Anthony Trevelyan - Claudia - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473666368
    • Publication date:19 Apr 2018
  • Hardback £17.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473664777
    • Publication date:19 Apr 2018

Claudia

By Anthony Trevelyan

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

For fans of Nick Harkaway and Scarlett Thomas comes the dazzling second novel by the Desmond Elliott longlisted author of The Weightless World.

How good are people? Let me tell you, Dee: people are as good as the pair of eyes they believe is on them...

When Claudia Talwar is called to meet a mysterious visitor in the reception of her Manchester office block, she can't believe her eyes. It's Samson Glaze, former hippy turned internationally famous entrepreneur, and the fifteen-years-absent father figure of her youth.

It doesn't take much for Samson to convince her to help find his son, Reggie Glaze, who's got into a bit of trouble: namely, he's joined a group called Tarantula who wear black armbands and seem obsessed with 'the next world'.

Before she knows it, Claudia finds herself swept into a dark adventure of solar power, a hammer wielding assassin, and the end of our world . . .

'Trevelyan's prose is wholly readable, with wonderful, concise details that conjure full moments in perfect little capsules' Dublin Inquirer

Biographical Notes

Anthony Trevelyan was born in Lancashire. He read English at Trinity College, Oxford, before going on to further studies at Lancaster University. Currently he lives with his wife near Manchester, where he takes part in performance events such as Flim Nite and First Draft. He works as a teacher of English and Creative Writing at a sixth form college in Stockport.

His first novel, The Weightless World, was published by Galley Beggar Press in 2015 and was longlisted for the 2016 Desmond Elliott Prize.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473664784
  • Publication date: 19 Apr 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Sceptre
Hodder & Stoughton

The Maid's Room

Fiona Mitchell
Authors:
Fiona Mitchell
Hodder & Stoughton

Winter Solstice

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand
Hodder & Stoughton

The French Exchange Whale and Other Rejected Book Ideas

Cal King, Sean Bright
Contributors:
Cal King, Sean Bright
Two Roads

The Railwayman's Wife

Ashley Hay
Authors:
Ashley Hay
Two Roads

The Bookseller

Cynthia Swanson
Authors:
Cynthia Swanson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Reluctant Contact

Stephen Burke
Authors:
Stephen Burke
Hodder & Stoughton

Cold Feet: The Lost Years

Carmel Harrington
Authors:
Carmel Harrington

All the love. All the drama. All you missed. HILARIOUS AND HEARTBREAKING OFFICIAL NOVEL FROM THE HIT TV SERIES.Reeling from the sudden death of Rachel, his beloved wife, Adam has no time to grieve. He has to keep going, for the sake of their baby son. Jenny moves back in with ex-husband Pete, eight and a half months pregnant with another man's child. Can their relationship overcome past jealousies? Karen and David agree to an amicable divorce - but that's before he sleeps with the divorce lawyer . . .THE LOST YEARS reveals what happened to your favourite characters between series five and six of the award-winning TV series written by Mike Bullen. It's an irresistible chance to catch up on all the laughter, the tears, the life lessons we missed while they were gone.*************PRAISE FOR 'COLD FEET: THE LOST YEARS''I loved it. The characters have been captured so well and it just feels so like Mike Bullen's creation . . . Harrington should be very proud - it really is fabulous! Margaret Conway, Line Producer COLD FEET

Hodder Paperbacks

The Worst Case Scenario Cookery Club: the perfect laugh-out-loud romantic comedy

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby

'Funny, warm and engaging; this year's must-read! 5****' By the Letter Book ReviewsIn the quaint seaside town of Newbay, a beginner's cookery course is starting. And three very different students have signed up...Liz's husband has left her for a twenty-something clean-eating blogger, and she's determined to show the world - and her daughter - she's just as capable in the kitchen. John, newly widowed after fifty years of marriage, can't live on sympathy lasagnes forever. To thirty-year-old workaholic Bella, the course is a welcome escape from her high-pressure job. Their only common ground: between them, they can barely boil an egg! Enter talented chef Alex, who is determined to introduce his pupils to the comforts of cuisine. As Liz, John and Bella encounter various disasters in the kitchen, the unlikely trio soon form a fast friendship. Their culinary skills might be catastrophic - but could the cookery club have given them a recipe for happiness?The wonderful new novel from bestselling author Chrissie Manby is perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Trisha Ashley, Cathy Bramley, and The Great British Bake Off.Praise for The Worst Case Scenario Cookery Club:'A lovely book which brought a tear to my eye in places' - Broadbeansbooks'Heartwarming' - The Book Bag'Funny and emotional...a MUST READ this autumn' - On My Bookshelf'A very warm tale full of different kinds of love; just delicious!' - Netgalley Reviewer'If you want a funny, emotional read that will leave you wanting more then you need this book in your life!' - Goodreads'I loved this book... the perfect place to find a recipe for happiness!' - Goodreads'What an absolute joy to read...such a lovely story' - Goodreads'A winning recipe of a story... I devoured it from cover to cover!' - Goodreads 'Just the breath of fresh air that I needed... I could have kept reading for many more pages!' - Netgalley'I adored this hilarious book!' I Read Novels'Chrissie Manby has cooked up a fine tale' Cultural Wednesday'What a wonderfully lighthearted and uplifting novel, one I couldn't put down' - Bloglovin'An absolute joy to read - highly recommended for when you need a little pick-me-up!' - Brew and Book Reviews

Hodder Paperbacks

A Proper Family Adventure

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby

Could you spend two weeks at sea with your family?Thanks to an unexpected windfall, the Bensons are treating themselves to a luxury cruise. With stop-offs in Barcelona, Rome and Marseilles, plus constant entertainment onboard, it's a dream come true . . . Or is it? Last time Chelsea Benson went on holiday with this lot she nearly went crazy.Her mum and sister are convinced Chelsea's boyfriend Adam will propose on the ship. Chelsea's sure he won't, but she can't help feeling butterflies as they set sail. Is Adam going to pop the question, or will the only thing to pop be Chelsea's ego?Onboard dramas, family upheavals, memories and sunshine . . . Fall in love with the Benson family, and treat yourself to a five-star family cruise, all without leaving your sofa.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Proper Family Christmas

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby

Christmas comes but once a year . . . thank goodness! So keep calm this festive season and treat yourself to the warm, wonderful new novel from Chrissie Manby.Take one Queen Bee: Annabel Buchanan, with a perfect house in the country, a rich husband and a beautiful daughter, Izzy . . .. . . and one large, loud family: the Bensons.What happens when their worlds collide?When Izzy suddenly falls dangerously ill, adoptee Annabel has to track down her biological family to see if they can help her daughter. But can she see past the Bensons' brash exteriors to the warm, loving people they are at heart?With December just around the corner, is it too much to hope that the Bensons and the Buchanans can have a proper family Christmas?

Coronet

The Extremist

Roger Pearce
Authors:
Roger Pearce
Hodder & Stoughton

A Proper Family Holiday

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby

Could you survive a week-long holiday with your entire family?Newly single magazine journalist Chelsea Benson can't think of anything worse.Your grubby small nephew torpedoing any chance of romance with the dishy guy you met on the plane . . .Your eighty-five-year-old granddad chatting up ladies at the hotel bar . . .Getting nothing but sarcastic comments from your older sister, who's always been the family favourite . . .And all this is before your parents drop their bombshell.Is a week enough time for the Bensons to put their differences aside and have some fun? Or is this their last ever proper family holiday?Heartwarming and funny, this is the perfect summer read for fans of SOPHIE KINSELLA and LINDSEY KELK. And provides a great excuse for ignoring your annoying family members . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Drug on the Market

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

A stealthy fishing-boat, blacked-out in the dead of night, and strange blinking lights on the shores of Aberlady Bay add up to a mystery that Lieutenant-Commander Philip Hepburn can't ignore. Following a chance sighting of the elusive vessel while on shore-leave, and a violent encounter with some shady characters on the desolate salt-marsh, Philip is drawn into investigating the sinister goings-on in the bay. He and his newfound companion, feisty local girl Trisha Denholm, stumble across something neither of them expected to find and uncover a criminal conspiracy in sleepy East Lothian. 'One of Scotland's most prolific and respected writers' The Times

Hodder Paperbacks

What I Did On My Holidays

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Hodder & Stoughton

The Islesman

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder & Stoughton

Kate's Wedding

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Hodder & Stoughton

Getting Over Mr Right

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Hodder & Stoughton

Marrying for Money

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby

When the glamorous Grosvenor sisters arrive in the exclusive Hamptons beach town of Little Elbow, they can't help but cause a stir.Gorgeous Grace and Charming Charity are soon hot favourites on everybody's guest-list. Except that of their neighbour, Marcella Hunter. Heiress Marcella doesn't want the competition and when Grace starts dating Marcella's 'Plan B' man - dull but extraordinarily rich Choate Fitzgerald - the gloves are off. Marcella determines to find out where the sisters really came from. And exactly how they can afford to rent a six-bedroom beach house in this millionaires' playground. In the process, however, it's discovered that quite a few of the people spending that summer in Little Elbow are not exactly what they seem . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Seven Sunny Days

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby

When Rachel Buckley announces that she is going to tie the knot, her best friends Yaslyn and Carrie Ann organise a luxury 'hen week' in sun-soaked Turkey.It should be the perfect send off to single life. But her friends have packed more than just sun creams and bikinis - they've also brought with them a serious amount of emotional baggage.Add unlimited free cocktails, rampant reps and a nasty dose of sunstroke and suddenly seven sunny days puts even the firmest friendships to the test.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Matchbreaker

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby