John Simpson - Moscow, Midnight - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473675551
    • Publication date:04 Oct 2018
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473674516
    • Publication date:02 May 2019

Moscow, Midnight

By John Simpson

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The revelatory thriller from the much-admired and million copy-selling journalist

MP Patrick Macready has been found dead in his flat. The coroner rules it an accident, a sex game gone wrong.

Jon Swift is from the old stock of journos - cynical, cantankerous and overweight - and something about his friend's death doesn't seem right. Then days after Macready's flat is apparently burgled, Swift discovers that his friend had been researching a string of Russian government figures who had met similarly 'accidental' fates.

When the police refuse to investigate further, Swift gets in touch with his contacts in Moscow, determined to find out if his hunch is correct. Following the lead, he is soon drawn into a violent underworld, where whispers of conspiracies, assassinations and double-agents start blurring the line between friend and foe.

But the truth will come at a price, and it may cost him everything.

Biographical Notes

John Simpson has been the BBC's World Affairs Editor for more than half his fifty-two-year career. In his time with the BBC, he has reported on major events all over the world, and was made a CBE in the Gulf War honours list in 1991. He has twice been the Royal Television Society's Journalist of the Year, and has won three BAFTAs, a News and Current Affairs award and an Emmy. He lives in Oxford.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473674509
  • Publication date: 04 Oct 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: John Murray
An entertaining, often funny account of the murder of an insignificant MP, the solution to which eventually leads to Moscow. The novel's pleasure lies with its voluble louche narrator, Jon Swift, a down-on-his-luck television presenter who was friends with the dead politician — The Times
A contemporary, topical murder mystery that marks John Simpson's emphatic return to fiction — Radio Times
An engaging yarn with a strong, sometimes mischievous autobiographical element — Sunday Times
This engaging, rip-roaring story about a TV reporter who investigates the death of a government minister friend reveals Simpson's quirkier, more mischievous side . . . told with a wry, tongue-in-cheek style that delights — Daily Mail
Simpson knows his stuff, obviously, and his plotting is strewn with expert analysis of international affairs and insider knowledge of journalistic practice: all very entertaining — Spectator
Sceptre

Memories of the Future

Siri Hustvedt
Authors:
Siri Hustvedt
Mulholland Books

Girls Like Us

Cristina Alger
Authors:
Cristina Alger
Mulholland Books

Girl Last Seen

Nina Laurin
Authors:
Nina Laurin

Two missing girls. Thirteen years apart.An intense psychological thriller for readers of I Am Watching You, The Luckiest Girl Alive, and All the Missing Girls.Olivia Shaw has been missing since last Tuesday. She was last seen outside the entrance of her elementary school in Hunts Point wearing a white spring jacket, blue jeans, and pink boots.I force myself to look at the face in the photo, into her slightly smudged features, and I can't bring myself to move. Olivia Shaw could be my mirror image, rewound to thirteen years ago.If you have any knowledge of Olivia Shaw's whereabouts or any relevant information, please contact...I've spent a long time peering into the faces of girls on missing posters, wondering which one replaced me in that basement. But they were never quite the right age, the right look, the right circumstances. Until Olivia Shaw, missing for one week tomorrow.Whoever stole me was never found. But since I was taken, there hasn't been another girl.And now there is.

Coronet

The Age of Anxiety

Pete Townshend
Authors:
Pete Townshend
Hodder & Stoughton

The Last Voyage of Mrs Henry Parker

Joanna Nell
Authors:
Joanna Nell
Hodder & Stoughton

Witchfinder

Andrew Williams
Authors:
Andrew Williams
Mulholland Books

Make Them Sorry

Sam Hawken
Authors:
Sam Hawken
Hodder & Stoughton

The Bone Fire

S D Sykes
Authors:
S D Sykes
Hodder & Stoughton

Three Days in Florence

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Hodder & Stoughton

This is Gomorrah

Tom Chatfield
Authors:
Tom Chatfield

Control the Internet, Control the World If you know what you're doing, you can find anything on the internet. Drugs, guns, porn, ideologies, elections, even lives and deaths are all up for sale . . . and everything must go.Elite hacker Azi Bello lives his life in the technological underbelly of the 21st century. A loner, charmer, and lover of grey areas, he works for himself and answers to no one - until his online existence crashes violently into the real world. The secretive but intriguing Munira has reached out to Azi for help, and her story has sparked his interest: Munira's cousin has been recruited by terrorists and, in her attempts to find out more, she has attracted the attention of some very dangerous people. Now forced to go on the run, Azi and Munira are drawn into a conspiracy, at the heart of which is Gomorrah: an exclusive online marketplace where anything can be acquired, and where the world's worst individuals lurk. As he throws himself into uncovering Gomorrah's dark secrets, it isn't long before Azi realises that the stakes are high and the risks even higher when you're no longer behind a screen.The gates of Gomorrah have been opened. All hell is about to break loose.

Hodder & Stoughton

Girl at Midnight

Katarzyna Bonda
Authors:
Katarzyna Bonda

For seven years, Sasza Zaluska has lived with her little girl in the north of England. Far from her previous job as an undercover cop, far from her dependence on alcohol and the traumatic case that made her flee from the police, her family and her native Poland. But now she is coming back. This time, Sasza is looking for a quieter life. She has studied to become a psychological profiler and she soon picks up a freelance job to check out some threats made against the owner of a nightclub. But no sooner has Sasza visited the club than a man is murdered there and Sasza finds herself drawn back towards the world she left behind. The dead man is a musician - famous for one song in particular: Girl at Midnight. Both the song and the crime seem to be connected to a double tragedy of years before, when a brother and sister both died on the same day. Now Sasza Zaluska must follow a crooked, complex trail from a violent past to a more sophisticated criminal present, in which the gangsters have corrupted every level of society. Girl at Midnight has old over a million copies in Poland and Katarzyna Bonda has become her country's undisputed Queen of Crime.

John Murray

The Aunt Who Wouldn't Die

Shirshendu Mukhopadhyay
Authors:
Shirshendu Mukhopadhyay
Hodder & Stoughton

Evvie Drake Starts Over

Linda Holmes
Authors:
Linda Holmes
Mulholland Books

The Starter Wife

Nina Laurin
Authors:
Nina Laurin
Hodder & Stoughton

Don't Say a Word

Rebecca Tinnelly
Authors:
Rebecca Tinnelly

The next gripping psychological thriller by Rebecca Tinnelly, with a twist that'll shock you to your core.Some family secrets demand to be told . . .Connie lost her words at the age of five, the day she witnessed her mother and father's untimely death. Since then she has been all but mute, only being able to choke out a few select words. Now, years on, Connie's husband is on his deathbed and all she can do is quietly sit by his side. But there are so many dreadful secrets locked up in Connie's silent prison. And time is running out to set them free . . .Praise for Rebecca Tinnelly'This book sucked me in and wouldn't let go, even after I finished it! I absolutely loved it. Dark and suspenseful. Brilliant characters. Stunning revelations' - Patricia Gibney, bestselling author of, The Detective Lottie Parker series'A beautifully written, riveting read. Perfectly crafted. Absorbing from start to finish'Amanda Robson, bestselling author of Obsession'Rebecca Tinnelly created a village so real, so secretive and scary, I was edge of the seat. Rebecca Tinnelly has a new fan in me' Liz Lawler, bestselling author of Don't Wake Up'So tightly plotted [and] totally absorbing . . . the dark, claustrophobic atmosphere kept me reading late into the night' Elisabeth Carpenter, bestselling author of 99 Red Balloons'Mesmerising, shocking, I just couldn't look away' Sarah J. Naughton, author of Tattletale'Twisty, DARK, fast-paced, shocking. EXCELLENT' Will Dean, author of Dark Pines(P)2019 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Two Roads

A Single Source

Peter Hanington
Authors:
Peter Hanington
Hodder & Stoughton

Cold Mountain

Charles Frazier
Authors:
Charles Frazier

A soldier wounded in the Civil War, Inman turns his back on the carnage of the battlefield and begins the treacherous journey home to Cold Mountain, and to Ada, the woman he loved before the war began. As Inman attempts to make his way across the mountains, through the devastated landscape of a soon-to-be-defeated South, Ada struggles to make a living from the land her once-wealthy father left when he died. Neither knows if the other is still alive.

Hodder & Stoughton

Disturbance

Marianne Kavanagh
Authors:
Marianne Kavanagh

You don't know what's going on in Sara's house... Or in her head. Sara is lonely. No one talks to her - not even her bad-tempered workaholic husband or her two beloved sons. Her solace is her house, the biggest in the village, hidden away behind high hedges.Then she strikes up a friendship with Katie, a college student living nearby, and a new world opens up. Her neighbours have been dying to get to know her, and they rush to help when Sara is devastated by a terrible accident.But nothing is quite what it seems. And when new betrayals and shocking revelations disturb her peace, Sara realises she has no choice: she must act to protect the safety of those she loves.***'So subtly done, and well achieved, and horrifyingly, hilariously believable - just the blackest of delights.' Jenn Ashworth, author of Fell'A massively enjoyable book - creepy, funny, surprising and absolutely unputdownable... My only wish is that I hadn't finished it so quickly.' Daisy Waugh'I raced through it. Dark, tense and very twisty.' Tamsin Grey, author of She's Not There

Mulholland Books

The Stranger Inside

Laura Benedict
Authors:
Laura Benedict
Hodder & Stoughton

Breathe

Dominick Donald
Authors:
Dominick Donald