Richard Blake - The Curse of Babylon (Death of Rome Saga Book Six) - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444709735
    • Publication date:01 Aug 2013

The Curse of Babylon (Death of Rome Saga Book Six)

By Richard Blake

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The sixth book of Richard Blake's brilliant DEATH OF ROME SAGA.

The thrilling sixth book in the DEATH OF ROME SAGA.
'An extraordinary series' - The Morning Star

615 AD.
A vengeful Persian tyrant prepares the final blow that will annihilate the Byzantine Empire.
Aelric of England - now the Lord Senator Alaric - is almost as powerful as the Emperor. Seemingly without opposition, he dominates the vast and morally bankrupt city of Constantinople. He alone is able to conceive and to push forward reforms that are the Empire's only hope of survival, and perhaps of restoration to wealth and greatness.

Aelric faces his greatest challenge yet with danger of all frontiers. His domestic enemies are waiting for their moment to strike back and the world's most terrifying military machine is assembling in secret beyond the mountains of the eastern frontiers.

Biographical Notes

Richard Blake is a historian, broadcaster and university lecturer. He lives in Kent with his wife and daughter.

www.richardblake.me.uk

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848947054
  • Publication date: 01 Aug 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
It would be hard to over-praise this extraordinary series, a near-perfect blend of historical detail and atmosphere with the plot of a conspiracy thriller, vivid characters, high philosophy and vulgar comedy. — The Morning Star
The best historical novel I've ever read. — L. Neil Smith on, Conspiracies of Rome: Death of Rome Saga Book One
Fascinating to read, very well written, an intriguing plot ... I enjoyed it very much. — Derek Jacobi, star of I, Claudius and Gladiator
If you like your Dark Age stories to be, well - particularly dark - then you'll love this. — Historical Novels Review
Hodder & Stoughton

The Absolution

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir

Mulholland Books

The Stranger Inside

Laura Benedict
Authors:
Laura Benedict
Two Roads

A Well Behaved Woman

Therese Anne Fowler
Authors:
Therese Anne Fowler

'This is a wonderful book! Fowler's portrait is so nuanced, so complicated by context, and so informed by her own capacious generosity that we can't help being drawn in' Karen Joy Fowler, author of We Are All Completely Beside OurselvesOUTSPOKEN. BRAVE. BRILLIANT. FIERCE.Alva Smith, her Southern family destitute after the Civil War, married into one of America's great Gilded Age dynasties: the newly wealthy but socially shunned Vanderbilts. Ignored by New York's old-money circles and determined to win respect, she designed and built nine mansions, hosted grand balls, and arranged for her daughter to marry a duke. But Alva also defied convention for women of her time, asserting power within her marriage and becoming a leader in the women's suffrage movement. With a nod to Jane Austen and Edith Wharton, Therese Anne Fowler paints a glittering world of enormous wealth contrasted against desperate poverty, of social ambition and social scorn, of friendship and betrayal, and an unforgettable story of a remarkable woman.GOOD BEHAVIOUR WILL ONLY GET A WOMAN SO FAR.'Not just breathtakingly alive, but dazzlingly and profoundly timely. A must-read masterpiece.' Caroline Leavitt, New York Times bestselling author of Pictures of You

Mulholland Books

Friends Like These

Sarah Alderson
Authors:
Sarah Alderson

Mulholland Books

The Forbidden Place

Susanne Jansson
Authors:
Susanne Jansson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Scarlet Pimpernel

Baroness Orczy
Authors:
Baroness Orczy

Paris, 1792. The Terror has begun. Every day, scores of the French nobility are delivered to the guillotine. Trapped in the capital, they have no way of escape. But rumours abound of a league of young English gentlemen who are risking their lives to spirit French aristocrats away to safety across the Channel. Led by a man known only as the 'Scarlet Pimpernel', they leave no trace behind them save a single note. Determined to stop them, ruthless spymaster Chauvelin travels to England and embarks on a quest to uncover the identity of their leader, forcing the Scarlet Pimpernel and his men to summon all their courage and wits to evade capture and stay alive.

Hodder Paperbacks

Clockwork City

Paul Crilley
Authors:
Paul Crilley
Hodder & Stoughton

Tall Order

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder Paperbacks

Seeing Red

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown
Mulholland Books

The Banker's Wife

Cristina Alger
Authors:
Cristina Alger

'Immersive, satisfying, tense - and timely' Lee Child'Whip smart and fraught with tension...Brilliant.' Mary Kubica, author of The Good GirlA fast-paced and impossibly gripping thriller for fans of The Woman in the Window and Need to Know.The only thing worse than finding out that your husband is dead, is discovering the secrets he left behind.Annabel's seemingly perfect ex-patriate life in Geneva is shattered when her banker husband Matthew's plane crashes in the Alps. When Annabel finds clues that his death may not be all it seems, she puts herself in the crosshairs of powerful enemies and questions whether she really knew her husband at all.Meanwhile, journalist Marina is investigating Swiss United, the bank where Matthew worked. But when she uncovers evidence of a shocking global financial scandal that implicates someone close to home, she is forced to make an impossible choice.(P)2018 Penguin Random House AudioPraise for The Banker's Wife'A knockout of an international thriller' Chris Pavone, author of The Expats'Kept me guessing until the very last page. I couldn't tear myself away' Janelle Brown, author of Watch Me Disappear'A gripping, twisty thriller that asks how well we really know the people closest to us' Alafair Burke, author of The Wife

Hodder & Stoughton

The King's Witch

Tracy Borman
Authors:
Tracy Borman
Hodder & Stoughton

The Outsider

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King
Hodder & Stoughton

Phoebe

Paula Gooder
Authors:
Paula Gooder

Sometime around 56 AD, the apostle Paul wrote to the church in Rome. His letter was arguably his theological masterpiece, and has continued to shape Christian faith ever since. He entrusted this letter to Phoebe, the deacon of the church at Cenchreae; in writing to the church that almost surely met in her home, Paul refers to her both as a deacon and as a helper or patron of many. But who was this remarkable woman? In this, her first work of fiction, Biblical scholar and popular author and speaker Paula Gooder tells Phoebe's story - who she was, the life she lived and her first-century faith - and in doing so opens up Paul's theology, giving a sense of the cultural and historical pressures that shaped Paul's thinking, and the faith of the early church. Written in the gripping style of Gerd Theissen's The Shadow of the Galilean, and similarly rigorously researched, this is a book for everyone and anyone who wants to engage more deeply and imaginatively with Paul's theology - from one of the UK's foremost New Testament scholars.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Beast's Heart

Leife Shallcross
Authors:
Leife Shallcross
Hodder & Stoughton

The Reckoning

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir

'Yrsa is a magnificent writer' Karin SlaughterYrsa Sigurdardottir, winner of the 2015 Petrona Award for best Scandinavian Crime Novel, delivers another tour de force in her second novel in the Freyja and Huldar series.A chilling note predicting the deaths of six people is found in a school's time capsule, ten years after it was buried. But surely, if a thirteen-year-old wrote it, it can't be a real threat...Detective Huldar suspects he's been given the investigation simply to keep him away from real police work. He turns to psychologist Freyja to help understand the child who hid the message. Soon, however, they find themselves at the heart of another shocking case.For the discovery of the letter coincides with a string of macabre events: body parts found in a garden, followed by the murder of the man who owned the house. His initials are BT, one of the names on the note.Huldar and Freyja must race to identify the writer, the victims and the murderer, before the rest of the targets are killed...'The Reckoning is another chilling, atmospheric tale from the undisputed Queen of Icelandic Noir. I loved it.' Simon Kernick

Hodder Paperbacks

He Said/She Said

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly
Hodder Paperbacks

The Family Next Door

Sally Hepworth
Authors:
Sally Hepworth

Coronet

Global Strike

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

Charles Street was once a highly-respected agent working for MI6, until a terrible mistake cost him his job. Now he's a desperate man, living on past glories and struggling to make ends meet. Until he makes a discovery that has the power to bring down the new President of the United States. But when Street tries to cash in on this discovery, he finds himself pursued by a Russian snatch squad.Strike Back hero John Porter and Regiment renegade John Bald are recruited by their handler to head to Washington, D.C. Their mission: find Street before the Russians.What begins as a routine exfiltration quickly descends into a brutal struggle and the ex-SAS legends will need to use all of their fighting instincts to stay alive.A startling revelation that leads from the White House to the Kremlin threatens to trigger a new global conflict...

Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin

'We have no need to protect ourselves from the bad sort because WE are the bad sort . . .' 'Beguiling' Stylist*********Down the murky alleyways of London, acts of unspeakable wickedness are taking place and the city's vulnerable poor are disappearing from the streets. Out of these shadows comes Hester White, a bright young woman who is desperate to escape the slums by any means possible.When Hester is thrust into the world of the aristocratic Brock family, she leaps at the chance to improve her station in life under the tutelage of the fiercely intelligent and mysterious Rebekah Brock. But whispers from her past slowly begin to poison her new life and both she and Rebekah are lured into the most sinister of investigations, dragging them into the blackest heart of a city where something more depraved than either of them could ever imagine is lurking. . .A compelling page-turner from a gifted new voice in historical fiction, The Wicked Cometh is the perfect read for fans of The Witchfinder's Sister, Fingersmith and The Essex Serpent.*********'Carlin can tell a good story' Observer'Contains lovely, lyrical writing . . . and a heady romance at its heart' Sunday Express'A deliciously dark confection of a novel' Ruth Hogan, author of The Keeper of Lost Things

John Murray

Dead Lions

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron

Winner of the 2013 CWA Gold Dagger AwardA BBC Front Row best crime novel of the yearA Times crime and thriller book of the year'The finest new crime series this millennium' Mail on SundayDickie Bow is not an obvious target for assassination.But once a spook, always a spook. And Dickie was a talented streetwalker back in the day, before he turned up dead on a bus. A shadow. Good at following people, bringing home their secrets.Dickie was in Berlin with Jackson Lamb. Now Lamb's got his phone, and on it the last secret Dickie ever told, and reason to believe an old-time Moscow-style op is being run in the Service's back-yard.In the Intelligence Service purgatory that is Slough House, Jackson Lamb's crew of back-office no-hopers is about to go live . . .