Sam Thompson - Jott - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473675063
    • Publication date:14 Jun 2018

Jott

A John Murray Original

By Sam Thompson

  • Paperback
  • £12.99

The second novel from the author of the Man Booker-longlisted Communion Town

In February of 1935, two young Irishmen walk in the grounds of a London mental hospital. Arthur Bourne, a junior psychiatrist, is about to jeopardise his future for his closest friend, an aspiring writer called Louis Molyneux.

Arthur has been overshadowed since childhood by his brilliant, troubled friend. But after years of playing the unassuming companion, he is learning that loyalty has its costs: that old friendship may thwart new love, and perhaps even blur distinctions between the sane and the mad . . .

Jott is a story about friendship, madness and modernism from the author of the Man Booker-longlisted Communion Town.

Biographical Notes

Sam Thompson was born in 1978. His first novel, Communion Town, was longlisted for the Booker Prize in 2012. Jott is his second novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473675056
  • Publication date: 14 Jun 2018
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: JM Originals
A shrewd portrait of a particular kind of male friendship, simultaneously intense and incomplete — Mail on Sunday
A complex, nuanced literary novel of extraordinary perception — The Herald
Engaging — Irish Times
Hodder Paperbacks

The Mother-in-Law

Sally Hepworth
Authors:
Sally Hepworth
Hodder & Stoughton

When You Read This

Mary Adkins
Authors:
Mary Adkins
Sceptre

How Are You Going To Save Yourself

J M Holmes
Authors:
J M Holmes
Hodder & Stoughton

The Last of Our Kind

Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre
Authors:
Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre
Sceptre

Walking Wounded

Sheila Llewellyn
Authors:
Sheila Llewellyn

'An expertly imagined novel about war's long trail of damage, and about healing intentions gone savagely wrong.' Hilary Mantel'The atmosphere of the late forties is brilliantly evoked . . . a compassionate and compelling account of post traumatic stress in veterans of the Second World War while bringing individual patients and their psychiatrists vividly to life.' Pat BarkerSet in Northfield, an understaffed military psychiatric hospital immediately before the NHS is founded, Walking Wounded is the story of a doctor and his patient: David Reece, a young journalist-to be whose wartime experiences in Burma have come back to haunt him violently; and Daniel Carter, one of the senior psychiatrists, a man who is fighting his own battles as well as those of his patients.This moving and impressive debut explores violence and how much harm it does to those forced to inflict it in the name of war. It also captures the dilemmas of the medics themselves as they attempt to 'fix' their patients, each of whom raise the question of what has happened to their humanity, what can be done to help them, and what we are willing to sacrifice in the name of healing.

Hodder & Stoughton

he

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Sceptre

City of Circles

Jess Richards
Authors:
Jess Richards

CITY OF CIRCLES is an entrancing love story between Danu and Morrie, two circus performers, and Danu's Lewis Carroll-esque odyssey through the magical city of Matryoshka, that ends with a heart-warming yet bittersweet twist. Danu is in mourning for her parents after a disease has ravaged the circus she calls home. She begins a high-wire act with Morrie, a charismatic hunchback who wants to marry her. But her mother has entrusted her with a mysterious locket that will lead her down a path Morrie cannot follow.When the circus visits Danu's birthplace, the magical city of Matryoshka, she goes in search of a stranger who may hold the answer to her past. And when the circus leaves, Danu stays behind. Will she and Morrie ever be reunited, or will something unexpected be waiting for her in the mysterious heart of the city of circles?'Her exploration of self and grief will resonate with many' Ros Barber, author of The Marlowe Papers

Hodder & Stoughton

The Identicals

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

'The Queen of the Summer Novel' (People) The ultimate summertime reading for fans of Jane Green and Roisin Meaney.Nantucket is only two and a half hours away from Martha's Vineyard by ferry. But the two islands might as well be worlds apart for a set of identical twin sisters who have been at odds for years.Just because twins look exactly the same doesn't mean they're anything alike - and Tabitha and Harper Frost have spent their whole lives trying to prove this point. When a family crisis forces them to band together - or at least appear to - the twins come to realise that the special bond that they share is more important than the resentments that have driven them apart. A story of new loves, old battles, and a threat that gives a whole new meaning to the term sibling rivalry, The Identicals is Elin Hilderbrand at her page-turning best.

John Murray

Conflicts of Interest

Terry Stiastny
Authors:
Terry Stiastny
Hodder & Stoughton

Should You Ask Me

Marianne Kavanagh
Authors:
Marianne Kavanagh
Hodder & Stoughton

All I Ever Wanted

Lucy Dillon
Authors:
Lucy Dillon

From the bestselling author of A Hundred Pieces of Me and One Small Act of Kindness comes a heartwarming, bittersweet and uplifting story of missed chances and unexpected opportunities. 'Lucy Dillon's books make the world a better place' - HeatCaitlin's life is a mess. Her marriage to a man everyone else thinks is perfect has collapsed, along with her self-esteem, and breaking free seems the only option.Nancy, her four-year-old daughter, used to talk all the time; in the car, at nursery, to her brother Joel. Then her parents split up. Her daddy moves out. And Nancy stops speaking.Nancy's Auntie Eva, recently widowed and feeling alone, apart from the companionship of two bewildered pugs, is facing a future without her husband or the dreams she gave up for him.But when Eva agrees to host her niece and nephew once a fortnight, Caitlin and Eva are made to face the different truths about their marriages - and about what they both really want . . .'Bittersweet, lovely and ultimately redemptitive; the kind of book that makes you want to live your own life better' - Jojo Moyes'So satisfying and clever and deeply moving' - Sophie Kinsella

Hodder & Stoughton

Secrets at the Little Village School: A Little Village School Novel (Book 5)

Gervase Phinn
Authors:
Gervase Phinn
Hodder & Stoughton

Legacy of Silence

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain

Caroline Hartzinger flees wartime Europe with a shattered life and a devastating secret. Pregnant and unwed, she arrives in America in 1939. Joel Hirsch offers marriage and respectability, hoping one day to earn her love, if not the passion she feels for a man whose memory haunts them both. With Joel, Caroline builds a new life, determined to bury the past - until her daughter Eve brings Caroline's carefully crafted world crashing down again, driven by rage to discover the truth. Now the legacy that has tainted lives and put generations at risk is Eve's secret to keep. But with it comes a gift - a new sister who offers hope, and a truth that will finally break the hold of the past.

Hodder & Stoughton

Promises

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder & Stoughton

On the Third Day of Christmas

Helen Chandler
Authors:
Helen Chandler
Hodder Paperbacks

To Have and to Hold

Helen Chandler
Authors:
Helen Chandler

From the outside, Ella has the happy marriage, the cute kids and the comfortable home - inside, she craves something more. But giving in to temptation will stir up a whole heap of trouble . . .Imogen's relationship with Pete was once fun and carefree but since they've become parents, everything is different. Then an accident provides the catalyst for a life-changing decision.Fifteen-year-old Phoebe is miserable at home and at school. And now her dad, who was always her ally, seems completely distracted by something - or someone. Maybe it's time Phoebe took a stand, and took control of her own life.As Ella, Imogen and Phoebe contemplate taking the biggest risk of their lives, marriages, families and friendships hang in the balance. Should they take the leap, or will they risk losing everything?

Hodder Paperbacks

A Conspiracy of Tall Men

Noah Hawley
Authors:
Noah Hawley
Hodder & Stoughton

Two for Joy

Helen Chandler
Authors:
Helen Chandler

Julia and Toby have been friends for years, but apart from a couple of drunken snogs in their university days, there's never been anything more than friendship between them. It's only when Toby goes through a dramatic break up with his gorgeous ballerina girlfriend Ruby, that he and Julia realise they're meant to be together.Then Ruby drops a bombshell - she's pregnant - and though he feels torn in two, Toby feels he has to give their relationship another chance.Heartbroken Julia is left to lick her wounds in her little Walthamstow home, thinking she has lost Toby forever. But things soon become much more complicated . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

The Man Who Fell In Love With His Wife

Paul Burke
Authors:
Paul Burke

Newly-wed Frank Dempsey, a former Catholic priest, can now luxuriate in the sublime joys of his wife's arms.Yet Frank isn't really off-duty from charitable deeds - when he isn't driving his black cab for a local taxi firm, he is in hot demand to speak at christenings and funerals. Or to inspire people to flock to the dancefloor as a DJ.Frank soon discovers that the tempting sins of the flesh have consequences; when Frank becomes a real father, he realises he is going to need a miracle to feed the five thousand...

Hodder Paperbacks

Untorn Tickets

Paul Burke
Authors:
Paul Burke

Dave and Andy are two classmates from a strict Catholic School in 70s London. Dave is desperate to escape his stifling Irish home life and Andy the cultural trappings of his traditional Polish family. Both dream of opportunitiesafforded to the strangers on the silver screen. And by chance, they end up working part-time in their local cinema in Notting Hill.They soon discover that being heroes of their own lives and impressing the stars on the ground is a challenge. They embark on a voyage of discovery far more exciting than anything they've seen on film. But when the cinema is threatened with closure, they realise that more than their new found freedom is at risk...