James Clavell - King Rat - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780340750681
    • Publication date:01 Jul 1999
Books in this series

King Rat

The Fourth Novel of the Asian Saga

By James Clavell

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The completely uncut edition of James Clavell's classic KING RAT, in fresh new packaging for a new generation of readers

Set in Changi, the most notorious prisoner of war camp in Asia, King Rat is an heroic story of survival told by a master story-teller who lived through those years as a young soldier. Only one man in fifteen had the strength, the luck, and the cleverness simply to survive Changi. And then there was King.

Biographical Notes

James Clavell, the son of a Royal Navy family, was educated in Portsmouth before, as a young artillery officer, he was captured by the Japanese at the Fall of Singapore. It was on this experience that his bestselling novel KING RAT was based. He maintained this oriental interest in his other great works: TAI-PAN, SHOGUN, NOBLE HOUSE and GAI JIN. He later became a successful film maker producing among others. He died in 1994.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848943186
  • Publication date: 04 Jul 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
A splendidly exciting and original story — Sunday Telegraph
Terrifyingly exciting suspense — Ian Fleming
KING RAT is the best novel in English to have come out of Japanese prisoner of war camps . . . James Clavell is a teller of stories. They are complicated and exciting, and you are desperate to know what will happen to his characters because they are like the people you know from your own life and experience, set in strange and sometimes terrible circumstances — John Simpson
Hodder Paperbacks

Onslaught: The Centurions II

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches

Hodder & Stoughton

Retribution: The Centurions III

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches
Hodder & Stoughton

Court of Wolves

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young
Two Roads

The Sealwoman's Gift

Sally Magnusson
Authors:
Sally Magnusson
Hodder Paperbacks

A Death at Fountains Abbey

Antonia Hodgson
Authors:
Antonia Hodgson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Reluctant Contact

Stephen Burke
Authors:
Stephen Burke
Hodder Paperbacks

The Art of War

James Clavell, Sun Tzu
Authors:
James Clavell, Sun Tzu

Sun Tzu was one of the greatest army generals who ever lived. He wrote The Art of War in the fifth century BC and yet his words are still resoundingly relevant to our modern lives. His writings on aspects of warfare from the laying of plans to the tactics and psychology of manoeuvering an army, to the proper use of spies, resonate for us in today's world of cut-throat, ruthless business. With James Clavell's insightful foreword and notes, this classic is widely seen as a necessity on the bookshelf of military leaders and boardroom executives alike.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Morse Code Set

Frank White
Authors:
Frank White

Frank White's powerful first novel was originally published in 1964. Against a strongly evoked backdrop of Manchester at the time of the Second World War, it is a compelling story of a family torn apart. It makes a fascinating companion piece to the author's new novel - written more than fifty years later! - about a Lincolnshire village living in the shadow of the war, There Was A Time.Freddy is thirteen years old in 1939, when the close comfort of his family life is breached by his father being called up to the Army. His mother is emotionally unable to cope with the separation, and becomes withdrawn and depressed. When Freddy's beloved morse code set, which his father built, is broken, it is almost as if all lines of communication have failed. Then the father of one of Freddy's friends offers to repair the morse code set.Has the boy brought healing or tragedy into the family home?A Morse Code Set is a short, intense novel by a writer with an acute eye and ear for family relationships and a superb sense of storytelling.

Hodder & Stoughton

Fever

Deon Meyer
Authors:
Deon Meyer

'UK readers, you have a nice surprise coming. No, not Brexit, FEVER, by Deon Meyer. Reminiscent of THE STAND and THE PASSAGE. Great stuff' STEPHEN KINGI want to tell you about my Father's murder.I want to tell you who killed him and why.This is the story of my life.And the story of your life and your world too, as you will see.Nico Storm and his father drive across a desolate South Africa, constantly alert for feral dogs, motorcycle gangs, nuclear contamination. They are among the few survivors of a virus that has killed most of the world's population. Young as he is, Nico realises that his superb marksmanship and cool head mean he is destined to be his father's protector.But Willem Storm, though not a fighter, is a man with a vision. He is searching for a place that can become a refuge, a beacon of light and hope in a dark and hopeless world, a community that survivors will rebuild from the ruins. And so Amanzi is born. Fever is the epic, searing story of a group of people determined to carve a city out of chaos.

Sceptre

The Fortunes

Peter Ho Davies
Authors:
Peter Ho Davies
Hodder & Stoughton

Crimson and Bone

Marina Fiorato
Authors:
Marina Fiorato
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wild Air

Rebecca Mascull
Authors:
Rebecca Mascull
Sceptre

The Fatal Tree

Jake Arnott
Authors:
Jake Arnott
Hodder & Stoughton

A Closed and Common Orbit

Becky Chambers
Authors:
Becky Chambers

Lovelace was once merely a ship's artificial intelligence. When she wakes up in an new body, following a total system shut-down and reboot, she has to start over in a synthetic body, in a world where her kind are illegal. She's never felt so alone.But she's not alone, not really. Pepper, one of the engineers who risked life and limb to reinstall Lovelace, is determined to help her adjust to her new world. Because Pepper knows a thing or two about starting over.Together, Pepper and Lovey will discover that, huge as the galaxy may be, it's anything but empty.A Closed and Common Orbit is the stand-alone sequel to the award-winning The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet and is perfect for fans of Firefly, Joss Whedon, Mass Effect and Star Wars - it is also shortlisted for the Hugo Awards and the Clarke Award.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Hamilton Affair

Elizabeth Cobbs
Authors:
Elizabeth Cobbs

Love Hamilton: An American Musical? You'll adore The Hamilton Affair.THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERWar will bring them together. Peace will tear them apart. History will make them immortal . . .Born a bastard and raised an orphan in the slavery-ridden Caribbean, Alexander Hamilton must prove his worth on the bloody battlefields of the American Revolution. A wealthy child of privilege, Elizabeth Schuyler has never wanted for anything, yet she longs for a life of so much more. When fate brings them together, a passionate, life-long love affair begins. But to Alexander, burdened by his tragic origins, matters of honour can never be forgotten. As he risks everything for the future of his bold new country, this extraordinary marriage will be tested like no other - and become forever immortalised in hearts and minds.Praise for THE HAMILTON AFFAIR:'The Hamilton novel that immediately leaps to the top of the list' Joseph J. Ellis 'A portrait of a love so deep it was able to survive betrayal and a devastatingly public scandal'Booklist'Cobbs' depiction of Hamilton will endear him in the hearts of readers' Publishers Weekly

Hodder Paperbacks

Altar of Blood: Empire IX

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches

'A master of the genre' The TimesThe Tungrians have no sooner returned to Rome than they find themselves tasked with a very different mission to their desperate exploits in Parthia. Ordered to cross the river Rhenus into barbarian Germany and capture a tribal priestess who may be the most dangerous person on the empire's northern border, they are soon subject to the machinations of an old enemy who will stop at nothing to sabotage their plans before they have even set foot on the river's eastern bank. But after their Roman enemy is neutralised they face a challenge greater still. With two of the Bructeri tribe's greatest treasures in their hands they must regain Roman territory by crossing the unforgiving wilderness that was the graveyard of Roman imperial strategy two hundred years before. And capture by the Bructeri's vengeful chieftain and his warband can only end in one way - a horrific sacrificial death on the tribe's altar of blood.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet

Becky Chambers
Authors:
Becky Chambers

When Rosemary Harper joins the crew of the Wayfarer, she isn't expecting much. The Wayfarer, a patched-up ship that's seen better days, offers her everything she could possibly want: a small, quiet spot to call home for a while, adventure in far-off corners of the galaxy, and distance from her troubled past.But Rosemary gets more than she bargained for with the Wayfarer. The crew is a mishmash of species and personalities, from Sissix, the friendly reptillian pilot, to Kizzy and Jenks, the constantly sparring engineers who keep the ship running. Life on board is chaotic, but more or less peaceful - exactly what Rosemary wants.Until the crew are offered the job of a lifetime: the chance to build a hyperspace tunnel to a distant planet. They'll earn enough money to live comfortably for years... if they survive the long trip through war-torn interstellar space without endangering any of the fragile alliances that keep the galaxy peaceful. But Rosemary isn't the only person on board with secrets to hide, and the crew will soon discover that space may be vast, but spaceships are very small indeed.

Hodder & Stoughton

Skin

Ilka Tampke
Authors:
Ilka Tampke

'A visceral tale of ritual, magic and violence' - The Sunday TimesImagine a world where everyone is born with a 'skin' name. Without skin you cannot learn, you are not permitted to marry, and you grow up an outsider amongst your own people. This is no future dystopia. This is Celtic Britain. It is AD 43. For the Caer Cad, 'skin' name determines lineage and identity. Ailia does not have skin; despite this, she is a remarkable young woman, intelligent, curious and brave. As a dark threat grows on the horizon - the aggressive expansion of the Roman Empire - Ailia must embark on an unsanctioned journey to attain the knowledge that will protect her people, and their pagan way of life, from the most terrifying invaders they have ever faced... and it is this unskinned girl who will come to hold the fate of her people in her hands. 'Those who root for Game of Thrones' Daenerys Targaryen will find much to love in Ailia's personal quest' - New Daily Australia

Hodder Paperbacks

The Black Stone

Nick Brown
Authors:
Nick Brown

AD 273. Obsessed by the solar religions of the east, the emperor Aurelian sets out to obtain every sacred object within his realm. But one - a mysterious rock said to channel the power of the sun god - lies beyond his reach. Warrior-priest Ilaha has captured the legendary stone and is using it to raise an army against Rome.For Imperial agent Cassius Corbulo and ex-gladiator bodyguard Indavara, stopping him constitutes their greatest challenge yet. Assisted by a squad of undercover soldiers and a Saracen chieftain, they trek south across the deserts of Arabia, encountering sandstorms, murderous money-lenders and a ruthless German mercenary. And when they finally reach Ilaha's mountain fortress, they face thousands of warriors who will give their lives to protect him ... and the black stone.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Good Italian

Stephen Burke
Authors:
Stephen Burke