Richard Blake - Conspiracies of Rome (Death of Rome Saga Book One) - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780340951132
    • Publication date:08 Jan 2009

Conspiracies of Rome (Death of Rome Saga Book One)

By Richard Blake

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The first book in Richard Blake's brilliant DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

Perfect for readers of Simon Scarrow and Ben Kane, Conspiracies of Rome is the thrilling first book in the new seven-part DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

Rome, 609 AD.
Empire is a fading memory. Repeatedly fought over and plundered, the City is falling into ruins. Killers prowl by night. Far off, in Constantinople, the Emperor has other concerns as The Church is beginning to flex its own imperial muscle.

Enter Aelric of England: young and beautiful, sexually uninhibited, heroic, if ruthlessly violent - and hungry for the learning of a world that is dying around him.

A deadly brawl outside Rome sucks him straight into the high politics of Empire. Soon, Aelric is involved in a race against time to find answers before he ends up as just another corpse in the gutter.

Biographical Notes

Richard Blake is a lecturer, historian, broadcaster and writer who lives in Kent.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848948273
  • Publication date: 11 Dec 2009
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Fascinating to read, very well written, an intriguing plot and I enjoyed it very much. — Derek Jacobi, star of I, Claudius and Gladiator
The best historical novel I have ever read. — L. Neil Smith
I can't resist recommending this first volume of a promised trilogy. Set during the last pangs of Imperial Rome, with a vivid account of the machinations of the early Church, it is well-informed, atmospheric and beautifully written. — Literary Review
An enjoyable read. — Historical Novel Society
Hodder & Stoughton

A Brightness Long Ago

Guy Gavriel Kay
Authors:
Guy Gavriel Kay
Sceptre

Bangkok Wakes to Rain

Pitchaya Sudbanthad
Authors:
Pitchaya Sudbanthad
John Murray

The Wolf and the Watchman

Niklas Natt och Dag
Authors:
Niklas Natt och Dag
Two Roads

Frieda

Annabel Abbs
Authors:
Annabel Abbs

Hodder & Stoughton

Breathe

Dominick Donald
Authors:
Dominick Donald

A Sunday Times, Observer, Evening Standard and Daily Mail book of the year'Remarkably accomplished' Observer'Casts a magical spell' Daily Mail'Deeply impressive' Evening StandardA stunning debut crime novel for fans of Robert Harris, Philip Kerr and C.J. Sansom's Dominion.London, 1952. Dick Bourton is not like the other probationer policemen in Notting Hill. He's older, having fought in Europe and then Korea. And he's no Londoner, being from Cotswold farming stock. Then there's Anna, the exotically beautiful White Russian fiancée he has brought back to these drab streets and empty bombsites. She may as well come from a different planet. The new copper also has a mind of his own. After an older colleague is shot by a small-time gangster they are chasing in a pea-souper fog, something nags at Bourton's memory. He begins to make connections which his superiors don't want to see, linking a whole series of deaths and the fogs that stop the city in its tracks. Desperate to prove himself and his theories, Bourton fails to notice the fear which his mysterious bride is doing her best to conceal - and overcome.Soon both Anna and Bourton are taking dangerous paths into the worst fog London has ever known...**********"London had gone. As he stepped through the wicket, a dry smoky chill puffing over the lintel, everything that made the city - skyline, street signs, crowds, scarlet double-deckers - had disappeared, lost in the murk. I can't see the kerb, for God's sake, let alone Barker's across the road. He looked both ways, the chill crawling down his neck . . . Coshing gangs will love this. And our man. But we're on your trail, sunshine. He raised his hat to Marling, locking up behind. Tomorrow we nab you."

Hodder & Stoughton

Flight or Fright

Stephen King, Bev Vincent, Michael Lewis, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Richard Matheson, Ambrose Bierce, E.C. Tubb, Tom Bissell, Dan Simmons, Cody Goodfellow, John Varley, Joe Hill, David J. Schow, Ray Bradbury, Roald Dahl, Peter Treemayne, James L. Dickey
Authors:
Stephen King, Bev Vincent, Michael Lewis, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Richard Matheson, Ambrose Bierce, E.C. Tubb, Tom Bissell, Dan Simmons, Cody Goodfellow, John Varley, Joe Hill, David J. Schow, Ray Bradbury, Roald Dahl, Peter Treemayne, James L. Dickey

Fasten your seatbelts for an anthology of turbulent tales curated by Stephen King and Bev Vincent. This exciting new collection, perfect for airport or aeroplane reading, includes an original introduction and story notes for each story by Stephen King, and brand new stories from Stephen King and Joe Hill.Stephen King hates to fly.Now he and co-editor Bev Vincent would like to share this fear of flying with you.Welcome to Flight or Fright, an anthology about all the things that can go horribly wrong when you're suspended six miles in the air, hurtling through space at more than 500 mph and sealed up in a metal tube (like - gulp! - a coffin) with hundreds of strangers. All the ways your trip into the friendly skies can turn into a nightmare, including some we'll bet you've never thought of before... but now you will the next time you walk down the jetway and place your fate in the hands of a total stranger.Featuring brand new stories by Joe Hill and Stephen King, as well as fourteen classic tales and one poem from the likes of Richard Matheson, Ray Bradbury, Roald Dahl, Dan Simmons, and many others, Flight or Fright is, as King says, "ideal airplane reading, especially on stormy descents... Even if you are safe on the ground, you might want to buckle up nice and tight."Book a flight for this terrifying new anthology that will have you thinking twice about how you want to reach your final destination.Table of Contents:Introduction by Stephen KingCargo by E. Michael LewisThe Horror of the Heights by Sir Arthur Conan DoyleNightmare at 20,000 Feet by Richard MathesonThe Flying Machine by Ambrose BierceLucifer! by E.C. TubbThe Fifth Category by Tom BissellTwo Minutes Forty-Five Seconds by Dan SimmonsDiablitos by Cody GoodfellowAir Raid by John VarleyYou Are Released by Joe HillWarbirds by David J. SchowThe Flying Machine by Ray BradburyZombies on a Plane by Bev VincentThey Shall Not Grow Old by Roald DahlMurder in the Air by Peter TremayneThe Turbulence Expert by Stephen KingFalling by James L. DickeyAfterword by Bev Vincent

Sceptre

Now We Shall Be Entirely Free

Andrew Miller
Authors:
Andrew Miller
Hodder & Stoughton

Women of the Dunes

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine

The new novel from the acclaimed author of The House Between Tides, winner of the Waterstones Scottish Book of the Year 2018!****On the rugged, sea-lashed coast of west Scotland lies Ullaness: home to the Scottish legend of Ulla, a Viking woman who washed up on Scottish shores centuries ago. The legend will bring the stories of three different women together...In AD 800 there is Ulla, lost in a foreign country after her lover is brutally killed. Ellen, a servant-girl in the 1800s, catches the unwanted attentions of the master of the house's lascivious son. And, in the present day, there is Libby - an archaeologist who is determined to uncover an age-old mystery. When a body is excavated from Ullaness - the body of someone who was murdered long ago - the mystery deepens, and the fates of the three women become ever more tightly bound.Women of the Dunes is the new gorgeously sweeping historical novel from Sarah Maine. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Jenny Ashcroft.Praise for Sarah Maine:'An echo of Daphne du Maurier' - Independent'Maine adroitly weaves together the three strands of her novel' Sunday Times'Maine writes beautifully about the wilderness' - The Times'Maine skillfully balances a Daphne du Maurier atmosphere with a Barbara Vine-like psychological mystery...' - Kirkus

Hodder Paperbacks

The Shout

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Sceptre

A Shout in the Ruins

Kevin Powers
Authors:
Kevin Powers
Hodder & Stoughton

The Beast's Heart

Leife Shallcross
Authors:
Leife Shallcross
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin

'We have no need to protect ourselves from the bad sort because WE are the bad sort . . .' 'Beguiling' StylistThe year is 1831. Down murky alleyways, acts of unspeakable wickedness are taking place and London's vulnerable poor are disappearing from the streets. Out of these shadows comes Hester White, a bright young woman who is desperate to escape these slums by any means possible. When a chance encounter thrusts Hester into the beguiling world of the aristocratic Brock family, she leaps at the chance to improve her station in life. But whispers from her past slowly begin to poison her new existence, and lure her into the most sinister of investigations. As she finds herself dragged into the blackest heart of the city, little does she know that something more depraved than she could ever imagine is lurking. . .'Carlin can tell a good story' Observer'Contains lovely, lyrical writing . . . and a heady romance at its heart' Sunday Express'A deliciously dark confection of a novel' Ruth Hogan

Hodder & Stoughton

Lucky Ghost

Matthew Blakstad
Authors:
Matthew Blakstad
Hodder Paperbacks

Dark Forces

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder & Stoughton

Sockpuppet

Matthew Blakstad
Authors:
Matthew Blakstad

You shared your life online. Now how will you get it back?There's no such person as sic_girl. She's just a piece of code, a fake internet personality turned internet celebrity that Dani Farr designed to win a bet.But she's just started spilling state secrets.Dani can't imagine why anyone would hack a bit of code she created as a joke... but sic_girl has Dani in her sights, and now she risks losing everyone and everything she cares about.Government minister Bethany Lehrer has put her job on the line to launch Digital Citizen, a national online ID scheme. sic_girl seems determined to bring that down. And if Dani and Bethany don't figure out who - or what - is behind sic_girl, it won't just be their lives and privacy at stake. Because the more secrets sic_girl spills, the clearer it becomes:Nothing is private.No one is safe.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Death of Rome Saga 1-3

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Hodder & Stoughton

The Death of Rome Saga 4-6

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake

Three page-turning, exhilarating thrillers from Richard Blake: THE SWORD OF DAMASCUS, THE GHOSTS OF ATHENS and THE CURSE OF BABYLON. Available together as a digital-only package for the first time. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow.

Hodder & Stoughton

Trouble in Mind

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver

A cunning collection of short stories from the master of misdirection with tales featuring the hugely popular series characters Lincoln Rhyme and Kathryn Dance.TENSION . . . An aging actor attempts to revive his career by entering a celebrity poker game for a reality TV show. Can he outwit his devious opponents, or is his fate doomed from the outset?CONSPIRACY . . . A successful crime writer dies under seemingly natural circumstances, but for one cop, doubts are lingering. There's certainly motive for murder - or is there more to the case than meets the eye? MURDER . . . Lincoln Rhyme is announced dead, shot by one of his suspects in cold blood. Is this the end of the line for the criminalist, or just another twist in the tale?

Hodder & Stoughton

The Curse of Babylon (Death of Rome Saga Book Six)

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Hodder & Stoughton

Nightshade

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather