Fi Cotter-Craig and Zebedee Helm - The Middle-Class ABC - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848546806
    • Publication date:25 Oct 2012
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848546820
    • Publication date:25 Oct 2012

The Middle-Class ABC

By Fi Cotter-Craig and Zebedee Helm

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

'Indispensable and entirely charming' Stephen Fry

The Middle Class ABC is the book loos, bedside tables and farmers markets the length and breadth of the land have been waiting for - a humorous celebration of the facts (some are even true) and foibles, manners and mores, peccadilloes and armadillos, of contemporary British middle-class life.

Letter by letter, the occasionally clever, witty and absurd observations and cartoons will ring true for all good Middlings. WARNING: you might even recognize your own or your friends' choices of children's names, foodie fads, holiday destinations . . .

Crammed with affectionately teasing jokes and some truly dreadful puns, this is a book to enjoy at any time of the year in the course of going about one's business.

Biographical Notes

Fi Cotter-Craig is a television producer and lives in London and Norfolk. She is whip thin, a man-magnet and very occasionally tells dreadful lies.

Zebedee Helm, despite a silly name, has a serious career as a cartoonist. He has cooked squirrels professionally, been the Morris Dancing correspondent for The Lady and written a children's book.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848546813
  • Publication date: 09 Oct 2014
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: John Murray
Guaranteed to make one chortle — Daily Mail
I never ever do jacket puffs. Even for indispensable and entirely charming books. I never make an exception. Except this one — Stephen Fry
A hilarious ramble through middle England — House and Garden
Glorious compendium . . . pins the modern middle class with brilliant and hysterical accuracy — Daily Mail
The night before I had been reading The Middle Class ABC by Fi Cotter-Craig and Zebedee Helm and chortling at how accurately they skewered so many aspects of my life, from compulsive jam-making to fanatical dish washer loading and vegetable growing — Janet Street Porter, Daily Mail
Cringe-makingly and consistently funny. The best toilet, I mean loo, book ever — Rachel Johnson, Evening Standard
Teasingly brilliant ABC that celebrates being middle class . . . You will chortle with gusto at these wry observations — Field
The first time my wife and I read The Middle Class ABC, flicking through the pages as we lay in bed, we ended up galloping through the entire book, increasingly desperate to identify one major characteristic of our lifestyle that hadn't been expertly lampooned and made gloriously funny by the two geniuses who compiled, created and illustrated it — Country Life
Yellow Kite

A Cat's Guide to Humans

George the Cat, owner of Celia Haddon
Authors:
George the Cat, owner of Celia Haddon
Yellow Kite

TFL Quote of the Day

TFL Quote of the Day is a beautifully packaged collection of the most popular Quote of the Day boards found at hundreds of stations across the London underground that inspire and brighten the days of commuters. The quotes will be a combination of the very best quotes personally chosen or written by TFL staff working in the different stations and from TFL's own incredible photography archive of the boards, from historic moments in recent years. The book will be a celebration of our city at its best - these simple, open-hearted, positive and humorous quotes capture the wonderful spirit, iconic branding and rich heritage of TFL and help spread the message far and wide - that the London community is diverse and open to all, we're in it together and we should all endeavor to make small acts of kindness, wherever possible - as they might just make someone's day!

Coronet

Palette

Funmi Fetto
Authors:
Funmi Fetto

'This ground-breaking, first-of-its-kind book is not only destined to become the beauty bible for women of colour everywhere, it is also a significant, relevant and influential voice in the conversation around inclusivity. Essential reading' Edward Enninful, Editor-in-Chief, Vogue UKThe idea for Palette came to Vogue Contributing Beauty Editor Funmi Fetto after years of being asked by friends, family and strangers on the street for advice on products suitable for women of colour, who often find themselves excluded from mainstream beauty coverage. Following on from her career in journalism where she has extended the beauty conversation in publications such as the Observer - for whom she writes a weekly column - and written in an honest, elegant and engaging style, Fetto covers all the hair, skincare, makeup and body products available today which really work for women of colour.

Hodder & Stoughton

My A-Z of Cricket

Henry Blofeld
Authors:
Henry Blofeld
Hodder & Stoughton

The Secret Lives of Planets

Paul Murdin
Authors:
Paul Murdin
Hodder & Stoughton

Where There's a Will

Beth Corby
Authors:
Beth Corby

Would you take the chance that could change everything?After leaving university at the age of twenty-five with no idea what to do with her life, Hannah is stunned when she is left a mystery bequest by her rich, estranged great-uncle Donald. But there's a catch: before she can find out what she's inherited, she must undertake a series of unknown tasks alongside Alec, Donald's reluctant (but rather gorgeous) PA.As the tasks progress and she and Alec grow closer, Hannah begins to think that Donald's real gift might have more to do with love than money . . .This funny, romantic and uplifting novel is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Cathy Hopkins and Anna Bell.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Middle Window

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Hodder Paperbacks

The Castle on the Hill

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge

Amid the chaos of the Second World War comes a charming story of courage and friendship, from the author of Green Dolphin Country and A City of Bells.In the summer of 1940, as the darkest days of the Second World War approach, a chance encounter on a train leads Miss Brown to become housekeeper at the Castle.Hidden in a quiet, rural corner of England, the crumbling castle is home to lonely historian Mr Birley and his nephews, fighter pilot Richard and fair, peace-loving Stephen. With young evacuees Moppet and Poppet, and mysterious violinist Jo Isaacson, this unexpected family of strangers come to rely on each other as the devastations of war rage on.

John Murray

How Britain Really Works

Stig Abell
Authors:
Stig Abell
Sceptre

When All is Said

Anne Griffin
Authors:
Anne Griffin
Yellow Kite

Cosy

Laura Weir
Authors:
Laura Weir
Sceptre

New Erotica for Feminists

Caitlin Kunkel, Brooke Preston, Fiona Taylor, Carrie Wittmer
Authors:
Caitlin Kunkel, Brooke Preston, Fiona Taylor, Carrie Wittmer
Chambers

Brewer’s Dictionary of Phrase and Fable (20th edition)

Susie Dent
Authors:
Susie Dent
Two Roads

Cunk on Everything

Philomena Cunk
Authors:
Philomena Cunk

'This book is great because it covers everything in existence apart from the 95% of stuff not worth bothering with' - Philomena Cunk, star of Charlie Brooker's Weekly Wipe, Moments of Wonder and Cunk on Britain'Essential reading for these slipshod times' Al MurrayOnce in a blue moon, a book comes along that changes the world. The Origin of Species. War and Peace. 1984. The World According to Danny Dyer. And now, Cunk on Everything: The Encyclopedia Philomena, by Philomena Cunk.Philomena Cunk is one of the greatest thinkers of the 21st century, and in Cunk on Everything she turns her attention to our biggest issue: why are there so many books? Wouldn't it be better if there was just one? This is that book - an encyclopedia of ALL HUMAN KNOWLEDGE, from sausages to Henry of Eight to Brush Strokes to vegetarian sausages. Read it, and you'll never have to read another book again.'This is a book' Philomena Cunk'Never contact me again' Professor Rupert Delgado, MBE'Cunk for PM' Rachel Riley'. . . book . . .' Guardian'Truly the intellect for our baffling times' The Times'This book is absolutely stupid' The Pool

Hodder & Stoughton

The Little Book of Bob

James Bowen
Authors:
James Bowen
Hodder & Stoughton

A Little Moment of Kindness for Children

Jenny Meldrum
Authors:
Jenny Meldrum

A Little Moment of Kindness helps young children explore what it means to be kind to themselves and those around them. Even at such a young age, children are learning to interact with other people in their lives, be it friends, grandparents or siblings. All the time they are observing how we treat each other, so the need to emphasise the kindness and patience is as valuable as it is necessary.This beautifully illustrated book helps children think about what kindness means and it value in the world. Each illustration is placed alongside an inspirational thought which allows room for reflection and encouragement for children. Designed to enjoy through individual reading or with an older family member, this series allow parents and grandparents to read alongside their young ones and share together in the experience of slowing-down, valuing stillness and thoughtfulness, and spending time in the company of family members and God.

Hodder & Stoughton

Best Foot Forward

Adam Hills
Authors:
Adam Hills
Coronet

Dadlife

Simon Hooper, Father of Daughters
Authors:
Simon Hooper, Father of Daughters
Hodder & Stoughton

NIV Larger Print Compact Single Column Reference Bible

New International Version
Authors:
New International Version
Hodder & Stoughton

Surgically Enhanced

Pam Ayres
Authors:
Pam Ayres