James Frey - The Final Testament - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848543171
    • Publication date:12 Apr 2011
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848543195
    • Publication date:01 Mar 2012
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848546158
    • Publication date:12 Apr 2011

The Final Testament

By James Frey

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

In true controversial James Frey style, this brilliant new novel is the final Testament of the Holy Bible.

James Frey isn't like other writers. He's been called a liar. A cheat. A con man. He's been called a saviour. A revolutionary. A genius. He's been sued by readers. Dropped by publishers because of his controversies. Berated by TV talk-show hosts and condemned by the media. He's been exiled from America, and driven into hiding. He's also a bestselling phenomenon. Published in 38 languages, and beloved by readers around the world. What scares people about Frey is that he plays with truth; that fine line between fact and fiction. Now he has written his greatest work, his most revolutionary, his most controversial. The Final Testament of the Holy Bible.

What would you do if you discovered the Messiah were alive today? Living in New York. Sleeping with men. Impregnating young women. Euthanizing the dying, and healing the sick. Defying the government, and condemning the holy. What would you do if you met him? And he changed your life. Would you believe? Would you?

The Final Testament of the Holy Bible . It will change you. Hurt you. Scare you. Make you think differently. Live differently Enrage you. Offend you. Open your eyes to the world in which we live. We've waited 2,000 years for the Messiah to arrive. We've waited 2,000 years for this book to be written. He was here. The Final Testament of the Holy Bible is the story of his life.

Biographical Notes

James Frey is originally from Cleveland, Ohio. He is married and lives in New York.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848543577
  • Publication date: 12 Apr 2011
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: John Murray
Praise for James Frey — - - -
James Frey is probably one of the finest and most important writers to have emerged in recent years — Guardian
Frey really can write. Brilliantly. And if you don't think so, f*** you — Evening Standard
Mesmerising — Independent
Extraordinary — Spectator
Brilliant — Now
Beautiful, sad, potent, irresistible — Elle
America's most notorious author — Time Magazine
Hodder Paperbacks

The Mother-in-Law

Sally Hepworth
Authors:
Sally Hepworth

From the bestselling author of The Family Next Door comes a new domestic page-turner about that trickiest of relationships and what happens when it all goes wrong'Fiction at its finest' Liane Moriarty, Number One bestselling author 'Perfect for fans of BIG LITTLE LIES' - Library Journal She has never approved of you. But it's when her body is found the secrets really start to come out ...From the moment Lucy met her husband's mother, Diana, she was kept at arm's length. Diana was exquisitely polite, and perfectly friendly, but Lucy knew that she was not what Diana envisioned. Even so, Lucy wanted so much to please her new mother-in-law. That was five years ago.Now, Diana has been found dead, a suicide note near her body. Diana claims that she no longer wanted to live because of a battle with cancer.But the autopsy finds no cancer.The autopsy does find traces of poison and suffocation. Who could possibly want Diana dead? Why was her will changed at the eleventh hour to disinherit both of her adult children and their spouses?With Lucy's secrets getting deeper and her relationship with her mother-in-law growing more complex as the pages turn, this new novel from Sally Hepworth is sure to add to her growing legion of fans.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Swap

Fiona Mitchell
Authors:
Fiona Mitchell

***The second novel from Fiona Mitchell, author of the stunning The Maid's Room***When two strangers, Tess and Annie, undergo IVF at an American clinic, their embryos are mixed up and each woman gives birth to the wrong child.The women only discover the devastating error three years later. Tess wants to swap the children back; Annie doesn't. As the pair wrangle, neither of them expect what unfolds.Two women. Two children. One thought-provoking novel.*******PRAISE FOR THE MAID'S ROOM'A modern-day The Help' - Emerald Street'Passionate . . . powerful' - Daily Mail'Exquisite writing . . . a shocking and powerful story line that had me gripped and moved until the uplifting conclusion . . . A fascinating read about survival and the strength and resilience of the human heart' - Katie Marsh, author of A Life Without You and This Beautiful Life

Hodder & Stoughton

When You Read This

Mary Adkins
Authors:
Mary Adkins
John Murray

Katerina

James Frey
Authors:
James Frey
Two Roads

The Sealwoman's Gift

Sally Magnusson
Authors:
Sally Magnusson

A Zoe Ball ITV Book Club Pick'Sally Magnusson has taken an amazing true event and created a brilliant first novel. It's an epic journey in every sense: although it's historical, it's incredibly relevant to our world today. We had to pick it' Zoe Ball Book Club 'A remarkable feat of imagination ... I enjoyed and admired it in equal measure' Sarah Perry, author of The Essex Serpent 'A powerful tale of Barbary pirates ... richly imagined and energetically told.' Sunday Times - 100 Best Books to Read This Summer'Engrossing' Sunday Express 'Fascinating ... a really, really good read' BBC R2 Book Club'The best sort of historical novel' Scotsman 'A lyrical tale' Stylist 'A poetic retelling of Icelandic history' Daily Mail 'Compelling stuff' Good Housekeeping'An extraordinarily immersive read ... examining themes of motherhood, identity, exile and freedom' Guardian1627. In a notorious historical event, pirates raided the coast of Iceland and abducted 400 people into slavery in Algiers. Among them a pastor, his wife, and their children.In her acclaimed debut novel Sally Magnusson imagines what history does not record: the experience of Asta, the pastor's wife, as she faces her losses with the one thing left to her - the stories from home - and forges an ambiguous bond with the man who bought her.Uplifting, moving, and witty, The Sealwoman's Gift speaks across centuries and oceans about loss, love, resilience and redemption.Chosen for the BBC Radio 2 Book Club and the ITV Zoe Ball Book Club.'Icelandic history has been brought to extraordinary life... An accomplished and intelligent novel' Yrsa Sigurðardóttir, author of Why Did You Lie?'Vivid and compelling' Adam Nichols, co-translator of The Travels of Reverend Ólafur Egilsson

John Murray

My Abandonment

Peter Rock
Authors:
Peter Rock
Sceptre

Walking Wounded

Sheila Llewellyn
Authors:
Sheila Llewellyn
Two Roads

The Cactus

Sarah Haywood
Authors:
Sarah Haywood
Two Roads

The Beginning of the World in the Middle of the Night

Jen Campbell
Authors:
Jen Campbell
Hodder & Stoughton

Seeing Red

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown
Hodder & Stoughton

All I Ever Wanted

Lucy Dillon
Authors:
Lucy Dillon

From the bestselling author of A Hundred Pieces of Me and One Small Act of Kindness comes a heartwarming, bittersweet and uplifting story of missed chances and unexpected opportunities. 'Lucy Dillon's books make the world a better place' - HeatCaitlin's life is a mess. Her marriage to a man everyone else thinks is perfect has collapsed, along with her self-esteem, and breaking free seems the only option.Nancy, her four-year-old daughter, used to talk all the time; in the car, at nursery, to her brother Joel. Then her parents split up. Her daddy moves out. And Nancy stops speaking.Nancy's Auntie Eva, recently widowed and feeling alone, apart from the companionship of two bewildered pugs, is facing a future without her husband or the dreams she gave up for him.But when Eva agrees to host her niece and nephew once a fortnight, Caitlin and Eva are made to face the different truths about their marriages - and about what they both really want . . .'Bittersweet, lovely and ultimately redemptitive; the kind of book that makes you want to live your own life better' - Jojo Moyes'So satisfying and clever and deeply moving' - Sophie Kinsella

Hodder & Stoughton

After the Fire

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain

Hyacinthe has always been the quiet one: gentle, artistic, never glamorous. Swept off her feet by an ambitious young doctor, she is happy to put her own ambitions as a designer to one side, to become the mother of two lovely children.Until the day she must face the fact that Gerald is seeing other women. Distraught, desperate, she goes to his office to seek proof. And because of what happens there on a terrible night, she loses the custody of her children . . .The enthralling story of a woman whose life is first torn apart by injustice, then rebuilt in unexpected ways.

Hodder & Stoughton

Looking Back

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder & Stoughton

Fortune's Hand

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder & Stoughton

Homecoming

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder & Stoughton

The Carousel

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain

In public, Oliver Grey is a devoted father, prominent public figure and respected businessman. But in private, he has a much darker side.On a visit to her brother Dan's house, Oliver's niece Amanda sees a silver carousel much like the one her uncle gave her as a child. When Amanda breaks down and reveals a troubling link between her niece Caroline, her uncle Oliver and the silver carousel, events take a dangerous turn. Horrified by the revelations, Dan's wife Ellen visits Oliver's home to confront him. And when she leaves, Oliver is dead.But with one son mired in gambling debts and a desperately troubled niece, finding the person behind Oliver's death might not be as simple as it seems.

Hodder & Stoughton

Legacy of Silence

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder & Stoughton

Secrecy

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder & Stoughton

Promises

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder & Stoughton

Random Winds

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain