Pamela Hansford-Johnson - This Bed Thy Centre - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473679863
    • Publication date:04 Oct 2018

This Bed Thy Centre

The Modern Classic

By Pamela Hansford-Johnson

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Rediscover a classic gem with Pamela Hansford Johnson's THIS BED THY CENTRE, the explosive, defining novel about sex in 1930s London.

Delve into the sparkling and satirical world of Pamela Hansford Johnson through her explosive debut, This Bed Thy Centre. . .

'Very funny' Independent

'Remarkable' Olivia Laing, Guardian

Sixteen year old Elsie Cotton, who lives with her widowed mother in south London, wants someone to explain to her what sexual intercourse is. Her mother won't tell her, and nor will her teacher; her boyfriend Roly is only too willing to show her, but fear of the unknown and her understanding of the potential consequences stop her.
As she and Roly continue their courtship, it becomes clear that the only way Elsie will take the leap into bed is if they're married...

This era-defining novel - which was banned from Battersea library on publication - explores down-at-heel south London in the 30's and attitudes towards sex. The Daily Express said at the time:
'Miss Johnson will be able to write when she has persuaded herself that there are other things in the world besides sex.'

Luckily for Miss Johnson, this was the debut novel that was followed by 27 other novels in a career that ended in her being called 'one of Britain's best-known novelists' by the Telegraph.

Biographical Notes

Pamela Hansford Johnson was born in 1912. As a novelist, she gained recognition with her first novel, This Bed Thy Centre, published in 1935. She then went on to write 26 more novels throughout her life, ranging in genre from romantic and high comedy to tragedy, and the psychological study of cruelty, with themes centred around the moral responsibility of the individual in their personal and social relations. She was also a well-respected critic, a leading Proustian scholar, an essayist, a playwright, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and a CBE. She died in 1981.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473679856
  • Publication date: 04 Oct 2018
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Hodder & Stoughton

An Impossible Marriage

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Holiday Friend

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Unspeakable Skipton

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Last Resort

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson

Delve into the witty and wonderful world of Barbara Pym, in this tale of love, guilt and secrecy, perfect for fans of Barbara Pym and Elizabeth Jane Howard.'Very funny' IndependentWriter Christine Hall's own loving relationships and empathetic intelligence make her the perfect confidante for a group of friends: architect Eric Aveling - whose wife Lois is dying, Junius Evans, Aveling's flamboyant business partner, and, above all, eccentric, impulsive Celia Baird. When death forces a realignment of relationships within the group even the perceptive Christine is not prepared for the final outcome. Moving between London and a south coast seaside town, The Last Resort is a sensitive and vividly human exploration of the hidden side of marriage, where dark undercurrents of duty, guilt, secrecy and loneliness can all play a part in deviating the course of love and influencing the choices that life thrusts upon us.'Remarkable' Olivia Laing, Guardian'Miss Johnson is one of the most accomplished women writers' Kirkus

Hodder Paperbacks

Ladies' Bane

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth

Miss Silver travels to the country to investigate a young man who may be deceiving his wife...No one has seen Allegra Trent since she got married. Her husband swept her off her feet and out of London, to a faraway town called Bleake. She has stopped writing letters, and her family has begun to worry.Allegra's husband is a strange man, consumed with the dream of owning a ramshackle medieval estate, and he intends to use his new wife's money to do it. Why he wants to live there no one knows, but Josepha Bowden does not want his castle to become her goddaughter's prison.She asks the help of Maud Silver, the former governess who now makes a living using her reason to unravel the intricacies of murder. There has been no killing in Bleake, but if Miss Silver doesn't intervene quickly, there could be one soon.

Hodder & Stoughton

Springtime at Wildacre: a gorgeously uplifting, feel-good romance

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Sceptre

Claudia

Anthony Trevelyan
Authors:
Anthony Trevelyan

How good are people? Let me tell you, Dee: people are as good as the pair of eyes they believe is on them...When Claudia Talwar is called to meet a mysterious visitor in the reception of her Manchester office block, she can't believe her eyes. It's Samson Glaze, former hippy turned internationally famous entrepreneur, and the fifteen-years-absent father figure of her youth.It doesn't take much for Samson to convince her to help find his son, Reggie Glaze, who's got into a bit of trouble: namely, he's joined a group called Tarantula who wear black armbands and seem obsessed with 'the next world'. Before she knows it, Claudia finds herself swept into a dark adventure of solar power, a hammer wielding assassin, and the end of our world . . .'Trevelyan's prose is wholly readable, with wonderful, concise details that conjure full moments in perfect little capsules' Dublin Inquirer

Hodder & Stoughton

Go Ask Fannie Farmer

Elisabeth Hyde
Authors:
Elisabeth Hyde

Murray Blair had some serious matters to discuss this weekend, and he wanted things to run smoothly. But harmony, that Artful Dodger in so many families, had its way of eluding his family as well.'A remarkably lucid and authoritative novelist' John Irving******Though the adult Blair siblings have agreed to keep things calm and amiable on a trip to stay with their elderly father, each arrives, in true Blair style, with a secret agenda. But plans are derailed when Lizzie, the youngest, turns up late with a burnt hand, impending criminal charges, and a damp family cookbook: Fannie Farmer's Boston Cooking School. The now ruined cookbook is the last vestige of a more idyllic time, when there were four siblings, not three, a public family reputation to uphold, and a mother whose handwritten notes in the margins of the recipes are their last link to her after the accident years ago. But secrets will always out, especially amongst family: and this weekend, the Blair siblings will learn that there is more to their mother's story than they could have anticipated... Told in three parts, roving between then and now, Go Ask Fannie Farmer tells of the life and death of Lillian Blair, the over-bearing, bickering, but loving children who look for ways to connect with one another in her absence, and the inner lives we hide from our families.'Hyde's latest novel will delight readers' Booklist

Hodder & Stoughton

The Maid's Room

Fiona Mitchell
Authors:
Fiona Mitchell

'A modern-day The Help' - Emerald Street'It's a book to read and then read again.' The Book Bag'I loved The Maid's Room with its exquisite writing, married with a shocking and powerful story line that had me gripped and moved until the uplifting conclusion.' Katie Marsh, author of A Life Without You and This Beautiful Life'A beautifully written and deeply moving novel . . . crafted with a mixture of grim detail, dark humour and poignancy, at times it's hard to believe that this book is a work of fiction. Genuinely excellent. *****' Heat******'This is where she sleeps. A cupboard. A bedroom. A windowless box.'Sisters Dolly and Tala have never felt further from home. In the blistering heat of Singapore, they spend their days enabling ex-pats to have lives they could never afford for themselves.Even though she has little freedom, Dolly can just about live with her job if it means she's able to support her beloved young daughter back in the Philippines. One day - if she's lucky - Dolly may even be able to go back and see her.Tala, however, just can't keep her mouth shut about the restrictive, archaic rules maids are forced to abide by on pain of deportation. She risks everything to help her fellow maids, who have struggled to have their voices heard for far too long.In a world where domestic workers are treated so poorly, The Maid's Room explores how women can come together to change each other's lives, and be the architects of their own futures.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Best Kind of People

Zoe Whittall
Authors:
Zoe Whittall
Hodder & Stoughton

Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson

A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie.'A delightfully uplifting mystery with a distinctly P.G. Wodehouse-ian feel. Navigating ancient castles, and family feuds, Dandy Gilver must also contend with a ribald staging of Shakespeare's Macbeth. I loved the sense of fun, the wonderful use of language . . . satisfying on many levels.' Vaseem Khan, author of the Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector ChopraScotland, 1934. Aristocratic private detective Dandy Gilver arrives at Castle Bewer, at midsummer, to solve the tangled mystery of a missing man, a lost ruby and a family curse. The Bewer family's latest wheeze to keep the wolf from the door is turning the castle keep into a theatre. While a motley band of players rehearse Macbeth, the Bewers themselves prepare lectures, their faithful servants set up a tearoom, and the guest wings fill with rich American ladies seeking. Meanwhile, Dandy and her sidekick Alec Osborne begin to unravel the many secrets of the Bewers and find that, despite the witches, murders and ghosts onstage, it's behind the scenes where the darkest deeds are done.'The perfect read for those who enjoy the bygoneworld charm of Nancy Mitford, Evelyn Waugh and Agatha Christie.' - The Lady on Dandy Gilver and a Most Misleading Habit'Catriona McPherson is a writer as talented as she is versatile. Dandy Gilver tackles a Golden Age era puzzle with her usual aplomb when the Scottish play offers a Shakespearean twist to a mystery with plenty of classic ingredients.' Martin Edwards'Dandy Gilver is a fabulous character. a cross between Nancy Drew and the Australian crime cracker Miss Fisher. She is both relentless and brilliant.' Amazon Reviewer

Sceptre

Before Everything

Victoria Redel
Authors:
Victoria Redel
Hodder & Stoughton

These Dividing Walls

Fran Cooper
Authors:
Fran Cooper
Hodder & Stoughton

Beyond the Wild River

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine
Sceptre

The Barrowfields

Phillip Lewis
Authors:
Phillip Lewis
Sceptre

The Brittle Star

Davina Langdale
Authors:
Davina Langdale
Two Roads

Love & Friendship

Whit Stillman
Authors:
Whit Stillman
Teach Yourself

Masterclass: Get Your Book Published

Katherine Lapworth
Authors:
Katherine Lapworth
Hodder & Stoughton

The Island of the Dead

Philip Hook
Authors:
Philip Hook
Hodder & Stoughton

Bitter Sweet

Denise Robins
Authors:
Denise Robins