Craig Storti - The Art of Doing Business Across Cultures - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473644175
    • Publication date:23 Mar 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473645325
    • Publication date:23 Mar 2017

The Art of Doing Business Across Cultures

10 Countries, 50 Mistakes, and 5 Steps to Cultural Competence

By Craig Storti

  • Paperback
  • £26.95

A tour of the most common cultural differences Americans/No. Europeans encounter when doing business in ten of the world's key markets

In 50 short, simple conversations, speakers from two different cultures misinterpret each other, with serious consequences for the bottom line and ongoing business relations.

The Art of Doing Business Across Cultures presents five brief (8-10 lines), unsuccessful conversational exchanges between Americans and their business colleagues in 10 different locations-the Arab Middle East, Brazil, China, England, France, Germany, India, Japan, Mexico, and Russia. These situations illustrate the five most common cultural differences between Americans (and other northern Europeans) and each of the featured cultures through debriefing each conversation to illustrate where the cultural mistake occurred, and suggesting a practical fix to prevent similar misunderstandings in the future.

The Art of Doing Business Across Cultures is a quick tour of the most common cultural differences Americans/No. Europeans encounter when doing business in ten of the world's key markets.

Biographical Notes

Craig Storti is founder and co-director of Communicating Across Cultures, a Washington, D.C.-based intercultural communication training and consulting firm. With work appearing in the Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune, he is the author of six books. Having lived nearly a quarter of his life abroad, he lives now in Maryland. www.craigstorti.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781941176146
  • Publication date: 23 Mar 2017
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: Intercultural Press
John Murray

The Drop

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron
John Murray

Superteams

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed

Mulholland Books

Her Watchful Eye

Julie Corbin
Authors:
Julie Corbin

The GRIPPING new thriller, from the author of What Goes Around and Do Me No Harm.Do you ever feel that prickle on the back of your neck, as though someone's watching you?Someone is watching Hannah.Her name is Ruby, and her job as CCTV operative means she can follow Hannah everywhere she goes.It's against the law, but Ruby is willing to do whatever is necessary to keep Hannah safe.And there's no harm in just watching.Until just watching isn't enough . . .So the next time you get that feeling, and you think you're alone . . . think again.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Why Travel Matters

Craig Storti
Authors:
Craig Storti
Hodder & Stoughton

From Twinkle, With Love

Sandhya Menon
Authors:
Sandhya Menon

'Menon is a bright new talent' Bustle 'Menon explores themes of culture and identity with insight and warmth' Hello Giggles The next heartwarming YA romcom from Sandhya Menon, bestselling author of WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI.Aspiring filmmaker and wallflower Twinkle Mehra has stories to tell and universes to explore - if only the world would listen. So when nerdy classmate and fellow film-obsessive Sahil Roy approaches her to direct a film for the upcoming Summer Festival, Twinkle can't wait. The chance to showcase her artistic voice? Dream come true. The opportunity to get closer to longtime crush, Neil Roy-aka Sahil's twin brother? Dream come even truer. When Twinkle receives an email from a secret admirer - the mysterious 'N' - she is sure it's Neil, finally ready for their happy ending. The only problem is that, in the course of their movie-making, she has found herself falling for Sahil - the wrong brother. Twinkle soon realises that resistance is futile: The romance she's got isn't the one she scripted... But will it be enough? Told through letters Twinkle writes to her favourite female filmmakers, From Twinkle, With Love navigates big truths about friendship, family, and the unexpected places love can find you. Praise for WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI: 'Funny, warm, and utterly charming, When Dimple Met Rishi is the modern rom-com YA we've all been waiting for . . . Sandhya Menon is a welcome and needed new voice in YA' Katherine Webber 'Menon wrote an utterly delightful novel and broke my heart by writing an ending because I want nothing more than to keep reading about Dimple and Rishi forever . . .' Book Riot 'Sandhya Menon's When Dimple Met Rishi is a refreshing Young Adult romance, providing the reader with much-needed delight . . . this story is a laugh riot and utterly heartwarming.' Times of India What you've been saying about WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI: 'When Dimple Met Rishi is fluffy, romantic, hilarious and touching in every way possible. When's the wedding?' Kelly (Kelly's Rambles)'This book was ridiculously cute... I love that it's very much a romance story but also has a great stance on gender and culture and privilege. All my love for this book!' Michelle Cardozo'This book gave me so many gooey moments and genuine smiles... Do yourself a favour and buy this book.' Maia Moore

Hodder & Stoughton

The Family Next Door

Sally Hepworth
Authors:
Sally Hepworth
Hodder & Stoughton

Blood Reckoning

Danielle Ramsay
Authors:
Danielle Ramsay
John Murray

Win Win

Joanne Lipman
Authors:
Joanne Lipman
John Murray

London Rules

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron
Yellow Kite

When to Jump

Mike Lewis
Authors:
Mike Lewis
John Murray Learning

Pasos 2 (Fourth Edition) Spanish Intermediate Course

Martyn Ellis, Rosa Maria Martin
Authors:
Martyn Ellis, Rosa Maria Martin
Hodder & Stoughton

The Ashes: It's All About the Urn

Graeme Swann
Authors:
Graeme Swann
Hodder Paperbacks

Christmas at Mistletoe Cottage: a heartwarming, feel-good Christmas romance

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Coronet

The World Cup Of Everything

Richard Osman
Authors:
Richard Osman
John Murray

The List

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron
John Murray

Slow Horses

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron
Hodder & Stoughton

The Witchwood Crown

Tad Williams
Authors:
Tad Williams
Hodder & Stoughton

The Ultimatum

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards

The first thriller in the Guardian series by New York Times bestselling author Karen Robards, perfect for fans of Karen Rose and Sandra Brown.Bianca St. Ives is smart, talented and beautiful. She's also a high-end thief, a master manipulator, a card shark, and a genius of disguise.A femme fatale Robin Hood running a multinational firm with her father, she makes a living swindling con men out of money they stole and giving it back to those who should rightfully have it. Her father has prepared her well to carry on the family business, and now the prodigy has surpassed the master.But her latest mission didn't go to plan - millions of dollars and top secret government documents went missing, and her father was supposedly killed. But not everyone believes in his death, including the US government. They'll stop at nothing to capture Richard St. Ives - a high-value target who has been on most-wanted lists all over the world - even if it means using Bianca as bait. With only a fellow criminal for backup and her life on the line, it's up to Bianca to uncover the terrifying truth behind what really happened . . . and set it right, before it's too late.

Hodder Paperbacks

A City Dreaming

Daniel Polansky
Authors:
Daniel Polansky

Imagine a city within a city, where monsters walk the street and magic fills the night. This is New York, but not as you know it. This New York is a city of magic and monsters. Where ordinary people live alongside demons and nightmares, completely unaware of them. New York is home to M, a man with a past... and a secret. He knows more about the creatures who call his city home than anyone else in the world. He walks between the two worlds, at home in neither but more than comfortable in both. M is the man the monsters call when things get bad.And things are about to get really, really bad.

Hodder & Stoughton

It

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King