Tom Chatfield - This is Gomorrah - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473681408
    • Publication date:21 Mar 2019
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473681415
    • Publication date:21 Mar 2019

This is Gomorrah

By Tom Chatfield

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

Bad people. Good Times.

The Dark Web is everywhere - and those who know where to look, and who to ask, can find anything. Drugs, guns, porn, ideologies, lives and deaths are all up for sale . . . and everything must go.

Set in the technological underbelly of the 21st century, this conspiracy thriller follows elite hacker Azi Bello on a journey of discovery into the dark marketplace known as Gomorrah, within which the world's worst people trade lives and influence. Taking the reader between London, Berlin, Athens and Los Angeles, as well as into terrorist-controlled Syrian cities, THIS IS GOMORRAH explores what it means to win, and to lose, at the global game of ideology and power.

A loner, charmer, idealist and connoisseur of other people's mistakes, Azi's life is spun around by a mysterious approach from a young Muslim woman called Munira, and before long his carefully crafted privacy comes crashing down. Munira is at her wits' end, a fellow hacker whose cousin has been recruited by terrorists, and who has unearthed a terrible conspiracy in her struggle to bring him home. She needs Azi's help and connections to track him down.

But can she be trusted? Can Azi trust anyone when identities can be changed with just a few clicks. . ?

Biographical Notes

Tom Chatfield took a doctorate and taught at St John's College, Oxford, before beginning work as a writer and editor. His first book, on the culture of video games, Fun Inc., was published worldwide in 2010, followed by further books exploring digital culture. He is an associate editor at Prospect magazine, Fellow at The School of Life and past guest faculty member at the Said Business School, Oxford, as well as a columnist for the BBC. A frequent speaker and consultant on technology and new media, he spoke at TED Global 2010 on "7 ways games reward the brain", was lead content designer and writer on Preloaded's game The End, and appears regularly in the British and international media as a commentator. His work is published in over two dozen languages.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473681378
  • Publication date: 21 Mar 2019
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

The Fifth Doctrine

Karen Robards
Authors:
Karen Robards

THE BRAND NEW ACTION-PACKED, FAST-PACED THRILLER FROM NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR KAREN ROBARDS. PERFECT FOR FANS OF KAREN ROSE OR FILM RED SPARROW With her back against the wall, everything's on the line for Bianca St. Ives. She's either going to save the world-or die tryingIt took one hell of an effort for the authorities to finally get the jump on master manipulator Bianca St. Ives, but now that they have, it's far from the capture she expected. Instead of taking her in, there's an offer on the table, a one-shot deal that would allow Bianca to walk away scot-free as if they'd never found her. And all she has to do is run one last mission-the kind she might never return from. But if Bianca wants to go back to her normal life in Savannah, it's not like she has a choice . . . OR ORDER THE FIRST IN THE SERIES - THE ULTIMATUM - NOW

Mulholland Books

An Elephant of Surprise

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale
Mulholland Books

Last Night

Karen Ellis
Authors:
Karen Ellis
Hodder & Stoughton

Dark Age

Pierce Brown
Authors:
Pierce Brown
Hodder & Stoughton

The Reckoning

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham

John Grisham returns to Clanton, Mississippi, to tell the story of an unthinkable murder, the bizarre trial that followed it, and its profound and lasting effect on the people of Ford County. Pete Banning was Clanton's favourite son, a returning war hero, the patriarch of a prominent family, a farmer, father, neighbour, and a faithful member of the Methodist Church. Then one cool October morning in 1946. he rose early, drove into town, walked into the church, and calmly shot and killed the Reverend Dexter Bell.As if the murder wasn't shocking enough, it was even more baffling that Pete's only statement about it - to the sheriff, to his defense attorney, to the judge, to his family and friends, and to the people of Clanton - was 'I have nothing to say'.And so the murder of the esteemed Reverend Bell became the most mysterious and unforgettable crime Ford County had ever known.Praise for Grisham's latest book, The Rooster Bar'Scintillating storytelling' - The Sunday Times'A buoyant, mischievous thriller . . . This reliable best-selling author is feeling real pleasure, and not just obligation, in delivering his work' - New York Times'A wild, hard-to-put-down romp' - Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Coronet

Head Hunters

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

The attack dog had its jaws clamped round the target's forearm and had sunk its teeth into his flesh. Danny could see the dark stain of blood through his night-vision goggles. The screaming had stopped. The target was staring blindly into the darkness, but he clearly knew there were armed men approaching him...Helmand Province, Afghanistan. The Taliban are on the rise.A top-secret SAS kill team is assassinating high-value targets. It is bloody, violent, relentless work, suitable only for the Regiment's most skilled and ruthless head hunters.Like Danny Black.But when Danny joins the kill team, he learns that Taliban militants are not his only problem. There are elements within the British Army who want to bring the SAS to book. And there are elements within the SAS who have their crosshairs on Danny himself.Framed for a sickening war crime, Danny finds himself hunted in a brutal, dangerous terrain where his wits, training and strength may not be enough to survive. And in a world where his enemies are closer than he could have imagined, he must do whatever it takes to get to the truth. If he fails, it will mean the end not only of Danny Black, but of the SAS itself.

Hodder & Stoughton

Flight or Fright

Stephen King, Bev Vincent, Michael Lewis, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Richard Matheson, Ambrose Bierce, E.C. Tubb, Tom Bissell, Dan Simmons, Cody Goodfellow, John Varley, Joe Hill, David J. Schow, Ray Bradbury, Roald Dahl, Peter Treemayne, James L. Dickey
Authors:
Stephen King, Bev Vincent, Michael Lewis, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Richard Matheson, Ambrose Bierce, E.C. Tubb, Tom Bissell, Dan Simmons, Cody Goodfellow, John Varley, Joe Hill, David J. Schow, Ray Bradbury, Roald Dahl, Peter Treemayne, James L. Dickey
Hodder & Stoughton

Court of Wolves

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young
Hodder & Stoughton

All the Hidden Truths

Claire Askew
Authors:
Claire Askew

A wrenching, gripping, unforgettable debut crime novel for fans of Susie Steiner and Kate Atkinson.This is a fact: Ryan Summers walked into Three Rivers College and killed thirteen women, then himself. But no one can say why. The question is one that cries out to be answered - by Ryan's mother, Moira; by Ishbel, the mother of Abigail, the first victim; and by DI Helen Birch, put in charge of the case on her first day at her new job. But as the tabloids and the media swarm, as the families' secrets come out, as the world searches for someone to blame... the truth seems to vanish.A stunningly moving novel from an exciting new voice in crime, ALL THE HIDDEN TRUTHS will cause you to question your assumptions about the people you love, and reconsider how the world reacts to tragedy.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Mulholland Books

Make Them Sorry

Sam Hawken
Authors:
Sam Hawken
Hodder & Stoughton

Tailspin

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown

'Everyone, and that means everyone is hiding secrets. . . ' NetGalley reviewer Don't miss the spine tingling suspense in this thriller about a daring pilot caught in a race against time from #1 New York Times bestselling authorRye Mallett, a fearless 'freight dog' pilot charged with flying cargo to far-flung locations, is often rough-spoken and soft of regulations. But he does have a rock-solid reputation: he will fly in the foulest weather, day or night and deliver the goods. So when Rye is asked the fly into a completely fogbound northern Georgia town and deliver a mysterious black box to a Dr Lambert, he doesn't ask questions. As Rye's plane nears the isolated landing strip, worse trouble than bad weather awaits him. He is greeted first by a sabotage attempt that causes him to crash land; and then by Dr Brynn O'Neal, who claims she was sent for the box in Dr Lambert's stead. Rye finds himself irresistibly drawn to the intrigue surrounding his cargo . . . and to the mysterious and alluring Brynn. Soon Rye and Brynn are in a treacherous forty-eight-house race to deliver the box. With everyone from law enforcement officials to hired thugs hot on their heels, they must learn to trust each other so they can protect their valuable cargo from those who would kill for it. **********Praise for Sandra Brown'Suspense that has teeth'Stephen King'Lust, jealousy, and murder suffuse Brown's crisp thriller'Publishers Weekly'An edge-of-the-seat thriller that's full of twists . . . Top stuff!'Star

Mulholland Books

Take Me In

Sabine Durrant
Authors:
Sabine Durrant
Hodder & Stoughton

Not That I Could Tell

Jessica Strawser
Authors:
Jessica Strawser
John Murray

Codename Villanelle

Luke Jennings
Authors:
Luke Jennings
Hodder Paperbacks

Takedown

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

A heart-pounding new standalone thriller from Sunday Times bestselling author Stephen Leather. 'He has the uncanny knack of producing plots that are all too real, and this is no exception' (Daily Mail on First Response)When a British Special Forces soldier goes rogue, carrying out an attack at a US army base in Syria leading to the death of two men, ex-MI5 controller Charlotte Button is hired to work out what his plan is and to take him down before he can carry it out.Charlotte puts her best man on the case - hitman Lex Harper. It's up to Lex to assemble a crack team and get to the soldier before he carries out what could be a massive terrorist attack. But Charlotte might require Lex's help with a more personal problem too . . .As ex-MI5, Charlotte holds information on thousands of the agency's dirty operations, and keeps a store of those secrets in three flash drives hidden in separate safety deposit vaults. Now someone is taking extraordinary measures to recover the secrets through Hatton Garden-style robberies. So far two vaults have been raided, and two flash drives have gone. If the third is stolen, Charlotte's life will be in jeopardy. While it's down to Lex to prevent a potential terrorist attack on British soil, Charlotte must work out who is after her and what they want.

Hodder & Stoughton

Camino Island

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Hodder & Stoughton

Dark Forces

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Coronet

Killing for the Company

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Coronet

Osama

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Coronet

Masters of War

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan