Favel Parrett - When the Night Comes - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £17.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848548541
    • Publication date:06 Nov 2014
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848548558
    • Publication date:06 Nov 2014

When the Night Comes

By Favel Parrett

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

From the prize-winning and critically acclaimed author of Past the Shallows (shortlisted for the 2012 Miles Franklin Award), comes a powerful and haunting novel set on the very edge of the world. Will appeal to readers of Cormac McCarthy and Tim Winton. 'If you read only one book this year, make sure it's this' Sunday Times on Past the Shallows. 'I loved Past the Shallows' Kevin Powers, author of The Yellow Birds

Set in Tasmania and Antarctica, this is the beautifully told new novel from bestselling author Favel Parrett. When the Night Comes tells the story of a young girl, learning what is important in life and who to trust; and of a crewman on the Antarctic supply ship, the Nella Dan, a modern Viking searching to understand his past and find a place in this world for himself.

When their paths cross, he teaches her the gift of stillness, of watching birds and shares tales of sailing south to the ice. She shows him what is missing in his life. Though their time together is cut short when his noble ship is lost, the small gifts have been enough to set her path towards the sea.

And maybe what they give to each other will mean they can both eventually find their way home.

Biographical Notes

Favel Parrett was the recipient of an Australian Society of Authors Mentorship in 2009 and has had a number of short stories published in various journals. PAST THE SHALLOWS, her first published novel, was shortlisted for the 2012 Miles Franklin Award and won the Australian Book Industry's Newcomer of the Year Award Prize. She balances her writing around surfing, travelling and volunteering at an animal shelter. She lives in Victoria, Australia with her partner and two dogs. You can find out more about Favel and her writing via her website www.favelparrett.com.au, or at www.hodder.co.uk. You can follow her on Twitter at www.twitter.com/favelparrett.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848548565
  • Publication date: 07 May 2015
  • Page count: 272
  • Imprint: Sceptre
A beautifully expressed book . . . moving — A Life in Books
Page-turningly readable — Daily Mail
Beautifully vivid — List
Beautifully rendered . . . Parrett evokes the scenes in eerie, sharp prose poems that take the breath away . . . manages that high-wire act of good poetry, depicting the everyday stuff of life in a new light, eking out the profound from the mundane. Stirring stuff. — Big Issue Scotland
Breathtaking . . . Poignant, hauntingly beautiful, this is a story about the wonder of journeys both physical and emotional . . . I think I have just fallen in love with a ship. — Rachel Joyce, author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Perfect
Favel's trademark lyricism bears us across gossamer prose or shakes us as powerfully as if we were flotsam . . . In so many ways When the Night Comes is more than a book. It's a companion to cherish as it says more to us each time we finish it and are drawn back to the beginning to start again . . . Heart-achingly beautiful, lyrically divine story of a little Aussie girl, a Danish merchant seaman, moments from their lives and the indelible print that they leave. No words or description could do this justice; in fact if I won the lottery I'd consider buying you each a copy. You deserve it! — Bookbag

Praise for PAST THE SHALLOWS:
Beautiful, stripped-back prose . . . there is magic here. Like Cormac MCCarthy, Parrett packs a huge emotional punch thanks to the elegant brevity of her style. Stark, but unforgettable.

— Marie Claire
An assured debut . . . In powerful, visceral prose Parrett conjures the thrill of changing waves . . . elsewhere, her prose is gentle and measured. — Daily Mail
The settings are beautifully described. — Choice Magazine