Jeffery Deaver - The Stone Monkey - Hodder & Stoughton

The Stone Monkey

Lincoln Rhyme Book 4

By Jeffery Deaver

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs must enter the murky world of people smuggling in the fourth instalment of Jeffery Deaver's bestselling series.

'The best psychological thriller writer around.' - The Times

The dark world of people smuggling beckons as Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs chase The Ghost, a notorious killer...

Investigators Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs are recruited to track down a cargo ship carrying two dozen illegal Chinese immigrants, as well as the notorious human smuggler and killer known only as the Ghost.

But when the capture goes disastrously wrong, Lincoln and Amelia find themselves in a race to stop the Ghost before he can track down and murder the two surviving families who have vanished deep into the labyrinthine world of New York City's Chinese community.

Over the next forty-eight hours the Ghost ruthlessly hunts for the families while Rhyme struggles desperately to find them first.

Meanwhile, Sachs pursues a very different kind of policework - forming a connection with one of the immigrants that may have far reaching consequences for her relationship with her partner and lover, Lincoln Rhyme.

Biographical Notes

Jeffery Deaver is the award-winning author of three collections of short stories and 32 internationally bestselling novels, including the 2011 James Bond novel Carte Blanche. He is best known for his Lincoln Rhyme thrillers, which include the number one bestsellers The Vanished Man, The Twelfth Card and The Cold Moon, as well as The Bone Collector which was made into a feature film starring Denzel Washington and Angelina Jolie. The first Kathryn Dance novel, The Sleeping Doll, was published in 2007 to enormous acclaim. A three-time recipient of the Ellery Queen Reader's Award for Best Short Story of the year, he has been nominated for an Anthony Award and six Edgar Awards from the Mystery Writers of America. He won the WHSmith Thumping Good Read Award in 2001 and in 2004 won the Crime Writers' Association Steel Dagger for Best Thriller with Garden of Beasts, and their Short Story Dagger for The Weekender from Twisted. Jeffery Deaver lives in North Carolina and California. Visit his website, www.jefferydeaver.com, Facebook page, www.facebook.com/JefferyDeaver, and follow him on Twitter at twitter.com/JefferyDeaver.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848940307
  • Publication date: 13 Nov 2008
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Mulholland Books

Paranoid

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson

'Shiveringly good suspense!' Lisa GardnerTwenty years ago, Rachel Gaston accidently shot and killed her brother in a teenage game that went horribly wrongToday, Rachel is moving on and trying to put the guilt of what happened behind her. But then she receives a text on the anniversary of her brother's death: I forgive you. This text is the first of many, all seemingly from the beyond the grave, and at the same time she is receiving midnight phone calls from a blocked number. Are these happenings malicious? Are the genuinely forgiving? Is she in danger? Or is Rachel just being paranoid?A fast-paced psychological thriller for fans for Lisa Gardner and Karen Rose, with Lisa Jackson's trademark mix of dark secrets and stunning twists

Coronet

Black Ops

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Hodder & Stoughton

The Bone Fire

S D Sykes
Authors:
S D Sykes

The brand new Oswald de Lacy thriller, for fans of C.J. Sansom, Minette Walters and S.J. Parris.1361. Plague has returned to England - thirteen years after the devastation of The Black Death. As destruction advances towards his estate in Kent, Oswald de Lacy leads his family to the safety of a remote castle in the marshes - where his friend Godfrey is preparing a fortress to survive the coming disaster. The rules are clear: once the de Lacys and other guests are inside the castle the portcullis will be lowered and no-one permitted to enter or leave until the Pestilence has passed. And then a murderer strikes. Oswald is confronted with a stark choice - leave and face the ravages of the plague, or stay and place his family at the mercy of a brutal killer. With word of his skills as an investigator preceding him, it falls to Oswald to unmask the murderer in their midst. Host, guest, or servant - everyone is a suspect in this poisoned refuge of secrets, deceit and malice.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Cutting Edge

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Coronet

Red Strike

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Hodder Paperbacks

Gwendy's Button Box

Stephen King, Richard Chizmar
Authors:
Stephen King, Richard Chizmar

'A resonant novella set in one of King's signature locales: the small town of Castle Rock, Maine' Washington PostThe small town of Castle Rock, Maine, has witnessed some strange events and unusual visitors over the years, but there is one story that has never been told...until now.There are three ways up to Castle View from the town of Castle Rock: Route 117, Pleasant Road, and the Suicide Stairs. Every day in the summer of 1974 twelve-year-old Gwendy Peterson takes the stairs, which are held by strong (if time-rusted) iron bolts and zig-zag up the cliffside.One day, while Gwendy catches her breath and listens to the shouts of the kids on the playground and the chink of an aluminium bat hitting a baseball, a stranger calls out to her. On a bench in the shade sits a man in a small, neat black hat. He offers Gwendy a mahogany box with coloured buttons. The buttons will produce gifts, such as chocolate which can make you slimmer. But he warns her that the gifts will be 'small recompense for the responsibility.'Journey back to Castle Rock in this chilling new novella by Stephen King, bestselling author of The Bazaar of Bad Dreams, and Richard Chizmar, award-winning author of A Long December

Hodder & Stoughton

All the Hidden Truths

Claire Askew
Authors:
Claire Askew
Mulholland Books

Some Die Nameless

Wallace Stroby
Authors:
Wallace Stroby
Hodder & Stoughton

The Punishment She Deserves

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George
Hodder Paperbacks

A Game of Ghosts

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

The Number One bestseller.It is deep winter. The darkness is unending.The private detective named Jaycob Eklund has vanished, and Charlie Parker is dispatched to track him down. Parker's employer, Edgar Ross, an agent of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, has his own reasons for wanting Eklund found. Eklund is no ordinary investigator. He is obsessively tracking a series of homicides and disappearances, each linked to reports of hauntings. Now Parker will be drawn into Eklund's world, a realm in which the monstrous Mother rules a crumbling criminal empire, in which men strike bargains with angels, and in which the innocent and guilty alike are pawns in a game of ghosts . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

The Shout

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

He hunts. He kills. He burnsVicky Lewis is a force to be reckoned with: not yet thirty and already crew manager in the London Fire Brigade, she's destined for great things.But when she enters a burning building to save a man's life and leaves it with catastrophic injuries, all that changes. She's shunted over to the Fire Investigation Unit, where she's forced to team up with cantankerous veteran Des Farmer, aka the Grouch.When Vicky stumbles across the Grouch's off-the-books investigation into the fiery deaths of a series of young, blonde women, she decides to join him in his search for the truth. The answer is close - perhaps too close. Vicky's already been burnt once, and now she's playing with fire . . .************PRAISE FOR STEPHEN LEATHER'A master of the thriller genre'Irish Times'As tough as British thrillers get . . . gripping' Irish Independent 'The sheer impetus of his story-telling is damned hard to resist'Sunday Express

Hodder Paperbacks

Taking Pity

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark
Mulholland Books

The Angel of Darkness

Caleb Carr
Authors:
Caleb Carr
Hodder & Stoughton

The Burial Hour

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Hodder Paperbacks

Manhattan Is My Beat

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Hodder Paperbacks

Shallow Graves

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver

John Pellam had been in the trenches of filmmaking, with a promising Hollywood career - until tragedy sidetracked him. Now he's a location scout, travelling the country in search of shooting sites for films. But in a small town in upstate New York, Pellam's illusionary world is shattered by a savage murder, and he is suddenly centre stage in an unfolding drama of violence, lust and conspiracy in this less-than-picture-perfect locale.

Hodder Paperbacks

More Twisted

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Hodder Paperbacks

Bloody River Blues

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver

Hollywood location scout John Pellam thought the scenic backwater town of Maddox, Missouri, would be the perfect site for an upcoming gangster film. Until real bullets leave two people dead and one cop paralysed. Pellam had unwittingly wandered onto the crime scene just moments before the brutal hits. Now the feds and local police want him to talk. Mob enforcers want him silenced. And a mysterious blonde just wants him. Trapped in a town full of sinister secrets and deadly deceptions, Pellam fears that deal will imitate art, as the film shoot - and his life - race toward a breathtakingly bloody climax.

Hodder Paperbacks

Twisted

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver

'I can make good bad and bad badder, and most fun of all, really bad seem good.' Jeffery DeaverAnd that is exactly what he does in this superb collection. In 'Beautiful' former supermodel Kari's stalker has followed her through retirement to her new small town home. The police can do nothing. The only thing that will end the nightmare is the stalker's death or her own. In the Edgar-nominated 'Triangle' Pete finds a true crime book - and uses the lessons contained therein to kill Mo's lover. The award-winning 'Without Jonathan' introduces us to Marissa, about to go on the first date of her life since she married Jonathan, with a man she met through the personals. As she wonders whether she will ever truly fall in love again, the man she is about to meet is killing a housewife in another part of town... And in the brand-new 'The Christmas Present', we see a side of Lincoln Rhyme we've never met before.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Blue Nowhere

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver