Jeffery Deaver - Bloody River Blues - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473631984
    • Publication date:15 Dec 2016
Books in this series

Bloody River Blues

By Jeffery Deaver

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The second Location Scout thriller, with John Pellam scouting in the American Midwest.

Move over Bonnie and Clyde . . .

Hollywood location scout John Pellam thought the scenic backwater town of Maddox, Missouri, would be the perfect site for an upcoming gangster film. But after real bullets leave two people dead and one cop paralysed, he's more sought after than the Barrows gang.

Pellam had unwittingly wandered onto the crime scene just moments before the brutal hits. Now the feds and local police want him to talk. Mob enforcers want him silenced. And a mysterious blonde just wants him.

Trapped in a town full of sinister secrets and deadly deceptions, Pellam fears that death will imitate art, as the film shoot - and his life - race toward a breathtakingly bloody climax.

Biographical Notes

Jeffery Deaver is the award-winning author of two collections of short stories and 29 internationally bestselling novels, including the latest James Bond novel Carte Blanche. He is best known for his Lincoln Rhyme thrillers, which include the number one bestsellers The Vanished Man, The Twelfth Card and The Cold Moon, as well as The Bone Collector which was made into a feature film starring Denzel Washington and Angelina Jolie. The first Kathryn Dance novel, The Sleeping Doll, was published in 2007 to enormous acclaim.

A three-time recipient of the Ellery Queen Reader's Award for Best Short Story of the year, he has been nominated for an Anthony Award and six Edgar Awards from the Mystery Writers of America. He won the WH Smith Thumping Good Read Award in 2001 and in 2004 won the Crime Writers' Association Steel Dagger for Best Thriller with Garden of Beasts, and their Short Story Dagger for The Weekender from Twisted.

Jeffery Deaver lives in North Carolina and California.

Visit his website, www.jefferydeaver.com, Facebook page, www.facebook.com/JefferyDeaver, and follow him on Twitter at twitter.com/JefferyDeaver.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848941830
  • Publication date: 22 Jan 2009
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Mulholland Books

Girl Last Seen

Nina Laurin
Authors:
Nina Laurin
Mulholland Books

In Her Eyes

Sarah Alderson
Authors:
Sarah Alderson
Hodder & Stoughton

Witchfinder

Andrew Williams
Authors:
Andrew Williams
Hodder Paperbacks

Breathe

Dominick Donald
Authors:
Dominick Donald

'Donald combines historical events and fictional characters to superb effect, in a novel that deserves to win prizes' The Sunday Times'Remarkably accomplished . . . the most appealing, original protagonist I've read for some time . . . Donald's depiction of the city's thickening gloom is splendidly evocative . . . A very impressive debut' ObserverA stunning debut crime novel for fans of Robert Harris, Philip Kerr and C.J. Sansom's Dominion.London, 1952. Dick Bourton is not like the other probationer policemen in Notting Hill. He fought in Europe and then Korea, and has now brought his exotically beautiful Russian fiancée back to drab streets and empty bombsites. The new copper also has a mind of his own. After an older colleague is shot by a small-time gangster in a pea-souper fog, Bourton begins to make connections his superiors don't want to see, linking a series of deaths with the fogs that stop the city in its tracks. Desperate to prove himself, Bourton fails to notice the fear which his mysterious bride is doing her best to conceal - and overcome. Soon both are taking dangerous paths into the worst fog London has ever known...**********'London had gone. As he stepped through the wicket, a dry smoky chill puffing over the lintel, everything that made the city - skyline, street signs, crowds, scarlet double-deckers - had disappeared, lost in the murk. I can't see the kerb, for God's sake, let alone Barker's across the road. He looked both ways, the chill crawling down his neck . . . Coshing gangs will love this. And our man. But we're on your trail, sunshine. He raised his hat to Marling, locking up behind. Tomorrow we nab you.'

Hodder & Stoughton

Girl at Midnight

Katarzyna Bonda
Authors:
Katarzyna Bonda

For seven years, Sasza Zulaska has lived with her little girl in the north of England. Far from her previous job as an undercover cop, far from her dependence on alcohol and the traumatic case that made her flee from the police, her family and her native Poland. But now she is coming back. This time, Sasza is looking for a quieter life. She has studied to become a psychological profiler and she soon picks up a freelance job to check out some threats made against the owner of a nightclub. But no sooner has Sasza visited the club than a man is murdered there and Sasza finds herself drawn back towards the world she left behind. The dead man is a musician - famous for one song in particular: Girl at Midnight. Both the song and the crime seem to be connected to a double tragedy of years before, when a brother and sister both died on the same day. Now Sasza Zulaska must follow a crooked, complex trail from a violent past to a more sophisticated criminal present, in which the gangsters have corrupted every level of society. Girl at Midnight has old over a million copies in Poland and Katarzyna Bonda has become her country's undisputed Queen of Crime.

Mulholland Books

The Starter Wife

Nina Laurin
Authors:
Nina Laurin
Mulholland Books

Girls Like Us

Cristina Alger
Authors:
Cristina Alger
Hodder & Stoughton

A Capitol Death

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis
Mulholland Books

On My Life

Angela Clarke
Authors:
Angela Clarke
Hodder Paperbacks

The Punishment She Deserves

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George
Hodder Paperbacks

Tall Order

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

He is one of the world's most ruthless terrorists, codenamed Saladin. He plans and executes devastating attacks and then, ghost-like, he disappears.Ten years ago he blew a plane out of the sky above New York - and now he's killed dozens in a London strike.But one of the latest victims is related to the acting head of MI5, who knows exactly who she wants on the case: Spider Shepherd.Dean Martin, a psychologically damaged former Navy SEAL, is the only person in the world who can identify Saladin. But Martin was killed ten years ago - wasn't he?Shepherd must find Martin and take him back to the killing fields on the Afghanistan-Pakistan border. Revenge on the world's most wanted terrorist is long overdue, and Shepherd is determined to be the one to deliver it . . .******************Praise for Stephen Leather'A master of the thriller genre'Irish Times'As tough as British thrillers get . . . gripping' Irish Independent 'The sheer impetus of his story-telling is damned hard to resist'Sunday Express

Hodder & Stoughton

All the Hidden Truths

Claire Askew
Authors:
Claire Askew
Hodder & Stoughton

The Cutting Edge

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver

Number one bestselling author and ultimate thriller writer Jeffery Deaver returns with a new Lincoln Rhyme investigation.Rhyme and Amelia Sachs' latest case: catching a terrifying killer targeting couples...The happiest time of their lives - will be their last. William and Anna went to collect her engagement ring. 1.5 carat, almost flawless. But the Promisor had other ideas for their future...Their murder - and that of the diamond cutter they were visiting - is only the first of a series of macabre attacks. Someone is targeting couples just as they start their lives together. Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs, newly married themselves, are on the hunt. But the killer is hunting down any witnesses who can help them. He has promised one thing: to destroy. Rhyme and Sachs will have to use all their own skills and determination to break his vow.'It is really top-drawer writing' SHOTS

Hodder Paperbacks

The Burial Hour

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Mulholland Books

Green Sun

Kent Anderson
Authors:
Kent Anderson

'The world's best crime writer' Metro'Fearsomely authentic and moving' Daily Mail'The best of what crime fiction can do' Michael Connelly'Brilliant' Mail on SundayThe acclaimed author of Night Dogs and Sympathy for the Devil returns with a blistering new novel - his first in over 20 years.Hanson thought he had witnessed the worst of humanity after a tour of duty in Vietnam and a stint as a cop in Oregon. Then he moves to Oakland, California to join the under-funded, understaffed police department. Hanson chooses to live - alone - in the precinct that he patrols; he, unlike the rest of the white officers, takes seriously his duty to serve and protect the black community of East Oakland.He will encounter prejudice and hate on both sides of the line... and struggle to keep true to himself against powerful opposition and personal danger. Green Sun is a raw, unflinching novel about America's divided cities and one man's divided soul.

Hodder Paperbacks

Blood Daughter

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell
Hodder & Stoughton

He Said/She Said

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly

SHORTLISTED FOR THE SPECSAVERS NATIONAL BOOK AWARDS 2018RICHARD AND JUDY BOOK CLUB PICK 2018SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLERSIMON MAYO RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB PICKSHORTLISTED FOR CRIME AND THRILLER BOOK OF THE YEAR 2018LONGLISTED FOR THEAKSTON OLD PECULIER CRIME NOVEL OF THE YEAR 2018'Haunting. Mesmerising. Unforgettable.' Gillian Flynn, author of Gone Girl***********Don't be left in the dark.In the hushed aftermath of a total eclipse, Laura witnesses a brutal attack. She and her boyfriend Kit call the police, and in that moment, four lives change forever.Fifteen years on, Laura and Kit live in fear. And while Laura knows she was right to speak out, she also knows that you can never see the whole picture: something is always hidden . . . something she never could have guessed. ***********'I'm calling it: THIS is the book I wish I'd written' Clare Mackintosh, author of Let Me Lie'It's SO good . . . I was carrying it around the house I was so gripped' Sarah Perry, author of The Essex Serpent'A gripping, twisting, furiously clever read . . . I loved it' Ruth Ware, author of The Lying Game'It's magnificent. Stunningly twisty plot and weep-makingly brilliant writing' Marian Keyes, author of The Break

Hodder & Stoughton

Blood Mother

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell
Hodder & Stoughton

One False Move

Dreda Say Mitchell
Authors:
Dreda Say Mitchell
Hodder Paperbacks

More Twisted

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver

MURDERA millionaire philanthropist is shot while he sleeps. His terrified wife made a narrow escape. Or did she?MYSTERYA crime writer's violent fictions start to come chillingly true. Has he unwittingly inspired a murderer?SUSPENSEA young woman is trapped in a tunnel deep underground. Two men battle to rescue her. Are they heroes, or driven by some darker motive?In the cunning, suspense-filled world of Jeffery Deaver, only one thing is certain: the next twist is only ever a page away ...