Jonathan Wittenberg - Things My Dog Has Taught Me - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473664395
    • Publication date:19 Oct 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473674356
    • Publication date:19 Oct 2017

Things My Dog Has Taught Me

About being a better human

By Jonathan Wittenberg

  • Hardback
  • £16.99

A dog's guide to life - how to be a kinder, compassionate, more mindful and wiser human.

.


'Highly recommended' - Justin Webb

'A wonderful read' - Lorraine Kelly

Our dogs can teach us how to appreciate the wonderful world in which we live, and how to develop better relationships with our friends and families, says author Jonathan Wittenberg.

In this wonderful, warm account of one man and his canine companions, Jonathan shares his inability to resist the big, brown-eyed look which says, 'I'll melt your heart if you even think of going out without me', and the security he feels on a twenty-mile trek across the bleak Scottish Highlands with not a soul for a friend but his border collie.

A good read if you enjoyed watching the new film Isle of Dogs or reading Fabulous Finn by Dave Wardell

Biographical Notes

Jonathan Wittenberg was born in Glasgow in 1957 to a family of German Jewish origin. The family moved to London in 1963, where he attended University College School, specialising in classical and modern languages, subsequently reading English at Cambridge. He trained for the rabbinate at Leo Baeck College London, receiving ordination in 1987. He now lives in London with his wife Nicky and, three children, and his faithful canine companion, Mitzpah.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473664371
  • Publication date: 19 Oct 2017
  • Page count: 224
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
'A wonderful read' — Lorraine Kelly
A heartfelt and perceptive story celebrating the unique bond between human and dog. — Reader's Digest
Jonathan Wittenberg's affection and respect for his canine friends shine from every page... This book will resonate with anyone who has a passing acquaintance with dogs and its gentle, loving message will connect with everyone else. — Methodist Recorder
'At times humorous and always deeply personal, this book will resonate with dog owners of all faiths and none.' — Times of Israel
A book about faithfulness and constancy in a world where both seem lost - highly recommended for dog lovers and would-be dog lovers - gentle and wise — Justin Webb
Hodder & Stoughton

A Cat's Guide to Humans

Celia Haddon, George the Cat
Authors:
Celia Haddon, George the Cat

Do you need a human in the first place? If you do, do not adopt a human on impulse. You may not get the right one for your lifestyle.'George the cat is the feline world's favourite agony aunt. Now he brings us his irresistible, hilarious A-Z guide for fellow felines to help them navigate the human world, understand their sometimes weird and idiotic behaviour, and help turn human failings to feline advantages. Includes advice on how to move a sleeping human to the very edge of their bed, enjoy the use of their empty boxes before they're thrown out, and to get doors opened for you whether or not you have a private catflap.George also has a word of advice for humans: 'Don't let your cat get his paws on this book!

John Murray Learning

What Your Dog Is Thinking

Bo Söderström
Authors:
Bo Söderström
John Murray Learning

What Your Cat Is Thinking

Bo Söderström
Authors:
Bo Söderström
Hodder & Stoughton

Summer Days at Sunrise Farm

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder & Stoughton

Everybody Died, So I Got a Dog

Emily Dean
Authors:
Emily Dean
Two Roads

For the Love of Nigel

Monty Don
Authors:
Monty Don

Further adventures of Nigel and Nell as Monty Don, the UK's favourite gardener and Sunday Timesbestselling author of Nigel, looks at the relationships between dogs and humans and the incredible support dogs can provide for human health. Dogs have always been central to Monty Don's life, and there have been many over the years, but it's fair to say that none has been quite as famous as Nigel. A star (some might say the star) of Gardeners' World, Nigel has a special place in the hearts of viewers.Monty Don looks further at this special relationship that we have with our dogs and how they have played such a crucial role in his own life. Companions, healers, friends, offering no judgement - just love and loyalty. In this heart-warming memoir Monty celebrates that love and the enormous support Nigel and friends have given him.

Coronet

Animal Matters

Charlotte Rea
Authors:
Charlotte Rea
Yellow Kite

Cosy

Laura Weir
Authors:
Laura Weir

The language of cosy is part of the English lexicon - 'cosy up', 'cosy down', 'tea cosy', 'cosy toes'; cosy is a concept intrinsically connected to British culture; think cups of warm tea, crunchy toast, a great book, open fires, cosy clothes, wet and windy wrapped up walks, rain trickling on the window - it speaks to people who value comfort and tucking in, and never globally, have we been looking to feel more reassured. With Brexit looming, A.I developing, social media draining and a sense of community dissipating, the public are looking for permission to hunker down with those closest to them in a warm, safe and cosy environment. As the world gets bigger and more intimidating we are seeing value in the small things that make us feel good and matter to us in the UK. The Book of Cosy is a celebratory guide to living your cosiest life and Laura will decipher why it is that that the notion of cosiness is having a moment and how reconnecting with a simple, cosy life is replacing the hassle of adventure and costly material pleasures. The Book of Cosy will be a wonderful, comforting acknowledgement and antidote to feeling overwhelmed in modern life - a celebration of our quaint and quirky traditions, habits and loves, new and old and an examination of why this zeitgeist is more relevant than ever.Chapters will include: HOME & HEARTH, TEXTILES, PASTIMES, FOOD and WEATHER - with beautiful, charming line illustrations throughout.

Yellow Kite

100 Ways to Be As Happy As Your Dog

Celia Haddon
Authors:
Celia Haddon
John Murray

The Brief Life of Flowers

Fiona Stafford
Authors:
Fiona Stafford
Hodder & Stoughton

The Little Book of Bob

James Bowen
Authors:
James Bowen

The new book from James and street cat Bob. 'One thing I've known about Bob from the very beginning is that he possesses a wisdom that is unusual, even in cats. In the decade since we met he's grown even wiser in my eyes. This book is a collection of the insights I've gained during my years with Bob.' In the spring of 2007, busker James Bowen came across an injured ginger tom cat in the hallway of his shelter in north London. What he didn't know was that this would be the start of a friendship that would turn both their lives around, and lead to A Street Cat Named Bob, the international bestseller that tells the story of their friendship. The Little Book of Bob is a collection of the wisdom James has learnt from Bob throughout the years, as they go through thick and thin together. From the power of friendship to staying calm and finding the joys in a simple life, let Bob be your guide on how to navigate the ins and outs of life like a wise street cat.

Hodder Paperbacks

Snowflakes over Moon Cottage

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Two Roads

Sunny Side Up

Susan Calman
Authors:
Susan Calman

The Calmanifesto of Happiness'One of the kindest people I have ever met - a beautiful dancer and a beautiful person' Kevin Clifton'Be good, be kind, be more like Susan Calman' Kirstie Allsopp'Be kind to yourself - read this book, keep it on your bedside table or on your Kindle - even Kindle has the word kind in it' Sandi Toksvig'Full of wisdom and humour, with the soft underbelly of the profound' Fi Glover'It's a warm, funny and delightful book that is sure to cheer even the grumpiest curmudgeon in your life' Woman and HomeSusan Calman's enthusiasm at being on Strictly Come Dancing was an inspiration to all of us. Cheer Up Love, Susan's first book, had a clear aim: to help people understand depression. Sunny Side Up has a similarly clear path: to persuade people to be kinder to each other and spread more joy. These are extremely difficult and confusing times - people are cross and shouty. It's exhausting! But more than anything, people like Susan, people who don't hate other people, are apologising for the way that they think. Susan wants to make sure that they don't. That it's ok to love people, that kindness is something wonderful and brilliant and to bring on the joy. So the mission is simple. To get the nation to join her in not being negative. To bring back joy, kindness and community, to find that joy in the little things in life and defeat the hate and fear. Susan is a one-woman army of hope and joy, and she's ready to lead the nation in a different direction.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Lost Lamb on Honeysuckle Lane

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

It's summertime in the little village of Welford. The sun beams down on the rolling green Yorkshire hills, and the scent of freshly cut grass is in the air. Local vet Mandy Hope and her boyfriend Jimmy Marsh are happily setting up their new home, and life at animal rescue centre Hope Meadows is as busy as ever. When the Welford Garden Committee announces a Midsummer Fair, Mandy is thrilled to be invited to judge the animal-themed fancy dress competition. The whole of Welford turns out for the fair, and the fancy dress competition is a roaring success. Three-year-old Herbie and eighteen-month-old Kiran come as Bo Beep and her lost sheep and Mandy can't help but melt. Maybe having children of her own isn't such a ridiculous idea after all? But in the euphoric mayhem of the day, little Kiran goes missing and a frantic search ensures. When the lost lamb is rumoured to have been seen on nearby Honeysuckle Lane, it's all hands on deck to solve the mystery and restore him to his rightful home. Based on the bestselling Animal Ark series, this is the perfect read for fans of Lily Graham, Heidi Swain and Holly Martin. Why readers are falling in love with the Animal Ark Revisited series:'A stunning, emotional, beautiful tale of friendship, love, and the importance of being who you need to be' Books of All Kinds 'A wonderful, heart-warming story... I couldn't turn the pages quickly enough!' With Love For Books'Such a wonderfully warm and cosy read - you can curl up and lose yourself in a gorgeous story full of animals in a lovely village.' Bookworms and Shutterbugs'I was enchanted... a wonderful story; one that I completely loved' Rachel's Random Reads'A gorgeous book to curl up with' Shaz's Book Blog'I LOVED this book! I couldn't give it anything less than a 5-star review' Netgalley, 5 stars

Hodder Paperbacks

Springtime at Wildacre

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder & Stoughton

R. T. Kendall: Total Forgiveness, Totally Forgiving Ourselves, Totally Forgiving God

R.T. Kendall
Authors:
R.T. Kendall
Hodder & Stoughton

100 Ways to Be More Like Your Cat

Celia Haddon
Authors:
Celia Haddon
Hodder Paperbacks

Christmas at Mistletoe Cottage

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Two Roads

Treat!

Christian Vieler
Authors:
Christian Vieler

As seen in the Daily Mail, the Times and the Telegraph Who's a good dog?Photographer Christian Vieler caught these eager dogs anticipating, catching, and enjoying a scrumptious tidbit - some more successfully than others.From a tenacious terrier to a goofy golden retriever, these often hilarious and surprisingly beautiful photographs capture each dog's unique personality in a way any dog owner will recognize and that all dog lovers will enjoy!

Two Roads

Arthur and Friends

Mikael Lindnord, Val Hudson
Authors:
Mikael Lindnord, Val Hudson