Jeffery Deaver - The Blue Nowhere - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780340767511
    • Publication date:09 May 2002
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473631977
    • Publication date:17 Nov 2016

The Blue Nowhere

By Jeffery Deaver

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A killer tracks his victims through their virtual world in Deaver's powerful standalone thriller.

DEAVER. DANGEROUSLY GOOD.

Imagine you're in a bar. A man approaches you. He doesn't seem familiar but he knows your past, your job, your hobbies and your ex-boyfriend's name. You go for a drink. This is your first - and last - mistake. You're the latest victim of the latest killer. A man who can rip away the thin carapace protecting the secrets of your life - before ending it.

Streetwise cop Frank Bishop has been charged with the job of halting the mounting body count. He enlists the help of Wyatt Gillette, a young hacker on the wrong side of the law.

They must stalk this faceless criminal through both the real and the virtual universe, combining their old and new world skills to beat the mastermind. But how do you stop a man who knows your every move? You go into the blue nowhere...

'One of the world's best plotters - his intricate twists and turns catch out even the hardened thriller reader' Daily Mail

Biographical Notes

Jeffery Deaver is the award-winning author of two collections of short stories and 29 internationally bestselling novels, including the latest James Bond novel Carte Blanche. He is best known for his Lincoln Rhyme thrillers, which include the number one bestsellers The Vanished Man, The Twelfth Card and The Cold Moon, as well as The Bone Collector which was made into a feature film starring Denzel Washington and Angelina Jolie. The first Kathryn Dance novel, The Sleeping Doll, was published in 2007 to enormous acclaim.

A three-time recipient of the Ellery Queen Reader's Award for Best Short Story of the year, he has been nominated for an Anthony Award and six Edgar Awards from the Mystery Writers of America. He won the WH Smith Thumping Good Read Award in 2001 and in 2004 won the Crime Writers' Association Steel Dagger for Best Thriller with Garden of Beasts, and their Short Story Dagger for The Weekender from Twisted.

Jeffery Deaver lives in North Carolina and California.

Visit his website, www.jefferydeaver.com, Facebook page, www.facebook.com/JefferyDeaver, and follow him on Twitter at twitter.com/JefferyDeaver.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848940284
  • Publication date: 06 Aug 2009
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Mulholland Books

Paranoid

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson

'Shiveringly good suspense!' Lisa GardnerTwenty years ago, Rachel Gaston accidently shot and killed her brother in a teenage game that went horribly wrongToday, Rachel is moving on and trying to put the guilt of what happened behind her. But then she receives a text on the anniversary of her brother's death: I forgive you. This text is the first of many, all seemingly from the beyond the grave, and at the same time she is receiving midnight phone calls from a blocked number. Are these happenings malicious? Are the genuinely forgiving? Is she in danger? Or is Rachel just being paranoid?A fast-paced psychological thriller for fans for Lisa Gardner and Karen Rose, with Lisa Jackson's trademark mix of dark secrets and stunning twists

Coronet

Black Ops

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

A series of gruesome killings take place in Dubai, Ghana and America. The victims are all connected with the SAS. In Hereford Danny Black realises they have something more specific in common - they were all involved in training a young Muslim soldier, Ibrahim Khan.Khan has been working under cover in Islamic State in a mission organised by MI6. Danny Black sets out to track him down with the help of Khan's MI6 handler on a trail that leads him to a library of ancient manuscripts in Damascus, the Syrian desert and finally back in the Brecon Beacons. There Danny discovers that he has finally met his match, his deadliest enemy - and it is the last person he ever expected.

Mulholland Books

City of Windows

Robert Pobi
Authors:
Robert Pobi

The shot is impossible. In the middle of a blizzard, down a busy New York avenue, into a moving car.And there's nothing worse than hunting a killer with a rifle in a city of windows. The agent in charge knows only one man with the skills to work out where the bullet came from. Lucas Page, physics professor and maths prodigy, quit the FBI after it nearly cost him his life. But he can't resist the call to help, to prove that he is still capable of extraordinary things. Because Page is wired to see crime from a different angle. The science that explains the impossible shot. The geometry that reveals the killer's location. The logic that tells him this shooter has killed like this before. And will do it again, and again, until they are stopped...'A great plot, a great setting, and even better characters - I loved this.' Lee Child, Sunday Times bestselling author of the Jack Reacher series'A page-turner painted with soaring prose that makes you want to read every sentence twice. In Dr Lucas Page, Robert Pobi has created a unique and modern protagonist...He'll be back and so will I.' Gregg Hurwitz, Sunday Times bestselling author of Orphan X

Mulholland Books

Deception Cove

Owen Laukkanen
Authors:
Owen Laukkanen

From the acclaimed author of the Gale Force comes a compelling new thriller for fans of CJ Box and David Baldacci.Jess Winslow is a former US Marine struggling to adjust to civilian life after the horrors of Afghanistan. All she has in the world is her black and white pitbull mix, Lucy.Mason Burke trained Lucy for the service animal program while serving fifteen years in prison. Lucy helped keep him sane; now he'll stop at nothing to keep her safe.So when a corrupt deputy sheriff takes Lucy hostage over a package Jess's late husband allegedly stole, newly-released Mason promises to help.But saving Lucy and finding the package is only the start. Soon Mason and Jess are caught up in someone else's private war. Will they be able to trust each other and face their demons in time to save themselves?Deception Cove is a gripping story of survival and redemption set against the beautiful and dangerous coastline of the Pacific Northwest.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Cutting Edge

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Hodder & Stoughton

All the Hidden Truths

Claire Askew
Authors:
Claire Askew
Hodder & Stoughton

Tall Order

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Sceptre

Suicide Club

Rachel Heng
Authors:
Rachel Heng

They leave us no choice.Always look both ways before you cross the road. Get a 9 to 5 job . Exercise for 30 minutes every day. Do not eat bread. Do not eat sugar. Do yoga. Do meditate. Never raise your voice. Always smile, even if you feel like dying.What are you doing to help yourself?What are you doing to show that you're worth the resources?Some time in the near future, thanks to medical technology HealthTechTM, immortality is now within humanity's grasp. But faced with declining economic productivity, falling birth rates and a severely aging population, the Ministry has become the all-powerful arbiter of how healthcare resources are allocated. Resources accrue to 'lifers', those predisposed for a life expected to be lived healthily well beyond a hundred years old. Some factors that determine lifer status are genetically incidental - but there are other, more intangible factors that are within individuals' control: the degree to which they are 'life-loving' and self-caring. Non-lifers are known as 'sub-100s': individuals with no potential for longevity and deemed a waste of HealthTechTM resources.The Suicide Club hasn't always been an activist group. Initially, it was a group of disillusioned lifers, gathering to indulge in forbidden, hedonistic activities: performances of live music, traditional meals of the most artery-clogging kind, irresponsible orgies . . . You name it. Now branded terrorists, anyone found guilty of wanting the right to die as they choose will find themselves fast-tracked to the Third Wave and condemned to immortality. . .(P)2018 Macmillan Audio

Hodder & Stoughton

Light Touch

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
John Murray

Slow Horses

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron
Hodder & Stoughton

The Burial Hour

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Hodder Paperbacks

Manhattan Is My Beat

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Hodder Paperbacks

Shallow Graves

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver

John Pellam had been in the trenches of filmmaking, with a promising Hollywood career - until tragedy sidetracked him. Now he's a location scout, travelling the country in search of shooting sites for films. But in a small town in upstate New York, Pellam's illusionary world is shattered by a savage murder, and he is suddenly centre stage in an unfolding drama of violence, lust and conspiracy in this less-than-picture-perfect locale.

Hodder Paperbacks

Twisted

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver

'I can make good bad and bad badder, and most fun of all, really bad seem good.' Jeffery DeaverAnd that is exactly what he does in this superb collection. In 'Beautiful' former supermodel Kari's stalker has followed her through retirement to her new small town home. The police can do nothing. The only thing that will end the nightmare is the stalker's death or her own. In the Edgar-nominated 'Triangle' Pete finds a true crime book - and uses the lessons contained therein to kill Mo's lover. The award-winning 'Without Jonathan' introduces us to Marissa, about to go on the first date of her life since she married Jonathan, with a man she met through the personals. As she wonders whether she will ever truly fall in love again, the man she is about to meet is killing a housewife in another part of town... And in the brand-new 'The Christmas Present', we see a side of Lincoln Rhyme we've never met before.

Hodder Paperbacks

More Twisted

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Hodder Paperbacks

Bloody River Blues

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Hodder Paperbacks

Speaking In Tongues

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Hodder Paperbacks

A Maiden's Grave

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Hodder Paperbacks

The Devil's Teardrop

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver

DEAVER. DANGEROUSLY GOOD. 9am, 31st December. A man gets onto the packed escalator of a metro station and fires a silenced machine gun through a paper bag. He escapes without being spotted in the chaos that follows. A note is delivered to the mayor of Washington, D.C., demanding $20 million, or the writer will instruct the gunman to strike again, at 4 pm, 8 pm and midnight. The mayor decides to pay up. But then a man is killed in a hit and run accident - and his fingerprints match the ones on the note.With the brains behind the operation dead, there's no way of stopping the gunman killing again, and again, and again... The only evidence the FBI have is the note. And Parker Kincaid, forensic document expert, is the only man who can stop the killer. But he's running out of time... 'Deaver is a terrific storyteller, and he takes the reader on a rollercoaster of suspense, violence and mystery' Daily Telegraph

Hodder Paperbacks

Praying for Sleep

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver

Michael Hrubek, a schizophrenic psychopath, escapes from a mental institution. The directors of the hospital, concerned for their reputation, tell the police he's harmless. But Hrubek doesn't need to sleep and is terrifyingly unpredictable, with the quick thinking of the insane. And he's leaving a trail of bodies in his wake, as he makes his way towards the isolated home of the woman who was responsible for his incarceration in the institution.