Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books

How Are You Going To Save Yourself

By J M Holmes
Authors:
J M Holmes
  • More

How Much the Heart Can Hold: the perfect alternative Valentine's gift

By Carys Bray, Rowan Hisayo Buchanan, Bernardine Evaristo, Grace McCleen, Donal Ryan, Nikesh Shukla, D.W. Wilson
Authors:
Carys Bray, Rowan Hisayo Buchanan, Bernardine Evaristo, Grace McCleen, Donal Ryan, Nikesh Shukla, D.W. Wilson
  • More

Harmony

By Carolyn Parkhurst
Authors:
Carolyn Parkhurst
An unputdownable story about the strength of love, the bonds of family, and how you survive the unthinkable.How far will a mother go to save her family? The Hammond family is living in Washington DC, where everything seems to be going just fine, until it becomes clear that the oldest daughter, Tilly - a mix of off-the-charts genius and social incompetence - is on the autistic spectrum. Once Tilly is kicked out of the last school in the area, her mother Alexandra is at her wits' end. The family turns to Camp Harmony and the wisdom of child behaviour guru Scott Bean for a solution. But what they discover in the woods of New Hampshire will push them to the very limit.
  • More

Harmless Like You

By Rowan Hisayo Buchanan
Authors:
Rowan Hisayo Buchanan
WINNER OF THE 2017 AUTHOR'S CLUB FIRST NOVEL AWARDWINNER OF A BETTY TRASK AWARDSHORTLISTED FOR THE 2017 DESMOND ELLIOTT PRIZE'Announces a startling talent' Guardian'Stylishly written . . . exceptional' Literary Review 'This brilliant debut novel is cause for celebration' Lorrie Moore'A refreshing, bold book' Sunday TelegraphWritten in startlingly beautiful prose, HARMLESS LIKE YOU is set across New York, Berlin and Connecticut, following the stories of Yuki Oyama, a Japanese girl fighting to make it as an artist, and Yuki's son Jay who, as an adult in the present day, is forced to confront his mother who abandoned him when he was only two years old.An unforgettable novel about the complexities of identity, art, adolescent friendships and familial bonds, offering a unique exploration of love, loneliness and reconciliation.LONGLISTED FOR THE 2016 JHALAK PRIZESHORTLISTED FOR THE 2016 BOOKS ARE MY BAG BREAKTHROUGH AUTHOR AWARD'Slick and intelligent' Stylist
  • More

The High Places

By Fiona McFarlane
Authors:
Fiona McFarlane
Winner of the International Dylan Thomas Prize 2017'The judges recognised the mastery of form which is present in Fiona McFarlane's unforgettable collection of stunning short stories . . . highly varied in tone and brought the reader to characters, situations and places which were haunting in their oddity and moving in their human empathy.' Chair of judges of International Dylan Thomas Prize 2017, Professor Dai Smith CBEBy the author of The Night Guest, a collection of fourteen scintillating short stories: surprising, wise, thought-provoking and superbly wrought. Ranging in setting from Australia to Greece, England to a Pacific island, they focus on people: their hopes, fears, dreams and disappointments, and their relationships - between ill-matched friends, daughters and mothers, fathers and sons, married couples and sisters. Some are eccentric, like the widower who believes his dead wife's mechanical parrot speaks to him, or the research scientist convinced that Charles Darwin visits him on his remote island; others delude themselves, like the mistress of a married man who thinks she's freer than her married sister. All are confronted with events that make them see themselves and their lives from a fresh perspective. It is what they do as a result that is as unpredictable as life itself.
  • More

Home

By Frank Ronan
Authors:
Frank Ronan
Born on a Devon commune in the sixties to a teenage single mother, Coorg is declared to be the new Merlin by the group (until he is supplanted by Marc Bolan) and grows up on peace, love and brown rice - until Coorg's grandparents abduct him when he is 6, taking him back to Ireland where he is renamed Joseph and introduced to Mass, sweets, and the back of his grandmother's hand. Joe grows up in a small seaside town trying hard to fit into a dysfunctional family and a Church that doesn't seem to reward his efforts, but when he decides to be bad he finds sinning gets him no further. Then his feckless mother reappears, on the trail of the Holy Grail and (when Marc Bolan dies) after Joe as the messiah who will save the world. On the cusp of adulthood, his head churning with Catholicism, mysticism as well as the more usual teenage concerns, Joe finally cracks.
  • More

The Hired Man

By Melvyn Bragg, Malcolm Sinclair
Authors:
Melvyn Bragg
Read by:
Malcolm Sinclair
Set in Cumbria and covering the period from 1898 to the early twenties, this is the powerful saga of John Tallentire, first farm labourer, then coal miner, and his wife Emily. John's struggle to break free from the humiliating status of a 'hired man' is the theme of a novel which has been hailed as a classic of its kind - as meticulously detailed as a social document, as evocative as the writings of Hardy and Lawrence.(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton
  • More

Hidden Knowledge

By Bernardine Bishop
Authors:
Bernardine Bishop
'Outdoes Muriel Spark and Evelyn Waugh' Margaret Drabble, ObserverAccused of child abuse, Father Roger Tree confesses at once; it masks a darker secret. Meanwhile his sister Romola faces a future without their beloved brother, the novelist Hereward Tree. Can she live with the ending of his last book? And then there is Hereward's much younger lover, Carina, who takes fate into her own hands. But it is Betty Winterborne, forced to re-examine the death of her son Mark twenty years before, who has the courage to face the truth.There are the lies we tell others, and the lies we tell ourselves. This is a story about the difference.
  • More

Haven't Stopped Dancing Yet

By Shyama Perera
Authors:
Shyama Perera
'A wonderfully upbeat story celebrating optimism and friendship' The Express Paddington, London, 1966 Mala's story begins. As a young girl growing up in the late '60s and early '70s, life is full of hope for Mala as she flits from Notting Hill to Marble Arch flanked by her three best friends, Caroline, Janice and Bethany. What does it matter that they're poor when they're having this much fun? But life isn't all magazines, gorgeous boys and shiny white plastic boots for the girls. When Bethany disappears without a trace, a sinister side to the city they love begins to show itself. Thankfully, nothing has stopped these girls dancing yet.Perfect for fans of THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP and ANITA AND ME comes this enchanting and deeply funny novel about a group of friends growing up in 1960s London 'Perera recalls the feel-good innocence of the 1970s with brio' Independent on Sunday'There is a warmth and tenderness towards all the characters in this optimistic, entertaining story' Sunday Mirror'A truly gorgeous book . . . Read it if you have any taste at all' Minx
  • More

The House of Rumour

By Jake Arnott
Authors:
Jake Arnott
A mind-bending, thrilling journey into 20th-century history and outer space - 'a brightly coloured portrait of our times that is alternatively intimate and epic . . . brilliant' (Independent on Sunday). In 1941, Larry Zagorski was a naïve young writer of science-fiction. Seven decades on, he looks back on that crucial year and traces his place in a mysterious web - one that connects the Second World War with the Space Age, stretches from London to Cuba and Southern California, and links Ian Fleming with Rudolf Hess in a conspiracy that reverberates in the present.Could this be the secret history of the 20th century? In a mesmerising novel peopled by spies and propagandists, the conned and the heartbroken, dreamers and fanatics, the question is: who will you believe?
  • More

Human Love

By Andreï Makine, Andrei Makine
Authors:
Andreï Makine, Andrei Makine
As a child, Elias Almeida loses both his parents during the Angolan uprising against colonial rule. As an adult and professional revolutionary, he bears witness to mankind at its pitiless worst. Yet he continues to believe in a better world and in the redeeming power of love -- even though he cannot be with the woman he loves, who rescued him from thugs one snowy night on the streets of Moscow. Spanning forty years of Africa's past as a battleground between East and West, this powerful novel explores the heights and depths of human nature as it tells a profoundly affecting story of sacrifice and idealism.
  • More

A Hero's Daughter

By Andreï Makine
Authors:
Andreï Makine
In World War II Ivan Demidov won the Red Army's highest award for bravery, that of Hero of the Soviet Union. But the decades following the War have brought him a life of hardship, alleviated only by his pride in this achievement and the modest privileges granted to War veterans. His daughter, Olya, on the other hand, born in 1961 and trained as a linguist, takes up a post as an interpreter at Moscow's International Business Center with access to a metropolitan lifestyle beyond the dreams of her parents. The only catch is that her job involves servicing foreign businessmen around the clock and passing on information about them to the KGB. This is a stunning drama of disillusionment and tension between the two generations: the one that grew up under Stalin and saw its faith in him crumble and the one that grew up under Brezhnev, fixated on the glamour of the West and its material goods. Makine's vivid and authentic evocation of daily life in post-war Soviet Russia matches in its intensity the portraits of nineteenth-century Russian life offered by Dostoevsky and Tolstoy.
  • More

Hooky Gear

By Nick Barlay
Authors:
Nick Barlay
J is a successful burglar, with a house full of 'well-selected antique furnishins', a wife with an 'enhanced front', and a talent for acquiring hooky gear. But when a break-in goes badly wrong he finds himself betrayed and deserted by the people he trusted the most. Emerging from prison, J is torn between good intentions and the desire for revenge, but as the strands of his life continue to unravel before him, he becomes an unlikely, and ultimately tragic, hero.This is an engaging novel, by a writer with a really strong voice. Read the first two pages and you will be hooked.'This is a fine literary novel with an ambition to be greater than a gangster-police thriller. Barlay has achieved his goal and more.' Telegraph
  • More

Half in Love

By Justin Cartwright
Authors:
Justin Cartwright
Richard McAllister, a young minister in the government, has temporarily left the Cabinet while recovering from being stabbed by a thug at a football match. He has decided, while recuperating, to go to South Africa to research a relative and his account of the horse in the Boer War. While in Mafeking, he is called back to London because his passionate affair with an actress has become public knowledge. From that moment, the love affair becomes almost impossibly fraught. The press hound them, the government spin doctors try to suppress all news and Joanna's husband becomes very vindictive. The lovers are parted, and Joanna leaves for America.This is a novel about contemporary politics, the power of film, the nature of history and above all about two people caught hopelessly in love, subject to the stresses of fame and scandal. It is an exceptional achievement.
  • More

The Hired Man

By Melvyn Bragg
Authors:
Melvyn Bragg
Set in Cumbria and covering the period from 1898 to the early twenties, this is the powerful saga of John Tallentire, first farm labourer, then coal miner, and his wife Emily. John's struggle to break free from the humiliating status of a 'hired man' is the theme of a novel which has been hailed as a classic of its kind - as meticulously detailed as a social document, as evocative as the writings of Hardy and Lawrence.
  • More
1