Chrissie Manby - Seven Sunny Days - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780340837276
    • Publication date:10 Oct 2005

Seven Sunny Days

By Chrissie Manby

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Sun, sea, sand - how can a hen week in Turkey go wrong? A laugh-out-loud romantic comedy from bestselling author Chris Manby.

When Rachel Buckley announces that she is going to tie the knot, her best friends Yaslyn and Carrie Ann organise a luxury 'hen week' in sun-soaked Turkey.

It should be the perfect send off to single life. But her friends have packed more than just sun creams and bikinis - they've also brought with them a serious amount of emotional baggage.

Add unlimited free cocktails, rampant reps and a nasty dose of sunstroke and suddenly seven sunny days puts even the firmest friendships to the test.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848949249
  • Publication date: 11 Dec 2009
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Manby's hilarious novels still shine out on the sea of chick lit, and if you want to guarantee a good giggle by the pool this summer her latest unique offering, featuring three feisty girls off on a luxury hen holiday, is the perfect sunbathing companion. — OK!
A fun summer read — Daily Express
Very funny, hugely feel-good and the perfect antidote for anyone who worries that the only career ladder they've achieved is a run in their tights — Fiona Walker on LIZZIE JORDAN'S SECRET LIFE
It's a great idea for a plot, and Manby's writing more than does it justice — Marie Claire on GETTING PERSONAL
John Murray

Country

Michael Hughes
Authors:
Michael Hughes
Hodder & Stoughton

The Swap

Fiona Mitchell
Authors:
Fiona Mitchell
John Murray

The Frank Business

Olivia Glazebrook
Authors:
Olivia Glazebrook
Hodder Paperbacks

Just a Normal First-Time Mummy

Helen Wallen
Authors:
Helen Wallen
Hodder & Stoughton

Disturbance

Marianne Kavanagh
Authors:
Marianne Kavanagh
Hodder & Stoughton

When You Read This

Mary Adkins
Authors:
Mary Adkins

On his first day of work at a struggling brand management firm, an ambitious intern discovers a blog created by his predecessor, Iris Massey. Iris, he quickly learns, died a few months earlier, leaving a hole in the life of the firm's morose boss, Smith. Now, stuck at his desk all day, Carl-the-Intern - whose sky-high aspirations are thwarted only by Smith's sluggishness - gets hooked on Iris's blog, and the stories she tells about the life she left behind. Determined to share her story, Carl and Smith soon track down Iris' sister Jade, an haute cuisine chef who's been knocked sideways by her loss, finding solace only in potato chips and red wine. Smith and Jade, tied together by their mutual grief and each carrying their own baggage, end up on a collision course: with their own unresolved pasts, and also with each other. Funny and moving in equal measures, WHEN YOU READ THIS is a sparkling debut about love, life, and all the emails you really wish you'd never sent.

Mulholland Books

The Shadows We Hide

Allen Eskens
Authors:
Allen Eskens

Joe Talbert, Jr. has never once met his namesake. Now out of college, a cub reporter for the Associated Press in Minneapolis, he stumbles across a story describing the murder of a man named Joseph Talbert in a small town in southern Minnesota. Full of childhood dreams about who his father might have been, Joe is shocked to find that none of the town's residents have much to say about his father's murder - other than that it was long overdue. Joe discovers that his father was a loathsome man who cheated his neighbours, threatened his daughter, and squandered his wife's meagre inheritance after she, too, passed away - an inheritance that may now be his.Mired in uncertainty and plagued by his own tenuous relationship with his mother, whose sobriety has led her to seek reconciliation with her distant son, Joe must put together the missing pieces of his family history - before his quest for discovery threatens to put him in a grave of his own

Hodder & Stoughton

Before I Find You

Ali Knight
Authors:
Ali Knight
Hodder & Stoughton

A Keeper

Graham Norton
Authors:
Graham Norton
Hodder & Stoughton

Madam, Will You Talk?

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

The original queen of the page-turner Mary Stewart leads her readers on a thrilling journey through a dangerous and deadly Provence in this tale perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym. It sounds idyllic: a leisurely drive through the sun-drenched landscape of Provence. But Charity's dream holiday turns into a nightmare when she becomes embroiled in a sinister plot to kidnap a young boy. She soon finds herself in a deadly pursuit and must uncover who to trust . . . and who to fall for. Whenever I look back now on the strange and terrifying events of that holiday in Southern France, I remember the minutes I spent gazing at the golden arches of the Roman aqueduct over the Gardon... the last brief lull before the thunder.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Ltd

Hodder & Stoughton

This Rough Magic

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

The pioneer of romantic suspense Mary Stewart leads her readers on a thrilling journey to a Mediterranean island paradise in this tale of mystery, murder and intrigue, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym. Lucy Waring, a young, out-of-work actress from London, leaps at the chance to visit her sister for a summer on the island paradise of Corfu, and what's more, a famous but reclusive actor is staying in a villa nearby. But Lucy's hopes for rest and romance are shattered when a body washes up on the beach and she finds herself swept up in a chilling chain of events. I shuddered, and drank my coffee, leaning back in my chair to gaze out across pine tops furry with gold towards the sparkling sea, and surrendering myself to the dreamlike feeling that marks the start of a holiday . . .(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Ltd

Hodder & Stoughton

Wildfire at Midnight

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder & Stoughton

Go Ask Fannie Farmer

Elisabeth Hyde
Authors:
Elisabeth Hyde
Hodder Paperbacks

Once in a Lifetime

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby

What if once in a lifetime happened twice?Dani Parker had grand plans for her life - but that was twenty-two years ago. Now she's a single mother still living in the quaint seaside town of Newbay, still working at the hotel where she got her first ever job. When she bumps into ex-boyfriend Nat, Dani wonders if this might be the start of something not-quite-new. But that's before she meets his fiancée . . . Dani's daughter Flossie is sixteen - so she knows best about everything, of course. And her new boyfriend Jed is all she could ever want in a man . . . right?Flossie's grandma Jane, a widow of fifteen years, firmly believes that lightning never strikes twice. So when she finds herself visiting Bill's pet shop a little more often than necessary, she refuses to believe that the L-word has anything to do with it. In a whirlwind of cakes, elopements and more naughty puppies than they can handle, will the three women discover that 'once in a lifetime' isn't quite as rare as they thought?Praise for Chrissie Manby: 'This sassy and addictive read will make you laugh - a lot!' - Closer'I've been a fan of Manby's writing for years and thoroughly enjoyed this' - Daily Mail'Perfect, unputdownable summer adventures.' - Jenny Colgan'Manby's novels are made for holidays.' - Glamour'Nothing short of brilliant' - Marie Claire'A gloriously delicious read! . . . Packed with warm characters and hilarious situations' - www.handwrittengirl.com'[This novel] was funny and emotional, it was heartwarming, it was so genuine and realistic and it is a MUST READ this autumn. Highly recommended!' - On My Bookshelf

Hodder Paperbacks

Cold Feet: The Lost Years

Carmel Harrington
Authors:
Carmel Harrington

'I loved it. The characters have been captured so well and it just feels so like Mike Bullen's creation . . . Harrington should be very proud - it really is fabulous! Margaret Conway, Line Producer Cold Feet**********Reeling from the sudden death of Rachel, his beloved wife, Adam has no time to grieve. He has to keep going, for the sake of their baby son. Jenny moves back in with ex-husband Pete, eight and a half months pregnant with another man's child. Can their relationship overcome past jealousies? Karen and David agree to an amicable divorce - but that's before he sleeps with the divorce lawyer . . .THE LOST YEARS reveals what happened to your favourite characters between series five and six of the award-winning TV series written by Mike Bullen. It's an irresistible chance to catch up on all the laughter, the tears, the life lessons we missed while they were gone.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Rest of Me

Katie Marsh
Authors:
Katie Marsh
Sceptre

A Shout in the Ruins

Kevin Powers
Authors:
Kevin Powers
Two Roads

The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan

Loved Ruth Hogan's The Keeper of Lost Things? Keep on reading...'A book to really love ... makes reading a joy' Stylist 'Will soften even the hardest of hearts' Red 'Subtle and poignant' Good Housekeeping 'Plenty of spirit and heart' Daily MailMasha's life has stopped. Once a spirited, independent woman with a rebellious streak, her life has been forever changed by a tragic event twelve years ago. Unable to let go of her grief, she finds solace in the silent company of the souls of her local Victorian cemetery and at the town's lido, where she seeks refuge underwater - safe from the noise and the pain.But a chance encounter with two extraordinary women - the fabulous and wise Kitty Muriel, a convent girl-turned-magician's wife-turned-seventy-something-roller-disco-fanatic, and the mysterious Sally Red Shoes, a bag lady with a prodigious voice - opens up a new world of possibilities, and the chance to start living again. But just as Masha dares to imagine the future, the past comes roaring back ...Like her bestselling debut, The Keeper of Lost Things, Ruth Hogan's second novel introduces a cast of wonderful characters, both ordinary and charmingly eccentric, who guide us through a moving exploration of the simple human connections that make life worth living.Praise for The Keeper of Lost Things, a Richard & Judy Book Club pick 2017Winner of the Richard & Judy Readers' Award 2017'A gem' Huffington Post'Exquisite' The Lady'Delightful' Helen Simonson, author of Major Pettigrew's Last Stand

John Murray

Sight

Jessie Greengrass
Authors:
Jessie Greengrass
Sceptre

Walking Wounded

Sheila Llewellyn
Authors:
Sheila Llewellyn

A stirring debut novel about the complex relationship between a soldier and his psychiatrist, set in a failing psychiatric hospital between the end of the Second World War and the founding of the NHS.'Daniel stared at the white-ish brain matter clinging to the haft and clogging up the eye of the needle. Can it really be as easy as that - to scrape out someone's depression, their melancholy, their anxiety? To scrape out someone's emotions?'Set in Northfield, an understaffed military psychiatric hospital immediately before the NHS is founded, Walking Wounded is the story of a doctor and his patient: David Reece, a young journalist-to be whose wartime experiences in Burma have come back to haunt him violently; and Daniel Carter, one of the senior psychiatrists, a man who is fighting his own battles as well as those of his patients.This moving and impressive debut explores violence and how much harm it does to those forced to inflict it in the name of war. It also captures the dilemmas of the medics themselves as they attempt to 'fix' their patients, each of whom raise the question of what has happened to their humanity, what can be done to help them, and what we are willing to sacrifice in the name of healing.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited