Pamela Hansford-Johnson - The Last Resort - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473679955
    • Publication date:04 Oct 2018

The Last Resort

The Modern Classic

By Pamela Hansford-Johnson

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Rediscover a classic gem in this sparkling and satirical tale of a groups of friends maybe a little too close by Pamela Hansford Johnson.

'A very cool and intelligent writer' TLS

Delve into the world of Pamela Hansford Johnson in this tale of love, guilt and secrecy, perfect for fans of Barbara Pym and Elizabeth Jane Howard.

Writer Christine Hall's own loving relationships and empathetic intelligence make her the perfect confidante for a group of friends: architect Eric Aveling - whose wife Lois is dying, Junius Evans, Aveling's flamboyant business partner, and, above all, eccentric, impulsive Celia Baird. When death forces a realignment of relationships within the group even the perceptive Christine is not prepared for the final outcome.

Moving between London and a south coast seaside town, The Last Resort is a sensitive and vividly human exploration of the hidden side of marriage, where dark undercurrents of duty, guilt, secrecy and loneliness can all play a part in deviating the course of love and influencing the choices that life thrusts upon us.

'Miss Johnson is one of the most accomplished women writers' Kirkus

Biographical Notes

Pamela Hansford Johnson was born in 1912. As a novelist, she gained recognition with her first novel, This Bed Thy Centre, published in 1935. She then went on to write 26 more novels throughout her life, ranging in genre from romantic and high comedy to tragedy, and the psychological study of cruelty, with themes centred around the moral responsibility of the individual in their personal and social relations. She was also a well-respected critic, a leading Proustian scholar, an essayist, a playwright, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and a CBE. She died in 1981.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473679948
  • Publication date: 04 Oct 2018
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Mulholland Books

On My Life

Angela Clarke
Authors:
Angela Clarke
Sceptre

Bangkok Wakes to Rain

Pitchaya Sudbanthad
Authors:
Pitchaya Sudbanthad
Hodder & Stoughton

Just a Normal First-Time Mummy

Helen Wallen
Authors:
Helen Wallen

The award winning 'Just A Normal Mummy' blogger returns with another frank and hilarious novel on the first twelve months of motherhood.

John Murray

The Human Tide

Paul Morland
Authors:
Paul Morland

Every phase since the advent of the industrial revolution - from the fate of the British Empire, to the global challenges from Germany, Japan and Russia, to America's emergence as a sole superpower, to the Arab Spring, to the long-term decline of economic growth that started with Japan and has now spread to Europe, to China's meteoric economy, to Brexit and the presidency of Donald Trump - can be explained better when we appreciate the meaning of demographic change across the world.The Human Tide is the first popular history book to redress the underestimated influence of population as a crucial factor in almost all of the major global shifts and events of the last two centuries - revealing how such events are connected by the invisible mutually catalysing forces of population.This highly original history offers a brilliant and simple unifying theory for our understanding the last two hundred years: the power of sheer numbers. An ambitious, original, magisterial history of modernity, it taps into prominent preoccupations of our day and will transform our perception of history for many years to come.

Hodder Paperbacks

From Twinkle, With Love

Sandhya Menon
Authors:
Sandhya Menon
Sceptre

When All is Said

Anne Griffin
Authors:
Anne Griffin

'An extraordinary novel, a poetic writer, and a story that moved me to tears.' John BoyneA tale of a single night. The story of a lifetime. If you had to pick five people to sum up your life, who would they be? If you were to raise a glass to each of them, what would you say? And what would you learn about yourself, when all is said and done?This is the story of Maurice Hannigan, an Irish farmer. Over the course of a Saturday night in June, he orders five drinks at the Rainsford House Hotel, and with each he toasts a key person from his life: his adored older brother; his troubled sister-in-law; his daughter of fifteen minutes; his son far off in America; and his late, much missed wife. Through these people, the ones who have left him behind, he tells the story of his own life, with all its regrets and feuds, loves and triumphs. Exquisitely written and powerfully felt, When All is Said promises to be the next great Irish novel.'A hugely enjoyable, engrossing novel, a genuine page-turner.' Donal Ryan

Hodder & Stoughton

An Impossible Marriage

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder & Stoughton

This Bed Thy Centre

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Holiday Friend

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder Paperbacks

The Unspeakable Skipton

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder & Stoughton

Muse of Nightmares

Laini Taylor
Authors:
Laini Taylor

The first hardback print run of MUSE OF NIGHTMARES will have beautiful sprayed edges. Available for pre-order only! Don't miss out on this extra-special version of the book. Sarai has lived and breathed nightmares since she was six years old. She believed she knew every horror, and was beyond surprise. She was wrong. In the wake of tragedy, neither Lazlo nor Sarai are who they were before. One a god, the other a ghost, they struggle to grasp the new boundaries of their selves as dark-minded Minya holds them hostage, intent on vengeance against Weep.Lazlo faces an unthinkable choice - save the woman he loves, or everyone else? - while Sarai feels more helpless than ever. But is she? Sometimes, only the direst need can teach us our own depths, and Sarai, the muse of nightmares, has not yet discovered what she's capable of.As humans and godspawn reel in the aftermath of the citadel's near fall, a new foe shatters their fragile hopes, and the mysteries of the Mesarthim are resurrected: Where did the gods come from, and why? What was done with the thousands of children born in the citadel nursery? And most important of all, as forgotten doors are opened and new worlds revealed: must heroes always slay monsters, or is it possible to save them instead?Love and hate, revenge and redemption, destruction and salvation all clash in this gorgeous sequel to the New York Times bestseller, Strange the Dreamer.Praise for Strange the Dreamer 'Magical' Grazia'Prepare to be enchanted' Sun'Leaves the reader enthralled, enchanted and entirely entranced' New York Journal of Books'Laini Taylor is so damn good and like no other' Leigh Bardugo, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom

Hodder Paperbacks

Ladies' Bane

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth

Miss Silver must unravel a tangled web of marriage, mystery and murder'Ranks with the best of the golden-age detectives' Daily MailNo one has seen Allegra Trent since she got married. Her husband swept her off her feet and out of London, to a faraway town called Bleake. She has stopped writing letters, and her family has begun to worry. Allegra's husband is a strange man. He is consumed with his dream of owning the ramshackle estate curiously known as Ladies' Bane, and he intends to use his new wife's money to do it. Why he wants to live there no one knows, but Josepha Bowden does not want his castle to become her goddaughter's prison. She asks the help of Maud Silver, the former governess who now makes a living using her reason to unravel the intricacies of murder. There has been no killing in Bleake, but if Miss Silver doesn't intervene quickly, there could be one soon.'A first-rate storyteller' Daily Telegraph

Hodder Paperbacks

Spotlight

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth
Hodder & Stoughton

The Balcony

Jane Delury
Authors:
Jane Delury
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin
Hodder & Stoughton

Trying

Emily Phillips
Authors:
Emily Phillips

From the 'Marian Keyes of the social media age' comes Trying, a hilarious novel about what to expect when you're not expecting 'Brilliant' Stylist'Funny, bittersweet and touching . . . I couldn't put it down!' Marian Keyes ********* Olivia and Felix are trying for a baby. They even moved to the suburbs in anticipation of their future family. But despite approaching her cycle and their sex life with military precision, there's still no sign of what felt like the sure next step, whilst friends' broods seem to be growing by the week. Meanwhile, vying for a promotion at work under the (very attentive) watch of a new boss sends Olivia down a dangerous road of risking it all. Does a happy ever after, she starts to question, even have to include a baby? A hugely funny, searingly honest comedy for fans of Sharon Horgan's Catastrophe, Dawn O'Porter's The Cows and Mhairi McFarlane's It's Not Me, It's You. ********* More praise for Trying:'A tender and funny story' Prima'Warm and brilliant' Lucy Vine, author of Hot Mess'A deeply moving and raw story, told with great humour' Louise O'Neill, author of Asking for It

Hodder & Stoughton

Don Quixote

Miguel De Cervantes
Authors:
Miguel De Cervantes

DON QUIXOTE - by far the most famous book in Spanish literature - was originally intended by Cervantes as a skit on traditional popular ballads, but he also parodied the romances of chivalry. As a result he produced one of the most entertaining adventure stories of all time and created, in Don Quixote and his faithful squire, Sancho Panza, two of the greatest characters in fiction. By 1615, when he died 'old, a soldier, a gentleman and poor!' his work was already famous both in English and in French, and is now regularly nominated as the world's greatest work of fiction.

Hodder & Stoughton

Martin Chuzzlewit

Charles Dickens
Authors:
Charles Dickens

MARTIN CHUZZLEWIT is beloved as Dickens' last great Picaresque novel, and is noted as the turning point between his early comic novels and the later sombre social critiques. Through the far-ranging escapades of young Martin, grandson of a rich but misanthropic old man, Dickens weaves a spellbinding story of adventure, intrigue and, eventually, redemption.

Hodder & Stoughton

Our Mutual Friend

Charles Dickens
Authors:
Charles Dickens
Hodder & Stoughton

Oliver Twist

Charles Dickens
Authors:
Charles Dickens

Through the immortal characters of Oliver, Nancy, Bill Sikes, Fagin, the Artful Dodger and Mr Bumble, Dickens mercilessly sends up the hypocrisy of nineteenth-century life - the high-minded reformism of the intellectuals and the snobbery of those in power.(P)1995 Hodder & Stoughton Audiobooks