John Connolly - he - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473663657
    • Publication date:24 Aug 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473663640
    • Publication date:24 Aug 2017

he

A Novel

By John Connolly

  • Hardback
  • £16.99

John Connolly recreates the golden age of Hollywood for an intensely compassionate study of the tension between commercial demands and artistic integrity and the human frailties behind even the greatest of artists.

John Connolly recreates the golden age of Hollywood for an intensely compassionate study of the tension between commercial demands and artistic integrity and the human frailties behind even the greatest of artists.

An extraordinary reimagining of the life of one of the greatest screen comedians the world has ever known: a man who knew both adoration and humiliation; who loved, and was loved in turn; who betrayed, and was betrayed; who never sought to cause pain to others, yet left a trail of affairs and broken marriages in his wake . . .

And whose life was ultimately defined by one relationship of such tenderness and devotion that only death could sever it: his partnership with the man he knew as Babe.

he is Stan Laurel.
But he did not really exist. Stan Laurel was a fiction.

With he, John Connolly recreates the golden age of Hollywood for an intensely compassionate study of the tension between commercial demands and artistic integrity, the human frailties behind even the greatest of artists, and one of the most enduring and beloved partnerships in cinema history: Laurel &Hardy.

Biographical Notes

John Connolly is author of the Charlie Parker mysteries, The Book of Lost Things, the Samuel Johnson novels for young adults and, with his partner, Jennifer Ridyard, the co-author of the Chronicles of the Invaders. His debut - EVERY DEAD THING - swiftly launched him right into the front rank of thriller writers, and all his subsequent novels have been Sunday Times bestsellers. He was the first non-American writer to win the US Shamus award, and the first Irish writer to be awarded the Edgar by the Mystery Writers of America.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473663626
  • Publication date: 24 Aug 2017
  • Page count: 464
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
John Murray

Falling Short

Alexandra Coulton
Authors:
Alexandra Coulton
Hodder & Stoughton

The Perfect Couple

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

Hodder & Stoughton

The Woman in the Woods

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

The new thrilling instalment of John Connolly's popular Charlie Parker series.Charlie Parker aids the police when a buried, semi-mummified body of a woman is discovered. She apparently died of childbirth. Parker has to find out who she was and what happened to the child.

Sceptre

The End of Loneliness

Benedict Wells
Authors:
Benedict Wells

Sceptre

Walking Wounded

Sheila Llewellyn
Authors:
Sheila Llewellyn

Hodder & Stoughton

Earth Storm

Mons Kallentoft
Authors:
Mons Kallentoft

The next dark mystery featuring the Linköping's best detective, Malin Fors, from the bestselling author Mons Kallentoft.In the early hours of the morning, the naked body of a young man is discovered in a ditch next to Go¨ta Kanal. The cause of death is mysterious; the body bears no visible traces of violence.The man is soon identified as Peder Akerlund, a former Swedish politician, excluded from his party for racism but since reformed. Then sixteen-year-old Nadja Lundin is reported missing, possibly abducted, the same evening, and there are signs that suggest the two cases might be connected.But what do the victims have in common? And why were they chosen? Gradually, Malin Fors realises that they are dealing with someone who is playing a game with them, who speaks through murders and who will not be silenced. What is he or she trying to say? Desperate to fine Nadja alive, the team race against the clock to find an answer before it's too late...Praise for the Malin Fors series:'One of the best-realised female heroines I've read by a male writer.' Guardian'Kallentoft's books have been called beautiful, exquisite and original. I can see why.' Literary Review'This is a worthy successor to Larsson's Millennium trilogy.' Booklist Starred Review

Two Roads

The Cactus

Sarah Haywood
Authors:
Sarah Haywood

IT'S NEVER TOO LATE TO BLOOMPeople aren't sure what to make of Susan Green - family and colleagues find her prickly and hard to understand, but Susan makes perfect sense to herself, and that's all she needs. At forty-five, she thinks her life is perfect, as long as she avoids her feckless brother, Edward - a safe distance away in Birmingham. She has a London flat which is ideal for one; a job that suits her passion for logic; and a personal arrangement providing cultural and other, more intimate, benefits. Yet suddenly faced with the loss of her mother and, implausibly, with the possibility of becoming a mother herself, Susan's greatest fear is being realised: she is losing control.When she discovers that her mother's will inexplicably favours her brother, Susan sets out to prove that Edward and his equally feckless friend Rob somehow coerced this dubious outcome. But when problems closer to home become increasingly hard to ignore, she finds help in the most unlikely of places.This sparkling debut is a breath of fresh air with real heart and a powerful emotional punch. In Susan we find a character as exasperating and delightful as The Rosie Project's Don Tillman. An uncompromising feminist and a fierce fighter, it's a joy to watch her bloom.

Hodder Paperbacks

Trying

Emily Phillips
Authors:
Emily Phillips
JM Originals

Elmet

Fiona Mozley
Authors:
Fiona Mozley
Two Roads

The Bookseller

Cynthia Swanson
Authors:
Cynthia Swanson

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERNothing is as permanent as it appears . . .Denver, 1962Kitty Miller has come to terms with her unconventional single life. She loves the bookshop she runs with her best friend, Frieda, and enjoys complete control over her day-to-day existence. She can come and go as she pleases, answering to no one. There was a man once, a doctor named Kevin, but it didn't quite work out the way Kitty had hoped.Then the dreams begin.Denver, 1963Katharyn Andersson is married to Lars, the love of her life. They have beautiful children, an elegant home, and good friends. It's everything Kitty Miller once believed she wanted-but it only exists when she sleeps.Convinced that these dreams are simply due to her overactive imagination, Kitty enjoys her nighttime forays into this alternate world. But with each visit, the more irresistibly real Katharyn's life becomes. Can she choose which life she wants? If so, what is the cost of staying Kitty, or becoming Katharyn?As the lines between her worlds begin to blur, Kitty must figure out what is real and what is imagined. And how do we know where that boundary lies in our own lives?

Hodder Paperbacks

The Rosemary Tree

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Hodder & Stoughton

The Way Back to Us

Kay Langdale
Authors:
Kay Langdale

'This poignant page-turner felt vividly real, making me cry and - ultimately - filling me with hope.' (Katie Marsh, author of My Everything) Perfect for fans of Adele Parks and Maggie O'Farrell.Since their youngest son, Teddy, was diagnosed with a life-defining illness, Anna has been fighting: against the friends who don't know how to help; against the team assigned to Teddy's care who constantly watch over Anna's parenting; and against the impulse to put Teddy above all else - including his older brother, the watchful, sensitive Isaac.And now Anna can't seem to stop fighting against her husband, the one person who should be able to understand, but who somehow manages to carry on when Anna feels like she is suffocating under the weight of all the things that Teddy will never be able to do.As Anna helplessly pushes Tom away, he can't help but feel the absence of the simple familiarity that should come so easily, and must face the question: is it worse to stay in an unhappy marriage, or leave?

Sceptre

Smiley's People

John Le Carré
Authors:
John Le Carré

Hodder Paperbacks

Inferno

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin

Unputdownable naval action from the master of the sea story - 'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' Guardian1807. Captain Sir Thomas Kydd's famous sea action aboard Tyger has snatched his reputation from ignominy. He is the hero of the hour. But though Britain's Navy remains imperious, a succession of battles has seen Napoleon victorious on mainland Europe. In an attempt to prevent the French from taking control of Denmark's navy, Kydd's great friend Nicholas Renzi - now Lord Farndon - is sent on a desperate diplomatic mission to persuade the Danes to give up their fleet to Britain. But the Danes are caught between two implacable forces and will not yield, opting instead for the inferno of battle . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

A Game of Ghosts

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly
Hodder & Stoughton

The Roanoke Girls

Amy Engel
Authors:
Amy Engel
Two Roads

The Keeper of Lost Things

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan
Hodder & Stoughton

Acts of Love

Talulah Riley
Authors:
Talulah Riley
Hodder Paperbacks

A Life Without You: An addictive and emotional story of love and family secrets

Katie Marsh
Authors:
Katie Marsh
Sceptre

The Honourable Schoolboy

John Le Carré
Authors:
John Le Carré