Richard Blake - Conspiracies of Rome (Death of Rome Saga Book One) - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780340951132
    • Publication date:08 Jan 2009

Conspiracies of Rome (Death of Rome Saga Book One)

By Richard Blake

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The first book in Richard Blake's brilliant DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

Perfect for readers of Simon Scarrow and Ben Kane, Conspiracies of Rome is the thrilling first book in the new seven-part DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

Rome, 609 AD.
Empire is a fading memory. Repeatedly fought over and plundered, the City is falling into ruins. Killers prowl by night. Far off, in Constantinople, the Emperor has other concerns as The Church is beginning to flex its own imperial muscle.

Enter Aelric of England: young and beautiful, sexually uninhibited, heroic, if ruthlessly violent - and hungry for the learning of a world that is dying around him.

A deadly brawl outside Rome sucks him straight into the high politics of Empire. Soon, Aelric is involved in a race against time to find answers before he ends up as just another corpse in the gutter.

Biographical Notes

Richard Blake is a lecturer, historian, broadcaster and writer who lives in Kent.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848948273
  • Publication date: 11 Dec 2009
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Fascinating to read, very well written, an intriguing plot and I enjoyed it very much. — Derek Jacobi, star of I, Claudius and Gladiator
The best historical novel I have ever read. — L. Neil Smith
I can't resist recommending this first volume of a promised trilogy. Set during the last pangs of Imperial Rome, with a vivid account of the machinations of the early Church, it is well-informed, atmospheric and beautifully written. — Literary Review
An enjoyable read. — Historical Novel Society
Hodder Paperbacks

The Beast's Heart

Leife Shallcross
Authors:
Leife Shallcross
Hodder & Stoughton

Last Man Standing

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

The next explosive standalone thriller from Sunday Times bestselling author Stephen Leather - more information coming soon! Praise for bestselling author Stephen Leather'The sheer impetus of his storytelling is damned hard to resist' Sunday Express'A master of the thriller genre' Irish Times'As tough as British thriller writers get' Irish Independent

Two Roads

A Well-Behaved Woman

Therese Anne Fowler
Authors:
Therese Anne Fowler
Hodder & Stoughton

Flight or Fright

Stephen King, Bev Vincent, Michael Lewis, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Richard Matheson, Ambrose Bierce, E.C. Tubb, Tom Bissell, Dan Simmons, Cody Goodfellow, John Varley, Joe Hill, David J. Schow, Ray Bradbury, Roald Dahl, Peter Treemayne, James L. Dickey
Authors:
Stephen King, Bev Vincent, Michael Lewis, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Richard Matheson, Ambrose Bierce, E.C. Tubb, Tom Bissell, Dan Simmons, Cody Goodfellow, John Varley, Joe Hill, David J. Schow, Ray Bradbury, Roald Dahl, Peter Treemayne, James L. Dickey
Hodder & Stoughton

Court of Wolves

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young
Hodder & Stoughton

The King's Witch

Tracy Borman
Authors:
Tracy Borman
Hodder Paperbacks

Onslaught: The Centurions II

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches
Coronet

Warlord

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

When the SAS takes on the Narcos there can be only one winner.Set in 2011 in Mexico and London, Warlord is based on real events. Series hero Danny Black leads an SAS squad on loan to the CIA and sent to the Mexican border. The old Columbian drug gangs are being driven out by New Mexican gangs and their crack killing teams, called the Zitas. This is leading to a new, unprecedented flood of heroin engulfing southern American states. Danny's squad is to take the war to the Zitas, who have received special forces training, and to assassinate their mysterious leader.Danny's younger brother is a junkie, and it will soon become apparent that the Zitas have a very long reach.(P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Coronet

Night of Sorrows

Graham Hancock
Authors:
Graham Hancock

Cortés and his small army of Conquistadors enter Tenochtitlan, the island city of the Aztecs, as guests of the psychotic emperor Moctezuma who plans to trap them there and kill them all. In a stunning coup, Cortés acts first, taking the emperor hostage and ruling the Aztecs through him. All of Mexico seems about to fall into his hands until a report comes from the coast of the arrival of a new force of Spaniards with more than three times his numbers, sent not to strengthen him but to attack him and wrest the conquest from him. Faced with the choice of abject surrender or war with fellow Spaniards Cortés chooses war and marches out to do battle but, in so doing he fatally weakens his garrison in Tenochtitlan and throws open the doors of Hell.

Coronet

Bad Soldier

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

A migrant boat battles through the rough Mediterranean. Its passengers are desperate, starving and scared.They are also being ruthlessly targeted by the SAS.Islamic State militants are smuggling themselves into Europe using these boats. Only by locating such men before they make it into the UK can the Regiment stop them committing their acts of terror on British soil.When one of these migrants reveals plans for a sickening Christmas Day atrocity in London, SAS operative Danny Black is tasked with infiltrating the most dangerous theatre of war in the world: Islamic State heartland. There, he and his team must lift a brutal IS commander - the only man who knows all the details of the London attack. The commander surrounds himself with vicious militants and a harem of sex slaves whom he treats in the most sadistic ways imaginable. And his jihadi wife is, if possible, even more abominable than him.As Danny pits himself against the violent thugs of the Islamic State, he learns that it is not just the UK that is under threat. His very presence on the mission has put at risk the safety of those closest to him. And he discovers that there are greater forces at work here, who do not care if the innocent live or die.Now there is nothing Danny will not do, no line he will not cross, to protect his family. Whether that makes him a good soldier or a bad soldier he neither knows nor cares. Because as he is fast learning, it is sometimes impossible to tell the difference between the two.And as every SAS soldier is trained to understand, the worst threats often come from the most unexpected places...(P)2016 Hodder & Stoughton

Two Roads

Love & Friendship

Whit Stillman
Authors:
Whit Stillman
Hodder Paperbacks

The Emperor's Silver

Nick Brown
Authors:
Nick Brown
Hodder Paperbacks

A Song of Shadows

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder Paperbacks

At the Ruin of the World

John Henry Clay
Authors:
John Henry Clay

A.D. 448. The Roman Empire is crumbling.The Emperor is weak. Countless Romans live under the rule of barbarian kings. Politicians scheme and ambitious generals vie for power. Then from the depths of Germany arises an even darker threat: Attila, King of the Huns, gathering his hordes and determined to crush Rome once and for all.In a time of danger and deception, where every smile conceals betrayal and every sleeve a dagger, three young people hold onto the dream that Rome can be made great once more. But as their fates collide, they find themselves forced to survive in a world more deadly than any of them could ever have imagined. What can they possibly do to save the Empire, or themselves, from destruction?

Coronet

Hellfire

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

On the Syria/Iraq border a British hostage is beheaded by IS terrorists. The executioner is a young British extremist. A masked figure watches him. This mysterious person is treated with a mixture of respect and terror. They call him the Caliph.In Nigeria the British High Commisioner and his young aide are kidnapped. A four-person SAS team, including Regiment hero Danny Black, is deployed to find him. The team find devastation in Nigeria, and when they discover prisoners infected with the plague they realise they have uncovered a combined Boko Haram/IS plot to unleash a bio-terror attack upon the world.The team must stop the terrorists and identify the Caliph before the deadly disease threatens those much closer to home.(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

Skin

Ilka Tampke
Authors:
Ilka Tampke

'A visceral tale of ritual, magic and violence' - The Sunday TimesImagine a world where everyone is born with a 'skin' name. Without skin you cannot learn, you are not permitted to marry, and you grow up an outsider amongst your own people. This is no future dystopia. This is Celtic Britain. It is AD 43. For the Caer Cad, 'skin' name determines lineage and identity. Ailia does not have skin; despite this, she is a remarkable young woman, intelligent, curious and brave. As a dark threat grows on the horizon - the aggressive expansion of the Roman Empire - Ailia must embark on an unsanctioned journey to attain the knowledge that will protect her people, and their pagan way of life, from the most terrifying invaders they have ever faced... and it is this unskinned girl who will come to hold the fate of her people in her hands. 'Those who root for Game of Thrones' Daenerys Targaryen will find much to love in Ailia's personal quest' - New Daily Australia

Hodder Paperbacks

The Death of Rome Saga 1-3

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Hodder & Stoughton

The Death of Rome Saga 4-6

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake

Three page-turning, exhilarating thrillers from Richard Blake: THE SWORD OF DAMASCUS, THE GHOSTS OF ATHENS and THE CURSE OF BABYLON. Available together as a digital-only package for the first time. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow.

Coronet

Murder Team

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

Danny Black is a lone wolf on an unofficial mission.He is in the deserts of East Africa looking for his old comrade in arms Spud, wounded in their last mission and now missing.A wounded British solder is a commodity in these parts...Danny recruits a grizzled ex-Blade to help him, encounters an ex-Mossad mercenary, who is part of the supply chain, and heads for a showdown with a small Somali army, led by most-wanted Islamist militant Abu Bakr.In the heat of battle Danny discovers, he is not the lone wolf he thought he was. He begins to wonder, as so many soldiers have before him, is he just a pawn in a greater game?(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

Deadly Election

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis

In the blazing July heat of imperial Rome, Flavia Albia inspects a decomposing corpse. It has been discovered in lots to be auctioned by her family business, so she's determined to identify the dead man and learn how he met his gruesome end.The investigation will give her a chance to work with the magistrate, Manlius Faustus, the friend she sadly knows to be the last chaste man in Rome. But he's got other concerns than her anonymous corpse. It's election time and with democracy for sale at Domitian's court, tension has come to a head. Faustus is acting as an agent for a 'good husband and father', whose traditional family values are being called into question. Even more disreputable are his rivals, whom Faustus wants Albia to discredit.As Albia's and Faustus' professional and personal partnership deepens they have to accept that, for others, obsession can turn sour, and become a deadly strain that leads, tragically, to murder.