Monisha Rajesh - Around India in 80 Trains - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £17.95
    More information
    • ISBN:9781857885958
    • Publication date:08 Nov 2012
  • Paperback £14.95
    More information
    • ISBN:9781857886443
    • Publication date:06 Oct 2016

Around India in 80 Trains

By Monisha Rajesh

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Crackles and sparks with life like exploding Diwali fireworks. - William Dalrymple

Monisha Rajesh turns to a map of the Indian Railways and takes a page out of Jules Verne's classic tale, embarking on an adventure around India in 80 trains.

When she was a child, Monisha Rajesh's family uprooted to Madras in the hope of making India their home, but soon returned to England with a bitter taste in their mouths. Two decades on, Monisha turns to a map of the Indian Railways and takes a page out of Jules Verne's classic tale, embarking on an adventure around India in 80 trains, covering 40,000km - the circumference of the Earth.

Her journey takes her on toy trains, luxury trains, Mumbai's infamous commuter trains and even a hospital on wheels. Along the way she meets a kaleidoscope of characters and discovers why the railways are considered the lifeline that keeps the country's heart beating. Most of all, she hopes that these 80 train journeys will lift the veil on a country that has become a stranger to her.

Biographical Notes

Monisha Rajesh is a British journalist at The Week UK. After graduating with a postgraduate diploma from City University's journalism school she has worked as an arts and travel writer.

In 2006 she was nominated for the PTC New Consumer Monthly Journalist of the Year and has written for The Guardian, The Daily Telegraph, The Times, The New York Times and TIME magazine.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781857889482
  • Publication date: 08 Nov 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Nicholas Brealey Publishing
John Murray Learning

The Oddysium

David Bramwell, Jo Keeling
Authors:
David Bramwell, Jo Keeling
Hodder & Stoughton

Walking to Jerusalem

Justin Butcher
Authors:
Justin Butcher

2017 marked three important anniversaries for the Palestinian people: 100 years since the Balfour Declaration; 50 years since the Six-day War; and ten years since the Blockade of Gaza. As an act of penance, solidarity and hope, actor and musician Justin Butcher - along with ten other companions for the full route, plus another hundred joining him for various stretches along the way - walked from London to Jerusalem. This book is the record of his journey: a combination of walking journal, travel writing and pilgrim stories. It's less of a travel guide to walking across Europe and more an exploration of the many strands radiating from the Holy Land and its narrative, weaving paths across place and history, through the lives of Justin's fellow-walkers - and, of course, his own life. Between the route itinerary and the themes of Balfour and Christian Zionism, Weizmann and cordite, colonialism, Jerusalem Syndrome and Desert spirituality, Justin charts a chronicle of serendipity: happenstances hilarious, infuriating and occasionally numinous - or, as pilgrims might say, encounters with the Divine.

Two Roads

Paradise Gardens

Monty Don, Derry Moore
Authors:
Monty Don, Derry Moore

A journey through some of the world's most stunning gardens from Spain and Morocco to Turkey and India. An exploration of the beauty of Islamic gardens around the world with text by Monty Don stunningly illustrated with photographs by Derry Moore. In the Islamic tradition, a garden is a shaded place for rest and reflection and gardens play a central role in everyday life in the Islamic world. Monty Don and acclaimed photographer, Derry Moore, set off on a journey to find out how a very different culture and climate has influenced garden design. Their journey through over 24 stunning gardens covers six countries: Spain, Morocco, the UK, Iran, Turkey, and India.A complement to the BBC2 series due to air in Spring 2018.

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Revolutionary Ride

Lois Pryce
Authors:
Lois Pryce
Hodder Paperbacks

Walking the Americas

Levison Wood
Authors:
Levison Wood

LONGLISTED IN THE ADVENTURE TRAVEL CATEGORY OF THE 2017 BANFF MOUNTAIN BOOK AWARDS SUNDAY TIMES TOP 10 BESTSELLERBY THE AUTHOR OF WALKING THE HIMALAYAS, WINNER OF THE 2016 EDWARD STANFORD ADVENTURE TRAVEL BOOK OF THE YEAR AWARD'Levison Wood has breathed new life into adventure travel.' Michael PalinWalking the Americas chronicles Levison Wood's 1,800 mile trek along the spine of the Americas, through eight countries, from Mexico to Colombia, experiencing some of the world's most diverse, beautiful and unpredictable places.His journey took him from violent and dangerous cities to ancient Mayan ruins lying still unexplored in the jungles of Mexico and Guatemala. He encountered members of indigenous tribes, migrants heading towards the US border and proud Nicaraguan revolutionaries on his travels, where at the end of it all, he attempted to cross one of the most impenetrable borders on earth: the Darien Gap route from Panama into South America.This trek required every ounce of Levison Wood's guile, tact, strength and resilience in one of the most raw, real and exciting journeys of his life.

Hodder & Stoughton

Eastern Horizons

Levison Wood
Authors:
Levison Wood
Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Where the Wild Winds Are

Nick Hunt
Authors:
Nick Hunt
Coronet

Mind of a Survivor

Megan Hine
Authors:
Megan Hine

***Shortlisted for the Great Outdoors Book of the Year***Surviving in the wild takes a great deal of strength. Often faced with frozen tundra, sweltering deserts, humid jungles, perilous mountains and fast-flowing rivers, Megan Hine is no stranger to perilous conditions. Whilst leading expeditions and bushcraft survival courses and in her work on television shows such as Bear Gryll's Mission Survive and Running Wild, she has explored the corners of the globe in pursuit of adventure.Faced with the toughest of conditions: bad weather; lack of food and being in the presence of predators, is the ultimate test of character and often the biggest challenge to overcome is in the head. In these situations, the human brain is simultaneously the greatest asset and biggest liability. Not everyone is suited to the great outdoors and when danger calls many aren't as well-equipped to survive, no amount of top of the range kit will save you if you don't have the right frame of mind. Here Megan Hine examines the human ability and instinct for survival, showing us how others have developed the attitudes and attributes to thrive in the most dangerous situations, and how those same attitudes and attributes help them confront problems and obstacles at work and at home. Being chased through the jungle by armed opium farm guards, abseiling past bears and lighting fires with tampons, Megan has seen and done it all. In Mind of a Survivor she takes you along for a series of life-and-death adventures and shows you what happens to people when they are pushed to their limits. Inspirational rather than instructional, Megan examines the human ability and instinct for survival sharing the life tools that she uses and showing how they can as easily be applied to more domestic everyday life - from careers to relationships, from overcoming adversity to decision making. Filled with her own experiences, Mind of a Survivor is packed full of adventure and can help people survive in any situation and cope with whatever life throws at them.

Hodder & Stoughton

Hidden Nature

Alys Fowler
Authors:
Alys Fowler
Hodder Paperbacks

Walking the Himalayas

Levison Wood
Authors:
Levison Wood

WINNER OF THE 2016 EDWARD STANFORD ADVENTURE TRAVEL BOOK OF THE YEAR AWARD'Levison Wood has breathed new life into adventure travel.' Michael Palin'Levison Wood is a great adventurer and a wonderful storyteller.' Sir Ranulph Fiennes'Britain's best-loved adventurer... he looks like a man who will stare danger in the face and soak up a lot of pain without complaint.' The TimesFollowing in in the footsteps of the great explorers, WALKING THE HIMALAYAS is Levison Wood's enthralling account of crossing the Himalayas on foot. His journey of discovery along the path of the ancient trade route of the Silk Road to the forgotten kingdom of Bhutan led him beyond the safety of the tourist trail. There lies the real world of the Himalayas, where ex-paratrooper Levison Wood encountered natural disasters, extremists, nomadic goat herders, shamans (and the Dalai Lama) in his 1,700-mile trek across the roof of the world. WALKING THE HIMALAYAS is a tale of courage, stamina and the kindness of strangers that will appeal to the adventurer in us all.

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Dare to Do

Sarah Outen
Authors:
Sarah Outen
Hodder & Stoughton

Fear

Ranulph Fiennes
Authors:
Ranulph Fiennes
Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Slow Train to Switzerland

Diccon Bewes
Authors:
Diccon Bewes
Nicholas Brealey Publishing

It's All Greek to Me!

John Mole
Authors:
John Mole
Mulholland Books

The Perplexing Theft of the Jewel in the Crown

Vaseem Khan
Authors:
Vaseem Khan

The second book in the heartwarming and charming Baby Ganesh series.For centuries the Koh-i-Noor diamond has set man against man and king against king.Now part of the British Crown Jewels, the priceless gem is a prize that many have killed to possess. So when the Crown Jewels go on display in Mumbai, security is everyone's principal concern. And yet, on the very day Inspector Chopra visits the exhibition, the diamond is stolen from under his nose.The heist was daring and seemingly impossible. The hunt is on for the culprits. But it soon becomes clear that only one man - and his elephant - can possibly crack this case...(P)2016 Hodder & Stoughton

Intercultural Press

Speaking of India

Craig Storti
Authors:
Craig Storti

Westerners and Indians are working more closely together and in greater numbers than ever before. The opportunities are vast, but so is the cultural divide. Misunderstandings and frustration due to cultural differences wreak havoc on success. In this revised edition of Speaking of India, author and intercultural communications expert Craig Storti attempts to ease the frustration, and bring cultural understanding in business and life. With a new foreword by Ranjini Manian, author of Doing Business in India for Dummies, the book also features new content on managing remotely, and the results of a five-year cultural survey. With more than a dozen years of experience working between the two cultures, Storti has identified key cultural flashpoints and the result is a powerful series of Best Practices, which is the basis of Speaking of India.

Mulholland Books

The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra

Vaseem Khan
Authors:
Vaseem Khan

Mumbai, murder and a baby elephant combine in a charming, joyful mystery for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Harold Fry. On the day he retires, Inspector Ashwin Chopra inherits two unexpected mysteries.The first is the case of a drowned boy, whose suspicious death no one seems to want solved.And the second is a baby elephant.As his search for clues takes him across the teeming city of Mumbai, from its grand high rises to its sprawling slums and deep into its murky underworld, Chopra begins to suspect that there may be a great deal more to both his last case and his new ward than he thought.And he soon learns that when the going gets tough, a determined elephant may be exactly what an honest man needs...(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Stuff Brits Like

Fraser McAlpine
Authors:
Fraser McAlpine
Teach Yourself

Buddhism: A Complete Introduction: Teach Yourself

Clive Erricker
Authors:
Clive Erricker
Hodder & Stoughton

The Modi Effect

Lance Price
Authors:
Lance Price