Sheila Llewellyn - Walking Wounded - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473663091
    • Publication date:25 Jan 2018
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473663107
    • Publication date:12 Jul 2018

Walking Wounded

By Sheila Llewellyn

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473663299
  • Publication date: 25 Jan 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Sceptre
John Murray

Falling Short

Alexandra Coulton
Authors:
Alexandra Coulton

Pilgrim's father disappeared without trace when she was five.Now, her mother is slipping away, and she is starting to feel herself vanishing too.She needs to talk to somebody. Ideally, to Jackson: fellow teacher, confidante, dedicated hedonist, erstwhile best friend.Only they haven't spoken since what happened between them that night in the summer.And here she is, at thirty-bloody-nine, surrounded by school-girls, with their sugary perfume and flying pony-tails, breathless with money and freedom and the unmarked years ahead of them.And there is so much that is missing, so much that needs to be found . . .

Sceptre

Claudia

Anthony Trevelyan
Authors:
Anthony Trevelyan

When Samson Glaze - former wild-haired nomad, now head of a multi-million pound solar power corporation - turns up in Claudia Talwar's office in Manchester after fifteen years, she has to quash the impulse to jump into his arms. Unexpected father figure throughout her precarious childhood, he was the only friend she's ever known - only person she's ever loved. So when Samson asks her to help him find his son Reggie, Claudia agrees. But it turns out that Reggie has joined a group - a cult? - called Tarantula. And as Dia presses further into Tarantula's mazy interior, events take stranger and stranger turns, and it soon becomes clear that the web she finds herself in is being spun by sinister forces...

Hodder Paperbacks

The Identicals

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand

'The Queen of the Summer Novel' (People) The ultimate summertime reading for fans of Jane Green and Roisin Meaney.Nantucket is only two and a half hours away from Martha's Vineyard by ferry. But the two islands might as well be worlds apart for a set of identical twin sisters who have been at odds for years.Just because twins look exactly the same doesn't mean they're anything alike - and Tabitha and Harper Frost have spent their whole lives trying to prove this point. When a family crisis forces them to band together - or at least appear to - the twins come to realise that the special bond that they share is more important than the resentments that have driven them apart. A story of new loves, old battles, and a threat that gives a whole new meaning to the term sibling rivalry, The Identicals is Elin Hilderbrand at her page-turning best.

Two Roads

The Cactus

Sarah Haywood
Authors:
Sarah Haywood
Hodder & Stoughton

Earth Storm

Mons Kallentoft
Authors:
Mons Kallentoft
Hodder & Stoughton

Under Gemini

Rosamunde Pilcher
Authors:
Rosamunde Pilcher

Hodder & Stoughton

The Maid's Room

Fiona Mitchell
Authors:
Fiona Mitchell

For readers of The Help and The Invention of Wings, a searing and sweeping debut novel that gives a new and unforgettable perspective on modern day domestic workers.Set in the blistering heat of Singapore, THE MAID'S ROOM follows the lives of two Filipina maids - sisters Dolly and Tala who are working hard to send money back home, and British ex-pat Jules who has left her job as a midwife to move to Singapore with husband David. Told with humour, heart-breaking detail about daily life as a maid, and with an exhilarating spirit that is ultimately uplifting, this book will resonate with anyone who has struggled to have their voice heard.(P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Two Roads

The Bookseller

Cynthia Swanson
Authors:
Cynthia Swanson

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERNothing is as permanent as it appears . . .Denver, 1962Kitty Miller has come to terms with her unconventional single life. She loves the bookshop she runs with her best friend, Frieda, and enjoys complete control over her day-to-day existence. She can come and go as she pleases, answering to no one. There was a man once, a doctor named Kevin, but it didn't quite work out the way Kitty had hoped.Then the dreams begin.Denver, 1963Katharyn Andersson is married to Lars, the love of her life. They have beautiful children, an elegant home, and good friends. It's everything Kitty Miller once believed she wanted-but it only exists when she sleeps.Convinced that these dreams are simply due to her overactive imagination, Kitty enjoys her nighttime forays into this alternate world. But with each visit, the more irresistibly real Katharyn's life becomes. Can she choose which life she wants? If so, what is the cost of staying Kitty, or becoming Katharyn?As the lines between her worlds begin to blur, Kitty must figure out what is real and what is imagined. And how do we know where that boundary lies in our own lives?

Sceptre

Evening Primrose

Kopano Matlwa
Authors:
Kopano Matlwa
John Murray

Yuki Means Happiness

Alison Jean Lester
Authors:
Alison Jean Lester
Hodder Paperbacks

This Beautiful Life: the uplifting page turner of the summer

Katie Marsh
Authors:
Katie Marsh
Hodder Paperbacks

Summer at Hope Meadows: the perfect escapist read for hot, sunny days

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder Paperbacks

Small Great Things

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult

A RICHARD AND JUDY BOOK CLUB 2017 PICK A SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLERA NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERThe best books make you see differently. This is one of them. The eye-opening new novel from Jodi Picoult, with the biggest of themes: birth, death, and responsibility.When a newborn baby dies after a routine hospital procedure, there is no doubt about who will be held responsible: the nurse who had been banned from looking after him by his father. What the nurse, her lawyer and the father of the child cannot know is how this death will irrevocably change all of their lives, in ways both expected and not.Small Great Things is about prejudice and power; it is about that which divides and unites us.It is about opening your eyes. SOON TO BE A MAJOR FILM STARRING VIOLA DAVIS AND JULIA ROBERTS

Sceptre

The Valentine House

Emma Henderson
Authors:
Emma Henderson

'Henderson's Grace Williams Says It Loud was shortlisted for the Orange Prize and this more than matches it.'Elizabeth Buchan, Daily MailIn June 1914, Sir Anthony Valentine, a keen mountaineer, arrives with his family to spend the summer in their chalet, high in the French Alps. There, for the first time, fourteen-year-old foundling Mathilde starts work as one of the 'uglies' - village girls employed as servants and picked, it is believed, to ensure they don't catch Sir Anthony's roving eye. For Mathilde it is the start of a life-long entanglement with les anglais - strange, exciting people, far removed from the hard grind of farming. Except she soon finds the Valentines are less carefree than they appear, with a curiously absent daughter no one talks about. It will be decades - disrupted by war, accidents and a cruel betrayal - before Mathilde discovers the key to the mystery. And in 1976, the year Sir Anthony's great-great grandson comes to visit, she must decide whether to use it. Vividly evoking the dramatic landscape that so enthrals the Valentines, this deeply involving, intriguing novel tells the story of an English family through the generations and a memorable French woman, whose lives seem worlds apart yet which become inextricably connected.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Roanoke Girls

Amy Engel
Authors:
Amy Engel
Sceptre

The Brittle Star

Davina Langdale
Authors:
Davina Langdale
Two Roads

The Keeper of Lost Things

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan

*The perfect holiday read, recommended by thousands of readers*One of the Mail on Sunday's 'Best books for the beach this summer''The first book I read in 2017 - and if another as good comes along in the next 12 months, I'll eat my special gold reviewing spectacles' Daily MailMeet the 'Keeper of Lost Things'...Once a celebrated author of short stories now in his twilight years, Anthony Peardew has spent half his life collecting lost objects, trying to atone for a promise broken many years before.Realising he is running out of time, he leaves his house and all its lost treasures to his assistant Laura, the one person he can trust to fulfil his legacy and reunite the thousands of objects with their rightful owners.But the final wishes of the 'Keeper of Lost Things' have unforeseen repercussions which trigger a most serendipitous series of encounters...Ruth Hogan's second novel The Particular Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes is now available for pre-order

Hodder & Stoughton

Winter Storms

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand
Hodder & Stoughton

Acts of Love

Talulah Riley
Authors:
Talulah Riley
Hodder & Stoughton

Christmas on Nantucket

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand