Sally Hepworth - The Family Next Door - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473674233
    • Publication date:22 Mar 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473674226
    • Publication date:22 Mar 2018

The Family Next Door

The gripping domestic page-turner perfect for fans of Big Little Lies

By Sally Hepworth
Read by Barrie Kreinik

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

How much do we really know about our neighbours? An unputdownable domestic page-turner about the secrets we all hide - perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Amanda Prowse and Kerry Fisher.

A gripping novel full of shocking reveals, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Amanda Prowse and Kerry Fisher.

The small suburb of Pleasant Court lives up to its name. It's the kind of place where everyone knows their neighbours, and children play in the street.

Isabelle Heatherington doesn't fit into this picture of family paradise. Husbandless and childless, she soon captures the attention of three Pleasant Court mothers.

But Ange, Fran and Essie have their own secrets to hide. Like the reason behind Ange's compulsion to control every aspect of her life. Or why Fran won't let her sweet, gentle husband near her new baby. Or why, three years ago, Essie took her daughter to the park and returned home without her.

As their obsession with their new neighbour grows, the secrets of these three women begin to spread - and they're about to find out that when you look at something too closely, you'll see things you never wanted to see.

(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Biographical Notes

Sally Hepworth is the bestselling author of three previous novels, and a human resource professional. A graduate of Monash University in Melbourne, Australia, Sally started writing novels after the birth of her first child. Sally has lived around the world, spending extended periods in Singapore, the UK, and Canada, and she now writes full-time from her home in Melbourne, where she lives with her husband and two young children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473674219
  • Publication date: 15 Mar 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Women's fiction at its finest — Liane Moriarty, Number One New York Times bestselling author
Coronet

Head Hunters

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Mulholland Books

Red Right Hand

Chris Holm
Authors:
Chris Holm
Hodder Paperbacks

Sons of the Blood

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young
Coronet

Warlord

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Hodder Paperbacks

In the Month of the Midnight Sun

Cecilia Ekbäck
Authors:
Cecilia Ekbäck

'A gripping, beautifully written novel that I devoured in a day...as thrilling as it is fascinating' Hannah Kent, author of Burial RitesSweden 1856.Blackasen Mountain: a distant place of rumour, superstition and now - murder.They say it was the Lapp who killed the three men. But something is not right.Ester knows it - but to help the settlers is to betray her people.Magnus feels it too. Sent by the Minister to survey the mountain, he cannot resist its mystery.And Lovisa: banished from the city by her father, travelling with her sister's husband, she is perhaps closest of them all to the wildness of the place.Three people, caught in the haunting light of the midnight sun.

Coronet

Bad Soldier

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

'first rate set operational pieces' - Sunday TimesA migrant boat battles through the rough Mediterranean. Its passengers are desperate, starving and scared.They are also being ruthlessly targeted by the SAS.Islamic State militants are smuggling themselves into Europe using these boats. Only by locating such men before they make it into the UK can the Regiment stop them committing their acts of terror on British soil.When one of these migrants reveals plans for a sickening Christmas Day atrocity in London, SAS operative Danny Black is tasked with infiltrating the most dangerous theatre of war in the world: Islamic State heartland. There, he and his team must lift a brutal IS commander - the only man who knows all the details of the London attack. The commander surrounds himself with vicious militants and a harem of sex slaves whom he treats in the most sadistic ways imaginable. And his jihadi wife is, if possible, even more abominable than him.As Danny pits himself against the violent thugs of the Islamic State, he learns that it is not just the UK that is under threat. His very presence on the mission has put at risk the safety of those closest to him. And he discovers that there are greater forces at work here, who do not care if the innocent live or die.Now there is nothing Danny will not do, no line he will not cross, to protect his family. Whether that makes him a good soldier or a bad soldier he neither knows nor cares. Because as he is fast learning, it is sometimes impossible to tell the difference between the two.And as every SAS soldier is trained to understand, the worst threats often come from the most unexpected places...

Coronet

Hellfire

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Hodder & Stoughton

Theodore Boone: The Fugitive

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Coronet

Murder Team

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

Danny Black is a lone wolf on an unofficial mission.He is in the deserts of East Africa looking for his old comrade in arms Spud, wounded in their last mission and now missing.A wounded British solder is a commodity in these parts...Danny recruits a grizzled ex-Blade to help him, encounters an ex-Mossad mercenary, who is part of the supply chain, and heads for a showdown with a small Somali army, led by most-wanted Islamist militant Abu Bakr.In the heat of battle Danny discovers, he is not the lone wolf he thought he was. He begins to wonder, as so many soldiers have before him, is he just a pawn in a greater game?

Hodder Paperbacks

The Secret Place

Tana French
Authors:
Tana French
Coronet

Hunter Killer

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
Hodder & Stoughton

Gray Mountain

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Hodder & Stoughton

Laugh on Friday

Patricia Robins
Authors:
Patricia Robins

For Ann Elgar, the chance to work in a Swiss resort at Madame Menton's ski club is a golden opportunity. Luc Menton, her employer's son, makes her especially welcome and soon it is clear that his affection is turning into love.But Anne is spellbound by the sophisticated French actor, Paul Duret who makes no secret of his infatuation with her. The more Luc and Madame Menton warn her against Paul, the greater becomes her desire to be with him...A compelling classic romance from the inimitable Patricia Robins, first published in 1969 and now available for the first time in eBook.

Hodder & Stoughton

Moment of Love

Denise Robins
Authors:
Denise Robins
Coronet

Masters of War

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan

In Paris, an elderly man is assassinated as he takes his morning walk. In the war-torn cities of Syria, government forces wage a bloody war against their own people. The Russians are propping up the government, the French are backing one rebel fraction and the British are backing another. And in north Africa, young SAS trooper Danny Black is coming to the end of a gruelling tour of duty, or so he thinks. Danny has a new mission. An MI6 agent needs to make contact with Syrian rebel forces, and also with the private military contractors who are - unofficially - training this rebel faction as it struggles to bring down their government and establish a new regime that will be favourable to British business interests. Danny will learn who the masters of war, the men who call the shots, really are. Danny discovers a world where death is dispensed by the highest bidder and individuals will betray anybody if the price is right.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Woman Who Died a Lot

Jasper Fforde
Authors:
Jasper Fforde

The BookWorld's leading enforcement officer Thursday Next is four months into an enforced semi-retirement following an assassination attempt. She returns home to Swindon for what you'd expect to be a time of recuperation. If only life were that simple.Thursday is faced with an array of family problems - son Friday's lack of focus since his career in the Chronoguard was relegated to a might-have-been, daughter Tuesday's difficulty perfecting the Anti-Smote shield needed to thwart an angry Deity's promise to wipe Swindon off the face of the earth, and Jenny, who doesn't exist.And that's not all. With Goliath attempting to replace Thursday at every opportunity with synthetic Thursdays, the prediction that Friday's Destiny-Aware colleagues will die in mysterious circumstances, and a looming meteorite that could destroy all human life on earth, Thursday's retirement is going to be anything but easy.

Hodder Paperbacks

Calico Joe

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham

An unforgettable novel about childhood, family, conflict and guilt from America's greatest storyteller John Grisham.Thirty years have passed since eleven-year-old Paul Tracy watched his troubled father, Warren, a pitcher for the New York Mets, clash with his childhood hero, the Cubs' golden-boy Joe Castle, in a contest from which no winners emerged.Now the news that his father is dying brings the memory of that day flooding back. Deciding that it's time to face up to what really happened on that baseball field in 1973, father and son make their way to Calico Rock, Arkansas, where either redemption or rejection awaits them.

John Murray

Past the Shallows

Favel Parrett
Authors:
Favel Parrett
Hodder Paperbacks

The Litigators

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham

The classic legal thriller and huge bestseller from master of the genre John Grisham.David Zinc has it all: Big firm, big salary, life in the lawyer's fast lane.Until the day he snaps and throws it all away.Leaving the world of corporate law far behind, he talks himself into a new job with Finley & Figg. A self-styled 'boutique' firm with only two partners, Oscar Finley and Wally Figg are ambulance-chasing street lawyers who hustle nickel-and-dime cases, dreaming of landing the big win.For all his Harvard Law Degree and five years with Chicago's top firm, Zinc has never entered a courtroom, never helped a client who really needed a lawyer, never handled a gun.All that is about to change.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Killing Kind

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

Did Grace Peltier commit suicide? When a mass grave in northern Maine reveals the final resting place of a religious community that disappeared almost forty years earlier, private detective Charlie Parker, hired to investigate the circumstances of her death, realises that their deaths and the violent passing of Grace Peltier are part of the same mystery, one that has its roots in her family history and in the origins of the shadowy organisation known as the Fellowship. Aided by the genial killers Angel and Louis, Parker must descend into the depths of a honeycomb world populated by dark angels and lost souls, a world where the ghosts of the dead wait for justice and the unwary are prey for the worst kind of creatures.The killing kind. . .(P)2004 ISIS Publishing Ltd