Richard MacLean Smith - Unexplained: Supernatural Stories for Uncertain Times - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473671157
    • Publication date:25 Oct 2018
  • Hardback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473671126
    • Publication date:25 Oct 2018

Unexplained: Supernatural Stories for Uncertain Times

By Richard MacLean Smith

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Maybe some things are better left unexplained...

'A grisly treat' Financial Times on the podcast

Based on the 'world's spookiest podcast' of the same name comes Unexplained: a book of ten real-life mysteries which might be best left unexplained. . .

*******************************

What can a case of demonic possession in 1970's Germany teach us about free will?

What might we learn about how we construct reality from the case of a poltergeist in the Fens?

And what can a supposed instance of reincarnation in Middlesbrough tell us about how we develop a concept of the self?

Taking incidents once thought of as supernatural or paranormal and questioning whether radical ideas in science might provide a new but equally extraordinary explanation, Unexplained asks what real-life unexplained events can reveal of our unique human experience.

Biographical Notes

Richard MacLean Smith, part-Scottish, part-English and proud citizen of nowhere, is a writer and creator of the podcast Unexplained. An international success, Unexplained has been #2 in the US, UK and Canadian iTunes charts, and acclaimed by the Guardian and Financial Times.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473671140
  • Publication date: 25 Oct 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Sceptre
Hodder Paperbacks

Did You See Melody?

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

'Outstandingly brilliant' Clare MackintoshDid she really see Melody?The stunning new pageturner from the Queen of Psychological Suspense. Pushed to breaking point, Cara Burrows abandons her home and family and escapes to a five-star spa resort she can't afford. Late at night, exhausted and desperate, she lets herself into her hotel room and is shocked to find it already occupied - by a man and a teenage girl.A simple mistake on the part of the hotel receptionist - but Cara's fear intensifies when she works out that the girl she saw alive and well in the hotel room is someone she can't possibly have seen: the most famous murder victim in the country, Melody Chapa, whose parents are serving life sentences for her murder.Cara doesn't know what to trust: everything she's read and heard about the case, or the evidence of her own eyes. Did she really see Melody? And is she prepared to ask herself that question and answer it honestly if it means risking her own life?******What people are saying about DID YOU SEE MELODY?'I was hooked!...there was a cracking ending!' GoodReads reviewer'Really good reading that moved at a fast pace and kept me engaged throughout. Highly recommended.' GoodReads reviewer'Oh superb. Excellent. All the other expletives. Ms Hannah still showing us how twisting a plot is done properly.' GoodReads reviewer

Hodder Paperbacks

Jane Austen at Home

Lucy Worsley
Authors:
Lucy Worsley
Hodder Paperbacks

He Said/She Said

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly
Hodder & Stoughton

2020

Paul Cornish, Kingsley Donaldson
Authors:
Paul Cornish, Kingsley Donaldson
Hodder Paperbacks

Stalin's Englishman: The Lives of Guy Burgess

Andrew Lownie
Authors:
Andrew Lownie
Hodder & Stoughton

The Story of Egypt

Joann Fletcher
Authors:
Joann Fletcher
Coronet

The Gestapo

Frank McDonough
Authors:
Frank McDonough
Hodder & Stoughton

A Game for All the Family

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

'Tension, thy name is Sophie Hannah' IndependentJustine thought she knew who she was, until an anonymous caller seemed to know better...After escaping London and a career that nearly destroyed her, Justine plans to spend her days doing as little as possible in her beautiful home in Devon.But soon after the move, her daughter Ellen starts to withdraw when her new best friend, George, is unfairly expelled from school. Justine begs the head teacher to reconsider, only to be told that nobody's been expelled - there is, and was, no George. Then the anonymous calls start: a stranger, making threats that suggest she and Justine share a traumatic past and a guilty secret - yet Justine doesn't recognise her voice. When the caller starts to talk about three graves - two big and one small, to fit a child - Justine fears for her family's safety. If the police can't help, she'll have to eliminate the danger herself, but first she must work out who she's supposed to be...

Hodder & Stoughton

Agincourt

Ranulph Fiennes
Authors:
Ranulph Fiennes
Hodder & Stoughton

For the Love of Bob

James Bowen
Authors:
James Bowen
Hodder & Stoughton

The Ties That Bind

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly

The gripping, twisty and compelling fourth novel from Erin Kelly, Sunday Times bestselling author of HE SAID/SHE SAID.'Tension-filled mystery with compelling characters and plot twists.' - BellaCould a soul, once sold, truly be redeemed?Luke is a true crime writer in search of a story. When he flees to Brighton after an explosive break-up, the perfect subject lands in his lap: reformed gangster Joss Grand. Now in his eighties, Grand once ruled the Brighton underworld with his sadistic sidekick Jacky Nye - until Jacky washed up by the West Pier in 1968, strangled and thrown into the sea. Though Grand's alibi seems cast-iron, Luke is sure there's more to the story than meets the eye, and he convinces the criminal-turned-philanthropist to be interviewed for a book about his life. Luke is drawn deeper into the mystery of Jacky Nye's murder. Was Grand there that night? Is he really as reformed a character as he claims? And who was the girl in the red coat seen fleeing the murder scene? Soon Luke realises that in stirring up secrets from the past, he may have placed himself in terrible danger.

Hodder Paperbacks

Picture Perfect

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult
Hodder & Stoughton

Lady Catherine and the Real Downton Abbey

The Countess Of Carnarvon
Authors:
The Countess Of Carnarvon

Coronet

The Prince, the Princess and the Perfect Murder

Andrew Rose
Authors:
Andrew Rose

The royal family's darkest secret and the establishment cover-up. Half a century before Dodi and Diana, another Prince of Wales would be involved in a deadly love triangle with a fabulously wealthy Egyptian "prince." Prince Edward was the future King of England, a destiny he would famously forsake over his love for Wallis Simpson. But two decades prior he was involved in another love affair that threatened to jeopardize the royal family. The story took place in maisons de rendezvous, luxurious chateaux in the French countryside providing hospitality for the British upper classes, the richest food, the finest wines and the most beautiful women, the violent and dangerous Paris demi-monde - where many of the women came from - and the Savoy hotel in London, where a murder was committed. This major royal scandal, superbly covered up by the Royal family, the government and the judiciary has remained secret ever since.This is the story of a passionate and deadly love affair set against the dramatic backdrop of the Great War. Edward was enthralled by the 'crazy physical attraction' of Marguerite Alibert, queen of the Paris demi-monde. When he broke off their hidden relationship, Edward thought that he was free of Marguerite. He was wrong. After the war, as a violent thunderstorm raged outside the luxurious Savoy Hotel in London Marguerite fired three shots from a semi-automatic pistol. Her husband, and Egyptian multimillionaire and playboy, was shot dead at point blank range. Marguerite stood trial for murder at the Old Bailey. As Prince Charming and poster boy of the British Empire, Edward now risked exposure as a degenerate wastrel, partying behind the lines while thousands were blown away on the Western Front.Andrew Rose, using his long experience as a barrister and judge, has uncovered a royal scandal carefully airbrushed from history. Edward never quite escaped from Marguerite who had taught the arts of love to a once and future King.The Prince, the Princess and the Perfect Murder is the product of several years' research, accessing unpublished documents held in the Royal Archives and private collections in England and France.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Burning Air

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly

'A gripping tale of secrets, revenge and obsession, masterfully done.' GuardianGripping and chilling, with a killer twist, THE BURNING AIR proves that Erin Kelly is one of Britain's best suspense writers.Of course it was love for my children, love for my son, that caused me to act as I did. It was a lapse of judgement. If I could have foreseen the rippling aftershocks that followed I would have acted differently, but by the time I realised the extent of the consequences, it was too late.The MacBrides have always gone to Far Barn in Devon for Bonfire Night, but this year everything is different. Lydia, the matriarch, is dead; Sophie, the eldest daughter, is desperately trying to repair a crumbling marriage; and Felix, the youngest of the family, has brought a girlfriend with him for the first time. The girl, Kerry, seems odd in a way nobody can quite put their finger on - but when they leave her looking after Sophie's baby daughter, and return to find both Kerry and the baby gone, they are forced to ask themselves if they have allowed a cuckoo into their nest . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

The Sick Rose

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly
Hodder Paperbacks

Theodore Boone

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Hodder & Stoughton

The Poison Tree

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly
Hodder & Stoughton

So Cold The River

Michael Koryta
Authors:
Michael Koryta

Ninety-five-year-old millionaire Campbell Bradford is dying.His family have hired ex-filmmaker Eric Shaw to make a documentary about him, but Campbell's childhood is shrouded in mystery. The only clues to his past are the name of his hometown and an antiq

Hodder & Stoughton

Hurting Distance

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

The second stunning thriller from queen of psychological crime, Sophie Hannah, perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Paula Hawkins.'Superbly creepy' Guardian 'Rivetingly original' Sunday Times Sometimes love must kill before it can die. Three years ago, something terrible happened to Naomi Jenkins - so terrible that she never told anybody.Now Naomi has another secret - the man she has fallen passionately in love with, unhappily married Robert Haworth. When Robert vanishes without trace, Naomi knows he must have come to harm. But the police are less convinced, particularly when Robert's wife insists he is not missing.In desperation, Naomi has a crazy idea. If she can't persuade the police that Robert is in danger, perhaps she can convince them that he is a danger to others. Then they will have to look for him - urgently. Naomi knows how to describe in detail the actions of a psychopath. All she needs to do is dig up her own troubled past . . .