Paul Cleave - Trust No One - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473664234
    • Publication date:13 Jul 2017

Trust No One

By Paul Cleave

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

In this exciting psychological thriller by the Edgar-nominated author of Joe Victim, a famous crime writer struggles to differentiate between his own reality and the frightening plot lines he's created for the page.

The brand new psychological thriller from the author of The Cleaner and Joe Victim. Perfect for fans of Dexter and Karin Slaughter.

'Cleave uses words like lethal weapons' New York Times Book Review

'Anyone who likes their crime fiction on the black and bloody side should move Paul Cleave straight to the top of their must-read list' Mark Billingham.

His novels tell of brutal murders and bad men.
But was it just his imagination?

Jerry Grey is better known as crime writer Henry Cutter - whose twelve books kept readers gripped for over a decade. Now he's been diagnosed with early onset Alzheimers, and his writing life has ended.

But the stories haven't. And as his control loosens, Jerry confesses his worst secret: the books are real. He remembers committing the crimes.

His friends, family and carers say it's all his head. He's just confused.

But if that's true, then why are so many bad things happening? Why are people dying?

Biographical Notes

Paul Cleave is an award-winning author who divides his time between his home city of Christchurch, New Zealand, where all his novels are set, and Europe, where none of his novels are set. His books have been translated into over a dozen languages and have sold over a million copies. He's won the Ngaio Marsh Award three times, the Saint-Maur book festival's crime novel of the year award, has been shortlisted for the Edgar, the Barry and the Ned Kelly Awards. When he's not at home with the stereo cranked up loud and working on his next novel, he can normally be found on a tennis court, a golf course, or throwing a Frisbee somewhere.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473664227
  • Publication date: 13 Jul 2017
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Mulholland Books
Tense, thrilling, touching. Paul Cleave is very good indeed. — John Connollly
A gripping thriller. Trust No One draws us into a world where truth blends with delusion. This story of a writer losing his memory and bearings pulls us into a maze where fiction blurs into murder. I couldn't put it down — Meg Gardiner, Edgar Award-winning author
With an unexpected ending, this thriller is one to remember — New York Journal of Books
A vivid, jangled exploration of mental illness, dark imagination, and the nowhere territory in between — Kirkus Reviews
Sensitive and astute ... while being gripping and darkly funny — Globe and Mail
This powerhouse novel plays with the subtexts at the core of the mystery genre — Booklist
On almost every page, this outstanding psychological thriller forces the reader to reconsider what is real — Publisher’s Weekly (starred review)
Cleave uses words like lethal weapons — New York times Book Review
Mulholland Books

Mouth of the River

David Swinson
Authors:
David Swinson

Mulholland Books

Scorched Earth

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

The police think Crystal Heathers isn't missing. The trainee detective assigned to the case isn't so sure. McAvoy thinks someone was being held at the derelict building where they just found a body pinned to the wall...and that all the signs point to it being a little girl. But why would anyone not report a kidnapping?And how far would someone go to get revenge?The case will test McAvoy to breaking point - as the crimes of the present lead him to a final violent confrontation with an enemy from his own past.

Mulholland Books

Crime Song

David Swinson
Authors:
David Swinson

David Swinson returns with a thrillingly dark novel, featuring Frank Marr, 'a masterly piece of characterisation.' (Tana French, author of The Trespasser)Frank Marr was a good cop with a bad habit, until his addiction to cocaine forced him into retirement from the D.C. police. Now barely making a living as a private investigator, he agrees to take on a family case as a favour for his aunt. Frank's surveillance confirms that his cousin Jeffrey is involved with a drugs operation. It seems small, until Frank's own home is burgled, leaving a body on the kitchen floor: Jeffrey. Frank's .38 revolver - the murder weapon - is stolen, along with his cherished music collection.Clearly, his cousin was deeper in the underworld than anyone realised. With his reputation and his own life on the line, Frank searches for the real culprit: following the stolen goods through a tangled network of petty thieves, desperate addicts, deceiving fences, good cops and bad cops.Frank's as determined to uncover the truth as he is to feed his habit, and both pursuits could prove deadly. This time, it may just be a question of what gets him first.

Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled Sandra Brown 2018

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown
Hodder & Stoughton

Careless Love

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Cutting Edge

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver

Number one bestselling author and ultimate thriller writer Jeffery Deaver returns with a new Lincoln Rhyme investigation. Rhyme and Amelia Sachs' latest case: catching a terrifying killer targeting couples...The happiest time of their lives - will be their last. William and Anna went to collect her engagement ring. 1.5 carat, almost flawless. But the Promisor had other ideas for their future...Their murder - and that of the diamond cutter they were visiting - is only the first of a series of macabre attacks. Someone is targeting couples just as they start their lives together. Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs, newly married themselves, are on the hunt. But the killer is hunting down any witnesses who can help them. He has promised one thing: to destroy. Rhyme and Sachs will have to use all their own skills and determination to break his vow.

Hodder & Stoughton

How it Happened

Michael Koryta
Authors:
Michael Koryta
Hodder & Stoughton

The Woman in the Woods

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

The new thrilling instalment of John Connolly's popular Charlie Parker series.It is spring, and the semi-preserved body of a young Jewish woman is discovered buried in the Maine woods. It is clear that she gave birth shortly before her death.But there is no sign of a baby.Private detective Charlie Parker is engaged by the lawyer Moxie Castin to shadow the police investigation and find the infant, but Parker is not the only searcher. Someone else is following the trail left by the woman, someone with an interest in more than a missing child, someone prepared to leave bodies in his wake.And in a house by the woods, a toy telephone begins to ring.For a young boy is about to receive a call from a dead woman . . .(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Mulholland Books

You Will Pay

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson

It starts as a prank - a way to blow off steam after a long summer at Camp Horseshoe. Jo-Beth Chancellor suggests they scare Monica O'Neal a little...or a lot. Monica has it coming, and no one will really get hurt... Twenty years later, Lucas Dalton, a senior detective with the sheriff's department, is investigating the discovery of human remains at what used to be Camp Horseshoe. Lucas knows the spot well. His father ran the camp, and Lucas worked there that infamous summer when two girls went missing. Lucas knows he should step down from such a personal case. But maybe it's time to uncover the truth at last. That's why five former female counsellors are back in town - among them, Bernadette Warden, the woman Lucas has never forgotten. Each one knows something about that terrible night. Each promised not to tell. And as they reunite, a new horror unfolds. First come texts containing a simple, terrifying message: You will pay. Then, the murders begin.

Mulholland Books

Green Sun

Kent Anderson
Authors:
Kent Anderson
Mulholland Books

A Handful of Ashes

Rob McCarthy
Authors:
Rob McCarthy
Hodder & Stoughton

The Shout

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

'The sheer impetus of his storytelling is damned hard to resist' Sunday ExpressSunday Times bestselling author Stephen Leather's latest edge-of-your-seat thriller.*****Vicky Lewis is a force to be reckoned with: not yet thirty and already crew manager in the London Fire Brigade, she's destined for great things.But when she enters a burning building to save a man's life and leaves it with catastrophic injuries, all that changes. She's shunted over to the Fire Investigation Unit, where she's forced to team up with cantankerous veteran Des Farmer, aka the Grouch.When Vicky stumbles across the Grouch's off-the-books investigation into the fiery deaths of a series of young, blonde women, she decides to join him in his search for the truth. The answer is close - perhaps too close. Vicky's already been burnt once, and now she's playing with fire . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Camino Island

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Mulholland Books

A Map of the Dark

Karen Ellis
Authors:
Karen Ellis
Hodder & Stoughton

The Rooster Bar

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham
Mulholland Books

Joe Victim

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave
Mulholland Books

Five Minutes Alone

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave
Hodder & Stoughton

Light Touch

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder & Stoughton

Sleeping in the Ground

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson
Hodder & Stoughton

A Game of Ghosts

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

The annual thrilling instalment of John Connolly's popular Charlie Parker series. It is deep winter. The darkness is unending.The private detective named Jaycob Eklund has vanished, and Charlie Parker is dispatched to track him down. Parker's employer, Edgar Ross, an agent of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, has his own reasons for wanting Eklund found. Eklund is no ordinary investigator. He is obsessively tracking a series of homicides and disappearances, each linked to reports of hauntings. Now Parker will be drawn into Eklund's world, a realm in which the monstrous Mother rules a crumbling criminal empire, in which men strike bargains with angels, and in which the innocent and guilty alike are pawns in a game of ghosts . . .