Peter Robinson - Abattoir Blues - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £18.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444704969
    • Publication date:31 Jul 2014
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444763829
    • Publication date:31 Jul 2014
Books in this series

Abattoir Blues

DCI Banks 22

By Peter Robinson

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The twenty second grisly instalment of the DCI Banks series from Number One bestselling author Peter Robinson. Also the inspiration behind the award winning TV series DCI Banks starring Stephen Tompkinson.

The twenty second instalment of the grisly bestselling DCI Banks series. Also an award winning TV series starring Stephen Tompkinson.

Two missing boys.
A stolen bolt gun.
One fatal shot.

Three ingredients for murder.

Misled from the start, DCI Banks and his team are far from enthusiastic when they're called to investigate the theft of a tractor. But this is no trivial case of rural crime. A blood stain is found in an abandoned hangar, two main suspects vanish without a trace, and events take a darkly sinister turn.

As each lead does little to unravel the mystery, Banks feels like the case is coming to a dead end. Until a road accident reveals some alarming evidence, which throws the investigation to a frightening new level.

Someone is trying to cover their tracks - someone with very deadly intent . . .

'Classic Robinson: labyrinthine plot merged with deft characterisation' - The Observer

Biographical Notes

Peter Robinson's DCI Banks is now a major ITV1 drama starring Stephen Tompkinson (Wild at Heart, Ballykissangel) as Inspector Banks, and Andrea Lowe (The Bill, Murphy's Law) as DI Annie Cabbot.

Peter's standalone novel BEFORE THE POISON won the IMBA's 2013 Dilys Award as well as the 2012 Arthur Ellis Award for Best Novel by the Crime Writers of Canada. This was Peter's sixth Arthur Ellis award. His critically acclaimed DCI Banks novels have won numerous awards in Britain, the United States, Canada and Europe, and are published in translation all over the world.

Peter grew up in Yorkshire, and now divides his time between Richmond and Canada. Peter keeps a website at www.inspectorbanks.com.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848949072
  • Publication date: 31 Jul 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Classic Robinson: labyrinthine plot merged with deft characterisation — Observer
Peter Robinson deserves a place near, perhaps even at the top of, the British crime writers' league — The Times
A real page-turner that confirms Robinson as a master of crime fiction — Bella Magazine
As always with the excellent DCI Alan Banks novels, you can expect the story to grip you from beginning to end — Choice
[Peter Robinson deserves a place] near, perhaps even at the top of, the British crime writers' league — The Times
It's neither the setting nor even the characters that makes Robinson's work so satisfying, but the plotting of Swiss-watch precision — Independent
Classic Robinson: labyrinthine plot merged with deft characterisation — Observer
As always with the excellent DCI Alan Banks novels, you can expect the story to grip you from beginning to end. — Choice
A real page-turner that confirms Robinson as a master of crime fiction. — Bella Magazine
Hodder & Stoughton

I'm Still Here

Michael Koryta
Authors:
Michael Koryta

Hodder & Stoughton

Disturbance

Marianne Kavanagh
Authors:
Marianne Kavanagh

You don't know what's going on in Sara's house...Or in her head.Sara is lonely. No one talks to her - not even her bad-tempered workaholic husband or her two beloved sons. Her solace is her house, the biggest in the village, hidden away behind high hedges.Then she strikes up a friendship with Katie, a college student living nearby, and a new world opens up. Her neighbours have been dying to get to know her, and they rush to help when Sara is devastated by a terrible accident.But nothing is quite what it seems. And when new betrayals and shocking revelations disturb her peace, Sara realises she has no choice: she must act to protect the safety of those she loves.

Coronet

Red Strike

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Mulholland Books

The Stranger Inside

Laura Benedict
Authors:
Laura Benedict
Mulholland Books

Night

Bernard Minier
Authors:
Bernard Minier
Mulholland Books

Boy in the Well

Douglas Lindsay
Authors:
Douglas Lindsay

Book 2 in the DI Westphall series.'The Boy in the Well is a dark and satisfying mystery. I thoroughly enjoyed my time in the company of DI Ben Westphall, a compelling personality . . . This one comes thoroughly recommended' James OswaldThe body of a young boy is discovered at the bottom of a well that has been sealed for two hundred years.Yet the corpse is only days old . . .Soon, similarities from an old crime emerge and DI Ben Westphall must look to the past to piece together the dark and twisted events taking place in the present.

Mulholland Books

Last Night

Karen Ellis
Authors:
Karen Ellis
Hodder & Stoughton

A Step So Grave

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson

Wedding bells are set to ring as Dandy Gilver, family in tow, arrives in windswept Wester Ross on Valentine's Day. They've come to celebrate Lady Lavinia's fiftieth birthday and to meet her daughter Mallory, a less-than-suitable bride-to-be for Dandy's son Donald.But soon love is the last thing on Dandy's mind when the news breaks that Lady Lavinia has been found dead, brutally murdered in the middle of her famous knot garden. Strange superstitions and folklore abound among the Gaelic-speaking locals. But , Dandy suspects that the tangled boughs and branches around Applecross House hide something much more earthly at work . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Elevation

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Hodder & Stoughton

The Single Ladies of Jacaranda Retirement Village

Joanna Nell
Authors:
Joanna Nell
Hodder & Stoughton

Tailspin

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown
Hodder & Stoughton

Careless Love

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson

The twenty-fifth instalment of the Number One Bestselling DCI Banks series'Robinson is prolific, but with each book he manages to ring the changes.' GuardianA young local student has apparently committed suicide. Her body is found in an abandoned car on a lonely country road. She didn't own a car. Didn't even drive. How did she get there? Where did she die? Who moved her, and why?Meanwhile a man in his sixties is found dead in a gully up on the wild moorland. He is wearing an expensive suit and carrying no identification. Post-mortem findings indicate he died from injuries sustained during the fall. But what was he doing up there? And why are there no signs of a car in the vicinity?As the inconsistencies multiply and the mysteries proliferate, Annie's father's new partner, Zelda, comes up with a shocking piece of information that alerts Banks and Annie to the return of an old enemy in a new guise. This is someone who will stop at nothing, not even murder, to get what he wants - and suddenly the stakes are raised and the hunt is on.

John Murray

Rise and Kill First

Ronen Bergman
Authors:
Ronen Bergman
Hodder & Stoughton

Tall Order

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder Paperbacks

Sleeping in the Ground

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson
Hodder Paperbacks

Sleeping Beauties

Stephen King, Owen King
Authors:
Stephen King, Owen King

In this spectacular father/son collaboration, Stephen King and Owen King tell the highest of high-stakes stories: what might happen if women disappeared from the world of men?All around the world, something is happening to women when they fall asleep; they become shrouded in a cocoon-like gauze. If awakened, if the gauze wrapping their bodies is disturbed, the women become feral and spectacularly violent...In the small town of Dooling, West Virginia, the virus is spreading through a women's prison, affecting all the inmates except one. Soon, word spreads about the mysterious Evie, who seems able to sleep - and wake. Is she a medical anomaly or a demon to be slain? The abandoned men, left to their increasingly primal devices, are fighting each other, while Dooling's Sheriff, Lila Norcross, is just fighting to stay awake.And the sleeping women are about to open their eyes to a new world altogether...

Hodder & Stoughton

The Woman in the Woods

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

The new thrilling instalment of John Connolly's popular Charlie Parker series.It is spring, and the semi-preserved body of a young Jewish woman is discovered buried in the Maine woods. It is clear that she gave birth shortly before her death.But there is no sign of a baby.Private detective Charlie Parker is engaged by the lawyer Moxie Castin to shadow the police investigation and find the infant, but Parker is not the only searcher. Someone else is following the trail left by the woman, someone with an interest in more than a missing child, someone prepared to leave bodies in his wake.And in a house by the woods, a toy telephone begins to ring.For a young boy is about to receive a call from a dead woman . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

He Said/She Said

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly
Hodder Paperbacks

The Family Next Door

Sally Hepworth
Authors:
Sally Hepworth
Hodder & Stoughton

Never Go There

Rebecca Tinnelly
Authors:
Rebecca Tinnelly

'A thoroughly excellent debut. Dark and brutal in places with a shocker of an ending!!!' bestselling author Katerina Diamond'Twisty, fast-paced, shocking. EXCELLENT.' Will Dean, author of Dark PinesWhat if you found out that you'd been married to a stranger?Nuala and James had the perfect relationship. They were young and in love, and so Nuala didn't question why James told her to never contact his family or to visit the small Somerset town he was from. But now James is dead, and Nuala needs to know what he was keeping from her all of those years. Nuala is on her way to a town full of her husbands secrets. And she is about to discover that sometimes secrets are better left buried.*****Never Go There is a gripping psychological thriller with a shock-twist ending, perfect for fans of Cara Hunter's Close to Home, Laura Marshall's Friend Request, Fiona Barton's The Child and Lisa Jewell's Then She Was Gone.*****What authors are saying about Never Go There:'OMG. Dark and suspenseful with brilliant characters, this book sucked me in and wouldn't let go. I loved it.' Patricia Gibney, bestselling author of The Missing Ones'Edge-of-the-seat reading.' Liz Lawler, author of Don't Wake Up'Mesmerising' Sarah J. Naughton, Tattletale'Kept me reading late into the night.' Elisabeth Carpenter, 99 Red Balloons'This is a very clever debut.' Susi Holliday, The Deaths of December'Absorbing from start to finish.' Amanda Robson, Obsession *****What readers are saying about Never Go There:'Twisty as hell and more addictive than a pot of pringles''This book, WOW...the twist is breath-taking!' 'Oh my gosh! What an extremely dark, addictive and gripping read with so many twists and turns your emotions will be all over the place!! 5****' Waterstones Bookseller'Had to finish in one night! 5*****' 'A storyline that kept me turning page after page, lots of twists and turns and surprises. A really good read which keeps you hanging on for more''This story is much more than a Crime/Mystery or even a Thriller. It is an emotional rollercoaster. I highly recommend this book to readers who enjoy their mysteries with that extra depth. 5****' 'A superb psychological thriller...you'll want to clear your diary to read this in one go!' 'Wow! This book was a rollercoaster ride. Gripping and twisty all the way through. Perfect read for anyone looking for an edge of your seat read.'