Antonia Hodgson - Untitled Historical Crime 2 - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473615137
    • Publication date:09 Aug 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473615120
    • Publication date:09 Aug 2018

Untitled Historical Crime 2

By Antonia Hodgson

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

Biographical Notes

Antonia Hodgson was born and grew up in Derby and studied English at the University of Leeds. Her debut novel, THE DEVIL IN THE MARSHALSEA, won the CWA Historical Dagger in 2014 and was shortlisted for the John Creasey First Novel award. In the US, Publishers Weekly named it one of the top 10 Mystery/Thriller titles of the year.
She was first introduced to the early Georgians while taking 'A' level History. Unfortunately the course focused almost exclusively on George II's ministerial reshuffles, a subject even George II found staggeringly dull. It was only later, on discovering Hogarth, The Beggar's Opera and Moll Flanders, that she became fascinated by an often-neglected period of British history. Her favourite quote about London in the 1720s comes from a disapproving Swiss traveller, who complained that 'debauch runs wild with an unblushing countenance'.
Antonia lives in London, where she works as an editor.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473675513
  • Publication date: 09 Aug 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder Paperbacks

Sons of the Blood

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young
Hodder & Stoughton

Crimson and Bone

Marina Fiorato
Authors:
Marina Fiorato
Hodder & Stoughton

Beyond the Wild River

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine

From the author of The House Between Tides comes a stunningly evocative historical novel, perfect for fans of The Essex Serpent.'Beautifully told and quietly absorbing' - Kate RiordanScotland,1893. Nineteen-year-old Evelyn Ballantyre, the daughter of a wealthy landowner, has rarely strayed from her family's estate in the Scottish Borders. She was once close to her philanthropist father, but his silence over what really happened on the day a poacher was shot on estate land has come between them. An invitation to accompany her father to Canada is a chance for Evelyn to escape her limited existence. But once there, on the wild and turbulent Nipigon river, she is shocked to discover that their guide is James Douglas, Ballantyre's former stable hand, and once her friend. He disappeared the night of the murder, charged with the shooting.Evelyn never believed that James was guilty - and her father's role in the killing has always been mysterious. What does he have to hide? In the wild landscape of a new world, far from the constraints of polite society, the secrets and lies surrounding that night are finally stripped away, with dramatic consequences.***'Maine writes beautifully about the wilderness' The Times'Riveting' Publishers Weekly'Stunning' Booklist'Maine's gift of setting the mood shines' RT Reviews

Hodder Paperbacks

The Cat of Yule Cottage

Lili Hayward
Authors:
Lili Hayward

A magical tale of Christmas and cats, perfect for everyone who loves A Street Cat Named Bob and Alfie the Doorstep Cat.It's nearly Christmas, and Jessamine Pike needs a serious life overhaul.Jess moves into Enysyule, a centuries-old cottage in Cornwall, and begins the process of renovating the rundown house by day and finishing her novel by night, planning to have both finished in time for the holidays. She's got good company: a beautiful, arrogant tomcat stalks around like he owns the place, and seems very skeptical of Jess' tenancy. But there's magic in the air... Local legends tell of a spirit that inhabits the area, and an ancient standing stone that keeps watch over the valley. As Christmas comes closer and closer, Jess uncovers treasures from Enysyule's past, and becomes involved in a fight for its future. For Jess has stumbled into a story that's been going on for five hundred years. A story about land, love, friendship, the Yuletide... and one remarkable cat.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Death at Fountains Abbey

Antonia Hodgson
Authors:
Antonia Hodgson
Two Roads

The Butcher's Hook

Janet Ellis
Authors:
Janet Ellis
Two Roads

Church of Marvels

Leslie Parry
Authors:
Leslie Parry
Hodder & Stoughton

The Last Confession of Thomas Hawkins

Antonia Hodgson
Authors:
Antonia Hodgson
Hodder Paperbacks

Pasha

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

The Spook Who Spoke Again

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis

Marcus Didius Alexander Postumus is a special boy. He is twelve, or perhaps eleven. He has two mothers and various possible fathers, so he worries who will take care of him. He is self-confident yet vulnerable, intelligent yet sinister. He knows not many people like him. When his birth mother, Thalia the snake-dancer, takes him to live with her troupe of exotic performers, Postumus sees it as useful experience even though it involves him mucking out menagerie cages. No one anticipates how much havoc he will wreak. On his first day a tragedy occurs. No one else cares, so Postumus decides he alone must solve this crime and impose retribution on the guilty. As son and brother to the famous investigators Falco and Albia, he knows murder is punished by execution. Postumus single-mindedly sets out to accomplish this, sidetracked by nothing, not even a rehearsal of Falco's legendary play, The Spook Who Spoke...

Hodder Paperbacks

The Emperor's Knives: Empire VII

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches
Hodder Paperbacks

The Devil in the Marshalsea

Antonia Hodgson
Authors:
Antonia Hodgson
Hodder Paperbacks

Paris

Edward Rutherfurd
Authors:
Edward Rutherfurd

City of love. City of splendour. City of terror. City of dreams.Inspired by the haunting, passionate story of the city of lights, this epic novel weaves a gripping tale of four families across the centuries: from the lies that spawn the noble line of de Cygne to the revolutionary Le Sourds who seek their destruction; from the Blanchards whose bourgeois respectability offers scant protection against scandal to the hard-working Gascons and their soaring ambitions. Over hundreds of years, these four families are bound by forbidden loves and marriages of convenience; dogged by vengeance and murderous secrets; torn apart by the irreconcilable differences of birth and faith, and brought together by the tumultuous history of their city. Paris bursts to life in the intrigue, corruption and glory of its people. Beloved author of Sarum, London and New York, Edward Rutherfurd illuminates Paris as only he can: capturing the romance and everyday drama of the men and women who, in two thousand years, transformed a humble trading post on the muddy banks of the Seine into the most celebrated city in the world.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Visitors

Rebecca Mascull
Authors:
Rebecca Mascull
Sceptre

The Daughters of Mars

Thomas Keneally
Authors:
Thomas Keneally
Two Roads

Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald

Therese Anne Fowler
Authors:
Therese Anne Fowler

'I wish I could tell everyone who thinks we're ruined... Look closer, and you'll see something extraordinary, mystifying, something real and true. We have never been what we seemed.'When beautiful, reckless Southern belle Zelda Sayre meets F. Scott Fitzgerald at a country club dance in 1918, she is seventeen and he is a young army lieutenant. Before long, Zelda has fallen for him, even though Scott isn't wealthy or prominent or even a Southerner and keeps insisting, absurdly, that his writing will bring him both fortune and fame. When he sells his first novel, she optimistically boards a train to New York, to marry him and take the rest as it comes.What comes, here at the dawn of the Jazz Age, is unimagined success and celebrity that will make Scott and Zelda legends in their own time. Each place they go becomes a playground: New York City, Long Island, Hollywood, Paris, and the French riviera - where they join the endless party of the glamorous, sometimes doomed Lost Generation that includes Ernest Hemingway, Sara and Gerald Murphy, and Gertrude Stein.Everything seems new and possible, but not even Jay Gatsby's parties go on forever. Who is Zelda, other than the wife of a famous - sometimes infamous - husband? With brilliant insight and imagination, Therese Anne Fowler brings us Zelda's irresistible story as she herself might have told it.

Hodder & Stoughton

Betrayal

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
John Murray

Hunter's Rage

Michael Arnold
Authors:
Michael Arnold

Hunter's Rage, the third in The Civil War Chronicles, Michael Arnold's acclaimed series of historical thrillers, sees battle-scarred hero Captain Stryker, 'the Sharpe of the Civil War', take on his oldest foe. 'Stands in comparison with the best of Cornwell' Yorkshire PostPosted to the hostile territory of Dartmoor, Captain Innocent Stryker and his men are attacked by an elite cavalry unit commanded by the formidable Colonel Gabriel Wild and suffer heavy losses. Stryker has already clashed once with Wild, and the Roundhead has sworn to seek his revenge. After the attack, Stryker is faced with the annihilation of his company as he is hounded across the moor, eventually seeking shelter on an isolated tor populared by an enigmatic former priest who harbours no love for the King's cause. Colonel Wild is assisted in his revenge by Osmyn Hogg, Parliamentarian Witchfinder, who shares his own deadly history with Stryker. To save his honour and his life, Stryker must lead his men to glory from the protection of the lonely granite-topped hill. Into this atmosphere of intrigue and danger comes the beautiful but mysterious Cecily Cade. Stryker comes to her aid, unaware that she carries with her special knowledge that may prove the key to Royalist victory.The battle between Stryker and his old foes takes him from the bleak isolation of Dartmoor, through the war-ravaged lands of southern England and finally to Stratton, where the bloody battle between Cornwall and Devon will decide the fate of the south-west.

Hodder Paperbacks

Whirlwind

James Clavell
Authors:
James Clavell
Sceptre

Confederates

Thomas Keneally
Authors:
Thomas Keneally