Eleanor O’Reilly - M for Mammy - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473672352
    • Publication date:21 Mar 2019
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473672390
    • Publication date:21 Mar 2019

M for Mammy

By Eleanor O’Reilly

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

For fans of Roddy Doyle and Marian Keyes, a heartwarming and funny debut of an Irish family, the Augustts, all bound together with love and language. There's a son who doesn't speak, a mother who has a stroke, a granny who talks enough for all of them and a daughter who is writing it all down.

'heart-breaking, heart-warming, and hilarious . . . a glorious debut' Ruth Hogan. bestselling author of The Keeper of Lost Things

Meet the Augustts: a loving, Irish family who, like all families, are a bit complicated. But they are bound together by their love for each other and the way their words shape their world.

Things become even more complicated when the mother has a stroke, and the force of nature who is Granny Mae-Anne comes to try and take charge to keep the family together.

She has a job on. There's the son Jacob with all his words trapped in his head by The Autism, the father Mickey struggling to express himself at all, and Jenny, the daughter, quietly writing it all down to try and make sense of it.

M for Mammy is about language and home and the power of a family to heal itself. It is about telling stories, reading stories, and writing them down. It is a story of a young boy without words, of a mother who has lost her words and a father full of stories he has to learn to tell. And then there's the granny who hammers and shapes words on the anvil of love, and a daughter who tries to speak for them all.

Biographical Notes

Eleanor O'Reilly is a teacher of English and Classical Studies who has just completed an MA in Creative Writing, at Manchester Metropolitan University.

Having first started writing five years ago, she has received several literary prizes, including the 2015 RTE Francis McManus Radio Short Story Award and the 2013 William Trevor International Short Story Award, and has been shortlisted for several others, including the 2016 Colm Toibin Literary Award.

She lives in Ireland with her husband Brian Kelly, their daughter Ella Kelly, and a whole menagerie of pets. M for Mammy is her debut novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473672383
  • Publication date: 21 Mar 2019
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Two Roads
M is for Mammy. It's also for Marvellous! What a wonderful story - in turns heart-breaking, heart-warming, and hilarious (which is not an easy combination to pull off). Also, Granny Mae-Anne is a FABULOUS creation . . . Eleanor, it's a glorious debut — Ruth Hogan

Brad Thor

Brad Thor has served as a member of the Department of Homeland Security`s Analytic Red Cell Program and has appeared on FOX News Channel, CNN, CBS, NBC and other US television channels as a National Security expert to discuss terrorism, as well as how closely his novels of international intrigue parallel the real threats facing the world today.Brad has travelled extensively for work and pleasure, and is an avid snow skier, water skier and hiker. He also loves deep-sea fishing, fly-fishing, hunting and shooting in exotic locations around the world.Visit the author`s website at www.bradthor.com, follow Brad on Twitter @BradThor and Like his Facebook page at www.facebook.com/pages/Brad-Thor/

Charles Frazier

Charles Frazier grew up in the mountains of North Carolina. COLD MOUNTAIN, his highly acclaimed first novel, was an international bestseller, selling over one million copies and winning the National Book Award in 1997. It was the inspiration for the Oscar-winning film directed by Anthony Minghella and starring Nicole Kidman, Jude Law, and Renee Zellweger.A second novel, THIRTEEN MOONS, was published by Sceptre in 2007 and NIGHTWOODS, Charles' latest novel set in a lakeside town in 1960s North Carolina, was published in September 2011. To find out more, visit Charles' Facebook page www.facebook.com/CharlesFrazierAuthor or follow him on Twitter at twitter.com/Charles_Frazier.

Christopher Farnsworth

Born and raised in Idaho, Christopher Farnsworth worked as an investigative and business reporter before selling his first screenplay. Since then, he has been coming up with new and better ways to kill monsters, bad guys and aliens. He lives in Los Angeles with his wife, Jean Roosevelt Farnsworth, and their daughter, Caroline.

David Suchet

David Suchet CBE is an acclaimed British actor. He has enjoyed great success with the RSC and in London's West End. He is best known in television for his portrayal of Agatha Christie's detective Hercule Poirot. He is also a practising Anglican. In 2012 he made a series for the BBC called 'In the Footsteps of St Paul'. Follow him on Twitter @David_Suchet

David Wishart

David Wishart studied Classics at Edinburgh University. He then taught Latin and Greek in school for four years and after this retrained as a teacher of EFL. He lived and worked abroad for eleven years, working in Kuwait, Greece and Saudi Arabia, and now lives with his wife and family in Scotland.

Dorothy L Sayers

Dorothy L Sayers was born in Oxford in 1893, and was both a classical scholar and a graduate in modern languages. As well as her popular Lord Peter Wimsey series, she wrote several religious plays, but considered her translations of Dante's Divina Commedia to be her best work. She died in 1957.www.sayers.org.uk

Edward Kelsey Moore

Edward Kelsey Moore lives in Chicago with his partner of many years. Having trained with some of the world's finest musicians, he has travelled widely and recorded extensively during his lengthy career as a professional cellist. Edward's literary work often reflects both his life as a musician and his upbringing as the backsliding son of a Baptist preacher. His short fiction has appeared in several literary magazines and on Public Radio. Like Dora in THE SUPREMES AT EARL'S ALL-YOU-CAN-EAT, Edward is also an avid gardener; like Odette, his horticultural projects are not always successful. THE SUPREMES AT EARL'S ALL-YOU-CAN-EAT is Edward Kelsey Moore's first novel. Find out more on Edward's website at www.edwardkelseymoore.com or Facebook page www.facebook.com/EdwardKelseyMooreauthor and follow him on Twitter @edkmoore.

Elizabeth Goudge

Elizabeth de Beauchamp Goudge was born on April 24th 1900 in Wells, Somerset, where her father was Principal of Wells Theological College. Although she had privately intended writing as a career, her parents insisted she taught handicrafts in Oxford. She began writing in her spare time and her first novel ISLAND MAGIC, set in Guernsey, was a great success here and in America. GREEN DOLPHIN COUNTRY (1944) projected her to fame, netting a Literary Guild Award and a special prize of £30,000 from Louis B. Mayer of MGM before being filmed.In her later years Elizabeth Goudge settled in Henley-on-Thames. She died on April 1st, 1984.

Eloisa James

After graduating from Harvard University, Eloisa got an M.Phil. from Oxford University, a Ph.D. from Yale and eventually became a Shakespeare professor. Currently she is the Director of Creative Writing in the English Department at Fordham University in New York City. She lives and writes in New Jersey with her husband, a Dante scholar and Italian knight, and their two children.

Erika Mailman

Erika Mailman was born in Vermont to a German-American family. She is a descendent of a woman who stood trial for witchcraft in 1600s Massachusetts, three decades before the Salem witch trials. She has a Masters degree in Creative Writing, and now lives in Oakland, California.

Favel Parrett

Favel Parrett was the recipient of an Australian Society of Authors Mentorship in 2009 and has had a number of short stories published in various journals. PAST THE SHALLOWS, her first published novel, was shortlisted for the 2012 Miles Franklin Award and won the Australian Book Industry's Newcomer of the Year Award Prize. She balances her writing around surfing, travelling and volunteering at an animal shelter. She lives in Victoria, Australia with her partner and two dogs. You can find out more about Favel and her writing via her website www.favelparrett.com.au, or at www.johnmurray.co.uk. You can also visit the facebook page for Past the Shallows at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Past-the-Shallows/146189278778592, and follow her on Twitter at www.twitter.com/favelparrett.

Fay Weldon

Fay Weldon is well-known at home and abroad as a novelist, playwright, critic and screenwriter, several of whose novels have been adapted for film and television, including THE LIFE AND LOVES OF A SHE DEVIL.For more information about Fay and her work, visit her website: http://www.fayweldon.co.uk.

Fiona Gibson

Fiona Gibson is a freelance journalist who has written for many publications including the Observer, the Guardian, Red and Marie Claire and has a regular column on parenting in the Sunday Herald. She was previously the editor of More! magazine. She is the mother of three small children (including twin boys) and lives in Lanarkshire. Her website can be found at www.fionagibson.com

Fiona Walker

Fiona Walker, whose novels have been Sunday Times bestsellers, leads the field as the voice of young, media-aware women. She lives in Somerset with her partner and two children plus an assortment of horses and dogs.

Fran Cooper

Fran Cooper grew up in London before reading English at Cambridge and Art History at the Courtauld Institute of Art. She spent three years in Paris writing a PhD about travelling eighteenth-century artists, and currently works in the curatorial department of a London museum. These Dividing Walls is her first novel.

Fredrik Backman

Fredrik Backman is a Swedish blogger, columnist and author. His debut novel A MAN CALLED OVE was a number 1 bestseller across Scandinavia, has sold over one million copies worldwide, was a Richard & Judy summer read in the UK and an instant New York Times paperback bestseller, and has been made into an acclaimed film. Fredrik's subsequent novels, MY GRANDMOTHER SENDS HER REGARDS AND APOLOGISES and BRITT-MARIE WAS HERE, also went straight to number 1 in Sweden on publication.

Gemma Malley

Gemma Malley is an award-winning author. She lives in London with her husband and three young children. You can visit her online at www.gemmamalley.com.

Gervase Phinn

Dr Gervase Phinn is a teacher, freelance lecturer, author, poet, educational consultant and visiting professor of education. For fourteen years he taught in a range of schools, then acted as General Adviser for Language Development in Rotherham before moving on to North Yorkshire, where he spent ten years as a school inspector - time that has provided much source material for his books. He has four grown up children and four grandchildren and lives near Doncaster. Visit Gervase's website, www.gervase-phinn.com.

Graham Norton

Graham Norton is one of the UK's best loved broadcasters. He presents The Graham Norton Show on BBC1, has a weekly show on BBC Radio 2, and writes a column for the Telegraph. He is the winner of nine BAFTA awards. Born in Dublin and raised in West Cork, Norton now lives in London. His debut novel Holding was a commercial and critical success, winning Norton the Irish Independent Popular Fiction award at the Bord Gáis Irish Book Awards in 2016.

Hannah Coates

Hannah Coates has always loved dogs - she grew up surrounded by pooches, and now has two of her own. She loves all dogs, but beagles remain her favourite.