Richard Blake - The Terror of Constantinople (Death of Rome Saga Book Two) - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780340951156
    • Publication date:21 Jan 2010

The Terror of Constantinople (Death of Rome Saga Book Two)

By Richard Blake

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The second book in Richard Blake's brilliant DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

If you loved Gladiator and Spartacus, you'll love the second book in the DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

610 AD.
Invaded by Persians and barbarians, the Byzantine Empire is tearing itself apart in civil war. Phocas, the maniacally bloodthirsty Emperor, holds Constantinople by a reign of terror. The uninvaded provinces are turning one at a time to the usurper, Heraclius.

Just as the battle for the Empire approaches its climax, Aelric of England turns up in Constantinople. Blackmailed by the Papacy to leave off his career of lechery and market-rigging in Rome, he thinks his job is to gather texts for a semi-comprehensible dispute over the Nature of Christ. Only gradually does he realise he is a pawn in a much larger game.

Biographical Notes

Richard Blake is a historian, broadcaster and university lecturer. He lives in Kent with his wife and daughter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848948280
  • Publication date: 21 Jan 2010
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Vivid characters, devious plotting and buckets of gore are enhanced by his unfamiliar choice of period. Nasty, fun and educational. — Daily Telegraph
He knows how to deliver a fast-paced story and his grasp of the period is impressively detailed. — Mail on Sunday
A rollicking and raunchy read . . . Anyone who enjoys their history with large dollops of action, sex, intrigue and, above all, fun will absolutely love this novel. — Historical Novels Review
The best historical novel I've ever read. — L. Neil Smith on, Conspiracies of Rome: Death of Rome Saga Book One
Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled Sandra Brown 2018

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown

#1 New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Sandra Brown returns with another suspenseful thriller - more information coming soon.

Hodder Paperbacks

Ring Of Clay

Margaret Kaine
Authors:
Margaret Kaine

*******Winner of the Romantic Novelists' Association New Writer's Award and the Society of Authors' Sagittarius Prize*******Despite an early life marked by tragedy and hardship, Beth Sherwin dreams of staying on at school and even going to university - a heady ambition for a Potteries girl in 1956. Then a brutal encounter leaves her pregnant at seventeen. Unwilling to break her widowed mother's heart, Beth bears her secret alone and gives up her baby daughter for adoption. It seems her desperate gamble has succeeded. She finishes school, takes on a challenging job and meets Michael, charming eldest son of the wealthy Rushton family. But when he asks her to marry him, Beth faces a dilemma. Does she dare tell Michael her secret, and risk losing him for ever? And even if he stands by her, can she bear the certainty that the brutal monster who fathered her child will be at her wedding?***********Praise for Ring of Clay'The story is a gripping "rags to riches" tale which will leave readers hooked from the beginning'Staffordshire Life'My reader was enthralled'The Bookseller'Kaine has a gift for storytelling'Woman's Way

Hodder Paperbacks

Rosemary

Margaret Kaine
Authors:
Margaret Kaine
Hodder Paperbacks

A Girl Of Her Time

Margaret Kaine
Authors:
Margaret Kaine
Hodder Paperbacks

Friends and Families

Margaret Kaine
Authors:
Margaret Kaine
Hodder Paperbacks

Roses For Rebecca

Margaret Kaine
Authors:
Margaret Kaine
Hodder Paperbacks

Ribbon of Moonlight

Margaret Kaine
Authors:
Margaret Kaine

When her beloved grandfather dies in 1958, Polly Merton is forced to share her home with a woman she scarcely knows: the mother who abandoned her.Sadie Merton, glamorous and selfish, has her own set of morals and Polly is appalled by her scandalous lifestyle. Ashamed and resentful, she takes refuge in her friends and her college studies.Then Polly's love of France takes her to Paris - and after a chance encounter there, her life will never be the same again . . .*********Praise for Ribbon of Moonlight'A complex, satisfying read'Leicester Mercury'The spirit of a new age is beautifully captured'Choice Magazine'Written with charm, sensitivity and heart, Ribbon of Moonlight is full of family strife, illicit passion, devastating secrets and class conflict'SingleTitles.com

Hodder & Stoughton

The Shout

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Mulholland Books

Her Beautiful Monster

Adi Tantimedh
Authors:
Adi Tantimedh

Enjoy another 'exhilarating roller-coaster ride of unusual cases' (Publishers Weekly) in this second book of the Ravi PI series, featuring detective Ravi Chandra Singh and his team at the gleefully amoral, unfailingly dangerous secret agency Golden Sentinels. When Ravi's colleagues at Golden Sentinels discover that he sees gods in moments of heightened anxiety and stress, they are surprisingly fine with it. They even encourage him to incorporate his visions into his work, especially now that the cases have become more intense, with many hidden risks at play. But their latest case - a search for a dead Russian oligarch's last will and testament - leads to more than anyone expected: a missing heir, murderous relatives, and geopolitical implications. So, when Ravi's boss sends him to Los Angeles to wait out the heat, it's almost a relief...until Ravi's past catches up to him. In this thrilling and complex sequel to Her Nightly Embrace, nothing is what it seems, as Ravi stumbles upon a dangerous scheme that involves the CIA, MI5, and a wanted man with a $20 million price on his head.

Mulholland Books

A Map of the Dark

Karen Ellis
Authors:
Karen Ellis

A girl missingA woman, searchingA killer, planning...A thrilling new FBI series for fans of Tess Gerritsen and Karin Slaughter. FBI Agent Elsa Myers finds missing people.She knows how it feels to be lost...Though her father lies dying in a hospital north of New York City, Elsa cannot refuse a call for help. A teenage girl has gone missing from Forest Hills, Queens, and during the critical first hours of the case, a series of false leads hides the fact that she did not go willingly. With each passing hour, as the hunt for Ruby deepens into a search for a man who may have been killing for years, the case starts to get underneath Elsa's skin. Everything she has buried - her fraught relationship with her sister and niece, her self-destructive past, her mother's death - threatens to resurface, with devastating consequences.In order to save the missing girl, she may have to lose herself...and return to the darkness she's been hiding from for years.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Third Nero

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis

'Davis's prose is a lively joy, and Flavia's Rome is sinister and gloriously real' The Times on SaturdayFlavia Albia's day-old marriage is in trouble - her new husband may be permanently disabled and they have no funds. So when Palace officials ask her to expose a traitor in their midst she is ready for the task. Ever since the Emperor Nero committed suicide in AD 68, Rome has been haunted by reports that he is actually alive and ready to reclaim his throne. Two Nero pretenders have emerged from the East and met grisly fates. But now a new pretender has been smuggled into Rome by the traitor. Flavia must negotiate with spies, dodge assassins and reveal this third Nero before he can make his move. Will she act in time or will Rome once more be plunged into civil war?

Hodder & Stoughton

Camino Island

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Hodder Paperbacks

Holding

Graham Norton
Authors:
Graham Norton
Hodder & Stoughton

A Game of Ghosts

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Mulholland Books

The Prometheus Man

Scott Reardon
Authors:
Scott Reardon

A man with no identity... hunting a man without limits.When a pile of bodies is found in Paris, CIA Agent Tom Blake hustles his way onto a major case: tracking a man with enhanced abilities, the test subject of a secret government program. There's just one problem: the man using Agent Blake's identity is not Agent Blake. He's Tom Reese. Reese is searching for his brother's killer. He stole Agent Blake's identity two months ago and has bluffed his way onto the team investigating his only lead. But his time as a CIA agent is accelerating toward its expiration date. Soon the CIA will find out that Agent Blake is in two places at once. Soon the augmented man will come looking for him. And soon both will discover that Tom Reese carries a secret even he doesn't know about.He is the last test subject of Project Prometheus.

Mulholland Books

Red Right Hand

Chris Holm
Authors:
Chris Holm

NOMINATED FOR THE 2017 ANTHONY AWARD FOR BEST NOVELWhen the good guys can't save you, call a bad guy.A family's holiday video goes viral when it captures the moment of a terrorist attack...In the background, it reveals a witness long thought dead.The organisation the man agreed to testify against will stop at nothing to silence him, but Special Agent Charlie Thompson won't let that happen. Charlie turns to Michael Hendricks. He has history with those threatening the witness's life and getting involved will lead him right to them. All he has to do is enter an active crime scene and find someone with good reason to hide. With his skills, he figures it'll be easy. But nothing about this story is what it seems... Praise for THE KILLING KIND'Roaring tough guy fun' The Sunday Times'A one-sitting, extravagant, mind-blowing reading pleasure' David Baldacci'Pure joy' New York Times Book Review

Hodder Paperbacks

The Edge of the Shadows

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George

Whidbey Island is ablaze.Late summer on Whidbey Island after nine weeks of no rain and fire season has arrived . . . along with a fire starter who soon begins tormenting the residents of this peaceful Pacific Northwest idyll with fires that escalate in intensity. Becca King and her friends Jenn and Derric are with her at the county fair when the third fire starts in a shed housing animals. The shed is destroyed, some of the animals are killed, and Becca hears from the nearby forest the 'whispers' of the fire starter who has remained to watch the havoc. More fires ensue and the situation escalates until someone dies. Becca thinks she knows who's behind it all, but only with the help of her friends and the development of her own incipient psychic talents can the perpetrator be brought to justice.

Hodder & Stoughton

Icarus

Deon Meyer
Authors:
Deon Meyer
Hodder & Stoughton

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet

Becky Chambers
Authors:
Becky Chambers
Hodder & Stoughton

Brush Back

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky

The seventeenth V.I. Warshawski thriller from one of America's greatest female crime writers, and winner of Theakstons Old Peculier Outstanding Contribution to Crime Fiction Award 2015.For six stormy weeks in high school, V.I. Warshawski thought she was in love with Frank Guzzo. He broke up with her, she went off to college, he started driving trucks for a living. She forgot about him until the day his mother was arrested for bludgeoning his kid sister Annie to death. Twenty-five years later, Stella is released and Frank comes to V. I., begging the private detective to help find grounds to exonerate his mother from a crime she claims she never committed.V.I. doesn't want to get involved, but life has been hard on Frank. When V.I. agrees to ask a few questions, it's a painful journey to the past for her, to her old neighbourhood and the people she grew up with. And when she gets beaten up after attending a youth-group meeting in her old 'hood, V.I.'s main question becomes whether she will live long enough to find the answers.