Pamela Hansford-Johnson - An Impossible Marriage - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473679801
    • Publication date:04 Oct 2018

An Impossible Marriage

The Modern Classic

By Pamela Hansford-Johnson

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Rediscover a classic gem in this sparkling and satirical tale of a love affair most ill-advised by Pamela Hansford Johnson.

Plunge yourself into the sparkling and deliciously satirical world of Pamela Hansford Johnson, one of Britain's wittiest authors, in this tale of a love affair most ill-advised. . .
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Jane Howard and Barbara Pym.

Living out her happy teenage years in south-west London, Christine's only worries are living in the shadow of her beautiful, dazzling best friend Iris, and avoiding the disapproval of her manager if she's late from her lunch break.

But when Chris is suddenly whisked off her feet by the mysterious - and much older - Ned, her life takes a swift about turn. Choosing to give up her job as a secretary in order to marry, Chris commits herself to life with Ned, only to discover that this beguiling man may not be the person she originally thought...

"I told him that I would do whatever he said, that I would learn from him, that I would trust my life to him. When he thought I was sufficiently conscious of my errors he took me and kissed me until I was breathless with joy and on the edge of hysterical tears; but inside of me a small, cold critic sat aloof..."


'Very funny' Independent
'Witty, satirical and deftly malicious' Anthony Burgess

Biographical Notes

Pamela Hansford Johnson was born in 1912. As a novelist, she gained recognition with her first novel, This Bed Thy Centre, published in 1935. She then went on to write 26 more novels throughout her life, ranging in genre from romantic and high comedy to tragedy, and the psychological study of cruelty, with themes centred around the moral responsibility of the individual in their personal and social relations. She was also a well-respected critic, a leading Proustian scholar, an essayist, a playwright, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and a CBE. She died in 1981.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473679818
  • Publication date: 04 Oct 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder Paperbacks

This Bed Thy Centre

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder Paperbacks

The Holiday Friend

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson

Delve into the sparkling and satirical world of Pamela Hansofrd Johnson, one of Britain's wittiest authors, in this tale of sinister obsession and friendship most deadly. . . Art historian Gavin and his wife Hannah, along with their young son Giles, arrive in a quiet seaside town in Belgium to enjoy a peaceful summer holiday. Little do they realise someone has followed them to Belgium: Melissa Hirst, a student of Gavin who has fallen in love with him, living in a romantic fantasy. The couple become distracted as Melissa obsessively follows the family, deliberately bumping into them repeatedly, and the circus arrives in town: so they miss their small son secretly pursuing his own sinister friendship... The holiday that began so peacefully explodes in a shocking, deadly climax. 'Very funny' Independent'Witty, satirical and deftly malicious' Anthony Burgess

Hodder Paperbacks

The Unspeakable Skipton

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson

Delve into the sparkling and satirical world of Pamela Hansford Johnson with this wickedly funny tragicomedy about an expatriate and destitute English author living in Bruges. 'Very funny' Independent'Witty, satirical and deftly malicious' Anthony BurgessLiving in near destitution in Bruges, once successful British author Skipton is skulking in a café when he spies a group of well to do countrymen on holiday. Surviving on payments from his long-suffering publishers for novels he has no intention of delivering, and money from an elderly aunt, he spies an opportunity to swindle the tourists. But when an Italian aristocrat arrives, Skipton recognises an opportunity to earn even more, and conspires with a Flemish antique dealer to sell him a convincing fake. But will the conman himself be conned?

Hodder Paperbacks

The Last Resort

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder Paperbacks

Danger Point

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth

Miss Silver attempts to save a young girl from her murderous husband...Maud Silver, demure private eye, hardly has time to finish one adventure before another demands her attention. She is making her way back to London when, with a terrible jerk, her train thrusts a young woman into her compartment - a beautiful woman in a state of shock. She is Lisle Jerningham, a newlywed with money - which may be about to get her killed.Lisle fled her home in a hurry when she overheard a sinister conversation through the bushes. Her new husband's first wife died of an accident, and the resultant infusion of cash saved his family home. Now broke again, he may be trying to engineer a second convenient mishap.Lisle has already survived one attempt on her life, but only Miss Silver can help her make it through the next.

Hodder Paperbacks

Ladies' Bane

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth
Hodder Paperbacks

Spotlight

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth

When the menacing Gregory Porlock invites a group of unacquainted friends to his home, the house party takes on a sinister edge.The host himself is stabbed in the back, and it becomes clear to all that he was a blackmailer. But which of his unfortunate comrades would have thrust the fatal knife is up to Miss Silver to discover. Only she can see through the lies and motives, the clues and questions, to determine which guest made certain the party was over.

Hodder & Stoughton

Women of the Dunes

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine

The new gorgeously sweeping historical novel from Sarah Maine, the acclaimed author of The House Between Tides and Beyond the Wild River, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Jenny Ashcroft. On the rugged, sea-lashed coast of west Scotland lies Ullaness: home to the Scottish legend of Ulla, a Viking woman who washed up on Scottish shores centuries ago. The legend will bring the stories of three different women together...In AD 800 there is Ulla, lost in a new country, struggling to save her baby after her husband dies. Ellen, a servant-girl in the 1800s, catches the unwanted attentions of the master of the house. And, in the present day, there is Libby - an archaeologist who is determined to uncover an age-old mystery. When a body is excavated from Ullaness - the body of someone who was murdered long ago - the mystery deepens, and the fates of the three women become ever more tightly bound.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin
Hodder & Stoughton

These Dividing Walls

Fran Cooper
Authors:
Fran Cooper
Hodder & Stoughton

The Longest Journey

E M Forster
Authors:
E M Forster
Hodder & Stoughton

Maurice

E M Forster
Authors:
E M Forster

As Maurice Hall makes his way through a traditional English education, he projects an outer confidence that masks troubling questions about his own identity. Frustrated and unfulfilled, a product of the bourgeoisie he will grow to despise, he has difficulty acknowledging his nascent attraction to men. At Cambridge he meets Clive, who opens his eyes to a less conventional view of the nature of love. Yet when Maurice is confronted by the societal pressures of life beyond university, self-doubt and heartbreak threaten his quest for happiness.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Inner Circle

Brad Meltzer
Authors:
Brad Meltzer

The darkest secret of the U.S. Presidency is about to be revealed.Beecher White, a young archivist for the US government, has always been the keeper of other people's stories, never a part of the story himself . . . Until now.While Beecher is showing Clementine Kaye, his first childhood crush, around the National Archives, they accidentally uncover a priceless artefact - a two-hundred-year-old dictionary once belonging to George Washington. Suddenly Beecher and Clementine are entangled in a web of conspiracy and murder.Beecher's race to learn the truth behind this mysterious treasure will lead to a code that conceals a disturbing secret from the nation's founding. A secret that some believe is worth killing for.

Hodder & Stoughton

Where Angels Fear to Tread

E M Forster
Authors:
E M Forster
Hodder & Stoughton

The Girl In The Cellar

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth

A witness who remembers nothing is in mortal danger.A young woman regains consciousness and finds herself on some cellar steps. At the bottom of the steps there is the corpse of a dead girl. She cannot remember who she is, what has happened or why she is there. Terrified and confused she manages to find a way out and as she flees she runs into Miss Silver, who offers to help her.A letter in her bag is the only clue to her identity. But by investigating what has happened to her will she find herself in danger? Can she trust the letter writer? And who is the girl in the cellar?

Hodder & Stoughton

The Ivory Dagger

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth

A classic mystery novel from one of the mistresses of the genre.Bill Waring, collecting his wits in hospital after a train crash, receives only one letter from Lila Dryden, his fiancée. When he discovers Lady Dryden, Lila's guardian, has pressured her into an engagement with Herbert Whitall, he is furious.Herbert Whitall is aggressive, with a cold-hearted possessiveness that expands past the bounds of his ivory collection he can't bear to lose. His employees hate him, Lila is terrified of him and it appears he has a hold on Lady Dryden.When a dagger in Whitall's collection becomes the instrument of his own death there are many suspects. Maud Silver must see that justice is done, not merely to punish the guilty, but to protect the innocent.

Hodder & Stoughton

Our Mutual Friend

Charles Dickens
Authors:
Charles Dickens
Hodder & Stoughton

Treasure Island

Robert Louis Stevenson
Authors:
Robert Louis Stevenson

When Jim Hawkins picks up the oilskin packet from Captain Flint's sea chest and finds a treasure map, he is catapulted into the adventure of a lifetime. As cabin-boy on the ship Hispaniola, with its crew of treacherous pirates led by Long John Silver, Jim finds himself in a world of villains and unexpected heroes.(P)2000 Hodder & Stoughton Audiobooks

Hodder & Stoughton

Persuasion

Jane Austen
Authors:
Jane Austen

PERSUASION is a tale of love and marriage, told with the irony and insight that sets Jane Austen's work apart. Anne Elliot and Captain Wentworth have met and separated years before. The story of how their reunion forces a recognition of the false values and people that drove them apart gives PERSUASION its enduring power.(P)1995 Hodder & Stoughton Audiobooks

Hodder Paperbacks

Pilgrim's Rest

Patricia Wentworth
Authors:
Patricia Wentworth

Judy Elliot, meeting an old friend, Detective Sergeant Abbott tells him that, having been left the custody of her motherless little niece, she is taking a domestic job in the country with a family named Pilgrim. Frank is appalled, mysterious deaths have been taking place there. A curse is on the house of Pilgrim's Rest and by the time Miss Silver investigates she has four murders to solve.