Ned Beauman - Boxer, Beetle - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats

Boxer, Beetle

By Ned Beauman

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The wildly compelling, award-winning debut novel from the author of THE TELEPORTATION ACCIDENT.

NED BEAUMAN HAS BEEN NAMED AS ONE OF GRANTA MAGAZINE'S BEST OF YOUNG BRITISH NOVELISTS 2013

Longlisted for the 2012 Man Booker Prize and shortlisted for the for the Guardian First Book Award, Ned Beauman was chosen by The Culture Show as one of the twelve Best New British Writers in 2011.

This is a novel for people with breeding.

Only people with the right genes and the wrong impulses will find its marriage of bold ideas and deplorable characters irresistible. It is a novel that engages the mind while satisfying those that crave the thrill of a chase.

There are riots and sex. There is love and murder. There is Darwinism and Fascism, nightclubs, invented languages and the dangerous bravado of youth. And there are lots of beetles.

It is clever. It is distinctive. It is entertaining.

We hope you are too.

Biographical Notes

Ned Beauman was born in 1985 and lives in London. He has written for Dazed & Confused, AnOther and the Guardian. His debut novel, BOXER, BEETLE was shortlisted for the Guardian First Book Award and the Desmond Elliot Prize, and won the Writers' Guild Award for Best Fiction Book. Ned Beauman was picked by The Culture Show as one of the 12 Best New British Writers in 2011. His second novel, THE TELEPORTATION ACCIDENT was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2012.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848945012
  • Publication date: 05 Aug 2010
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Sceptre
An astonishing debut...buzzing with energy, fizzing with ideas, intoxicating in its language, BOXER, BEETLE is sexy, intelligent and deliriously funny — Jake Arnott
'A rambunctious, deftly-plotted delight of a debut' — Observer
'Astonishingly assured...Beauman writes with real flair and invention...Many first novels are judged promising. Boxer, Beetle arrives fully formed: original, exhilarating and hugely enjoyable.' — Peter Parker, Sunday Times
'Frighteningly assured' — Independent on Sunday
There are politics, black comedy, experimentation and wild originality - and I haven't even got to the beetles. Terrific. — Times
Debut bout is a real knockout... dazzling — The Daily Express
Its ambitions are enormous, in terms of the range, energy and quality of the writing — Literary Review
As in PG Wodehouse and the early Martin Amis the tone is mischievous and impudent without being merely jaunty or wacky...in Erskine and Broom we have two endlessly curios heroes whose thoughts are fascinating even at their silliest. — Daily Express
A witty, erudite debut... thick with trivia, it confidently takes on British fascism, the Thule society, anti-Semitism, atonal composition, sex, and the class system... An articulate and original romp... often gobsmackingly smutty. Beauman is one to watch. — Time Out
Not one for the easily shocked, young scribe Ned Beauman subjects the reader to a parade of ghoulish events and ghastly theories throughout his dazzling first novel Boxer, Beetle... deeply researched and punchily written, this is an utterly unique work that marks the London-based author out as an exciting new voice in fiction. — The List
John Murray

Falling Short

Alexandra Coulton
Authors:
Alexandra Coulton

Pilgrim's father disappeared without trace when she was five.Now, her mother is slipping away, and she is starting to feel herself vanishing too.She needs to talk to somebody. Ideally, to Jackson: fellow teacher, confidante, dedicated hedonist, erstwhile best friend.Only they haven't spoken since what happened between them that night in the summer.And here she is, at thirty-bloody-nine, surrounded by school-girls, with their sugary perfume and flying pony-tails, breathless with money and freedom and the unmarked years ahead of them.And there is so much that is missing, so much that needs to be found . . .

Sceptre

Claudia

Anthony Trevelyan
Authors:
Anthony Trevelyan
Hodder & Stoughton

The Perfect Couple

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

Sceptre

Madness is Better than Defeat

Ned Beauman
Authors:
Ned Beauman

In 1938, two rival expeditions set off for a lost Mayan temple in the jungles of Honduras, one intending to shoot a screwball comedy on location there, the other intending to disassemble it and ship it back to New York. A seemingly endless stalemate ensues, and twenty years later, when a rogue CIA agent learns that both expeditions are still out in the wilderness, he embarks on a mission to exploit the temple as a geopolitical pawn. But the mission hurtles towards disaster when he discovers that the temple is the locus of grander conspiracies than anyone could have guessed.

Sceptre

The End of Loneliness: The International Bestseller

Benedict Wells
Authors:
Benedict Wells

Marty, Liz and Jules' idyllic childhood with their loving parents in Munich is shattered by the death of their parents in a car crash, and their charmed life is exchanged for a bleak state boarding school.As the three deal with the death of their parents in very different ways, they become estranged from one another; Marty focussing on his career; Liz turning to different forms of escapision; and Jules turning from a vivacious child to a quiet, withdrawn teenager. Whilst at boarding school he meets the mysterious and charming Alva - but he will only realise years later what she means to him; and what she has never told him. Just as it seems that they can make amends for the time wasted, the past catches up with them... Told episodically through the fractured lives of the siblings, The End of Loneliness is a heartfelt, enriching novel about loss, loneliness, family and love.

Two Roads

The Cactus

Sarah Haywood
Authors:
Sarah Haywood

IT'S NEVER TOO LATE TO BLOOMPeople aren't sure what to make of Susan Green - family and colleagues find her prickly and hard to understand, but Susan makes perfect sense to herself, and that's all she needs. At forty-five, she thinks her life is perfect, as long as she avoids her feckless brother, Edward - a safe distance away in Birmingham. She has a London flat which is ideal for one; a job that suits her passion for logic; and a personal arrangement providing cultural and other, more intimate, benefits. Yet suddenly faced with the loss of her mother and, implausibly, with the possibility of becoming a mother herself, Susan's greatest fear is being realised: she is losing control.When she discovers that her mother's will inexplicably favours her brother, Susan sets out to prove that Edward and his equally feckless friend Rob somehow coerced this dubious outcome. But when problems closer to home become increasingly hard to ignore, she finds help in the most unlikely of places.This sparkling debut is a breath of fresh air with real heart and a powerful emotional punch. In Susan we find a character as exasperating and delightful as The Rosie Project's Don Tillman. An uncompromising feminist and a fierce fighter, it's a joy to watch her bloom.

Sceptre

Walking Wounded

Sheila Llewellyn
Authors:
Sheila Llewellyn
Hodder & Stoughton

The Maid's Room

Fiona Mitchell
Authors:
Fiona Mitchell
Hodder Paperbacks

Winter Storms

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

Gather under the mistletoe for one last round of carolling with the Quinn family in this heartwarming conclusion to Elin Hilderbrand's bestselling Winter Street Trilogy.Some of the stormy weather of the past few seasons seems to have finally lifted for the Quinns. Kevin is about to tie the knot with Isabelle, there's hopeful news about Bart, who has been captured by enemy forces in Afghanistan, and the family are coming back together for Christmas at Winter Street Inn. But with love triangles and health scares to contend with, there are still some dark clouds on the horizon. And as they prepare to host Kevin and Isabelle's winter wedding at the inn, a historic blizzard bears down on Nantucket, threatening to keep the Quinns away from the people and the place they love most. Before the snow clears, the family will have survived enough upheavals to send anyone running for the eggnog, in this touching novel that proves when the holidays roll around, you can always go home again.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Worst Case Scenario Cookery Club: the perfect laugh-out-loud romantic comedy

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Sceptre

Evening Primrose

Kopano Matlwa
Authors:
Kopano Matlwa
John Murray

Yuki Means Happiness

Alison Jean Lester
Authors:
Alison Jean Lester
Hodder Paperbacks

This Beautiful Life: the uplifting page turner of the summer

Katie Marsh
Authors:
Katie Marsh

'Powerful, brave and joyous - I adored every single page' - Miranda Dickinson. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Lucy Dillon. What happens when you get the second chance you never expected? Abi is living her happy ending. She's in remission and is ready to make the most of her second chance at life. But during Abi's illness her family has fallen apart. Her husband John has made decisions that are about to come back to haunt him, while her teenage son Seb is battling with a secret of his own. Set to the songs on Abi's survival playlist, this is the story of what happens next as Abi tries to rebuild her family. Can she bring the people she loves most in the world back together again... before it's too late? This Beautiful Life is a deeply moving and poignant novel which reminds us why life, and love, are worth fighting for.**Voted by Amazon and Goodreads reviewers as a 5 STAR read**'I loved this book''I devoured it in 24 hours''Heart-breakingly honest and powerful''I laughed, cried and laughed some more.''I didn't want it to end!'

Hodder & Stoughton

The Identicals

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

'The Queen of the Summer Novel' (People) The ultimate summertime reading for fans of Jane Green and Roisin Meaney.Nantucket is only two and a half hours away from Martha's Vineyard by ferry. But the two islands might as well be worlds apart for a set of identical twin sisters who have been at odds for years.Just because twins look exactly the same doesn't mean they're anything alike - and Tabitha and Harper Frost have spent their whole lives trying to prove this point. When a family crisis forces them to band together - or at least appear to - the twins come to realise that the special bond that they share is more important than the resentments that have driven them apart. A story of new loves, old battles, and a threat that gives a whole new meaning to the term sibling rivalry, The Identicals is Elin Hilderbrand at her page-turning best.

Hodder Paperbacks

Summer at Hope Meadows: the perfect escapist read for hot, sunny days

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder & Stoughton

The Roanoke Girls

Amy Engel
Authors:
Amy Engel
Sceptre

The Brittle Star

Davina Langdale
Authors:
Davina Langdale
Hodder & Stoughton

Inferno

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

Acts of Love

Talulah Riley
Authors:
Talulah Riley

A bold, intelligent, and modern love story perfect for fans of Curtis Sittenfeld's ELIGIBLE and David Nicholls' ONE DAY. Bernadette is expert at hiding the truth.She has built her career as a journalist on her talent for lulling powerful men into a false sense of security, then exposing them in her ruthless profile pieces.But in Radley Blake, she may have met her match. Immune to her charms, he seems to see through every layer of her carefully constructed act: right to the truth of who she is inside.We think we're looking for love - but what if it's ourselves we need to find? Talulah Riley's wonderful first novel is an irresistible will-they-won't-they tale that asks how it is we can strive for independence, but still believe in destiny...

Hodder & Stoughton

Christmas on Nantucket

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand