Find your favourite Book, eBook or Audio from Hodder and Stoughton Publisher
Our books

The Quest for Queen Mary

By James Pope-Hennessy, Hugo Vickers
Authors:
James Pope-Hennessy, Hugo Vickers
* * 'Very funny and astute, it provides a loathly feast for royal-watchers' Hilary Mantel, New Statesman Books of the Year 2018'Almost every page is a gem'A. N. Wilson, Spectator Christmas Books'I wonder if this will be the year's surprise Christmas bestseller? ... Wonderful' Robert Harris'Funniest book I read this year . . . the book evokes a now unimaginable world in which privilege went hand in hand with deference and privacy' Peter Parker, Spectator Books of the Year 2018'[A] marvellous book ... hilarious and deeply touching' The Times'A scary portrait of put-upon servants and potty aristos ... this is arguably the most riotously funny volume published this year' Max Hastings, Sunday Times'One of the funniest, most eccentric books of the year' Craig Brown, Mail on Sunday'Very illuminating and entertaining ... this book is a delight' Simon Heffer, The Telegraph* * *When James Pope-Hennessy began his work on Queen Mary's official biography, it opened the door to meetings with royalty, court members and retainers around Europe. The series of candid observations, secrets and indiscretions contained in his notes were to be kept private for 50 years. Now published in full for the first time and edited by the highly admired royal biographer Hugo Vickers, this is a riveting, often hilarious portrait of the eccentric aristocracy of a bygone age. Giving much greater insight into Queen Mary than the official version, and including sharply observed encounters with, among others, the Duke and Duchess of Windsor, the Duke of Gloucester, and a young Queen Elizabeth, The Quest for Queen Mary is set to be a classic of royal publishing.
  • More

Queen Victoria

By Lucy Worsley
Authors:
Lucy Worsley
'Such a brilliant idea! Drilling down into Victoria's diaries Worsley gives us Victoria in all her infinite variety - queen and mother, matriarch and minx...I loved it.' Daisy Goodwin, author, and creator of ITV's Victoria'The glory of this book is in the details, and the specific moments, that Worsley chooses to single out for mention, and in her cheerful voice as she leads us by the hand to the next window of Victoria's life calendar.' The TimesWho was Queen Victoria? A little old lady, potato-like in appearance, dressed in everlasting black? Or a passionate young princess, a romantic heroine with a love of dancing? There is also a third Victoria - a woman who was also a remarkably successful queen, one who invented a new role for the monarchy. She found a way of being a respected sovereign in an age when people were deeply uncomfortable with having a woman on the throne. As well as a queen, Victoria was a daughter, a wife, a mother and a widow, and at each of these steps along life's journey she was expected to conform to what society demanded of a woman. On the face of it, she was deeply conservative. But if you look at her actions rather than her words, she was in fact tearing up the rule book for how to be female. By looking at the detail of twenty-four days of her life, through diaries, letters and more, we can see Victoria up close and personal. Examining her face-to-face, as she lived hour to hour, allows us to see, and to celebrate, the contradictions at the heart of British history's most recognisable woman.
  • More
  • Questions of Life

    By Nicky Gumbel
    Authors:
    Nicky Gumbel
    'What Alpha offers, and what is attracting thousands of people, is permission, rare in secular culture, to discuss the big questions of life and death and their meaning.' - The Guardian'Alpha makes Christianity relevant to modern life.' - The ExpressIn this international bestseller, Alpha pioneer Nicky Gumbel addresses some of the foundational questions of life that challenge us all: why am I here? Is there more to life than this? How can I make the most of the rest of my life?Answering step-by-step some of the key questions that lie at the heart of the Christian faith, his intelligent, well-researched and informed approach makes this a sympathetic, fascinating and immensely readable introduction to Jesus Christ.'Alpha was the best thing I ever did. It helped answer some huge questions and to find a simple, empowering faith in my life.' - Bear Grylls
    • More
  • The Queen's Man

    By Rory Clements
    Authors:
    Rory Clements
    For fans of CJ Sansom and SJ Parris, THE QUEEN'S MAN is the first in chronological order of Rory Clements' acclaimed and bestselling John Shakespeare series of Tudor spy thrillers. Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, 'does for Elizabeth's reign what CJ Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday TimesEngland is a Judas nest of conspiracyIt is 1582, and the conflict between Protestant and Catholic threatens to tear the country in two. While Queen Elizabeth I holds the reins of power, there are those whose loyalty lies with her imprisoned cousin, Mary Queen of Scots.On his first major mission for Sir Francis Walsingham, the young John Shakespeare is ordered to discover a conspiracy to free the Stuart queen from Sheffield Castle. All too soon, he realises that the tentacles of the plot reach deep into his native Warwickshire and threaten his own friends and family. His duty lies with Elizabeth - but how far will he go to protect those he loves?
    • More

    Qur'an: Bullet Guides Everything You Need to Get Started

    By Victor W Watton
    Authors:
    Victor W Watton
    Open this book and you will- Learn how the Qur'an came into being - Understand how it is used today- Ocercome misconceptions - Tackle issues of interpretation
    • More

    Quantum Theory: Bullet Guides

    By Jacob Dunningham
    Authors:
    Jacob Dunningham
    What's in this book?Open this book and you will...- Grasp Quantum theory- Understand its importance- Examine paradoxes- Explore the atomLearn about Quantum Theory:- Quantum paradoxes- Tunneling- Entanglement and non-locality- Inside the atom- Waves and particles- The random universe- Scaling things up- Applying the theoryWhat are Bullet Guides?The answers you need - now.Clear and concise guides in a portable format. Information is displayed in an easy-to-read layout with helpful images and tables. Bullet Guides include all you need to know about a subject in a nutshell. Get right to the point without wading through loads of unnecessary information.
    • More

    Quick Sudoku: Flash

    By James Pitts
    Authors:
    James Pitts
    Quick Sudoku is a short, simple and no-fuss little book which contains not just puzzles of all levels, but hints and tips on how to solve them. Easy to fit in a pocket or bag, and great for travelling, it contains all the puzzler needs, especially if you're looking for some extra help with the tricky ones! At just 96pp, it is ideal for anyone who's new to the concept, but keen to sharpen their skills - and their brain.get to grips with the basicsquick tips to help you plenty of beginner-level puzzlesquick reference answers if you're stuck!
    • More
    1