Sara Paretsky - Hardball - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444707113
    • Publication date:14 Oct 2010

Hardball

V.I. Warshawski 13

By Sara Paretsky

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Chicago politics take centre stage in a breakout VI Warshawski novel, from a crime author who writes with unbeatable pace and a passion for justice

When V.I. Warshawski is asked to find a man who's been missing for four decades, a search that she thought would be futile turns lethal. Old skeletons from the city's racially charged history rise up to force her back with a vengeance - a nun who marched with Martin Luther King Jr. dies without revealing crucial evidence, and on the city's South Side, people spit when she shows up. The elderly sisters who hired her are also keeping important information to themselves.Then V.I. finds that her family is keeping secrets of their own. A young cousin whom she's never met arrives from Kansas City to work on a political campaign, but disappears under mysterious circumstances. Afraid to learn that her adored father might have been a bent cop, deception and corruption following her at every step, V.I. finds all her certainties under threat, but takes the investigation all the way to its frightening end.

Biographical Notes

Sara Paretsky is the author of fifteen books, including twelve V I Warshawski novels. She is the winner of many awards, including the Cartier Diamond Dagger Award for lifetime achievement from the British Crime Writers` Association and the CWA Gold Dagger for Blacklist.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848946743
  • Publication date: 18 Feb 2010
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
She is writing with the kind of passion for social justice that inspired Chandler and Hammett . . . a narrative as gripping as it is emotionally wrenching. — Joan Smith, The Sunday Times
Details are so rich and the dialogue so snappy that the mystery whizzes by. — Guardian
Packed with social themes and moral energy, held together by humor, compassion and sheer feistiness, this novel shows why Paretsky and her heroine are such enduring figure in American detective fiction — Publishers Weekly (starred)
With the creation of V.I. Warshawski, Sara Paretsky did more than anyone to change the face of contemporary women's fiction. — Express on Sunday
Tough, complex and moving, Paretsky is still at the top of her crowded genre. — Bookseller
Mulholland Books

Collecting Cooper

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave
Mulholland Books

The Cleaner

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave

An international bestseller and one of the top-selling novels in New Zealand's history, Paul Cleave's dark thriller is a brilliant, bloody masterpiece.Joe is in control of everything in his simple life-both his day job as a janitor for the police department and his "night work." He isn't bothered by the daily news reports of the Christchurch Carver, who, they say, has murdered seven women. Joe knows, though, that the Carver killed only six. He knows that for a fact, and he's determined to find the copycat. He'll punish him for the one, then frame him for the other six. It's the perfect plan because he already knows he can outwit the police. All he needs now is to take care of all the women who keep getting in his way, including his odd, overprotective mother and Sally, the maintenance worker who sees him as a replacement for her dead brother. Then there's the mysterious Melissa, the only woman to have ever understood him, but whose fantasies of blackmail and torture don't have a place in Joe's investigation.

Mulholland Books

The Killing Hour

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave
Mulholland Books

Blood Men

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave
Mulholland Books

The Laughterhouse

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave
Mulholland Books

Joe Victim

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave
Mulholland Books

Five Minutes Alone

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave
Hodder Paperbacks

A Death at Fountains Abbey

Antonia Hodgson
Authors:
Antonia Hodgson
Hodder & Stoughton

Seeing Red

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown

Sure to keep readers on the edge of their seats, this new novel will feature Sandra Brown's signature combination of steamy romance and jaw-dropping plot twists.'If you want romantic suspense that has teeth - big teeth - she's your gal.' Stephen King'A masterful storyteller, carefully crafting tales that keep readers on the edge of their seats' USA Today'Sandra Brown is a master at weaving a story of suspense into a tight web that catches and holds the reader from the first page to the last' Library Journal

Hodder & Stoughton

The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy

H.B. Lyle
Authors:
H.B. Lyle
Mulholland Books

Crime Song

David Swinson
Authors:
David Swinson

Frank Marr was a good cop with a bad habit, until his addiction to cocaine forced him into retirement from the D.C. police. Now barely making a living as a private investigator, he agrees to take on a family case as a favour for his aunt. Frank's surveillance confirms that his cousin Jeffrey is involved with a drugs operation. It seems small, until Frank's own home is burgled, leaving a body on the kitchen floor: Jeffrey. Frank's .38 revolver - the murder weapon - is stolen, along with his cherished music collection.Clearly, his cousin was deeper in the underworld than anyone realised. With his reputation and his own life on the line, Frank searches for the real culprit: following the stolen goods through a tangled network of petty thieves, desperate addicts, deceiving fences, good cops and bad cops.Frank's as determined to uncover the truth as he is to feed his habit, and both pursuits could prove deadly. This time, it may just be a question of what gets him first.

Mulholland Books

The Strange Disappearance of a Bollywood Star

Vaseem Khan
Authors:
Vaseem Khan

The enchanting new Baby Ganesh Agency novel sees Inspector Chopra and his elephant sidekick investigating the dark side of Bollywood.Mumbai thrives on extravagant spectacles and larger-than-life characters.But even in the city of dreams, there is no guarantee of a happy ending. Rising star and incorrigible playboy Vikram Verma has disappeared, leaving his latest film in jeopardy. Hired by Verma's formidable mother to find him, Inspector Chopra and his sidekick, baby elephant Ganesha, embark on a journey deep into the world's most flamboyant movie industry. As they uncover feuding stars, failed investments and death threats, it seems that many people have a motive for wanting Verma out of the picture. And yet, as Chopra has long suspected, in Bollywood the truth is often stranger than fiction...(P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

Fallout

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky

V.I. Warshawski's impossible god-daughter Bernie convinces her to look for August, a young film-maker who has disappeared. The evidence indicates that he has gone to Kansas in the company of Emerald, an older black movie actress who wants to film the story of her life. Her search takes V.I. from the military base Emerald was born on, to the farm where she grew up outside a university town, ploughing up past and present-day secrets as she goes. What is happening at the former nuclear missile site next door to the farm? What happened at the site in 1983, when students tried to stage their own version of Greenham Common? Everywhere V.I. turns she seems to be finding more trouble - with not a sign of August and Emerald. And then trouble turns to death...

Hodder & Stoughton

He Said/She Said

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly
Hodder & Stoughton

A Game of Ghosts

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder Paperbacks

A Banquet of Consequences

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George

Inspector Lynley investigates the London end of an ever more darkly disturbing case, with Barbara Havers and Winston Nkata looking behind the peaceful façade of country life to discover a twisted world of desire and deceit.The suicide of William Goldacre is devastating to those left behind. But what was the cause of his tragedy and how far might the consequences reach? Is there a link between the young man's leap from a Dorset cliff and a horrific poisoning in Cambridge?Following various career-threatening misdemeanours, Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers is desperate to redeem herself. So when a past encounter with bestselling feminist writer Clare Abbott and her pushy personal assistant Caroline Goldacre gives her a connection to the Cambridge murder, Barbara begs DI Thomas Lynley to let her pursue the crime.Full of shocks, intensity and suspense from first page to last, A Banquet of Consequences reveals both Lynley and Havers under pressure, and author Elizabeth George writing at the very height of her exceptional powers.

Hodder Paperbacks

Redemption Road

John Hart
Authors:
John Hart

Elizabeth Black is a hero. She is a cop who single-handedly rescued a young girl from a locked cellar and shot two brutal kidnappers dead. But she's also a cop with a history, a woman with a secret. And she's not the only one.Adrian Wall is finally free after thirteen years of torture and abuse. In the very first room he walks into, a boy with a gun is waiting to avenge the death of his mother. But that is the least of Adrian's problems.He was safer in prison.And deep in the forest, on the altar of an abandoned church, a body cools in pale linen. It is not the first to be found.This is a town on the brink. This is Redemption Road.Brimming with tension, secrets, and betrayal, brilliantly evoking an America of small towns and remote landscapes, of the abandoned, the derelict and the desperate, this is a novel so chillingly suspenseful and a story so full of twists and turns that you simply cannot stop reading. It marks a new high point in the writing of this bestselling master of the literary thriller.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Steel Kiss

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Mulholland Books

Vanilla Ride

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale
Hodder Paperbacks

Gaudy Night

Dorothy L Sayers
Authors:
Dorothy L Sayers

The twelfth book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by actress Dame Harriet Mary Walter, DBE - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries. Harriet Vane has never dared to return to her old Oxford college. Now, despite her scandalous life, she has been summoned back . . . At first she thinks her worst fears have been fulfilled, as she encounters obscene graffiti, poison pen letters and a disgusting effigy when she arrives at sedate Shrewsbury College for the 'Gaudy' celebrations. But soon, Harriet realises that she is not the only target of this murderous malice - and asks Lord Peter Wimsey to help.