Nigel Tangye - Teach Yourself to Fly - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473663992
    • Publication date:07 Sep 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473664005
    • Publication date:07 Sep 2017

Teach Yourself to Fly

The classic guide to flying a plane

By Nigel Tangye

  • Hardback
  • £7.99

Learn how to fly an aeroplane with this gorgeous, lovingly reproduced classic from Mr. Nigel Tangye, a leading aeronautical journalist, author and expert flier. First published in 1938, Teach Yourself to Fly was one of the first titles published in the Teach Yourself series.

'An airman's vanity is a most curious thing.'

Nigel Tangye was a British hero; journalist, author, airman, teacher, and possibly even spy. What better man to help you learn to fly?

First published in 1938, Teach Yourself To Fly was not only one of the very first Teach Yourself books to be published but the first to actually change the world. It was used on the eve of the second world war to prepare pilot recruits and conscripts before they were called for service, and as such it was read religiously by thousands of young men, some as young as 17, and directly impacted on the British war effort.

This beautiful new printing of the book captures all of the feelings of that extraordinary time - it's nostalgic, understated, inspiring and very British indeed, warning young pilots, amongst other things, not to feel 'too discouraged' in the event of a crash landing.

Technology has changed hugely, but the principles of aviation as they were in the middle of the twentieth century are perfectly summarised in this lovely book. Get hold of the right vehicle, and it really can teach you to fly.

What happens when you're up there, however, is your responsibility.

'Never move an inch without making quite certain that there is not a lawn-mower or something else in your way.'


Since 1938, millions of people have learned to do the things they love with Teach Yourself. Welcome to the how-to guides that changed the modern world.

Biographical Notes

Nigel Trevithick Tangye was a British airman, novelist, journalist and the author of various books about Cornwall. He worked for MI5, and later claimed to have been an MI5 agent during the Spanish Civil War. He was married to the actress Ann Todd.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473664012
  • Publication date: 07 Sep 2017
  • Page count: 176
  • Imprint: Teach Yourself
Daily Mail Critic's Choice — Daily Mail
Fascinating reading... The author's love of flying is clear from every page. A true delight. — Aircraft Illustrated
Coronet

Untitled Book 2

Rupert Sheldrake
Authors:
Rupert Sheldrake

John Murray

Superteams

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed

Mulholland Books

Her Watchful Eye

Julie Corbin
Authors:
Julie Corbin

The GRIPPING new thriller, from the author of What Goes Around and Do Me No Harm.Do you ever feel that prickle on the back of your neck, as though someone's watching you?Someone is watching Hannah.Her name is Ruby, and her job as CCTV operative means she can follow Hannah everywhere she goes.It's against the law, but Ruby is willing to do whatever is necessary to keep Hannah safe.And there's no harm in just watching.Until just watching isn't enough . . .So the next time you get that feeling, and you think you're alone . . . think again.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

The Man I Think I Know

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle
Hodder & Stoughton

Death and the Olive Grove

Marco Vichi
Authors:
Marco Vichi
Hodder & Stoughton

The Family Next Door

Sally Hepworth
Authors:
Sally Hepworth

A gripping novel full of shocking reveals, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Amanda Prowse and Kerry Fisher.The small suburb of Pleasant Court lives up to its name. It's the kind of place where everyone knows their neighbours, and children play in the street.Isabelle Heatherington doesn't fit into this picture of family paradise. Husbandless and childless, she soon captures the attention of three Pleasant Court mothers. But Ange, Fran and Essie have their own secrets to hide. Like the reason behind Ange's compulsion to control every aspect of her life. Or why Fran won't let her sweet, gentle husband near her new baby. Or why, three years ago, Essie took her daughter to the park and returned home without her.As their obsession with their new neighbour grows, the secrets of these three women begin to spread - and they're about to find out that when you look at something too closely, you'll see things you never wanted to see.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

Blood Reckoning

Danielle Ramsay
Authors:
Danielle Ramsay

A brutal killer is on the loose in this page-turning DI Jack Brady investigation. Fans of Peter James and Tania Carver will love this gripping serial killer thriller.'A powerful and intelligent thriller from a must-read writer' David Mark on BLIND ALLEYIn the 1970s, a terrifying serial killer stalked the streets of Tynemouth. The press called him the Joker. The crimes stopped - but the man was never caught. And now he's back. A body has been found in a sleazy motel room, murdered in exactly the same way as the Joker's first victims. Is it a copycat? A trick? Or is the Joker at work once more? It's only DI Jack Brady's first day back - and this will be his most twisted case yet. As Brady digs into both the old murders and the new, he must confront revenge, betrayal, love and lies...and a truly ruthless killer.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Teach Yourself

Teach Yourself Mothercraft

Sister Mary Martin
Authors:
Sister Mary Martin

Learn how to have a happy baby and a happy home with this charming guide to the essentials of mothercraft. Keep yourself well, share the journey with your partner, and watch your little one with pride, developing every day under your loving care.Since 1938, millions of people have learned to the things they love with Teach Yourself. Welcome to the how-to guides that changed the modern world.FIRST PUBLISHED IN 1950.

Hodder & Stoughton

Death in August

Marco Vichi
Authors:
Marco Vichi

Crime fiction packed with Italian flavour, Death in August is the first Inspector Bordelli mystery set in 1960s' Florence - perfect for fans of Andrea Camilleri or Donna Leon.Florence, summer 1963. Inspector Bordelli is one of the few policemen left in the deserted city. He spends his days on routine work, and his nights tormented by the heat and mosquitoes.Suddenly one night, a telephone call gives him a new sense of purpose: the suspected death of a wealthy Signora. Bordelli rushes to her hilltop villa, and picks the locks. The old woman is lying on her bed - apparently killed by an asthma attack, though her medicine has been left untouched.With the help of his young protégé, the victim's eccentric brother, and a semi-retired petty thief, the inspector begins a murder investigation. Each suspect has a solid alibi, but there is something that doesn't quite add up . . .(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Yellow Kite

When to Jump

Mike Lewis
Authors:
Mike Lewis
Hodder & Stoughton

A Damned Serious Business

Gerald Seymour
Authors:
Gerald Seymour

There is a new cold war raging and its frontline warriors are Russian hackers - gang-members working freelance for the FSB, successor to the KGB. Massive thefts of personal information, electoral interference, catastrophic disruption of commercial and social services, banks, airlines, even whole countries disabled - this is happening now.Nicknamed 'Boot' because of his obsession with the Duke of Wellington and the battle of Waterloo, Edwin Coker is a case officer at the Vauxhall headquarters of MI6. When a young hacker falls into his hands and reveals details of a secret meeting, Boot conceives a daring plan to strike back - not with a computer virus of his own, but with a bomb that will seriously damage the Russian operation, spreading fear and distrust.Now Boot and his little team need a 'deniable' handler to deliver the explosives across the border from Estonia into Russia and bring the hacker back out. They turn to Merc, an ex-soldier fighting in Iraq, a gun-for-hire who knows how to get out of a tight spot. They hope.From the moment Merc sets out to cross the River Narva things do not go to plan and when the hacker's sister becomes involved, his mission turns from tough to near impossible. The scene is set for a classic story of pursuit and evasion and an epic battle for survival.

Hodder & Stoughton

Let Me Tell You A Story

Rob Parsons
Authors:
Rob Parsons

Rob Parsons is a bestselling author who has travelled widely across the UK and around the world, sharing his own stories of the ups and downs of life and faith with over a million people at live events over the past 30 years.Let Me Tell You A Story brings together some of the very the best of these stories - heartwarming and challenging tales that make up a compendium of insights on faith and family, love and loss, money and priorities, dreams and goals.Pull up a chair and settle in to enjoy as the storyteller weaves his spell...

Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Taking the Leap

Kasia Wezowski
Authors:
Kasia Wezowski
Nicholas Brealey Publishing

Disrupt!

James Bidwell
Authors:
James Bidwell

'This book is a gift to everyone with a desire to enter a world where extraordinary thingshappen' Sir Tim Smit, Co-Founder, The Eden Project 'This inspired and inspiring book can be a crystal ball to help you see into your own creative future' Daniel H. Pink, author of DRIVE and TO SELL IS HUMANA PRACTICAL OVERVIEW OF CONTEMPORARY INNOVATION WITH SIMPLE, IMPLEMENTABLE STRATEGIES FOR THINKING MORE CREATIVELYCompiled by Springwise, the global innovation discovery engine, Disrupt! explains and highlights the best, most disruptive and most useful innovation ideas of the 21st Century, and shows which themes underpin their success and which ideas can best be used to drive creativity in your workplace, office or industry.Springwise has a huge online readership (700k page impressions a month, 31k FB followers, 62k Twitter followers and an email database of 160k names) and a reputation as the number one engine for collating and sharing cutting edge business ideas. This attractively designed book draws on their vast archive and the expertise of their editorial team to create a practical, themed overview of contemporary innovation with simple, implementable strategies for bringing more creativity to your business or idea and more disruption to your industry. It is an indispensable handbook to modern innovation.'Almost too good to share!' Seth Godin.

John Murray

An English Christmas

John Julius Norwich
Authors:
John Julius Norwich
John Murray Learning

Insider's French: Intermediate Conversation Course (Learn French with the Michel Thomas Method)

Akshay Bakaya
Authors:
Akshay Bakaya
Hodder & Stoughton

The Ashes: It's All About the Urn

Graeme Swann
Authors:
Graeme Swann
Hodder & Stoughton

The Paras

Max Arthur
Authors:
Max Arthur
Hodder Paperbacks

Christmas at Mistletoe Cottage: a magical, feel-good Christmas romance

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
John Murray Learning

Willkommen! 2 German Intermediate course

Paul Coggle, Heiner Schenke, Heiner Schenke
Authors:
Paul Coggle, Heiner Schenke, Heiner Schenke