tried out such a range of identities that he has lost all sense of who he is. Convinced that only his ex-lover Solace can help, Jacob sets off for her Scottish hometown, only to get caught up in the lives of four people with their own issues: his self-deluding landlady, a teenager looking for a grand romance, an old watchmaker obsessed with time and a young girl who believes she's a boy. Each sees Jacob in a different light. For each, he is a catalyst. But where does that leave him? Or, dear reader, you?
  • More

Inheritance

By Sharon Moalem
Authors:
Sharon Moalem
A groundbreaking book that will transform how we understand ourselves and our families by revealing that everything we thought we knew about genetics is wrong:* Your genes are not fixed; * the traits you inherit aren't unalterable; * the way you behave can affect how these genes are passed down to your children.Your experiences, no matter how seemingly inconsequential - from bullies to crushes to what you eat for dinner - have all left an indelible mark within you. And more importantly, within your genes.We're taught that we don't have much of a choice in the matter of what we get or what we give, because our genetic legacy was fixed when our parents conceived us. But that's all wrong. Our genes are constantly on the move, some are turning on while others are turning off, all in response to what you're doing, what you're seeing, and what you're feeling. And all of those things can be changed, which means we can change. Genetically. INHERITANCE is a guidebook for that change. No longer do we have to settle for what we've been given. We can write our own story.
  • More

The Illumination of Merton Browne

By J M Shaw
Authors:
J M Shaw
When he wants to get away from things, away from his mum and Uncle Tuck, away from the shouting and the sound of the TV, Merton Browne hides in his cupboard with a torch and a Tintin book and pretends he's going to space. As he gets older things don't change much. He thinks secondary school will be about learning, but mainly it's about staying out of trouble. Disenchanted and desperate to avoid the attentions of Savage and his posse, Merton finds refuge among the forgotten history books in a dusty basement, remnants of another regime. Inspired by what he reads he comes up with a plan to earn protection for him and his friend, and soon finds himself appointed consigliere by Savage's increasingly ambitious gang. Fifteen and fired up by the discovery of sex, drugs and power, Merton is convinced he's on the brink of causing a revolution. But the repercussions of one night present Merton with a choice. He needs to decide who he is, who he wants to be and where his loyalties lie.
  • More

In Our Time

By Melvyn Bragg
Authors:
Melvyn Bragg
Melvyn Bragg's In Our Time series regularly enlightens and entertains substantial audiences on BBC Radio 4. For this book he has selected episodes which reflect the diversity of the radio programmes, and takes us on an amazing tour through the history of ideas, from philosophy, physics and history to religion, literature and biology. We can discover the reasons for the fall of the Byzantine empire, and why women were persecuted as witches in the seventeenth century. What shape is the origin of life? Where does our calendar come from? We can unearth the influence of prime numbers, Socrates and Tectonic plates. Melvyn Bragg orchestrates the ideas of leading academics in each field so that the dynamic and lively discussion from the programmes comes through vividly on the page. IN OUR TIME brings to life the signposts of history, the moments that significantly changed the world as we know it, and the individuals and ideas that made us what we are today.
  • More

Incendiary

By Chris Cleave
Authors:
Chris Cleave
You aren't stupid. You know there's no such thing as a perfect mother.Plenty of other books will tell you there is, but this one won't lie to you.I was weak and I cheated and I was punished, but my god I loved my child through all of it.Love means you never break, and it means you're stronger than the things they do to you. I know this is true because I have been through fire, and I am the proof that love survives.I am not a perfect mother but I will tell you the perfect truth, because this is you and me talking.This is my story.
  • More

ID

By Susan Greenfield
Authors:
Susan Greenfield
If you've ever wondered what effect video games have on your children's minds or worried about how much private information the government and big companies know about you, ID is essential reading. Professor Susan Greenfield argues persuasively that our individuality is under the microscope as never before; now more then ever we urgently need to look at what we want for ourselves as individuals and for our future society.ID is an exploration of what it means to be human in a world of rapid change, a passionately argued wake-up call and an inspiring challenge to embrace creativity and forge our own identities.
  • More

I AM, THEREFORE I THINK: Philosophers Answer Your Questions About Love, Nothingness and Everything Else ...

By Alexander George
Authors:
Alexander George
What is like to be another person? Why is stupidity not painful? Is it possible for a human ever to do a selfless act? Do chimpanzees really enjoy eating bananas? How can an exception ever prove a rule? Everyone confronts philosophical issues, so why shouldn't everyone have access to a philosopher? In this wise and witty book, forty philosophers from universities around the world answer real readers' most difficult questions. They address dilemmas and queries on every subject, from adultery and the afterlife, to ethics and existentialism, God, sex, suicide and war. They even address the question, 'Why can't philosophers agree?' This is an entertaining and jargon-free exploration of the philosophy of everyday life.
  • More

Interior

By Justin Cartwright
Authors:
Justin Cartwright
'Dodging the vested interests of the Ngwenya clan, his wayward wife Magdan and the colonial dinosaur Jumbo Munroe, the narrator embarks on a quasi-biblical quest that owes more to Waugh and Ballard than Rider Haggard, a tale that hits the ground running and continues at a vigorous pace. This is one of the shrewdest and most diverting novels about Africa one could hope to read.' DAILY TELEGRAPH
  • More

Iran Book

By John Simpson
Authors:
John Simpson
  • More

Ingenious Pain

By Andrew Miller
Authors:
Andrew Miller
The extraordinary prize-winning debut from Andrew Miller. Winner of the IMPAC Award and James Tait Black Memorial Prize.At the dawn of the Enlightenment, James Dyer is born unable to feel pain. A source of wonder and scientific curiosity as a child, he rises through the ranks of Georgian society to become a brilliant surgeon. Yet as a human being he fails, for he can no more feel love and compassion than pain. Until, en route to St Petersburg to inoculate the Empress Catherine against smallpox, he meets his nemesis and saviour.
  • More

In Every Face I Meet

By Justin Cartwright
Authors:
Justin Cartwright
Set against the background of Nelson Mandela's release, IN EVERY FACE I MEET is the story of Anthony Northleach, and one intense, comic and horrifying day in his life.'Glitteringly entertaining.' The Times'A hugely readable, beautifully written, thoughtful book.' Marie Claire'A brilliant and original book ... There can be nothing derivative about a novelist with Justin Cartwright's fresh accuracy of perception, which provides constant small shocks of recognition ... funny as well as bleak, and full of humanity. This is a novel that tackles all the big state-of-the modern-world themes; it is also intensely readable' Sunday TelegraphSet against the background of Nelson Mandela's release, this is the story of Anthony Northleach, and one intense, comic and horrifying day in his life.'Glitteringly entertaining' The Times'A hugely readable, beautifully written, thoughtful book' Marie Claire'A brilliant and original book ... There can be nothing derivative about a novelist with Justin Cartwright's fresh accuracy of perception, which provides constant small shocks of recognition ... intensely readable' Sunday Telegraph
  • More
1