Jonathan Wittenberg - Things My Dog Has Taught Me - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473664371
    • Publication date:19 Oct 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473674356
    • Publication date:19 Oct 2017

Things My Dog Has Taught Me

About being a better human

By Jonathan Wittenberg

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A dog's guide to life - how to be a kinder, compassionate, more mindful and wiser human.

'A wonderful read' -- Lorraine Kelly

In this book for dog lovers everywhere, Jonathan Wittenberg says his dogs have taught him, more than anything else, how to appreciate the wonderful world in which we live -- and how to develop better relationships with his friends and families.

In this wonderful, warm account of one man and his dog, Jonathan brings all the big themes of friendship, faithfulness, kindness, cruelty, grief, prayer and spiritual companionship to the fore, and shows
us how we can learn so much from a dog's approach to life.

If you're one of the 8.5 million dog owners in the UK the answer to a better way of living may already be under your roof.

Biographical Notes

Jonathan Wittenberg was born in Glasgow in 1957 to a family of German Jewish origin. The family moved to London in 1963, where he attended University College School, specialising in classical and modern languages, subsequently reading English at Cambridge. He trained for the rabbinate at Leo Baeck College London, receiving ordination in 1987. He now lives in London with his wife Nicky and, three children, and his faithful canine companion, Mitzpah.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473664395
  • Publication date: 19 Oct 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
'A wonderful read' — Lorraine Kelly
Yellow Kite

A Cat's Guide to Humans

George the Cat, owner of Celia Haddon
Authors:
George the Cat, owner of Celia Haddon
John Murray Learning

What Your Dog Is Thinking

Bo Söderström
Authors:
Bo Söderström
Hodder & Stoughton

The End of Time

Gavin Extence
Authors:
Gavin Extence

'Extence should be on everyone's radar' Jasper FfordeTwo young Syrian brothers swim the Mediterranean Sea to Turkey to escape their war-torn home. On arriving in Turkey, they meet an Iraqi man who smells strongly of whiskey, with no shoes on his feet, and whose name, they are told, is Jesus Christ.

Coronet

Barrie

Sean Laidlaw
Authors:
Sean Laidlaw

Barrie was rescued from the rubble by Bomb disposal expert and former soldier Sean Laidlaw. He gradually gained her trust and they soon became inseparable. When Sean's contract to Syria was not renewed and he could not return to her, he raised the funds to bring her home with him. The two created an incredible bond in their three months together, and they were reunited in emotional scenes in early November. Sean credits Barrie with helping him with PTSD, and Barrie has been rescued from a life on the streets in war-torn Syria.

Coronet

Vaster Than Sky, Greater Than Space

Mooji
Authors:
Mooji
Hodder Paperbacks

Summer Days at Sunrise Farm

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

A romantic and charming holiday read from the Animal Ark Revisited series, featuring the series' original characters. The perfect summer read for fans of Cathy Bramley and Heidi Swain.****Summer has arrived in Welford, but does a new season mean new beginnings?Veterinary nurse Helen Steer adores her job at Animal Ark, and with the summer ahead things couldn't be better.That is until her best friend goes travelling, leaving Helen unexpectedly jealous and questioning her own stable life with her boyfriend Seb. Charming new vet Toby Gordon, with his flirtatious wit and mysterious family background, suddenly seems a much more exciting prospect. But just as Helen and Toby's friendship starts to become something more, Sunrise Farm, the beautiful fruit farm where Helen lives, is hit by crisis leaving its future in the balance. Along with her friends Mandy and James, who put aside their own problems to help, Helen throws everything she has into saving her home.Though with so much at stake, is there time to think about a new relationship? Or will Helen be forced to let her second chance at love slip away?Praise for the Animal Ark Revisited series:'A stunning, emotional, beautiful tale of friendship, love, and the importance of being who you need to be. I laughed, I cried, and I became completely ensnared, and I cannot recommend it highly enough - it really has got it all!!' Books of All Kinds'An adorable read [with] a real sense of village community' Bookworms and Shutterbugs'Just the right amount of nostalgia... wonderful and very poignant' The World is a Book Blog'An incredibly lovely story' Rachel's Random Reads'A lovely story of what it's like to be working with animals and travelling around the beautiful Yorkshire countryside' Jaffareadstoo'The romance, tragedy and drama play[s] out alongside some deeply poignant animal stories...an absolute must read for animal lovers' The Book Bag

Teach Yourself

Get Started In Pig Keeping

Tony York
Authors:
Tony York
Hodder & Stoughton

Angels

Peter Stanford
Authors:
Peter Stanford
Hodder & Stoughton

Everybody Died, So I Got a Dog

Emily Dean
Authors:
Emily Dean
Coronet

Animal Matters

Charlotte Rea
Authors:
Charlotte Rea
Hodder & Stoughton

Streams of Living Water

Richard Foster
Authors:
Richard Foster

'I recommend Streams of Living Water everywhere I go. My own personal copy is dog-eared, underlined and annotated by hand. Anyone with a heart for Christian unity should read and celebrate the message of this book. I consider it to be a seminal title for our time' - Pete GreigIn this landmark work, Richard Foster examines the 'streams of living water' - the six dimensions of faith and practice - that have defined Christian tradition around the world and down the centuries. In this inspiring book he looks at: - the Contemplative tradition - or the prayer-filled life- the Holiness tradition - or the virtuous life- the Charismatic tradition - or the Spirit-empowered life- the Social Justice tradition - or the compassionate life- the Evangelical tradition - or the word-centred life- the Incarnational tradition - or the sacramental lifeFoster's celebration of the spiritual life incorporates history's most significant Christian figures and movements and argues for a rich, well-rounded faith, free of constricting labels.'A book that will make you adore God' - Dallas Willard

Yellow Kite

100 Ways to Be As Happy As Your Dog

Celia Haddon
Authors:
Celia Haddon

In 100 Ways to Be As Happy As Your Dog, animal behaviour expert Celia Haddon shows you 100 ways in which you, too, can master the art of being happy by learning from your favourite canine companions. Curious, affectionate and always full of energy, dogs have always been a source of joy for us no matter what we are going through in life. Whether you've got a Labrador, a poodle or a shih tzu, your dog is always there, ready to play fetch or offer a cuddle or go for long walks on the beach when you need it. So let animal behaviour expert and bestselling author Celia Haddon show you how you, too, can live a good life as a human by learning the art of happiness from our best animal friend.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Sea of Gold

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

The Little Book of Bob

James Bowen
Authors:
James Bowen
Hodder Paperbacks

Snowflakes over Moon Cottage

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder & Stoughton

You are the Beloved

Henri J. M. Nouwen
Authors:
Henri J. M. Nouwen

'We are the Beloved. We are intimately loved long before our parents, teachers, spouses, children and friends loved or wounded us. That's the truth of our lives. That's the truth I want you to claim for yourself. That's the truth spoken by the voice that says, "You are my Beloved."' - Henri Nouwen, Life of the Beloved Henri Nouwen, priest, professor and writer, devoted much of his later ministry to emphasising the singular concept of our identity as the Beloved of God. In an interview, he said that he believed the central moment in Jesus' public ministry to be his baptism in the Jordan, when Jesus heard the affirmation, 'You are my beloved son on whom my favour rests.' 'That is the core experience of Jesus,' Nouwen writes. 'He is reminded in a deep, deep way of who he is ... I think his whole life is continually claiming that identity in the midst of everything.'You Are Beloved is a daily devotional created from the very best of Nouwen's writings, paired with daily Scripture readings, that reveals our identity as children of God, and which encourages us to live out that truth in our daily lives. Nouwen is at once refreshingly accessible, unafraid to wrestle with challenging questions, and above all an encouraging and sympathetic voice along the way.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Lost Lamb on Honeysuckle Lane

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder & Stoughton

The Girl De-Construction Project

Rachel Gardner
Authors:
Rachel Gardner
Coronet

Prayers from the Heart

Lorna Byrne
Authors:
Lorna Byrne
John Murray

Wonderland

Brett Westwood, Stephen Moss
Authors:
Brett Westwood, Stephen Moss