Chrissie Manby - Once in a Lifetime - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473682931
    • Publication date:09 Aug 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473682948
    • Publication date:14 Jun 2018

Once in a Lifetime

The perfect escapist romance

By Chrissie Manby
Read by Karen Cass

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

The wonderful and hilarious new listen from Chrissie Manby, perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jill Mansell and Trisha Ashley.

What if once in a lifetime happened twice?

Dani Parker had grand plans for her life - but that was twenty-two years ago. Now she's a single mother still living in the quaint seaside town of Newbay, still working at the hotel where she got her first ever job. When she bumps into ex-boyfriend Nat, Dani wonders if this might be the start of something not-quite-new. But that's before she meets his fiancée . . .

Dani's daughter Flossie is sixteen - so she knows best about everything, of course. And her new boyfriend Jed is all she could ever want in a man . . . right?

Flossie's grandma Jane, a widow of fifteen years, firmly believes that lightning never strikes twice. So when she finds herself visiting Bill's pet shop a little more often than necessary, she refuses to believe that the L-word has anything to do with it.

In a whirlwind of cakes, elopements and more naughty puppies than they can handle, will the three women discover that 'once in a lifetime' isn't quite as rare as they thought?

The wonderful and hilarious new listen from Chrissie Manby, perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jill Mansell and Trisha Ashley.

Praise for Chrissie Manby:

'This sassy and addictive read will make you laugh - a lot!' - Closer

'I've been a fan of Manby's writing for years and thoroughly enjoyed this' - Daily Mail

'Perfect, unputdownable summer adventures.' - Jenny Colgan

'Manby's novels are made for holidays.' - Glamour

'Nothing short of brilliant' - Marie Claire

'A gloriously delicious read! . . . Packed with warm characters and hilarious situations' - www.handwrittengirl.com

'[This novel] was funny and emotional, it was heartwarming, it was so genuine and realistic and it is a MUST READ this autumn. Highly recommended!' - On My Bookshelf

(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Biographical Notes

Chrissie Manby is the author of twenty one romantic comedies including A PROPER FAMILY HOLIDAY, THE MATCHBREAKER and SEVEN SUNNY DAYS. She has had several Sunday Times bestsellers and her novel about behaving badly after a break-up, GETTING OVER MR RIGHT, was nominated for the 2011 Melissa Nathan Award.

Chrissie was raised in Gloucester, in the west of England, and now lives in London. Contrary to the popular conception of chick-lit writers, she is such a bad home-baker that her own father threatened to put her last creation on www.cakewrecks.com. She is, however, partial to white wine and shoes she can't walk in.

You can follow her on Twitter @chrissiemanby, or visit her website www.chrissiemanby.co.uk to find out more.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473696389
  • Publication date: 09 Aug 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder Paperbacks

The Worst Case Scenario Cookery Club: the perfect laugh-out-loud romantic comedy

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Hodder Paperbacks

A Fairy Tale for Christmas:a magical, feel-good novel to fall in love with this Christmas

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Hodder & Stoughton

Falling Leaves and Fireworks: a funny, feel-good autumnal enovella

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby

A warm, wonderful and funny novella from bestselling author Chrissie Manby, the perfect treat for crisp, woodsmoke-scented autumn days.Sparklers, bonfires, trick-or-treating... autumn has arrived! The thirty-first of October usually marks the start of the party season in the Benson Edwards household but, having recently lost his beloved cat Fishy, little Jack, aged eight, isn't ready to celebrate. When the rest of the Bensons and their neighbours decide to throw a Halloween fancy-dress bash in an attempt to cheer Jack up, however, not everything goes to plan as Mark and Ronnie play a ghostly prank which inadvertently sparks a local scandal. By the time Bonfire Night rolls around, will their neighbourhood relations be up in in smoke? And will Jack have rediscovered his sparkle?

Hodder Paperbacks

A Wedding at Christmas

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Hodder Paperbacks

A Proper Family Adventure

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Hodder Paperbacks

A Proper Family Christmas

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby

Christmas comes but once a year . . . thank goodness! So keep calm this festive season and treat yourself to the warm and wonderful new novel from Chrissie Manby.Annabel Buchanan, one Queen Bee, is happily married, proud of her beautiful daughter Izzy and has the perfect house in the country...But when Izzy falls dangerously ill, adoptee Annabel has to track down her biological family - the Bensons - to see if she can help her daughter. Little does she expect the Bensons to be large, loud and messy. What will happen when their worlds collide?Can Annabel see past the Bensons' brash exteriors to the warm, loving people they are at heart?With December just around the corner, is it too much to hope that the Bensons and the Buchanans can have a proper family Christmas?Praise for Chris Manby'Manby's novels are made for holidays' - Glamour'Touching and funny in equal parts, this book will stay with you long after you close the final page. *****' - Heat

Hodder & Stoughton

A Proper Family Holiday

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Hodder Paperbacks

What I Did On My Holidays

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby

'Manby's novels are made for holidays - light enough to pick up and put down, but entertaining enough to keep you happy by the pool.' - Glamour'Smart and entertaining, beach reading doesn't get much better than this!' **** - CloseSophie Sturgeon can't wait for her annual summer holiday. Not only will it be a week away from work, it will be a chance to reconnect with her boyfriend Callum.So this upcoming trip to Majorca is a big deal. Sophie's spent a lot of time getting ready. She's bought a new wardrobe. She's been waxed to within an inch of her life. She's determined she and Callum will have the best time ever.Then Callum dumps her, the night before they're due to leave. In a show of bravery, Sophie says she'll go to Majorca alone - but in fact, she hides in her London flat. But when her friends, family, and even Callum seem so surprised and delighted at her independence, Sophie decides to go all out and recreate the ultimate 'fake break' . . . with hilarious results.

Hodder & Stoughton

Writing for Love

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby

Practical, inspiring, and filled with her trademark wit and charm, Chrissie Manby describes the writing process - from where she gets her ideas to a practical guide to planning the structure of a novel. A must-read for chick-lit fans and aspiring authors. EXCLUSIVE: contains chapters 1-4 of Chrissie's novel WHAT I DID ON MY HOLIDAYS.

Hodder & Stoughton

Kate's Wedding

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Hodder Paperbacks

Getting Over Mr Right

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Hodder & Stoughton

Seven Sunny Days

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Hodder & Stoughton

Crazy in Love

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Hodder & Stoughton

Deep Heat

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby

The romantic getaway to Antigua. But it's with her ex-fiancé. And she's the third-wheel.Recovering in hospital from an appendix operation, Ali Harris whiles away her time by entering magazine competitions. A few weeks later, she's delighted to discover that she's won first prize in Complete Woman magazine's Most Romantic Couple of the Year competition. There's just one problem. Ali has been dumped by her fiancé, and there's no way she can claim her prize - a romantic holiday for two in Antigua - on her own. But, with a holiday in the offing, Ali's fiance is keen to kiss and make up. The catch: he's not prepared to give up his new girlfriend. So Ali takes matters into her own hands ...Praise for Chrissie Manby'In the best tradition of Kathy Lette, this is girl power at its most painfully funny' - Helen Lederer 'Manby's hilarious novels still shine out' - OK!

Hodder & Stoughton

Spa Wars

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Hodder Paperbacks

Marrying for Money

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Hodder Paperbacks

The Matchbreaker

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby

When Lindsey Parker's widowed father announces that he is to remarry, Lindsey does what any good daughter would do: wishes him congratulations then sets about trying to kill his fiancée, Karen. Fortunately, the murder attempt fails but Lindsey still succeeds in driving Karen off. It doesn't take long, however, before Lindsey realises that her father's heart really is broken and the only way to mend it is by getting Karen back.But Karen is already seeing someone else - a mysterious entrepreneur. Lindsey decides to enlist the help of an old schoolmate-turned-private detective to break this new couple up. But as her plan gets underway, Lindsey senses she is falling for the very person she needs to drive away...

Hodder Paperbacks

Flatmates

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby

Have you ever shared a flat with your so-called friends? Do you remember with a shudder the squabbles over the itemised phone bill, the cleaning rota and whose turn it is to do the washing up? If so, you'll sympathise with the three troubled occupants of No. 67 Artesia Road.Fiona - who's been offered a glorious job in New York, but can't bear to leave Tim, her brilliant - but none-too-devoted - fiancé.Kerry - who's fed up with spending Saturday night alone in front of the TV, fantasising about her devastatingly handsome - but unavailable - boss.Linzi - who won't be tied down by anybody or anything.They think they've got problems. But nothing can prepare them for the chaos which ensues when Linzi's latest boyfriend arrives on the scene. Gorgeous but feckless, Gaetano spells trouble with a capital 'T'. And soon events are spiralling out of everyone's control . . .Praise for Chrissie Manby'If you've ever shared a flat, been to a bad party or fallen in love with the wrong man, you'll find this book spot on' - Company'Manby's hilarious novels still shine out' - OK!

Hodder Paperbacks

Girl Meets Ape

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Hodder Paperbacks

Getting Personal

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby

'Her witty take on life and love hits the mark once again' - Buzz'Manby will have you in fits once again' - OK!Why is it that your best friend always seems to end up with men who treat her badly? Why is that your best male friend seems intent on dating the kind of girl who thinks that Nietzche is an STD? Why is it that your own little black book looks more and more like the non-celeb client list of the Priory? Why can't any of you find someone quite right?Ruby, Martin and Lou are three old friends who have spent too much time talking about the ones that got away. Facing another summer without love, they decide to approach the dating dilemma in the way they approached finding flatmates. They're going to place personal ads. For one another.