Sally Hepworth - The Family Next Door - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473674233
    • Publication date:22 Mar 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473674226
    • Publication date:22 Mar 2018

The Family Next Door

The gripping domestic page-turner perfect for fans of Big Little Lies

By Sally Hepworth
Read by Barrie Kreinik

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

How much do we really know about our neighbours? An unputdownable domestic page-turner about the secrets we all hide - perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Amanda Prowse and Kerry Fisher.

A gripping novel full of shocking reveals, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Amanda Prowse and Kerry Fisher.

The small suburb of Pleasant Court lives up to its name. It's the kind of place where everyone knows their neighbours, and children play in the street.

Isabelle Heatherington doesn't fit into this picture of family paradise. Husbandless and childless, she soon captures the attention of three Pleasant Court mothers.

But Ange, Fran and Essie have their own secrets to hide. Like the reason behind Ange's compulsion to control every aspect of her life. Or why Fran won't let her sweet, gentle husband near her new baby. Or why, three years ago, Essie took her daughter to the park and returned home without her.

As their obsession with their new neighbour grows, the secrets of these three women begin to spread - and they're about to find out that when you look at something too closely, you'll see things you never wanted to see.

(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473674219
  • Publication date: 15 Mar 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Women's fiction at its finest — Liane Moriarty, Number One New York Times bestselling author
Hodder Paperbacks

The Mother-in-Law

Sally Hepworth
Authors:
Sally Hepworth
Two Roads

Can you hear me?

Elena Varvello
Authors:
Elena Varvello
Hodder Paperbacks

In Honour Bound

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour

Barney Crispin, a Captain in the SAS, is as tough as they come. He is sent on an urgent mission to the Afghanistan border: to destroy one of the Soviet Mi-24 helicopters, a highly sophisticated and virtually invulnerable piece of military equipment, and retrieve the hardware. In order to do so, he needs the help of the Mujahidin resistance and must first train them in the ways of stealth and sabotage.But the guerillas he trains are ill-equipped and disorganised. Their attempt fails and several of them are killed in the process. Against orders and with only eight missiles and a local boy as his guide, Barney decides to undertake the mission alone, his own solitary battle for vengeance...

Hodder & Stoughton

The Glory Boys

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour

THE TARGET: Israel's leading nuclear scientist, giving a lecture in London. THE ASSASSIN: A Palestinian terrorist, the lone survivor of a three-man hit squad ambushed by Israeli Intelligence in France while on their way to London. THE MERCENARY: Ciaran McCoy, formerly of the IRA, and The Assassin's only contact in London. THE MAVERICK: Jimmy, an alcoholic, over-the-hill MI5 agent assigned to protect the Israeli scientist. Jimmy is arguably the most dangerous of the lot, but only when sober. Will he be able to prevent a brutal killing?

Hodder & Stoughton

The Contract

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour

Discharged from the British Army in disgrace, Johnny Donoghue is eager to redeem himself. His task is to slip undercover into East Germany and persuade a prominent scientist working on Soviet missile systems to defect.But no one warns Johnny of the dangers involved in crossing the border, nor can he ever imagine the effect the actions of fickle politicians will have on his task. Nothing can prepare Johnny for the impact of the momentous decision the scientist will be forced to make, and no one could have predicted the involvement of the scientist's headstrong daughter . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Archangel

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour
Hodder & Stoughton

Home Run

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour
Hodder & Stoughton

Field of Blood

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour
Hodder & Stoughton

Red Fox

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour

Beautiful seductive and extremely dangerous Franca Tantardini is one of Italy's most ruthless political extremists. When she is captured in a shoot-out her fanatical young lover Giancarlo Battestini vows to set her free and with quiet watchfulness waits for the moment to strike.In Rome a British businessman Geoffery Harrison has been taken hostage by a ruthless organised crime syndicate - kidnap is after all a growth industry. The British Government are adamant that they will not pay the two-million-dollar ransom and discharge responsibility to the Italian police. As political wrangling takes hold Battestini sees a weakness and realises that the only way to secure the release of his beloved Franca is to capture Harrison and bargain his life for hers.The authorities are confronted with a terrible choice. Should they release a woman who has masterminded the murder of so many or let an innocent man die?

Hodder & Stoughton

At Close Quarters

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour

Peter Holt a young diplomat witnesses the horrific murder of his fiance and the British Ambassador within days of a new posting to the Soviet Union. The report of the murder lands on the desk of a British Intelligence officer who suspects Palestinian involvement althought the Russians insist that it was not a terrorist attack.The British government is determined to exact revenge and Holt is the only man able to identify the assassin. He is sent to the Lebanon and the perilous Beqa'a Valley which serves as a stronghold for the most extreme guerilla groups. Unauthorised access to the valley is virtually impossible and capture by the Syrian Army would result in torture and death. His only company is Noah Crane an Israeli expert sniper who acts as his mentor and guide. But when Syrian Intelligence learns of their presence their cover is blown. And now it is too late to turn back.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Heart of Danger

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour
Hodder & Stoughton

The Journeyman Tailor

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour

HEAR NOTHING. SEE NOTHING. KNOW NOTHING.This is the ruthless motto in the Provisional IRA's most active brigade.To collaborate with British Intelligence means certain death.But there is a rumour that an informer is operating within the Brigade. When identified he will be ruthelssly interrogated, tortured, then shot.The MI5 agents running the informer must protect their man at all costs: he is their most critical asset, and they must keep him in place, even if that means innocent people must die.(P)2013 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

Kingfisher

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour

Four Ukrainian Jews are engaged in a bitter fight for recognition within the Soviet Union. When one of them is captured after shooting a policeman, they know time is running out. Their only hope is to hijack a plane, fly to the West and then on to Israel.Britain is the only country that allows the plane to land. Charlie Webster, an Intelligence officer, is brought in to negotiate with the hijackers: are they political refugees or dangerous criminals? As the British government prevaricates, the hijackers become increasingly desperate, losing patience - and control.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Song in the Morning

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour

Jeez Curwen, a British undercover agent in South Africa, sits on death row in Pretoria's maximum security prison, awaiting his execution. Isolated and alone, Jeez sends a letter to the wife in England he abandoned long ago.Jack Curwen never knew his father. But when he realises that Jeez has been deserted by the British government and has only three weeks left to live, Jack is determined to do whatever it takes to set him free.WITH AN EXCLUSIVE NEW FOREWORD BY PETER HAIN, MP

Hodder & Stoughton

Killing Ground

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour

The US Drug Enforcement Agency is desperate to capture Mario Ruggerio, the would-be leader of the Sicilian Mafia and the mastermind behind a multi-billion dollar international drugs trade.Charlotte Parsons, a young English schoolteacher, was the Ruggerio family's nanny four years ago. When she is asked to take up her old job she is excited at the prospect of leaving behind a sleepy Devon village. But Charley doesn't realise that she is the live bait in an American trap, and that she jas just entered the killing ground . . . WITH AN EXCLUSIVE NEW FOREWORD BY JOHN FOLLAIN

Hodder & Stoughton

Harry's Game

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour
Hodder & Stoughton

Condition Black

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour

The Persian Gulf, 1991. Saddam Hussein is determined that Iraq should stop at nothing to arm herself with nuclear warheads.An English scientist, struggling to make ends meet, is seduced into the conspiracy. Meanwhile, young FBI agent Bill Erlich hears that a close friend has been murdered in Athens. Vowing to avenge him at any cost, Erlich uncovers a name: Colt, a dangerous British mercenary now working for the Iraqi government.Unaware that he is the only thing standing in the way of the total collapse of the Middle Eastern military situation, Erlich follows his target to England, where he is faced with one final confrontation.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Fighting Man

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour
Hodder & Stoughton

The Waiting Time

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour
Hodder & Stoughton

The Outsiders

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour

Winnie Monks has never forgotten - or forgiven - the death of a young agent on her team at the hands of a former Russian Army Major turned gangster. Now, years later, she hears the Major is travelling to a villa on the Costa del Sol and she asks permission to send in a surveillance unit.They find an empty property near the Major's. The Villa Paraiso. It's perfect to spy from - and as a base for Winnie's darker, less official, plans.But it turns out that the property isn't deserted. The owners have invited a young British couple to 'house sit' while they are away.For Jonno and Posie, just embarking on a relationship, this is supposed to be a carefree break in the sun. But when the Secret Service team arrives in paradise, everything changes.