Richard Blake - The Curse of Babylon (Death of Rome Saga Book Six) - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444709735
    • Publication date:01 Aug 2013

The Curse of Babylon (Death of Rome Saga Book Six)

By Richard Blake

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The sixth book of Richard Blake's brilliant DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

The thrilling sixth book in the DEATH OF ROME SAGA.
'An extraordinary series' - The Morning Star

615 AD.
A vengeful Persian tyrant prepares the final blow that will annihilate the Byzantine Empire.
Aelric of England - now the Lord Senator Alaric - is almost as powerful as the Emperor. Seemingly without opposition, he dominates the vast and morally bankrupt city of Constantinople. He alone is able to conceive and to push forward reforms that are the Empire's only hope of survival, and perhaps of restoration to wealth and greatness.

Aelric faces his greatest challenge yet with danger of all frontiers. His domestic enemies are waiting for their moment to strike back and the world's most terrifying military machine is assembling in secret beyond the mountains of the eastern frontiers.

Biographical Notes

Richard Blake is a historian, broadcaster and university lecturer. He lives in Kent with his wife and daughter.

www.richardblake.me.uk

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848947054
  • Publication date: 01 Aug 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
It would be hard to over-praise this extraordinary series, a near-perfect blend of historical detail and atmosphere with the plot of a conspiracy thriller, vivid characters, high philosophy and vulgar comedy. — The Morning Star
The best historical novel I've ever read. — L. Neil Smith on, Conspiracies of Rome: Death of Rome Saga Book One
Fascinating to read, very well written, an intriguing plot ... I enjoyed it very much. — Derek Jacobi, star of I, Claudius and Gladiator
If you like your Dark Age stories to be, well - particularly dark - then you'll love this. — Historical Novels Review
Mulholland Books

The Death Knock

Elodie Harper
Authors:
Elodie Harper
Hodder & Stoughton

The Iberian Flame

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder Paperbacks

Seeing Red

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown

Twenty-five years ago, Major Franklin Trapper became a national icon when he lead a handful of survivors to safety after the bombing of a Dallas hotel. For years, he gave frequent speeches and interviews but then suddenly dropped out of the public eye, shunning all media. Now, ambitious TV journalist Kerra Bailey is determined to get an exclusive with the Major - even if she has to wrangle an introduction from his estranged son, former ATF agent John Trapper.Trapper wants no association with the Major, but despite himself, he agrees to the meet. But when the interview goes catastrophically awry - with unknown assailants targeting his father and Kerra - Trapper starts a hunt to track down the gunmen . . . and finally discover who was responsible for the Dallas bombing.

Hodder & Stoughton

Retribution: The Centurions III

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches

The author of the bestselling Empire series reaches the action-filled climax of his epic story of the uprising of the Batavi in AD 69.Victory is in sight for Kivilaz and his Batavi army. The Roman army clings desperately to its remaining fortresses along the Rhine, its legions riven by dissent and mutiny, and once-loyal allies of Rome are beginning to imagine the unimaginable: freedom from the rulers who have dominated them since the time of Caesar. The four centurions - two Batavi and two Roman, men who were once comrades in arms - must find their destiny in a maze of loyalties and threats, as the blood tide of war ebbs and flows across Germania and Gaul. For Rome does not give up its territory lightly. And a new emperor knows that he cannot tolerate any threat to his undisputed power. It can only be a matter of time before Vespasian sends his legions north to exact the empire's retribution.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Rooster Bar

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham

Worldwide bestseller and master of the legal thriller John Grisham will keep you on the edge of your seat with his most suspenseful thriller yet.Praise for John Grisham:'A superb, instinctive storyteller' The Times'A giant of the thriller genre' Time Out'John Grisham has perfected the art of cooking up convincing, fast-paced thrillers' Telegraph'No one does it better than Grisham' Daily Telegraph

Hodder & Stoughton

Sleeping Beauties

Stephen King, Owen King
Authors:
Stephen King, Owen King
Hodder & Stoughton

Lucky Ghost

Matthew Blakstad
Authors:
Matthew Blakstad
Hodder Paperbacks

When the Music's Over

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson
Hodder & Stoughton

He Said/She Said

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLERTHE SIMON MAYO RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB PICK'I'm calling it: THIS is the book I wish I'd written' Clare Mackintosh, author of I See YouDon't be left in the dark.In the hushed aftermath of a total eclipse, Laura witnesses a brutal attack. She and her boyfriend Kit call the police, and in that moment, four lives change forever.Fifteen years on, Laura and Kit live in fear. And while Laura knows she was right to speak out, she also knows that you can never see the whole picture: something is always hidden . . . something she never could have guessed. See what everyone is saying about this brilliant read: 'It's SO good . . . I was carrying it around the house I was so gripped' Sarah Perry, author of The Essex Serpent'A gripping, twisting, furiously clever read . . . I loved it' Ruth Ware, author of The Woman in Cabin 10'It's magnificent. Stunningly twisty plot and weep-makingly brilliant writing' Marian Keyes, author of The Woman Who Stole My Life

Hodder & Stoughton

The Roanoke Girls

Amy Engel
Authors:
Amy Engel
Hodder & Stoughton

Takedown

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder Paperbacks

Blood Sister

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell

Book 1 in a series following one family over forty years on an East London estate, BLOOD SISTER is non-stop drama, perfect for fans of Jessie Keane and Mandasue Heller. 'A gripping and thrilling read by a wonderful lady and fab author' Kimberley ChambersThere are two ways out of Essex Lane Estate, better known as The Devil. You make good, or you turn bad. Jen Miller is determined not to make the same mistakes her mother did. She's waiting to find herself a good job and a decent man. Her younger sister Tiff is running errands for a gangster and looking for any opportunity for fun and profit. But she might just be in over her head...The choices you make and the plans you have don't always turn out like you expect. Especially if you live on The Devil's Estate. When their paths cross with the unstoppable Dee - a woman with her own agenda - Jen and Tiff will learn that lesson the hard way.At least they can rely on each other. Can't they?

Hodder & Stoughton

Before the Fall

Noah Hawley
Authors:
Noah Hawley

Sunday Times top thriller read of the year 2016The rich are different. But fate is blind.Down-on-his-luck artist Scott Burroughs would usually take the ferry back to New York from Martha's Vineyard, but he is unexpectedly offered a spare seat on the Bateman family's private jet. Then just minutes after take-off, the plane crashes into the ocean and of the eight passengers and three crew, only Scott and the Batemans' small son, JJ, are left alive.The extraordinary nature of their survival, combined with the fact that David Bateman was CEO of a populist TV news channel, means that Scott will not be returning to anonymity. Along with the orphaned boy, he is engulfed by a maelstrom of speculation, which soon overtakes the official investigation into the tragedy. Who else was on the plane? Was there a bomb, a missile? Who is Scott Burroughs?As the chapters drive towards their heart-stopping conclusion, weaving with ever-increasing suspense between the shocking aftermath of the crash and the intimate backstory of each of the passengers and crew members, Noah Hawley creates a searching, thrilling novel of love, fame, wealth, art, entertainment and power.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Death of Rome Saga 1-3

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Hodder & Stoughton

The Death of Rome Saga 4-6

Richard Blake
Authors:
Richard Blake
Mulholland Books

The Winter Foundlings

Kate Rhodes
Authors:
Kate Rhodes

Ella Williams is ten years old. She loves her granddad and her sister and her shiny new red shoes. She's just been abducted by a killer - someone who kidnaps young girls, holds them for a few weeks then returns their bodies clothed in white foundling dresses. The crimes are clearly linked to notorious child murderer Louis Kinsella, locked away in a high-security hospital. Is it a copycat? Or is he giving someone direct orders from behind bars? To save Ella's life, psychologist Alice Quentin must form a relationship with Kinsella. But he is slow to give up his secrets, and all the while, time is running out...

Hodder & Stoughton

Plague Land

S D Sykes
Authors:
S D Sykes

Book 1 in the gripping Oswald de Lacy series, from 'the medieval CJ Sansom' (Jeffery Deaver)England, 1350: the Black Death has changed the country forever, taking master and servant alike. Young Oswald de Lacey was never meant to be Lord of Somershill Manor, but when his father and older brothers die of the Plague, he must return home from the monastery and assume responsibility for an estate ravaged by pestilence. Almost immediately Oswald is confronted with the vicious murder of a young woman, Alison Starvecrow. The village priest claims it is the work of demonic dog-headed men, a theory Oswald rejects as nonsense. But proving this - by finding the real killer - only leads Oswald deeper into a maze of political intrigue, family secrets and violent strife. And then the body of another girl is found...'Sykes has really reset the bar for medieval mysteries' Medievalists

Hodder & Stoughton

White Lies

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder Paperbacks

Dark Tower I: The Gunslinger

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King

The Dark Tower is soon to be a major motion picture starring Matthew McConaughey and Idris Elba, due in cinemas August 18, 2017.'The man in black fled across the desert, and the gunslinger followed.' The iconic opening line of Stephen King's groundbreaking series, The Dark Tower, introduces one of his most enigmatic and powerful heroes: Roland of Gilead, the Last Gunslinger. Roland is a haunting figure, a loner, on a spellbinding journey toward the mysterious Dark Tower, in a desolate world which frighteningly echoes our own. On his quest, Roland begins a friendship with a kid from New York named Jake, encounters an alluring woman and faces an agonising choice between damnation and salvation as he pursues the Man in Black.JOIN THE QUEST FOR THE DARK TOWER...THE DARK TOWER SERIES:THE DARK TOWER I: THE GUNSLINGER THE DARK TOWER II: THE DRAWING OF THE THREE THE DARK TOWER III: THE WASTE LANDS THE DARK TOWER IV: WIZARD AND GLASS THE DARK TOWER V: WOLVES OF THE CALLA THE DARK TOWER VI: SONG OF SUSANNAH THE DARK TOWER VII: THE DARK TOWERTHE WIND THROUGH THE KEYHOLE: A DARK TOWER NOVEL

Hodder Paperbacks

Almost Dead

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson