Paula Gooder - Phoebe - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Phoebe

By Paula Gooder

  • Hardback
  • £14.99

The gripping first novel from renowned New Testament scholar Paula Gooder, which brings alive first-century Christianity and the apostle Paul as never before.

Sometime around 56 AD, the apostle Paul wrote to the church in Rome. His letter was arguably his theological masterpiece, and has continued to shape Christian faith ever since. He entrusted this letter to Phoebe, the deacon of the church at Cenchreae; in writing to the church that almost surely met in her home, Paul refers to her both as a deacon and as a helper or patron of many. But who was this remarkable woman?

In this, her first novel, Biblical scholar and popular author and speaker Paula Gooder tells Phoebe's story - who she was, the life she lived and her first-century faith - and in doing so opens up Paul's theology, giving a sense of the cultural and historical pressures that shaped Paul's thinking, and the faith of the early church.

Written in the gripping style of Gerd Theissen's The Shadow of the Galilean, and similarly rigorously researched, this is a novel for everyone and anyone who wants to engage more deeply and imaginatively with Paul's theology - from one of the UK's foremost New Testament scholars.

Biographical Notes

Dr Paula Gooder is a writer and lecturer in Biblical Studies. Her research areas focus on the writings of the apostle Paul, with a particular focus on 2 Corinthians and on Paul's understanding of the body. Her passion is to ignite people's enthusiasm for reading the Bible today, by presenting the best of biblical scholarship in an accessible and interesting way. Until recently she was Theologian in Residence at Bible Society.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473669727
  • Publication date: 19 Apr 2018
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

Retribution: The Centurions III

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches

Hodder & Stoughton

The Prince and the Whitechapel Murders

Saul David
Authors:
Saul David
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin
Hodder & Stoughton

Onslaught: The Centurions II

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches
Hodder Paperbacks

The Wild Air

Rebecca Mascull
Authors:
Rebecca Mascull
Hodder Paperbacks

One Quiet Woman

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
Hodder & Stoughton

A Morse Code Set

Frank White
Authors:
Frank White
Hodder Paperbacks

Inferno

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

Crimson and Bone

Marina Fiorato
Authors:
Marina Fiorato

A dark, gripping story of love and obsession from bestselling author Marina Fiorato, perfect for fans of The Crimson Petal and the White. London, 1853. Annie Stride has nothing left to live for - she is a penniless prostitute, newly evicted from her home and pregnant. On the night she plans to cast herself from Waterloo Bridge into the icy waters of the Thames, her life is saved by Francis Maybrick Gill, a talented pre-Raphaelite painter - and her world is changed forever.Francis takes Annie as his artist's muse, elevating her from fallen woman to society's darling. With her otherworldly beauty now the toast of London, her dark past is left far behind. But Annie's lavish new life is not all is seems - and there are some who won't let her forget where she came from...

Hodder & Stoughton

Persephone

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

Beyond the Wild River

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine

From the author of The House Between Tides, comes an atmospheric and stunningly evocative historical novel. Perfect for fans of Sarah Perry's The Essex Serpent.'Maine skilfully balances a Daphne du Maurier atmosphere with a mystery... compelling' Kirkus ReviewsScotland,1893. Nineteen-year-old Evelyn Ballantyre, the daughter of a wealthy landowner, has rarely strayed from her family's estate in the Scottish Borders. She was once close to her philanthropist father, but his silence over what really happened on the day a poacher was shot on estate land has come between them. An invitation to accompany her father to Canada is a chance for Evelyn to escape her limited existence. But once there, on the wild and turbulent Nipigon river, she is shocked to discover that their guide is James Douglas, Ballantyre's former stable hand, and once her friend. He disappeared the night of the murder, charged with the shooting.Evelyn never believed that James was guilty - and her father's role in the killing has always been mysterious. What does he have to hide? In the wild landscape of a new world, far from the constraints of polite society, the secrets and lies surrounding that night are finally stripped away, with dramatic consequences.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Dean's Watch

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge

A rich and beautiful story, set in a cathedral city in the 1780's. There the formidable Dean struck up a friendship with a genius of a clockmaker, Isaac Peabody; there Job, who promised to develop into an even finer craftsman than Isaac, courted Polly, and irrepressibly happy maid-of-all-work; and there, many other events, some as delightful as they were unexpected, befell those living in the shadow of the great cathedral.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Death at Fountains Abbey

Antonia Hodgson
Authors:
Antonia Hodgson

Antonia Hodgson's debut novel THE DEVIL IN THE MARSHALSEA was a Richard & Judy Book Club pick, and was also shortlisted for the CWA John Creasey Dagger 2014. Antonia has received critical acclaim for her first two books and her newest historical crime novel promises to be another dark, witty and twisting ride.Praise for THE DEVIL IN THE MARSHALSEA'Hodgson has a knack for convincing dialogue that crackles with period cadence and flavour.' Daily Mail'Historical fiction just doesn't get any better than this. THE DEVIL IN THE MARSHALSEA offers up a riveting, fast-paced story, a richness of tone and a depth of detail that would put most academics to shame. And good Tom Hawkins is one of the best protagonists to come along in years. Magnificent!' Jeffery Deaver

Two Roads

Love & Friendship

Whit Stillman
Authors:
Whit Stillman
Teach Yourself

Get Started in Writing Historical Fiction

Emma Darwin
Authors:
Emma Darwin

Do you have a compelling vision for a story set in the past? Are you inspired by novelists such as Alan Furst and Philippa Gregory? Get Started in Writing Historical Fiction is designed for anyone who wants to write in this exciting and wide-ranging genre of fiction, whatever your favorite style and era. Designed to build your confidence and help fire up creativity, this book is an essential guide to mastering the practicalities of writing historical fiction, showing you where to start with research, developing your plots, and convincingly and imaginatively capturing the voices of the past. Using Snapshots designed to get you writing quickly, Key Ideas to help crystallize thought, and a wealth of supplementary materials, this indispensable guide will have you telling amazing and rich historical stories in no time. You'll learn to research and plan your story, practice developing characters and settings, perfect your characters' voices, and transport the reader to another era.ABOUT THE SERIESThe Teach Yourself Creative Writing series helps aspiring authors tell their stories. Covering a range of genres from science fiction and romantic novels to illustrated children's books and comedy, this series is packed with advice, exercises, and tips for unlocking creativity and improving your writing. And because we know how daunting the blank page can be, we set up the Just Write online community, at tyjustwrite.com, for budding authors and successful writers to connect and share.

Two Roads

The Words In My Hand

Guinevere Glasfurd
Authors:
Guinevere Glasfurd
Hodder & Stoughton

A Time for Renewal

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

In the wake of World War Two, the whole country is desperate for houses, with very little money available to rebuild. In the town of Rivenshaw in Lancashire, Mayne Esher has no choice but to turn Esherwood, the war-damaged stately home which has been in his family for generations, into flats. Rebuilding Esherwood won't be easy but with Judith Crossley by his side, Mayne hopes to restore it to its former glory. First, he must open it up to some of his long-suffering army friends... and it soon becomes clear that the house isn't the only thing which needs rebuilding.Victor is fighting his late wife's rich and arrogant mother for custody of his daughter Betty. Ros has been cheated out of her money and has nowhere to go now she's been demobbed from the army. Daniel is still unsettled after his wartime experiences. He's waiting for his divorce to go through and has family problems that take him away from Rivenshaw. Francis hasn't even been in touch. On top of these troubles, saving Esherwood proves to be a difficult undertaking for Mayne and Judith. And certain people will stop at nothing to prevent it happening. In this time of renewal, will the group find a way to rebuild their lives, and the old house, as planned?

Hodder & Stoughton

The Last Confession of Thomas Hawkins

Antonia Hodgson
Authors:
Antonia Hodgson
Hodder Paperbacks

Kingdom

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young
Hodder Paperbacks

The Black Stone

Nick Brown
Authors:
Nick Brown

AD 273. Obsessed by the solar religions of the east, the emperor Aurelian sets out to obtain every sacred object within his realm. But one - a mysterious rock said to channel the power of the sun god - lies beyond his reach. Warrior-priest Ilaha has captured the legendary stone and is using it to raise an army against Rome.For Imperial agent Cassius Corbulo and ex-gladiator bodyguard Indavara, stopping him constitutes their greatest challenge yet. Assisted by a squad of undercover soldiers and a Saracen chieftain, they trek south across the deserts of Arabia, encountering sandstorms, murderous money-lenders and a ruthless German mercenary. And when they finally reach Ilaha's mountain fortress, they face thousands of warriors who will give their lives to protect him ... and the black stone.