Claire Askew - All the Hidden Truths - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473673052
    • Publication date:09 Aug 2018
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473673069
    • Publication date:09 Aug 2018
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473673045
    • Publication date:02 May 2019

All the Hidden Truths

one shocking crime: three women need answers

By Claire Askew

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

A wrenching, gripping, unforgettable debut crime novel for fans of Susie Steiner and Kate Atkinson.

'Raw, powerful, compassionate and deeply moving, with page-turning tension to the end. A stunning debut.' Karen Robinson, Sunday Times Crime Club

'Splendid debut... thoughtful and well-written.' Guardian

'You'll be gripped by the unexpected truths that emerge. Compelling.' Marie Claire

'As scarily plausible as it is utterly captivating, this is an absorbing and unforgettable debut.' Heat

This is a fact: Ryan Summers walked into Three Rivers College and killed thirteen women, then himself.

But no one can say why.

The question is one that cries out to be answered - by Ryan's mother, Moira; by Ishbel, the mother of Abigail, the first victim; and by DI Helen Birch, put in charge of the case on her first day at her new job. But as the tabloids and the media swarm, as the families' secrets come out, as the world searches for someone to blame... the truth seems to vanish.

A stunningly moving novel from an exciting new voice in crime, ALL THE HIDDEN TRUTHS will cause you to question your assumptions about the people you love, and reconsider how the world reacts to tragedy.

Biographical Notes

Claire Askew is a poet, novelist and the current Writer in Residence at the University of Edinburgh. Her debut novel in progress was the winner of the 2016 Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize, and longlisted for the 2014 Peggy Chapman-Andrews (Bridport) Novel Award. Claire holds a PhD in Creative Writing from the University of Edinburgh and has won a variety of accolades for her work, including the Jessie Kesson Fellowship and a Scottish Book Trust New Writers Award.

Her debut poetry collection, This changes things, was published by Bloodaxe in 2016 and shortlisted for the Edwin Morgan Poetry Award and a Saltire First Book Award. In 2016 Claire was selected as a Scottish Book Trust Reading Champion, and she works as the Scotland tutor for women's writing initiatives Write Like A Grrrl! and #GrrrlCon.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473673021
  • Publication date: 09 Aug 2018
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Stunning debut... compellingly written. — Daily Mail
Gripping, heartbreaking and horrifyingly plausible. I couldn't tear myself away from this book. Claire Askew is a stunning new voice in crime fiction. — Erin Kelly, author of He Said/She Said
As scarily plausible as it is utterly captivating, this is an absorbing and unforgettable debut. — Heat
Raw, powerful, compassionate and deeply moving, with page-turning tension to the end. A stunning debut. — Karen Robinson, Sunday Times Crime Club
Moving and memorable. — The Sunday Times
Splendid debut... thoughtful and well-written. — Guardian
You'll be gripped by the unexpected truths that emerge. Compelling. — Marie Claire
An intricate, pacy, risky and intriguing novel. — Jenn Ashworth
Claire Askew takes us away from the obvious plot and asks us tantalising questions... the three women... form an absorbing psychological trio for Askew's thought-provoking, upsetting entry into crime fiction. — The Times
A fantastic read. — Cara Hunter
This is a such a clever, brave book. Askew looks unflinchingly at the unimaginable, but her writing is wrought with compassion. It's as heart-rending as it is gripping. — Sabine Durrant, author of Lie With Me
When we think about Edinburgh crime our thoughts turn to Ian Rankin and Val McDermid. Claire Askew could be up there with them. — The Bookbag
(a) Fine, thought-provoking debut — Mail on Sunday
A searing, heart-breaking thriller. — The Herald, Scotland
Emotionally engrossing, morally challenging, horribly topical — Tammy Cohen
A well-written investigation of individual and collective responsibility. — Guardian
Damn, this is a good book... a debut of such power, and of such verve. — SHOTS
ALL THE HIDDEN TRUTHS is a marvel... Absorbing and suspenseful, it's a thought-provoking debut novel — The Skinny
This is a gripping debut crime thriller that draws you in with plenty of accurately-observed characters and a well-drawn setting. It is the page-turner promised and well worth losing yourself in. — South Wales Echo
Gripping — Grazia
This is a gripping debut crime thriller that draws you in with plenty of accurately observed characters and a well-drawn setting. It is the page-turner promised and well worth losing yourself in. — Daily Record
This novel will no doubt be a summer hit. — North London Local Magazine
There's so much to enjoy about this compelling debut. The three different viewpoints really pulled me in to the story, and got me thinking about the nature of victimhood as well as collective social responsibility. This is a timely, relevant, and thought-provoking novel. — Sarah Franklin, author of Shelter
Really excellent - totally gripping... very realistic. One to look out for — Sophie Cameron, author of Out Of The Blue
A novel so shockingly current that it seems to fictionalise the world even as it changes around us. — Shelley Harris, author of Vigilante
A gripping, thought provoking and ultimately uplifting crime debut. I love that this book, which focusses on a crime against women, is itself about women and not the man that committed the crime. A story of how, when something terrible happens, you might start to pick up some of the tiny little pieces of your life and try to find a way through. The story, the characters and the city are all vivid and utterly alive and they left me feeling angry and full of adrenaline and love. — Lucy Ayrton, author of One More Chance
Ian Rankin and the capital's other crime writers are going to have to look to their laurels. There's a new kid in town. — The Scotsman
...it deserves every accolade. This psychological suspense story is one of the best books of the year...Askew is a writer on the rise. — The Globe and Mail (Canada)
Claire Askew brought us a new kind of crime story in 2018. ALL THE HIDDEN TRUTHS is a taut and thoughtful look at toxic masculinity, public tragedy and the women left picking up the pieces. — The List
UK publisher Hodder & Stoughton touts ALL THE HIDDEN TRUTHS as its lead crime debut of the year, and it's not just hype. — Toronto Star