Jonathan Wittenberg - Things My Dog Has Taught Me - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473664395
    • Publication date:19 Oct 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473674356
    • Publication date:19 Oct 2017
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473664388
    • Publication date:18 Oct 2018

Things My Dog Has Taught Me

About being a better human - an ideal Christmas present for all dog lovers, by Jonathan Wittenberg

By Jonathan Wittenberg

  • Hardback
  • £16.99

A dog's guide to life - how to be a kinder, compassionate, more mindful and wiser human.

If you loved Nigel by Monty Don, you'll love this book!

In this book for dog lovers everywhere, Jonathan Wittenberg says his dogs have taught him -- more than anything else -- how to appreciate the wonderful world in which we live -- and how to develop better relationships with his friends and families.

In this wonderful, warm account of one man and his dog, Jonathan brings all the big themes of friendship, faithfulness, kindness, cruelty, grief, prayer and spiritual companionship to the fore, and shows
us how we can learn so much from a dog's approach to life.

If you're one of the 8.5 million dog owners in the UK the answer to a better way of living may already be under your roof.

Jonathan Wittenberg shares with dog lovers everywhere his inability to resist the big, brown-eyed look which says, 'I'll melt your heart if you even think of going out without me', and the security he feels on a twenty-mile trek across the bleak Scottish Highlands with not a soul for a friend but his border collie.

A good read if you enjoyed Think Dog: The bestselling guide to canine psychology.

Biographical Notes

Jonathan Wittenberg was born in Glasgow in 1957 to a family of German Jewish origin. The family moved to London in 1963, where he attended University College School, specialising in classical and modern languages, subsequently reading English at Cambridge. He trained for the rabbinate at Leo Baeck College London, receiving ordination in 1987. He now lives in London with his wife Nicky and, three children, and his faithful canine companion, Mitzpah.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473664371
  • Publication date: 19 Oct 2017
  • Page count: 224
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
A heartfelt and perceptive story celebrating the unique bond between human and dog. — Reader's Digest
Jonathan Wittenberg's affection and respect for his canine friends shine from every page... This book will resonate with anyone who has a passing acquaintance with dogs and its gentle, loving message will connect with everyone else. — Methodist Recorder
Hodder & Stoughton

No Tigers in the Hindu Kush

Nigel Tranter, Philip Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter, Philip Tranter

Philip Tranter and three friends drove a Land Rover 6,000 miles overland from Scotland to Nuristan to explore some of the unknown Central Hindu Kush area. They set out to attempt the second ascent of the monstrous Koh-i-Krebek; to ascend if possible at least one other major unclimbed mountain and to map that previously unmapped terrain. In fact, as well as Krebek they climbed nine other major peaks, named another dozen, and established the existence of a dramatic rock and ice range which they called the Rum Mountains, and christened individually after the Hebridean peaks they resembled in shape and beauty. The story of the expedition is told with an infectious enthusiasm for the glory and challenge of these mysterious peaks.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Riven Realm

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder & Stoughton

The Courtesan

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder Paperbacks

The Botticelli Secret

Marina Fiorato
Authors:
Marina Fiorato

The third unforgettable historical love story set in Italy from Marina Fiorato, author of the bestseller THE GLASSBLOWER OF MURANO. For fans of Philippa Gregory, Sarah Dunant and Alison Weir.Florence looks like gold and smells like sulphur . . .In the colourful world of fifteenth-century Italy, Luciana Vetra is young and beautiful, a part-time model and full-time whore. When she is asked to pose as the goddess Flora for Sandro Botticelli's painting La Primavera, she is willing to oblige - until the artist abruptly sends her away without payment. Affronted, she steals an unfinished version of the painting - only to find that someone is ready to kill her to get it back.As friends and associates are murdered around her, Luciana turns to the one man who has never tried to exploit her beauty, Brother Guido della Torre, a novice at the monastery of Santa Croce. Fleeing Florence together, Luciana and Guido race through the nine great cities of Renaissance Italy, desperately trying to decode the painting's secrets before their enemies stop them.

Hodder & Stoughton

Is It Just Me?

Miranda Hart
Authors:
Miranda Hart
Hodder & Stoughton

Lion's Whelp

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

The brutal murder of James I, King of Scots, at Perth in 1437 left hisseven-year-old son to rule over a troubled kingdom. Power-hungry lordsseized their chance to gain control over the boy-king James II and hisrealm.When young Alexander Lyon, son of the Thane of Glamis, married Agnes,the daughter of Sir William Crichton, he found himself drawn into thewider affairs of the nation. Alec was to become a close attendant andfriend of the young monarch at a time when James was in sore need ofprotection.Alec Lyon and Agnes Crichton were to shape the story of Scotland - andthat of England, too. This was the period of the Wars of the Roses, andthe northern kingdom was not to remain unaffected.A thrilling tale of cunning and treachery, danger and romance frommaster of Scottish historical fiction Nigel Tranter.

Hodder & Stoughton

Honours Even

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

In 1649 Charles II left his exile in the Netherlands and sailed toScotland. Arriving at the small fishing village of Garmouth, he faced amixed reception from the minister of the Kirk.The exiled king was to remain in Scotland for a year, learning moreabout his northern subjects, while the English tried to adjust to lifeunder the puritanical heel of the Lord Protector, Oliver Cromwell.But Cromwell was soon to turn his attentions to matters north of theborder. He coveted the Honours of Scotland - the crown, sceptres andsword-of-state - symbols of hope and the nations's honour.And so the young men of Scotland were forced into battle to save theHonours...The gripping story of Charles II's year in Scotland and Scotland's bravestand against Oliver Cromwell, told by Nigel Tranter, master of Scottishhistorical fiction.

Hodder & Stoughton

Poetic Justice

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder & Stoughton

Tapestry of the Boar

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

During the reign of Malcolm IV, King of the Scots, Hugh de Swinton andhis fellow mosstroopers helped keep the rampaging Galloway rebels atbay. But it was for his expertise in the killing of wild boars, asprotector of the Swintons' sheep flocks, that young Hugh was brought toMalcolm's attention.But Malcolm was a pious man much concerned with the well-being of hispeople. And he handpicked Hugh de Swinton to mastermind a very specialproject close to his heart: to establish Scotland's first real hospitalfor the sick and poor, at Soutra in Lauderdale.Action, chivalry and romance in the 12th century: the story of Hugh deSwinton and his thrilling life that encompassed fighting, farming andthe foundation of Scotland's first hospital.

Hodder & Stoughton

True Thomas

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

Little is known about Thomas Learmonth of Ercildoune, vassal and esquireof the Earl of Dunbar, poet and prophesier known as 'Thomas the Rhymer'.During the reign of the Scottish King Alexander III, a time when thesword ruled over all and the treachery of the powerful earls had neverbeen greater, True Thomas became renowned for his extraordinary gift ofprophecy - a gift which has echoed through the centuries.In this enthralling tale, Scottish historical novelist Nigel Tanterbrings him and the wild and rugged times in which he lived to vivid andmemorable life.

Hodder & Stoughton

Margaret the Queen

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder & Stoughton

Mail Royal

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder & Stoughton

The Clansman

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

This is the second book in Nigel Tranter's trilogy of novels about the MacGregor clan. In 1715, declared an outlaw by the Secretary of State, the Duke of Montrose and the Duke of Cumberland, Rob Roy MacGregor, steadfast supporter of the Stuart cause, leaves home and clansmen to avoid bringing diaster upon them. In his absence, Montrose's factor comes to his home, attacking his proud wife, Mary MacGregor, frightening his children and setting fire to Inversnaid House. For which Rob Roy vows a terrible revenge . . . 'Through his imaginative dialogue, he provides a voice for Scotland's heroes' Scotland on Sunday

Hodder Paperbacks

Courting Favour

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder & Stoughton

Marchman

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder & Stoughton

Highness in Hiding

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder Paperbacks

David the Prince

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Coronet

The Patriot

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

In 1678, Scotland liesunder the dark threat of union with England. In an era of intrigue and bloodshed, Andrew Fletcher, laird of Saltoun, stands out as a man of ideals and integrity. His fearless and dogged opposition to the Treaty becomes a thirty-year campaign fought in Europe as well as his native Scotland. His eventual defeat is the defeat of a hero and of a cause so dear to his people that his name is glorified in Scottish history.'Through his imaginative dialogue, he provides a voice for Scotland's heroes' Scotland on Sunday

Hodder & Stoughton

Gold for Prince Charlie

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

In 1745 the Highlanders limped away from the bitter field of Culloden. Soon the Duke of Cumberland was offering a huge sum for the capture of Prince Charles Edward Stuart, dead or alive. Duncan MacGregor, great-nephew of Rob Roy, volunteers to join the small band of men escorting the Prince to safety. Just one day after the Prince's escape, a large amount of French gold is landed at the very spot from which he has sailed. Thus it is that Duncan becomes involved in a desperate attempt to save Prince Charlie's gold, helped by beautiful, headstrong Caroline Cameron.'Through his imaginative dialogue, he provides a voice for Scotland's heroes' Scotland on Sunday

Hodder & Stoughton

Past Master

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter