Graeme Simsion and Anne Buist - Two Steps Forward - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473675421
    • Publication date:05 Apr 2018
  • Hardback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473675407
    • Publication date:05 Apr 2018

Two Steps Forward

By Graeme Simsion and Anne Buist

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

A smart and funny story of mid-life and second chances from the author of The Rosie Project - two misfits walk 2,000 km along the pilgrims' way in Spain to find themselves and, perhaps, each other.

A story of mid-life and second chances from Graeme Simsion, author of The Rosie Project, and his wife Anne Buist

Soon to be a film produced by Ellen DeGeneres

Zoe, a sometime artist, is from California. Martin, an engineer, is from Yorkshire. Both have ended up in picturesque Cluny, in central France. Both are struggling to come to terms with their recent past - for Zoe, the death of her husband; for Martin, a messy divorce.

Looking to make a new start, each sets out alone to walk two thousand kilometres from Cluny to Santiago de Compostela, in northwestern Spain, in the footsteps of pilgrims who have walked the Camino (the Way) for centuries. The Camino changes you, it's said. It's a chance to find a new version of yourself, and a new beginning. But can these two very different people find themselves? Will they find each other?

In this smart, funny and romantic journey, Martin's and Zoe's stories are told in alternating chapters by husband-and-wife team Graeme Simsion and Anne Buist. Two Steps Forward is a novel about renewal - physical, psychological and spiritual. It's about the challenge of walking a long distance and of working out where you are going. And it's about what you decide to keep, what you choose to leave behind and what you rediscover.

Biographical Notes

Graeme Simsion (Author)
Graeme Simsion is the internationally bestselling author of The Rosie Project, The Rosie Effect and The Best of Adam Sharp.

graemesimsion.com
facebook.com/GraemeSimsionAuthor
@GraemeSimsion

Anne Buist (Author)
Anne Buist is chair of Women's Mental Health at the University of Melbourne and author of the Natalie King psychological thrillers.

aneebuist.com
facebook.com/anneebuist
@anneebuist

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473675438
  • Publication date: 05 Apr 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Two Roads
entertaining and refreshingly unpredictable — Frances Atkinson, Sydney Morning Herald
Hodder Paperbacks

The Two Houses

Fran Cooper
Authors:
Fran Cooper

Hodder & Stoughton

An Impossible Marriage

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder & Stoughton

This Bed They Centre

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Holiday Friend

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Unspeakable Skipton

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Last Resort

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson

Hodder Paperbacks

Never Go There: a gripping psychological thriller with a twist that'll shock you to the core

Rebecca Tinnelly
Authors:
Rebecca Tinnelly

What if you found out that you'd been married to a stranger? 'Never go there, Nuala. Please, never go there.'Nuala knows nothing of her husband James's past. He made her swear that she would never contact his family and never, EVER visit the place he was from.But now James is dead, and Nuala is alone. Grieving and desperate, she decides to ignore his warning.Nuala is about to find out that some secrets are better left buried - and that uncovering the truth about the man she married will have terrible consequences...Compulsive, disturbing and utterly addictive, NEVER GO THERE is a thrilling psychological suspense debut perfect for fans of Linda Green, Louise Jensen and Jenny Blackhurst.

Hodder & Stoughton

Nightblood

Elly Blake
Authors:
Elly Blake

Hodder Paperbacks

Springtime at Wildacre: a gorgeously uplifting, feel-good romance

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Teach Yourself

The Survival Manual

Jason Polley
Authors:
Jason Polley

Every year, more than 40,000 people climb Mount Kilimanjaro. Millions head for the greatoutdoors every weekend, and the concept of the Great Outdoors has never been morepopular. If you are one of them, would you know what to do if you got stranded or hurt?"How to Survive Outdoors" gives essential, practical advice for situationsthat aren't in any way implausible. It starts with ten life-saving tips, then outlinesthe crucial components - water, food, shelter and so on. It covers scenarios any one of uscould encounter, including plane crashes and sinkings.

Hodder & Stoughton

Ships of Mercy

Don Stephens
Authors:
Don Stephens
Hodder & Stoughton

Finding Sisu

Katja Pantzar
Authors:
Katja Pantzar
Two Roads

Pie and Mash on the Roman Road

Melanie McGrath
Authors:
Melanie McGrath
Sceptre

Lost and Found

Jules Montague
Authors:
Jules Montague

Beautifully written and deeply moving, this will be the definitive book for our times about how we are affected by Alzheimer's, Dementia, Amnesia and other brain disorders that affect memory and, ultimately, identity. The subject has found its ideal author in Jules Montague, a leading British neurologist and science writer, whose writing combines scientific expertise, profound humanity and spellbinding storytelling.Lost and Found began when Jules's close friend, Anna, asked her a question. Anna's mother had developed a brain tumour, diagnosed as late-stage. It had started with headaches but got worse. Eventually she was seeing double and hearing voices. Her mother, Anna explained, had started telling Anna she loved her, repeatedly. She had never done this before; never been demonstratively affectionate. The question Anna asked Jules was: was it really her mother talking? Was it part of her personality? Or was it an effect of the tumour on her brain? How do we disentangle these interpretations? Are they mutually incompatible? Might a neuropathological change make someone more, rather than less, themselves?In this book, through a series of stories, case studies and descriptions of neuroscience at the cutting edge, Jules will examine personal identity; what it is, how we lose it, to age, amnesia, dementia, Alzheimers; to what degree we remain the same people throughout our lives, how and why we change.An unforgettable book about what makes us who we are, Lost and Found could not be more timely, more important, more exciting or more essential.

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Revolutionary Ride

Lois Pryce
Authors:
Lois Pryce
Yellow Kite

WTF Should I Eat?

Mark Hyman
Authors:
Mark Hyman

No 1 New York Times bestselling author Dr Mark Hyman sorts through the conflicting research on food to give us the truth on what we should be eating and why. Did you know that porridge isn't actually a healthy way to start the day? That milk doesn't build bones, and eggs aren't the devil? In WTF Should I eat? - Dr Hyman looks at every food group and explains what we've gotten wrong, revealing which foods nurture our health and which pose a threat. He also explains the crucial role food plays in functional medicine and how food systems and policies affect our environmental and personal health.With myth-busting insights, easy-to-understand science, and delicious, wholesome recipes in every chapter, WTF Should I Eat? is an invaluable resource for cooking, eating and living well.'Dr Mark Hyman's WTF Should I Eat? offers a masterpiece of truth-telling, a subversive reproach to the industrial systems that threaten our very health - and how each of us can flourish by making better food choices. This could be the most useful book you will read.' - Daniel Goleman

Hodder & Stoughton

The School at the Top of the Dale

Gervase Phinn
Authors:
Gervase Phinn
Hodder & Stoughton

The Paras

Max Arthur
Authors:
Max Arthur

Published to coincide with 75th anniversary of its formation, this is the definitive history of the iconic Parachute Regiment, told through the voices of more than 200 of the soldiers themselves. From the daring raids of World War 2 through Northern Ireland, The Falklands, Bosnia and Afghanistan, the Paras have a reputation for being where the fighting is fiercest and the odds of survival are often stacked heavily against them. The gripping, visceral first person narrative makes this book stand apart from conventional regimental histories.

JM Originals

Elmet

Fiona Mozley
Authors:
Fiona Mozley
Hodder & Stoughton

Flame in the Mist

Renée Ahdieh
Authors:
Renée Ahdieh