Sarah Haywood - The Cactus - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473660618
    • Publication date:25 Jan 2018

The Cactus

By Sarah Haywood

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Susan Green doesn't like surprises, she likes to be in complete control, but finding herself pregnant at 45 is the beginning of a chain of events where life takes charge in the most unexpected ways. A witty and endearing story for fans of The Rosie Project and A Man Called Ove.

People aren't sure what to make of Susan Green - a prickly independent woman, who has everything just the way she wants it and who certainly has no need for messy emotional relationships.
Family and colleagues find her stand-offish and hard to understand, but Susan makes perfect sense to herself, and that's all she needs. At forty-five, she thinks her life is perfect, as long as she avoids her indolent brother, Edward. She has a flat which is ideal for one; a job that suits her passion for logic; and a personal arrangement providing cultural and other, more intimate, benefits.
Yet suddenly faced with the loss of her mother and, implausibly, with the possibility of becoming a mother herself, Susan's greatest fear is being realised: she is losing control.

When she discovers that her mother's will inexplicably favours her brother, Susan sets out to prove that Edward and his feckless friend Rob somehow coerced this dubious outcome. But when problems closer to home become increasingly hard to ignore, she finds help in the most unlikely of places.

Set in London and in Birmingham, this extraordinary debut is a breath of fresh air with real heart and a powerful emotional punch. In Susan we find a character as exasperating and delightful as The Rosie Project's Don Tillman. An uncompromising feminist and a fierce fighter, it is a joy to watch her bloom.

Biographical Notes

Sarah Haywood was born in Birmingham. After studying Law, she worked in London and Birkenhead as a solicitor, in Toxteth as an advice worker, and in Manchester as an investigator of complaints about lawyers.
She now lives in Liverpool with her husband and two sons.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473660649
  • Publication date: 25 Jan 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Two Roads
Hodder Paperbacks

The Supremes Sing the Happy Heartache Blues

Edward Kelsey Moore
Authors:
Edward Kelsey Moore
Hodder Paperbacks

These Dividing Walls

Fran Cooper
Authors:
Fran Cooper

One Parisian summerA building of separate livesAll that divides them will soon collapse... In a forgotten corner of Paris stands a building.Within its walls, people talk and kiss, laugh and cry; some are glad to sit alone, while others wish they did not. A woman with silver-blonde hair opens her bookshop downstairs, an old man feeds the sparrows on his windowsill, and a young mother wills the morning to hold itself at bay. Though each of their walls touches someone else's, the neighbours they pass in the courtyard remain strangers. Into this courtyard arrives Edward. Still bearing the sweat of a channel crossing, he takes his place in an attic room to wait out his grief.But in distant corners of the city, as Paris is pulled taut with summer heat, there are those who meet with a darker purpose. As the feverish metropolis is brought to boiling point, secrets will rise and walls will crumble both within and without Number 37...'Confident and brilliant. She will immerse you in a world I dare you to turn away from.' Lisa O'Donnell, author of The Death of Bees

Hodder & Stoughton

Lean On Me

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle

Whatever happens to those kids at school who are always being tipped to be stars in adult life?It's a question all of us find ourselves asking at some time and Mike Gayle's powerful, poignant novel answers it with regard to Danny Morgan and James McManus - rivals for top honours in everything throughout their school years in Birmingham.Whatever their friends and teachers might have expected, neither Danny nor James is currently running the country.Depressed and unemployed, Danny is facing an ultimatum from his girlfriend Maya: if he doesn't get out and get a job, she's leaving.It was an accident that changed James's life and now he is looked after affectionately by his parents. But his sister Martha believes that the role of full-time carers is destroying their lives - and infantilising her brother.She suggests that James should go into a respite home while her parents take a break.The respite home, as it turns out, where Danny has just got a job.What is the path that has brought these two people to this unexpected place, and where will it take them next?This is the story of Danny and James, but also of the families who love them and of the women they love. It is a story of many surprising twists, by turns funny and sad, painful and uplifting, and marks a brilliant new stage in the writing career of one of Britain's favourite novelists.

Sceptre

Spaceman of Bohemia

Jaroslav Kalfar
Authors:
Jaroslav Kalfar

'An incredible experience... I can honestly say I loved every page. Every sentence. Spaceman of Bohemia is unforgettable: a work of breathtaking scope and heart, and a reflection of humanity that's raw and strange and profound and true.' Lisa McInerney, Baileys-Prize-winning author of The Glorious Heresies Set in the near-distant future, Spaceman follows a Czech astronaut as he launches into space to investigate a mysterious dust cloud covering Venus, a suicide mission sponsored by a proud nation. Suddenly a world celebrity, Jakub's marriage starts to fail as the weeks go by, and his sanity comes into question. After his mission is derailed he must make a violent decision that will force him to come to terms with his family's dark political past.An extraordinary vision of the endless human capacity to persist-and risk everything-in the name of love and home, by a startlingly talented young debut novelist.

John Murray

Sight

Jessie Greengrass
Authors:
Jessie Greengrass
Hodder & Stoughton

Earth Storm

Mons Kallentoft
Authors:
Mons Kallentoft
Hodder Paperbacks

Christmas at Mistletoe Cottage

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder & Stoughton

he

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

John Connolly recreates the golden age of Hollywood for an intensely compassionate study of the tension between commercial demands and artistic integrity and the human frailties behind even the greatest of artists.An extraordinary reimagining of the life of one of the greatest screen comedians the world has ever known: a man who knew both adoration and humiliation; who loved, and was loved in turn; who betrayed, and was betrayed; who never sought to cause pain to others, yet left a trail of affairs and broken marriages in his wake . . . And whose life was ultimately defined by one relationship of such tenderness and devotion that only death could sever it: his partnership with the man he knew as Babe.he is Stan Laurel.But he did not really exist. Stan Laurel was a fiction.With he, John Connolly recreates the golden age of Hollywood for an intensely compassionate study of the tension between commercial demands and artistic integrity, the human frailties behind even the greatest of artists, and one of the most enduring and beloved partnerships in cinema history: Laurel & Hardy.(P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Two Roads

Gonzo Girl

Cheryl Della Pietra
Authors:
Cheryl Della Pietra
Hodder Paperbacks

Summer at Hope Meadows: an uplifting, feel-good read set in the countryside

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

The first novel in the heartwarming, Yorkshire-set Hope Meadows series, perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley, Cathy Woodman and Katie Fforde.Based on the globally bestselling Animal Ark series. Newly-qualified vet Mandy Hope is leaving Leeds - and her fiancé Simon - to return to the Yorkshire village she grew up in. There, she will help out in her parents' surgery whilst they're short-staffed. Mandy's life has always revolved around her work with rescued animals, and Welford offers an opportunity to work with creatures of all sizes, from hedgehogs and puppies to farm stock and even wild deer. But rural Yorkshire is very different to the hustle and bustle of a big city. Mandy must work hard to be accepted by the close-knit village community, and convince them of her abilities as a vet - especially Jimmy Marsh, the gruff owner of the local Outward Bound business, with whom she just can't seem to get along. When some long-neglected animals are discovered in a critical state on a nearby farm, Mandy is determined to prove herself as a confident and fearless vet. When it comes to protecting animals in need, she's prepared to do whatever it takes...

John Murray

Conflicts of Interest

Terry Stiastny
Authors:
Terry Stiastny
John Murray

The Blood Miracles

Lisa McInerney
Authors:
Lisa McInerney
Hodder Paperbacks

Before the Fall

Noah Hawley
Authors:
Noah Hawley
Sceptre

The Valentine House

Emma Henderson
Authors:
Emma Henderson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Roanoke Girls: the most shocking novel you'll read this year

Amy Engel
Authors:
Amy Engel
Two Roads

Under the Almond Tree

Laura McVeigh
Authors:
Laura McVeigh
Sceptre

The Brittle Star

Davina Langdale
Authors:
Davina Langdale
Two Roads

The Keeper of Lost Things

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan

We're all waiting to be found...'The first book I read in 2017 - and if another as good comes along in the next 12 months, I'll eat my special gold reviewing spectacles' DAILY MAILMeet the 'Keeper of Lost Things'...Once a celebrated author of short stories now in his twilight years, Anthony Peardew has spent half his life collecting lost objects, trying to atone for a promise broken many years before.Realising he is running out of time, he leaves his house and all its lost treasures to his assistant Laura, the one person he can trust to fulfil his legacy and reunite the thousands of objects with their rightful owners.But the final wishes of the 'Keeper of Lost Things' have unforeseen repercussions which trigger a most serendipitous series of encounters...Coming in May 2018: Ruth Hogan's second novel A Beginner's Guide to Drowning

John Murray

Untitled Iweala Novel

Uzodinma Iweala
Authors:
Uzodinma Iweala

Sceptre

The Crime Writer

Jill Dawson
Authors:
Jill Dawson

In 1964, the eccentric American novelist Patricia Highsmith is hiding out in a cottage in Suffolk, to concentrate on her writing and escape her fans. She has another motive too - a secret romance with a married lover based in London. Unfortunately it soon becomes clear that all her demons have come with her. Prowlers, sexual obsessives, frauds, imposters, suicides and murderers: the tropes of her fictions clamour for her attention, rudely intruding on her peaceful Suffolk retreat. After the arrival of Ginny, an enigmatic young journalist bent on interviewing her, events take a catastrophic turn. Except, as always in Highsmith's troubled life, matters are not quite as they first appear . . .Masterfully recreating Highsmith's much exercised fantasies of murder and madness, Jill Dawson probes the darkest reaches of the imagination in this novel - at once a brilliant portrait of a writer and an atmospheric, emotionally charged, riveting tale.