James Frey - The Final Testament - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848543171
    • Publication date:12 Apr 2011
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848546158
    • Publication date:12 Apr 2011

The Final Testament

By James Frey

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

In true controversial James Frey style, this brilliant new novel is the final Testament of the Holy Bible.

James Frey isn't like other writers. He's been called a liar. A cheat. A con man. He's been called a saviour. A revolutionary. A genius. He's been sued by readers. Dropped by publishers because of his controversies. Berated by TV talk-show hosts and condemned by the media. He's been exiled from America, and driven into hiding. He's also a bestselling phenomenon. Published in 38 languages, and beloved by readers around the world. What scares people about Frey is that he plays with truth; that fine line between fact and fiction. Now he has written his greatest work, his most revolutionary, his most controversial. The Final Testament of the Holy Bible.

What would you do if you discovered the Messiah were alive today? Living in New York. Sleeping with men. Impregnating young women. Euthanizing the dying, and healing the sick. Defying the government, and condemning the holy. What would you do if you met him? And he changed your life. Would you believe? Would you?

The Final Testament of the Holy Bible . It will change you. Hurt you. Scare you. Make you think differently. Live differently Enrage you. Offend you. Open your eyes to the world in which we live. We've waited 2,000 years for the Messiah to arrive. We've waited 2,000 years for this book to be written. He was here. The Final Testament of the Holy Bible is the story of his life.

Biographical Notes

James Frey is originally from Cleveland, Ohio. He is married and lives in New York.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848543577
  • Publication date: 12 Apr 2011
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: John Murray
Praise for James Frey — - - -
James Frey is probably one of the finest and most important writers to have emerged in recent years — Guardian
Frey really can write. Brilliantly. And if you don't think so, f*** you — Evening Standard
Mesmerising — Independent
Extraordinary — Spectator
Brilliant — Now
Beautiful, sad, potent, irresistible — Elle
America's most notorious author — Time Magazine
Hodder Paperbacks

Earth Storm

Mons Kallentoft
Authors:
Mons Kallentoft
John Murray

Codename Villanelle 2

Luke Jennings
Authors:
Luke Jennings

Sceptre

Now We Shall Be Entirely Free

Andrew Miller
Authors:
Andrew Miller
Hodder & Stoughton

The Rest of Me

Katie Marsh
Authors:
Katie Marsh
John Murray

Falling Short

Lex Coulton
Authors:
Lex Coulton
Hodder & Stoughton

The Maid's Room

Fiona Mitchell
Authors:
Fiona Mitchell

'This is where she sleeps. A cupboard. A bedroom. A windowless box.' Sisters Dolly and Tala have never felt further from home. In the blistering heat of Singapore, they spend their days enabling ex-pats to have lives they could never afford for themselves. Even though she has little freedom, Dolly can just about live with her job if it means she's able to support her beloved young daughter back in the Philippines. One day - if she's lucky - Dolly may even be able to go back and see her. Tala, however, just can't keep her mouth shut about the restrictive, archaic rules maids are forced to abide by on pain of deportation. She risks everything to help her fellow maids, who have struggled to have their voices heard for far too long. In a world where domestic workers are treated so poorly, The Maid's Room explores how women can come together to change each other's lives, and be the architects of their own futures.

Hodder & Stoughton

Winter Solstice

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

The last gorgeously festive instalment of the WINTER STREET series, from the New York Times bestselling author. Raise one last glass with the Quinn Family at the Winter Street Inn. It's been too long since the entire Quinn family has been able to celebrate the holidays under the same roof, but that's about to change. With Bart back safe and sound from Afghanistan, the Quinns are preparing for a holiday more joyous than any they've experienced in years.And Bart's safe return isn't the family's only good news: Kevin is enjoying married life with Isabelle; Patrick is getting back on his feet after paying his debt to society; Ava thinks she's finally found the love of her life; and Kelly is thrilled to see his family reunited at last. But it just wouldn't be a Quinn family gathering if things went smoothly.A celebration of everything we love - and some of the things we endure - about the holidays, WINTER SOLSTICE is Elin Hilderbrand at her festive best.

Hodder & Stoughton

Night of Cake and Puppets

Laini Taylor
Authors:
Laini Taylor

In the gorgeously illustrated edition NIGHT OF CAKE & PUPPETS, a night only hinted at in the Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy is brought to life: the magical first date of Zuzana and Mik. This is the perfect love story for fans of the series and new readers alike. **********Petite though she may be, Zuzana is not known for timidity. Her best friend, Karou, calls her 'rabid fairy', her 'voodoo eyes' are said to freeze blood, and even her older brother fears her wrath. But when it comes to the simple matter of talking to Mik, or 'Violin Boy', her courage deserts her. Now, enough is enough. Zuzana is determined to meet him, and she has a fistful of magic and a plan. It's a wonderfully elaborate treasure hunt of a plan that will take Mik all over Prague on a cold winter's night before finally leading him to the treasure: herself!Violin Boy's not going to know what hit him.**********'WOW. I wish I had written this book.' Patrick Rothfuss on DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE

Hodder & Stoughton

The Worst Case Scenario Cookery Club

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Sceptre

The Brittle Star

Davina Langdale
Authors:
Davina Langdale
Two Roads

The Bookseller

Cynthia Swanson
Authors:
Cynthia Swanson

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERSOON TO BE A MAJOR FILM PRODUCED BY JULIA ROBERTSNothing is as permanent as it appears...Denver, 1962Kitty Miller has come to terms with her unconventional single life. She loves the bookshop she runs with her best friend, Frieda, and enjoys complete control over her day-to-day existence.Then the dreams begin.Denver, 1963Katharyn Andersson is married to Lars, the love of her life. They have beautiful children, an elegant home, and good friends. It's everything Kitty Miller once believed she wanted - but it only exists when she sleeps. Convinced that these dreams are simply due to her overactive imagination, Kitty enjoys her nighttime forays into this alternate world.But with each visit, the more irresistibly real Katharyn's life becomes.Can she choose which life she wants? If so, what is the cost of staying Kitty, or becoming Katharyn?A hauntingly powerful novel that freshly considers the timeless question - 'What if?'

Two Roads

The Railwayman's Wife

Ashley Hay
Authors:
Ashley Hay

Sceptre

Madness is Better than Defeat

Ned Beauman
Authors:
Ned Beauman
Two Roads

The Keeper of Lost Things

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan
Hodder Paperbacks

The Roanoke Girls: the addictive Richard & Judy Book Club thriller 2017

Amy Engel
Authors:
Amy Engel

**THE COMPULSIVE AND PROVOCATIVE THRILLER THAT EVERYONE IS RAVING ABOUT - NOW A RICHARD & JUDY BOOK CLUB PICK**'Utterly gripping' - RICHARD AND JUDY'A must-have' - SUNDAY EXPRESS'I loved it' - SARAH HILARY'Roanoke girls never last long around here. In the end, we either run or we die.'The girls of the Roanoke family - beautiful, rich, mysterious - seem to have it all. But there's a dark truth about them that's never spoken. Lane is one of the lucky ones. When she was fifteen, over one long, hot summer at her grandparents' estate in rural Kansas, she found out what it really means to be a Roanoke girl. Lane ran, far and fast. Until eleven years later, when her cousin Allegra goes missing - and Lane has no choice but to go back. She is a Roanoke girl. Is she strong enough to escape a second time?This twisty, addictive novel is perfect for fans of Into the Water, The Girls and He Said/She Said.***'Fans of The Girls will love this' - RED'Remarkably assured' THE SUNDAY TIMES'A provocative thriller' TELEGRAPH'Darkly sexy' HEAT'Twisting and revelatory' WATERSTONES'Addictive' LISA HALL'SO compelling' CLAIRE DOUGLAS'Utterly captivating' KATERINA DIAMOND'Not for the faint-hearted' PRIMA'Haunting and riveting' LAURA MCHUGH'One of the best books I've read' REBECCA DONE'Stunning and gripping' LISA CUTTS'Disturbing and delicious' AVA MARSH

Sceptre

The Honourable Schoolboy

John Le Carré
Authors:
John Le Carré

It is a beleaguered and betrayed Secret Service that has been put in the care of George Smiley. A mole has been uncovered at the organisation's highest levels - and its agents across the world put in grave danger. But untangling the traitor's web gives Smiley a chance to attack his Russian counterpart, Karla. And part-time spy Jerry Westerby is the weapon at Smiley's disposal.The Honourable Schoolboy is remarkable and thrilling, one of three books (together with Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy and Smiley's People) to feature the legendary clash between Smiley and Karla, two brilliant spymasters on opposite sides of the Cold War.

Hodder Paperbacks

This Beautiful Life: the emotional, uplifting new novel from the #1 bestseller

Katie Marsh
Authors:
Katie Marsh
Hodder & Stoughton

The Heart of the Family

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Hodder Paperbacks

Summer at Hope Meadows: the perfect feel-good summer read!

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Sceptre

Smiley's People

John Le Carré
Authors:
John Le Carré